Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Invercaimbe Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Invercaimbe Caravan And Campsite
Invercaimbe Croft
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01687 450375

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 10m  1m  

Pitches: 18
Open: 15th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
              9/10 from 41 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 26 reviews from this member

The access lane from the road is very potholed and narrow, and it is on a working croft with cattle, from the road side you might wonder what you are coming to, but as soon as you go through onto the campsite and see the amazing views and stunning white beach you can see why this place is so popular. We arrived just after lunch and were lucky enough to get one of the flat hardstandings, a lot of the pitches are on grass and quite uneven for larger motorhomes but fine for camper vans, and most have electric hook up. By early evening the site was full, this was in April, so you will probably need to book well in advance for the summer. The toilets and showers are dated but spotless, but you don't come here for the facilities, you come for the laid back atmosphere, amazing views across to the islands and the fantastic beach, yes it is a very exposed site but if you are lucky enough to get good weather it's beautiful. There is no service point as such but there is a water point on the way into the site, and if you ask the owner will show you where you can dump waste water on the lane, not ideal but at £17 per night you can't complain, would certainly use the site again.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fordyamr1 3 reviews from this member

We have stayed here on several occasions. As has been said this is a working Croft, but until you stay here you won't know what the attraction is - so just do it. We brought some friends with us this time in their tourer - they loved it.

The owner, Joyce, is very helpful and keeps the facilities clean, although usable, they are dated.

Have a look at the other reviews for a balanced opinion, but to us, this is heaven and we will be back again and again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Red-Sonya 2 reviews from this member

When we arrived we had a warm welcome by some very friendly horses.

By the time we got there it was getting dark and Joyce told us we had missed a lovely sunset.

We decided to camp on the very edge of the beach (not a good idea as the guy next to us told us)

The stars in the sky were amazing, it was very still and calm.

We got the tent up and settled in for the night, at 2am there was a very high wind, our tent collapsed on us, but we were so tired we just went to sleep.

When we got up the next morning, we had a good laugh at the tent, it was a lovely sunny day and the beach is awesome, had a wee walk.

The only downside is the toilets are a bit far to walk to in the dark, but this will not stop us going back next year. Would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ckearton 6 reviews from this member

Just back from our second visit to this stunning little site. We arrived in a blizzard and the place was white, but the sun soon came out and the snow on the pitches disappeared in minutes. However, the views of the snow covered mountains on Eigg, Rum and Skye were truly amazing. Nothing has changed since our last visit, and although some people may think the toilet blocks are dated, hey, you're getting a piece of heaven for £17 a night - get real.

Tried to book again for the end of this month (May 2016) but Joyce is already fully booked, and why am I not surprised.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JaxG 11 reviews from this member

Stayed for a couple of nights in a tent in the first week of September, we were allocated Pitch 6 directly next to the beach, with a children's slide to access. I have spotted reviews that said not many pitches had beach access, at a guess I would say at least a dozen had, with only a few that were a maximum of 20ft away (must be too far for some!).

The weather was amazing. The sunsets better!

Joyce was very friendly and quickly replied to any Facebook messages I sent.

There is a small reception at the house with basic provisions available to buy, including her own highland beef - we didn't purchase as we brought food with us :-(

We took the kayaks and went into the crystal blue waters, we walked the white sands. WOW.

There are four toilets and two showers, arranged as 2 toilet/shower rooms for gents, 2 toilet/shower rooms for ladies, 1 toilet gents, 1 toilet ladies. Clean, basic and very hot water (included in the price).

Other reviews have mentioned there is nothing to do. Rubbish. You go here to get away from it all and have a proper outdoor experience, Mallaig is only about 6 miles away, Fort William about 35 miles away (with Ben Nevis if you are able). Get on your push bikes, use your kayaks or use walk the miles and miles. There isn't a better location in the UK I can think of!

GO!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 68 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August 2014 in order to attend a family wedding at Arisaig House.

The site has a semi-formal layout in that there are numbered pitches but where you actually position yourselves within the general area is up to you. You can be in quite close proximity to your neighbours though.

There are excellent views out towards Eigg & Rum providing you are at the top of the site i. E. On the shoreline but the walk along the beach, when the tide is out, is superb.

The showers, toilets & washing up areas are getting very tired and could really do with an upgrade given the nightly site fees charged. There was some building works just starting on site but that was outside the boundary of the site, so probably not campsite related.

The main water fill-point is on the way into the site – it looks like an EHU bollard, so we missed it first time around!

The village of Arisaig is about 2 miles away and has a SPAR shop, a café & a tea room/craft shop at the marina.

There is a newly opened Caravan Club Certificated Site immediately next door and has the same views as Invercaimbe but with a less crowded environment. If we had known about this site at the time of booking, we would have probably stayed there instead.

That’s just our personal preference for a smaller, less “busy” site.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6667 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec