Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ayr Craigie Gardens Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Site Reviews

Ayr Craigie Gardens Caravan Club Site
Craigie Road
Ayr
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA8 0SS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01292 264909

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  10m  10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 28/03/2014 - 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
              8/10 from 34 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LiquidLunch 4 reviews from this member

A typically well maintained Caravan Club Site, the facilities were in excellent condition very clean and well maintained. The grounds were even at this early part of spring were looking great.

The site is well positioned for popping into town and visiting the surrounding area where is plenty to do.

Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: William scott 7 reviews from this member

Site right on our door step once through the barrier you would be in any of the well run caravan club sites

Well kept toilet block by wardens and caravanners

Plenty water and waste points for the size of site

Tesco just up the road and many more shops in town centre a few minutes walk away

Only one thing when my grandson went to the toilet, he could not reach the urinals, maybe lower one or a wee step would help

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kirbytwo 5 reviews from this member

Craigie Gardens is a typical Caravan Club site, regimented, with a plethora of notices warning, for example, that the hot water is hot, that floors may be slippery when wet, advising that the 5 mph speed-limit on site (which we support) is “Helping to take care of you” and, on leaving the washrooms, asking “Have you turned off the taps?”. We should also have liked to turn off the local commercial radio station which played incessantly in the washrooms.

Having said that, the facilities are up to the customary Caravan Club standard providing almost everything we look for in a good site: an electrical connection, very clean toilets, showers and washing-up facilities and pleasant staff. Unfortunately, one other requirement, namely quietness, was lacking. In particular, one warden appeared to be addicted to power tools, first using a leaf-blower with a motor on his back to remove much of the grit from potholes in which it had been placed to make them slightly better then, after an hour or so, driving a small, John Deere tractor around for some time without doing anything noticeably useful. Doubtless he could defend them but his noisy, dusty activities appeared wholly unnecessary on a hot, sunny, Sunday afternoon when nearly every resident was sitting outside trying to enjoy the remarkably warm and sunny weather.

We stayed at Craigie Gardens campsite for two nights specifically to visit Robert Burns’ birthplace and museum in nearby Alloway. They were well worth a visit but Ayr itself was a disappointment having lost much of its former glory as a ship-building and textile manufacturing town and as a holiday destination. During our week-end visit the exceptional beach was over-run by inebriated, feuding gangs and the attendant police, coastguard and ambulance personnel and vehicles.

Craigie Gardens campsite provided a convenient and comfortable base but not one in which we should enjoy a prolonged stay.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wigtowner 12 reviews from this member

We had our first visit to Craigie this weekend. Weather was brilliant and thankfully no sign of the dreaded midges. The site was almost full and, on the whole, pretty quiet.

The entrance is a sight to behold with the most beautiful hanging baskets and planters.

Wardens were very welcoming giving us a layout plan and marked the booked pitches which then enabled us to choose our own spot. We may have chosen one that was a bit too close to children's playground as it did get a bit noisy at times. It would not put us off from going back there though, we would just get pitch further away.

A lot of boy racers late Saturday night in the town woke me as did a rather large seagull which sounded like he was doing a clog dance on our roof on sunday morning.

Fellow campers were very friendly.

Toilet block/showers clean with plenty of hot water. Plenty of well behaved dogs tethered outside which didn't bark as you passed by. Lovely smells of bacon cooking on Sunday morning which was very annoying (we are on a diet)!

On Saturday we drove to the beach. The tide was well out so loads of clean sand to walk over. We watched the sun setting behind the Isle of Arran, got a nice fish supper near the Station

Hotel in Ayr then back to site which was much quieter than Friday. There is a nice river side walk into town which will only take 10 minutes or so to reach town centre.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Madasaman 19 reviews from this member

Had a 5 day stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. As said a short walk to town for bars and shops. Pitches are a good size, one toilet block with 4 showers for the men, not sure of the ladies. Never had to wait long even though the site was full.

Information hut was full of leaflets for all the attractions in the area, and the folder on eating places was most helpful.

Used my sat nav to locate the site which was a mistake as it sent me down the wrong road. We had the write up from the CC on how to find it, and should have used it.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Cozzies 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here a few times over the years and it never fails to impress, lovely clean site, well looked after and as ever 'up to the Caravan Club's usual high standard'. Wardens as always were extremely helpful and friendly.

However we unfortunately stayed during all the heavy rain but the wardens (bless 'em) were out in the pouring rain 'rodding' the drains to prevent any flooding - very successfully too !

Would recommend the riverside walks and the walk into the town - stunning even in the rain ! Don't miss a visit to Wellington Square Fish 'n Chip cafe` the fish are to die for !

The town of Ayre is now looking a bit run down (as are most towns) nowadays due to shop closures. Beautiful beaches

No more than 5 minutes away in the car !

Previous     34 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Ayrshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5367 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469