Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Ravoire

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Site Reviews

Camping La Ravoire
Route De La Ravoire
Doussard
Lake Annecy
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
74210   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0450443780

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 108
Open: 15-05 / 07-09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
              8/10 from 24 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Socco74 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site. I agree with the comments about the site being cramped when busy and since our last visit 4 years ago they have installed more static caravans. Its the location that keeps us returning! For cycling families a ride into Annecy and back is a must and for more serious cyclists there plenty of col's in the surrounding mountains to test the legs. The lake is great for swimming due to its tepid temperature. The site takes pride in its facilities and other than a toilet seat we couldn't ask for more! We may try one of the other many sites in the area next time though if we can guarantee a better pitch.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Albourneboy 11 reviews from this member

Arrived on this lovely little site on Friday 20th June (2 days late after breaking down in the UK) and left early morning of Sunday 6th July.

Really enjoyed our stay. We had a fully serviced pitch which was very convenient. Our pitch was reasonably sized but we were glad that the site was quiet throughout our visit - if it had been full, the site could have felt cramped and we would have had to park our car on our pitch, which would have made that feel cramped too.

The toilet/shower block was very good and was kept very clean. Not sure how it will cope when the site is full but there were never any queues when we were there. There is a small shop selling basic goods in the same building that contains the reception office. The staff stocked up this shop in preparation for the high season the day before we left. Bread is available here every morning from 8am. Baguettes didn't have to be ordered and there always seemed to be some to buy - if you wanted anything else though, an ordering system was in operation. Also in the same building is a small laundry (3 washing machines and 3 dryers). The machines cost 5 euros to use and could turn round a hot wash in about 40 minutes. We never used the dryers so can't comment on those.

There is a also a bar and of course, a swimming pool. The bar does a very limited range of meals in the evening. Again, can't comment further as we never ate there and we never used the bar or the pool.

The area is beautiful. The lake is surrounded on 3 sides by mountains rising to over 2000 metres and you can drive up many of these to be rewarded with stunning views out over the lake and even out to Mont Blanc.

Annecy itself is very picturesque and with so many places to eat, you are totally spoilt for choice. A bike ride is a good way to get there as is the lake 'taxi' that visits several small ports around the lake.

Hang gliding is extremely popular in the area and hardly a day goes by when you can't see dozens of these colourful craft of all shapes and sizes flying around. You can even go tandem with a pilot yourself if you are feeling brave enough. Not cheap though! There are lots of things to do on and in the lake such as pedlos, snorkelling, stand-up paddle boarding - the list is endless. You can even go canyoning in one of the local gorges.

A trip out to Chamonix is worth the journey but to make the most of it, you do need to go very early. A cable car ride to see Mont Blanc from the Aiguille du Midi is a must if you can get on it (we couldn't sadly as it was sooo busy!) and also the rack & pinion train ride to see the glacier is well worth it too. Try a meal at the little restaurant whose terrace overlooks the glacier. The Alpine Choughs enjoy the food there too!

We also drove to Geneva on another day but beware, entering Switzerland will cost you 47 euros for a 'Vignette' (seems to be some sort of road tax). We found Geneva a nightmare of traffic lights/pedestrian crossings/trams/bus lanes/taxi lanes etc. We couldn't even find anywhere to park for longer than 90 minutes and none of it was free. Ended up having a quick picnic down by the lake and heading 'home' again. If you can, find a Park and Ride - it'll be easier though you may need a map to work out where to go. Nice place but we won't go again. Ever!

Being in the mountains, you are very likely to experience a thunderstorm (or several thunderstorms!). We had a few wet days and found it a struggle to find things to do in an area that is so heavily into outdoor activities. There are a few indoor places to visit such as local museums if you are into that sort of thing but the area is not littered with Chateau like many other areas of France.

One word of caution - the road to the site passes through a small village where the road gets very narrow. No problem if nothing is coming the other way (we were lucky) but there is nowhere to go if you are towing a caravan - you have to hope the oncoming driver will back up for you!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mcdoog 2 reviews from this member

Booked in for a week and stayed for a couple more days.

Excellent location - very close to cycle track and other amenities. Annecy is a boat ride or short car journey away. Lots to do there and the Chateau is worth a visit.

Great for kids - being smaller it was easier to keep tabs on them. The pool was great and lots to do in the area.

Spotless - the two guys who did the toilets worked like trojans each day.

Staff excellent, everyone very helpful and on message.

Overall - excellent

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: T6NYY 6 reviews from this member

Spent a week at La Ravoire in early July and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The site is a few hundred metres from the lake shore and far enough from the main road so as we weren't disturbed by any road noise.

It's a very well maintained, small site with about 120 pitches. We arrived in the pouring rain and were offered the choice of about 4 pitches, the one we chose was a little small for the new upgraded tent we had bought (we made a poor choice in the rain!).

The site was about 2/3rds full and so wasn't too busy. Not too many children and the site was nice and quiet at night. The site seemed popular with the English too.

The toilet block was immaculately clean and plenty of hot water. The cubicles that housed the washbasins were a little on the small side though.

Freshly baked croissants and french bread from the on site shop in the morning are a must!

The swimming pool area was excellent although I guess in peak season there would be a lack of sunbeds, but there was plenty of space on the grass nearby.

The bar adjoining the pool looked fairly new and seemed to serve a decent choice of food and drink.

All in all, a very good little site, very clean and Julie on Reception was very helpful indeed.

Would definitely pay another visit to La Ravoire.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TONANTI 3 reviews from this member

As mentioned previously the campsite can feel packed due too the size of the pitches which are small in comparison too other French sites. Overall a good site, well situated with the friendliest of staff. The boat cruise too Annecy is a must along with the pedolos on the Lake. The shop is small but provides basics (like cold beer when struggling with your awning), never used the bar or restaurant but they seemed clean and popular.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NLMS 11 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site and, providing you get the right pitches, has good views of the hills.

Arrived 25th August (having booked) and were given a choice of three pitches by the friendly reception staff. Over the following couple of days lots of others became vacant; the site felt a bit cramped when it was full but once some of the pitches became vacant had a relaxed spacious feel to it.

As others have noted it is next to the voie verte cycle route which goes to Annecy in one direction and makes a pleasant 30km cycle ride there and back.

My only gripe would be the washblock. It is good and modern but sometimes the showers water temperature is variable from too hot to freezing cold.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Rhone-Alpes   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2564 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0449