Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Ravoire

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Site Reviews

Camping La Ravoire
Route De La Ravoire
Doussard
Lake Annecy
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
74210   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0450443780

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 108
Open: 15-05 / 07-09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
              8/10 from 27 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 31 reviews from this member

On arrival we were somewhat disappointed, the pitches are small and random.

We are used to a bit more privacy. However this made for a really friendly and enjoyable holiday. The facilities are great, especially for families. The setting is very beautiful, Doussard is a lot quieter than Annacy, and set in dramatic scenery. If your wanting an action packed holiday with lots to do then you cannot go wrong staying here. If you fancy paragliding look at FLYEO go to the field in Doussard where they all land and there are a few companies offering Paragliding, we found flyeo to be very professional. The best way to see the lake is by boat, we took the boat from Doussard to Annacy. Annacy offers plenty of shops cafes and restaurants, and is one of the prettiest places we've ever visited. If your wanting a peaceful break in amazing countryside then you've found your paradise. Don't miss travelling to Chamonix and taking the cable car to top of Mont Blanc its amazing.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snotzke 2 reviews from this member

This is a well-run campsite with friendly and helpful staff who make an effort to create a welcoming atmosphere.

We were here in high season with another family and had two adjacent pitches for the ten of us. We were lucky to have relatively large pitches with ample space for parking, playing and cooking.

We rigged up a tarpaulin awning which saved us in the rain as well as providing extra shade, which was necessary in the amazing weather we had the second week. (There's a huge Decathlons the other side of Annecy. )

The site is a small one which is safe for the children to roam free in. They preferred the bouncy castle to the rest of the small playground. The children spent a lot of time in and out of the swimming pool, which is great for families with young children. They particularly enjoyed the slides. The inside pool area was useful on the wet days. We could have a coffee at the bar and enjoy the view of the mountains while they played.

The food on offer in the bar may be limited, but it is freshly prepared and good quality. The little on-site shop has a range of staples as well as the obligatory fresh baguettes and croissants for breakfast. We did our shopping in the Intermarché or Carrefour in Faverges.

There is some gentle evening entertainment. My children enjoyed the fire juggling, but we didn't watch any of the other acts.

The toilets and showers are clean and tidy and there is an extra toilet paper dispenser in case the cubicles run out, which they do frequently. There is plenty of hot water for showers and enough sinks for the washing up even at peak times.

The laundry seems a bit expensive at 5€ a load (we needed several loads as there are a lot of us), but a whole load fits in the dryer (3€), which dries everything in an hour. The best time to do the washing is in the evening, as there's no queue then.

There are plenty of activities in the local area for all types of weather. The cascade and zip wire in Seythenex are well worth a visit with teenagers. The walk to the beach was a bit much in the heat, but the parking isn't too expensive. The pedalos with the slides were a great hit.

We didn't manage to do everything we would have liked, so we'll definitely be returning to this site some time over the next couple of years.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grannycamper 1 review from this member

This is a lovely little campsite, close to the lake with only a short walk to get there. It is set in an ideal location for sightseeing, The area surrounding Lake Annecy is beautiful. We have a Montana 6p tent which is quite big but there was room to park our car next to it, so it suited us fine. We stayed for the last week of July 2015 and the weather was Beautiful and although it rained a couple of times it was at night so all was well. The campsite has a small bakery that sells fresh bread every morning and a shop that sells most of the things you might need until you can go to a supermarket, there is a well stocked one in Dussard. There is also a great pool for the kids with a water slide, I enjoyed the slide too! I would certainly return to this site, and, I enjoyed my stay there very much.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Socco74 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site. I agree with the comments about the site being cramped when busy and since our last visit 4 years ago they have installed more static caravans. Its the location that keeps us returning! For cycling families a ride into Annecy and back is a must and for more serious cyclists there plenty of col's in the surrounding mountains to test the legs. The lake is great for swimming due to its tepid temperature. The site takes pride in its facilities and other than a toilet seat we couldn't ask for more! We may try one of the other many sites in the area next time though if we can guarantee a better pitch.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Albourneboy 13 reviews from this member

Arrived on this lovely little site on Friday 20th June (2 days late after breaking down in the UK) and left early morning of Sunday 6th July.

Really enjoyed our stay. We had a fully serviced pitch which was very convenient. Our pitch was reasonably sized but we were glad that the site was quiet throughout our visit - if it had been full, the site could have felt cramped and we would have had to park our car on our pitch, which would have made that feel cramped too.

The toilet/shower block was very good and was kept very clean. Not sure how it will cope when the site is full but there were never any queues when we were there. There is a small shop selling basic goods in the same building that contains the reception office. The staff stocked up this shop in preparation for the high season the day before we left. Bread is available here every morning from 8am. Baguettes didn't have to be ordered and there always seemed to be some to buy - if you wanted anything else though, an ordering system was in operation. Also in the same building is a small laundry (3 washing machines and 3 dryers). The machines cost 5 euros to use and could turn round a hot wash in about 40 minutes. We never used the dryers so can't comment on those.

There is a also a bar and of course, a swimming pool. The bar does a very limited range of meals in the evening. Again, can't comment further as we never ate there and we never used the bar or the pool.

The area is beautiful. The lake is surrounded on 3 sides by mountains rising to over 2000 metres and you can drive up many of these to be rewarded with stunning views out over the lake and even out to Mont Blanc.

Annecy itself is very picturesque and with so many places to eat, you are totally spoilt for choice. A bike ride is a good way to get there as is the lake 'taxi' that visits several small ports around the lake.

Hang gliding is extremely popular in the area and hardly a day goes by when you can't see dozens of these colourful craft of all shapes and sizes flying around. You can even go tandem with a pilot yourself if you are feeling brave enough. Not cheap though! There are lots of things to do on and in the lake such as pedlos, snorkelling, stand-up paddle boarding - the list is endless. You can even go canyoning in one of the local gorges.

A trip out to Chamonix is worth the journey but to make the most of it, you do need to go very early. A cable car ride to see Mont Blanc from the Aiguille du Midi is a must if you can get on it (we couldn't sadly as it was sooo busy!) and also the rack & pinion train ride to see the glacier is well worth it too. Try a meal at the little restaurant whose terrace overlooks the glacier. The Alpine Choughs enjoy the food there too!

We also drove to Geneva on another day but beware, entering Switzerland will cost you 47 euros for a 'Vignette' (seems to be some sort of road tax). We found Geneva a nightmare of traffic lights/pedestrian crossings/trams/bus lanes/taxi lanes etc. We couldn't even find anywhere to park for longer than 90 minutes and none of it was free. Ended up having a quick picnic down by the lake and heading 'home' again. If you can, find a Park and Ride - it'll be easier though you may need a map to work out where to go. Nice place but we won't go again. Ever!

Being in the mountains, you are very likely to experience a thunderstorm (or several thunderstorms!). We had a few wet days and found it a struggle to find things to do in an area that is so heavily into outdoor activities. There are a few indoor places to visit such as local museums if you are into that sort of thing but the area is not littered with Chateau like many other areas of France.

One word of caution - the road to the site passes through a small village where the road gets very narrow. No problem if nothing is coming the other way (we were lucky) but there is nowhere to go if you are towing a caravan - you have to hope the oncoming driver will back up for you!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mcdoog 2 reviews from this member

Booked in for a week and stayed for a couple more days.

Excellent location - very close to cycle track and other amenities. Annecy is a boat ride or short car journey away. Lots to do there and the Chateau is worth a visit.

Great for kids - being smaller it was easier to keep tabs on them. The pool was great and lots to do in the area.

Spotless - the two guys who did the toilets worked like trojans each day.

Staff excellent, everyone very helpful and on message.

Overall - excellent

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Rhone-Alpes   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
50 Tickets for the NEC Oct Motorhome & Caravan Show Win a Clarke IG2000 2kW Generator

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2486 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1445