Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Invercaimbe Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Invercaimbe Caravan And Campsite
Invercaimbe Croft
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01687 450375

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 10m  1m   10m 

Pitches: 18
Open: 15th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
              9/10 from 37 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JaxG 9 reviews from this member

Stayed for a couple of nights in a tent in the first week of September, we were allocated Pitch 6 directly next to the beach, with a children's slide to access. I have spotted reviews that said not many pitches had beach access, at a guess I would say at least a dozen had, with only a few that were a maximum of 20ft away (must be too far for some!).

The weather was amazing. The sunsets better!

Joyce was very friendly and quickly replied to any Facebook messages I sent.

There is a small reception at the house with basic provisions available to buy, including her own highland beef - we didn't purchase as we brought food with us :-(

We took the kayaks and went into the crystal blue waters, we walked the white sands. WOW.

There are four toilets and two showers, arranged as 2 toilet/shower rooms for gents, 2 toilet/shower rooms for ladies, 1 toilet gents, 1 toilet ladies. Clean, basic and very hot water (included in the price).

Other reviews have mentioned there is nothing to do. Rubbish. You go here to get away from it all and have a proper outdoor experience, Mallaig is only about 6 miles away, Fort William about 35 miles away (with Ben Nevis if you are able). Get on your push bikes, use your kayaks or use walk the miles and miles. There isn't a better location in the UK I can think of!

GO!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 42 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August 2014 in order to attend a family wedding at Arisaig House.

The site has a semi-formal layout in that there are numbered pitches but where you actually position yourselves within the general area is up to you. You can be in quite close proximity to your neighbours though.

There are excellent views out towards Eigg & Rum providing you are at the top of the site i. E. On the shoreline but the walk along the beach, when the tide is out, is superb.

The showers, toilets & washing up areas are getting very tired and could really do with an upgrade given the nightly site fees charged. There was some building works just starting on site but that was outside the boundary of the site, so probably not campsite related.

The main water fill-point is on the way into the site – it looks like an EHU bollard, so we missed it first time around!

The village of Arisaig is about 2 miles away and has a SPAR shop, a café & a tea room/craft shop at the marina.

There is a newly opened Caravan Club Certificated Site immediately next door and has the same views as Invercaimbe but with a less crowded environment. If we had known about this site at the time of booking, we would have probably stayed there instead.

That’s just our personal preference for a smaller, less “busy” site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Billybaby25 1 review from this member

We have just returned after a 3 day stay here and all I can say is I wished we could have stayed longer.

What a gem of a campsite :)

You don't get more unspoiled than this, as per previous comments, it is very remote and there is nothing to do for miles, other than sit on the beach, go crabbing, chilling out and walking on the beach, HEAVEN!

Knowing what the site is and where it is, you simply cannot moan about there being nothing to do or lack of facilities near by, as this is on the west coast of Scotland and it is about as remote as it gets.

Parking in Mallaig is free, we managed to park our camper in the harbour without any problems at all, and caught the train to Fort William over the famous viaduct.

Yes there is only 1 shower for men and 1 for women and 1 toilet for each, and they are a little dated, but you get what you pay for-we were charged £14 per night-had this been in Cornwall it would have easily have been double.

With views to die for and the fact that it is so unspoiled, I would go back in a shot.

The wind is one to watch though.

The owner is very easy to get on with and will do all she can to make your stay enjoyable.

If your looking for peace, quiet and tranquility then I would recommend this place every time.

Cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glunar68 7 reviews from this member

Yet another fantastic visit to this wonderful site. I was a bit dismayed by the review left by Lobey Dosser. This site is an extension of a beautiful beach with easy access from nearly all pitches. The site is a bit uneven but the individual pitches are well levelled. There is plenty to do and see if you travel near or far from the site and indeed visit the neighbouring islands. There is usually a breeze on the site which is ideal for keeping away the midgies and this part of the world has it's own wee micro climate with pleasantly welcoming shores. Water temperature is pleasant too most of the year. The owner Joyce Wilkinson is a lovely lady who is always happy to help with advice or assistance and can certainly give pointers on places of interest. One of the beautiful things about this site and this part of the world is the quality of life it affords you. I'm due to head up before the close of the season, this will be my fourth visit this year. There are spotless services available on site and superb laundry facilities. Ideal for families and a child safe beach with access to many neighbouring beaches. Ideal for canoeing and fishing. Very dog friendly but please be responsible and tidy up after your dog. I honestly cannot fault this little diamond of a site. Please consider visiting this site towards the season end as well as in the summer high season and see the beautiful changes that occur on the skyline and the flourish on the hillsides. I'll continue to return here for many years. A very reasonably priced site and the owner offers for sale her delicious hillside highland reared beef. Fabulous. Please visit.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LobeyDosser 5 reviews from this member

This site is all that has been previously said, however, there are one or two things I would point out and that I wish we had known before we went there.

There are only two pitches that have direct access to the beach and these are at the far end of the site.

All the rest are either at the other side of the only road through the site, or they are next to the beach but separated from it by a 5 foot wall of wooden posts.

None of the pitches are level, not even the hard standing ones and you will require both ramps and blocks if you want a level unit. We had 2 ramps and they were not nearly enough.

Take both sand and rock pegs with you if you have a tent or awning.

Beware of the wind up there. It is an exposed site and the wind can get up very quickly to a gale.

We lost our awning as it was ripped to shreds in the wind.

Some folks requiring EHU had to run their cables across the access road to get to the nearest EHU Point. Not ideal by any means.

There is absolutely nothing to do in this area unless you are prepared to do some long driving days.

However it is great for boating and canoeing. Fishing however is very poor as the tide goes a long way out and the water is very shallow and mostly sand with a few outcrops of rock.

Any anglers we saw ended up just buying their fish and shellfish in Mallaig.

Arisaig has an excellent Spar Shop that stocks a good range of foods and has plenty of parking outside.

Mallaig on the other hand, may have a good Co-op, but the parking is abysmal. To have any chance of getting a parking space you are best to use the car park opposite the railway station and walk into the town from there.

If you are planning to shop in Mallaig, be in and out again before the Jacobite Steam Train (the Harry Potter Express) gets in at 12. 25 when Mallaig is then over-run with sightseers.

All in all, Invercaimbe is a good site for those who know it and go prepared for its uneven pitches, sandy soil and erratic EHU Points.

Will we return there?

Probably not. There is just too little to do and too few places to visit.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peter and Jennifer 5 reviews from this member

So glad we picked this site.

We were lucky enough to have one of the beach side pitches which bordered directly on to the white sand shore and we enjoyed the fabulous views across the water towards Rum and Eigg. Having said that each pitch enjoys a good view, just some more directly over the shore than others.

The site is small and naturally laid out with designated pitches - each on firm ground with access to an electric hook up.

Showers and toilets were within a block up by the farm house, which was near enough, and each loo and shower was within an individual cabin. Two for men and two for women. No coins necessary for the shower although it looked as if they were. Probably in an ideal world these cabins need updating but we found them clean and perfectly adequate. Quite nice to be able to enjoy the privacy and space of your own little cabin. The shower was fine - not on a timer/water decently hot. Didn't have to queue either. Good laundry facilities and a washing up sink were contained within another cabin in the same area.

The owner, Joyce was a joy to meet, really hard working, welcoming, informative and helpful with a naturally unobtrusive manner. She runs the campsite alongside her herd of beef cattle and has exceptionally tasty beef for sale. Vacuum packed and frozen choices available so we stocked up the camper freezer before we left,

Deservedly popular site so booking is recommended.

We will certainly return if we get the chance!

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1172