Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Du Letty

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Site Reviews

Camping Du Letty
Benodet
Benodet
Brittany   (Browse area)
29950   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +33 02 98 57 04 69

Facilities:  (Key)
                           

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 493
Open: June To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
              9/10 from 47 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cotty1967 3 reviews from this member

Wow what an amaizing site, this was my first french caravan trip since owning our van and it couldn't have been better, the pool was simply amaizing, its right on the beach with good acsess for small boats, canoes & kayaks, the shop stocks a good range of supplies inc breads freshly baked every morning also a take way with lots of choice not just pizza & burgers but other foods like salads & pasta dishes. There is also a bar open from lunchtime onwards.

The local town of Benodet has lots of shops, Bars & Resturants and only 5 mins away on our cycles all downhill on the way there it took a couple of mins longer on the return up the hill though

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crossleyh 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site - great beach access, cosy hedged pitches with shade (about 8 tents / caravans per section), good takeaway, fab outdoor pool that wasn't too loud or wild. Lovely indoor pool which the little ones preferred, with a mini lazy river, spray jets, jacuzzi etc. Limited evening entertainment which was merciful as that doesn't float my boat and it was only loud one night and ended about 11. 30 (and even then it was 2 fiddlers who sounded good!). The site somehow managed to be huge, but very laid back. There are some great pitches with direct beach access, however, I was glad we didn't get one of these as teenagers seemed to pile down to the beach after the bar and make campfires etc (I'm sure I would have loved this if I was 19!). Could imagine that it might be a bit noisier if we'd been closer to the beach. If you fancy a Pre- erected Safari tent, they looked great - but take note. They are directly next to the sanitary block, so lots of door banging. Staff were very helpful when we had a problem with our EHU and car battery - even jump starting it for us. The area is pretty - could recommend Quimper (shops shut Sunday) for a day out, Concarneau or Pont Aven (think that's what it was called!). If you fancy another beach, would also recommend Beg Meil, Benodet is good on Market Day, but a bit dull otherwise. I seem to have said a few negatives. Don't get me wrong, we LOVED this site! I don't want to go back to the same place twice, but struggling now to find somewhere to beat it.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimbro80 1 review from this member

We returned home to the UK from 11 nights at Du Letty last night and really wish we were still there. This was our first trip to the continent and cannot wait to go back.

The site itself is lovely, all facilities are spotless. The showers are 60c for warm water and free for cold water which was ideal as the weather was scorching.

Our pitch was a good size, they do seem to vary a little though. We had water and waste on our pitch but you are likely to need a long hose.

Access to the site is good and is sign posted well.

The outdoor pool is great, kids loved the water slides, if you want a sunbed you need to be up early though. The indoor pool is also excellent, water is very warm.

Although our pitch wasn't right next to the beach the we only had to walk two minutes to reach it.

On the beach it is great for crabbing and fishing although you do need to be a bit careful when the tide is changing as the cuurent is strong. The sand is course but if you cross the to the other side of the river inlet the sand is better. If you own any kind of boat, dinghy or Kayak it is perfect.

We did visit the Bar and Admiral Club a couple of times, these are both very nice and clean. They have live music and karaoke evenings a couple of times a week. Prices are probably slightly more expensive than UK.

The on site shop is OK for basics, but for quite a large shop we struggled to put a meal together. The fresh bread and croissants etc are excellent but beware it is a serious business. Do not pick up bread before the member of staff has finished putting them all out or you will be in trouble!

We purchased most things from the Carrefour supermarket which is about 5 minutes drive away, it has everything you need but is possibly a little expensive.

The on site takeaway looked good with plenty of choice but we only used it to get the kids a portion of chips a couple of times.

The kids playground is good and the tennis courts look in excellent condition.

We didn't use the Sauna, Library etc but I am sure they will be as clean and tidy as the rest of the site.

The town of Benodet is nice, its about a 20 to 30 minute walk away from the site and there is a resort type train that runs around the town.

There is a market on Mondays that is worth a look but is quite busy and parking is not the easiest.

We took a 3 hour cruise up the River Odet towards Quimper which cost approx 85 Euros for 2 adults and 2 children, some nice views from the boat but not really worth the money in our opinion.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday at Camping Du Letty and will be returning in the future!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ianbailey 4 reviews from this member

The site is in an amazing location right on a beach (Very Coarse Sand). We booked a beachside pitch which whilst costing a lot more, was well worth it. You need to be quick off the mark to get one though, lots of regulars that go for the whole season.

The pitches towards the back of the site are not so nice although they did seem to be bigger the advantage of them is they are closer to the playground and L'amiral Club if that's your thing. If you want to stay here go for one of the beachside paddocks, 4 to 6 pitches the front two being the expensive ones.

The toilet / Shower facilities are OK, Mixed Gender, Paper kept outside cubicle, Seats and everything! Showers cost 60c for 10 mins but they were hot whatever time of day we went.

Although waste and water is available on each pitch you need a long waste pipe, I took 7m pipe which was too long my friend took 4m which was way short. You need the 2 pin adapter for electric, although they do seem to have them if you don't have one, We vacated early before the reception opened so they've still got mine!

The Beach appears to be dog friendly, at least nobody said anything to us whilst walking our dogs on it.

If you want a good sandy beach head to La Torche (30 minutes at most), a good restaurant and miles of dog friendly fine sand and good surf.

Benodet itself was a little disappointing, restaurants, a casino, Ice cream Kiosks, and a few shops. Although it didn't feel like it had a heart, which is a shame considering it seems to be a wealthy area. It's about a 20 minute walk in to the centre along a coastal path and you can continue right up to the Marina along the promenade, approx 1 hour to walk.

Quimper is worth a visit as is Concarneau & Pont Aven.

Didn't use the pool much, lifeguards made it a bit dull for teenagers but good for the young ones. Budgie smugglers are essential.

Noise after 11. 00pm is not tolerated, if you are noisy security come and tell you to keep it down (in a friendly way).

The Takeaway is the best I have experienced, a very large choice, all homemade and freshly cooked. If you want a sauce for your steak/Duck ask and they will make one. Order your food and ask for it on a plate and you can take it in to the bar to eat.

The nearest Supermarket is Carrefour, but there is a Leclerc & Super you towards Pont L'abbe and a big LeClerc towards Fousenant.

A good mix of nationalities, French, German, Dutch and English in the main and we met an italian couple as well. There were more English than I expected.

English is widely spoken but making the effort to try a bit of french is appreciated by the staff.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alexham 1 review from this member

Cannot recommend this site highly enough. This was our second 2 week summer holiday here and it was just as good as last year, if not better!

We asked for a quiet pitch when booking, which was much improved this year as you could be much more specific in what you wanted- whereas last year it was a case of just rolling up and seeing what was available. Our pitch was enormous and surrounded by private gardens on 2 sides and a high thick hedge on the 3rd. We shared our area with one other tent. Our children love the fantastic pool complex and the VERY easy access to a great beach (a mix of sand and rocky bits- brilliant for crabs and shrimps). The take away is great- all sorts of French dishes and very good pizzas. They will give you cutlery and serve it on plates to eat in the bar if you ask. The playground is just right with good equipment- although the see-saws are a bit lethal when manned by 4 year olds! Our older child now wants to be Roger Federer after playing loads of tennis on the courts, which costs 8 euros an hour. Never used the saunas, gym, squash court, handball, basketball etc, but they all are in top notch condition. Rental of kayaks and bikes is on site, or just outside gates- bikes are a bit 'sit-up-and-beg', don't expect any Colnago C50s! Toilets and showers are always being cleaned- they never stop- but occassionally ran out of paper, however the next toilet block is never more than a few hundred metres away.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and will speak English, but if you try to speak French they will happily talk French back to you. The bar was similar to lots of other European places where a single drink costs more than a nice bottle of wine from the campsite shop only 20m away! They frustrating showed a French judo match on the TV instead of Bradley Wiggins winning Gold at the Olympics is about my only complaint (especially as the French bloke lost!)

This year the site was pretty busy, with a fairly even split of French/ German/ Dutch/ English and a lot of Welsh people! A few Swiss, Polish and even a Hungarian car for those interested in the 'Guessing the Nationality' game.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tim and Cary 58 reviews from this member

We stayed at Camping Du Letty for the last 2 weeks in August 2011. In the 90's/early 00's, when our children were small, we stayed at Du Letty for a number of consecutive summers initially as 'tenters' but latterly as caravanners. We all loved the site and our children never wanted to go anywhere else. Our previous review of this site is the first one on UK Campsite and a number of folk commented how our very positive original review had encouraged them to try Camping Du Letty - It's a pity we're not on commission for our recommendation! Our last previous visit was in 2003.

As the site has had opened a new water park for 2011 we decided that we would return to Du Letty. We spent the first 2 weeks of August at Camping Porte La Chaine on the north coast near Pleubian. We then drove down to Benodet arriving at Du Letty on 12 August.

We had booked a pitch in May and asked for a pitch as near to the sea as possible. On arrival we were given a warm welcome by the English speaking staff but our pitch on Les Bruyeres 10 was a long way from the beach. After checking out the pitch we returned to reception and asked if there was nothing nearer to the beach and were offered a pitch only slightly nearer. We returned again to reception and spoke with the Manageress Madame Christine Benois-Guyader. She was very assertive and at first insisted that there was nothing available nearer to the beach, complaining that everyone wanted a pitch near the beach. I, however, persisted and in the end was offered a pitch on Les Chardons Bleus which was right behind the new water park complex and much closer to both the beach and reception. We gratefully accepted this pitch.

The 'paddock' on which our pitch was located was only big enough for 2 pitches and alongside the main roadway through the site. The pitch was on slightly sandy grass and with some shade from the hedges and mature trees. Unfortunately the drinking water taps for our 'paddock' were on the opposite side to our pitch so we were unable to use our water connection hose for a direct supply, although many other pitches do have access to their 'own' tap. There was a drain for 'grey' waste water adjacent to our 'van. Our pitch was plenty large enough for our 'van, awning and Kia Sorento. After quite a lot of moving the dish I was able to get a good signal on our satellite TV system. We were, also, able to access the site's free wi-fi from our caravan.

We found Du Letty much busier than in previous years. Even at the end of August when we were leaving there were still English folk arriving when in previous years the site would have been quietening down after the French children had returned to School. In addition there were a lot more English guests staying generally. I think the new pool complex was a big factor in this increased popularity. Some people we chatted to bemoaned these changes but we found Du Letty an excellent and even improved site.

The site's new pool complex is wonderful. The indoor pool has a uniform depth of approx 1. 5 metres with a Jacuzzi and several other fun features. The water was pleasantly warm and very well appointed with lovely surrounds with ornate tiling and a range of tropical plants. The outdoor pool is well designed too with slides and a number of other features. There are lots of sun loungers. All these facilities are included in the pitch price.

The bar near reception has been extended with an outdoor patio which overlooks the pool complex. Nearby there is the camp mini-market which sells a good range of food and drink and newspapers. There is, also, a food take-away which serves a range of food (including fish and chips!) but we did not use this facility.

Madame Christine and her staff, who all speak excellent English, were all very helpful and helped me find a supplier for some satellite accessories and someone to check a problem with our caravan. When there was a problem with the site wi-fi Madame Christine gave me a complimentary hour on one of the 'pay' PCs in the library.

The beach adjacent to the site was much the same as we had found it previously. The sand is very coarse but the beach was less crowded than on previous visits, probably because of the swimming pool complex. The water in the small river adjacent to the site varies from a shallow stream to a fast running torrent depending upon the state of the tide. The water temperature is warmer than the sea at the mouth of the river. Across the river there is the Mer Blanche a very long sand bar with the sea on the far side. The bar can be reached by crossing the river and a lot of campers cross to this bar as the sand is less coarse. It is important to choose one's crossing time for when the river is low or otherwise a boat or swim is necessary.

As always campers had lots of boats moored in the river ranging from small inflatables to largish motor cruisers. We had our 2 metre Zodiac out on the river (we bought this secondhand from a French camper at Du Letty about 12 years ago!) There is a diving platform anchored in the river near the campsite. The sea just out of the river mouth is ideal for sailing, windsurfing, etc. Kayaks are available for hire form Monsieur Philippe who has a base near reception. (He, also, hires out full size fridges)

The town of Benodet is about 20 minutes walk from the campsite and is very pleasant. It has a large promenade and beautiful beach of fine sand. There is a limited range of shops and restaurants and a twice weekly market on the main car park. There is a small Carrefour Supermarket on the outskirts of the town and this, also, has the town's only petrol station. The marina at the mouth of the River Odet spanned by the high level bridge is very picturesque. There are C of E Family services at the Catholic Church near the harbour every Sunday morning during the months of July and August. We went to these services this year as we have done in previous years and enjoyed the warm welcome we received.

The annual celebration of the Feast of the Assumption in Benodet is not to be missed. There is a procession of illuminated ships and a magnificent night-time firework display launched from a platform in the bay.

There are a number of interesting places to visit nearby. The Cathedral city of Quimper about 15 miles away has a lovely centre with flower decked bridges over the river Odet and an interesting Cathedral. There are, also, several large hypermarkets with adjacent Centre Commercial (shopping centres) as well as a range of smaller shops including a Lidl supermarket.

The fishing port Concarneau and its historic Ville Close on an island in the harbour is worth a visit. During the annual Fillet Bleu Festival there is musical entertainment and a spectacular firework display over the harbour.

Pont Aven is a very picturesque town built along a river valley. Historically it had more than 7 water mills, now converted into restaurants, shops and art galleries and was a haunt of impressionist painters.

In 2011 we drove down from Calais stopping off overnight at the excellent riverside Municipal Campsite at Pont Farcy on the outward and return journeys. For 2012 we have booked Brittany Ferries from Plymouth to Roscoff. We got a good fare of 494 with the Caravan Club for the 2 of us, car and 'van. We included 7 Camping Cheques in the package as this lowered the price - I hope to sell those on as we cannot use them during the peak season. Although more expensive than our usual DFDS Dover to Dunkerque crossing this will be partly balanced out by the lower fuel costs in France and the additional benefit of avoiding the M25 during the Olympic season!

We very much enjoyed our return visit to Camping Du Letty - so much so that we booked 4 weeks next summer as soon as the 2012 booking opened in November 2011. The increased popularity of the site does mean that the management have changed the booking procedures. Previously it was possible to just turn up and get a pitch or book without any deposit. For 2012 it is necessary to give firm dates and pay a non-refundable deposit of 30% of the cost of the booking. In addition the first row of pitches adjacent to the beach have been named as 'Premium' pitches with prices to match!

Even for standard pitches Camping Du Letty is NOT cheap but we feel that the many 'free' facilities and its ideal location make it very worthwhile. We highly recommend this site although we're still not on commission!?? The site's website is excellent and includes an online booking facility.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Brittany   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7821 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430