Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kinlochewe Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Kinlochewe Caravan Club Site
Kinlochewe
Achnasheen
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV22 2PA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01445 760239

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 5m  5m  10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 04/04/2014 To 06/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
              9/10 from 13 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marcing 2 reviews from this member

Very clean and friendly place. Some hotel rooms are not so clean like the toilet/shower facilities.

Staff is very friendly. And the whole place is quiet and situated in the valley where almost from any side are nice views on the mountains.

The only negative point is that they accept new guests until 8PM.

I highly recommend this place if you are on the way to Applecross.

Village is small and quiet but there is also nice and warm pub.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 18 reviews from this member

Site - it is on naturally stony ground with very little grass, so doesn't look that attractive, pitches are set in several enclosures separated by shrubs. Easy to find, directly off the main road, with a pricey garage next door. Barrier at entrance which is shut from 6pm - 8am. Surrounded by hills, good views and walks right from the door. Couple of little shops in the village, and the Whistle Stop Cafe, out of the site, turn right and right again, looks like a large shed, but you have to try it, great food and dog friendly.

Wardens - pleasant and friendly

Dog Walk - nice little walk on site, a meandering path, with bridges over a little stream into a wooded area. Can be boggy.

Washroom - In a portacabin, very good and always clean, but problems with ventilation. Very modern showers with hose and pretty red and blue lights for hot and cold. Ample size. Condensation is a problem, after showering all the walls are wet, even those outside the shower, the floor outside the shower gets very wet as well, towels hung on the hook were damp. Every time I went in my glasses steamed up immediately.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and lena 50 reviews from this member

We used this C. C site while on a Grand Tour of the West Coast of Scotland and although we did not book in advance there were plenty of pitches available.

The Wardens were very friendly and advised us what pitch would be best to get a satellite signal.

The site facility's are up to the usual Caravan Club standards and the Shower / Toilet block is in

A log cabin style building which has digital control showers which were excellent

The village has petrol station which also sells a varied selection of fresh foods and is a bit pricy for both fuel and food stuff but you come to expect this in the Highlands of Scotland.

The Local Hotel which is 500 yards from the site does excellent evening meal's and serves a good pint.

We drove to Applecross and Torridon which is worth a visit and is an easy days drive around the peninsular. Saw several Red deer on the return journey to the site but alas no Golden Eagles although they are in the area.

The site is very close to Loch Maree which has to be one of the most spectacular Scottish Loch in the Highlands.

We will return again perhaps in 2012

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Susanj 11 reviews from this member

This site is situated in a lovely area, with loads of natural attractions. I was disappointed in the look of the site itself- it is all blackish stoney/gravel hardstanding, no grass- which makes it look a bit like my local builders yard. However, there are smaller areas surrounded by bushes which make some parts look a bit better. However, you've only got to lift up your eyes to be surrounded by loveliness. Usual CCC facilities.

There is a village shop and tearooms next door. However, what made our visit was the small restaurant just around the corner- sorry, can't remember the name, but the place is so small you can't miss it. Don't be put off by the fact it looks like a shack- the food was wonderful, sensible prices, and BYO wine etc. Our only regret was that we didn't try it earlier in our stay. Loads to do in the area.

Would definitely visit again. Midges were a problem-but I used Avon 'Skin So Soft' dry oil spray and had no bites at all. My husband used heavy duty insecticide spray and got about 200 bites one night, when I left the campervan window wide open! I was not popular, but I let him use my spray and he got no more. A friend told me the SAS have been using this stuff for years. Now I've discovered it I will never be worried about midges again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TimndFlick 10 reviews from this member

As always CC sites are immaculate. All hardstandings with large pitches, with TV points - no C5. Toilet block brand spanking new and clean.Laundry block all nice and clean, with drying room

MH service point, dog walk, stupendous view. The garage with small shop is expensive, fill up before you get there. Post office come general store sells electric mixture of goods from food to camping.

There is a small hotel which does food, which we never reached due to us finding 'The Whistle Stop Cafe'.

In the former village hall run by Liz, its a gem. Excellent food served from breakfast till early dinner, even welcomes well behaved dogs. All Set out round a log burner, comfy chairs and tables.

Super walking and views - midges are viscous in season and would suggest a head net.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tomtait 10 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site. Its good use of trees ensures privacy. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. Toilets were immaculate with underfloor heating. Cafe, shop and hotel within 5 minutes walk of the site. Unfortunately, the midgies like this site too so do take sufficient repellent and antiseptic cream!

There is a motorhome service point which is easily accessible. TV reception is a problem but the site does have aerial booster sockets.

A well run caravan Club site.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth 124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6199 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469