Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - La Yole

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Site Reviews

La Yole
Chemin Des Bosses
Orouet
St Jean De Monts
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85160   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 02 51 58 67 17

Facilities:  (Key)
                      

Nearby:
1m  5m  5m  5m   1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 369
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
              8/10 from 23 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sapo303 1 review from this member

We stayed in one of their tent, which was perfect because within 15 min of us arriving we were sorted and on our way to the pool. We loved this site, it was clean tidy and there was plenty to do for our three children age 16, 8, and 6. The pool so very clean and always sunbeds and chairs for us all the sit on. We felt this site was very safe as we let our younger children go to park shop each morning to buy milk and French bread on their bikes, there are cars driving around, but everyone is going very slow and on look out for children on there bikes, walking and playing. It rained on the first day but that was it, the sun was out for rest of 2 weeks. The beach is very near but we did drive (cos all stuff we took with us) its very lovely but the sea could be cold some days and very windy (took wind break each day). We really loved this site and would recommend anyone with children to visit their.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Speedwaybabe1 3 reviews from this member

Ok here I give my honest opinion on this site as a 32 year old woman travelling with hubby of 46 and kids aged 6, 9, 9, 14 and 14 in a touring caravan and tent from 27th July until 11th August 2013.

Upon arrival we booked in and were shown to our pitch which has no restriction on which way we wanted our unit set up which was good but tiny! We managed a standard sized caravan with awning and minibus and no room left.

We had a grand comfort pitch was was great with constant water and drainage saving us the hassle of constant trips to and from.

As there were 7 of us we had to book two pitches and take a small tent ever though we have a 5 birth caravan with a double sleeping annex on the awning only to find there are no checks or wrist bands to enter the park and the teens spent most nights in the van and not the tent so in hindsight could've saved 500€!

The park is no where near how big they make out to be on websites so your well packed in with less than a metre between your van and next doors!

Unfortunately the grand comfort pitches back on the the best and newest shower, toilet and laundry block (only 4 large showers so always queues) which is very convenient but teens tend to like this place to hang out till all hours and people feel the need to slam shower doors through till the early hours.

The chemical disposal point is also in the end cubicle of the ladies which had its own door but just a cubicle wall separating it so avoid toilets when people are emptying!

French men are also quite often in the ladies weeing or cleaning teeth which having young girls in n out alone was very unsettling and I often lingered to make sure the girls left ok even though I had no idea who they were.

There is advertised a kids club which runs from 10am which would've been great for our youngsters but upon arrival at 10am we were informed that we were too late to register and they were full! Then we were told it only runs for two hours and is basic colouring in or a game of boules, pretty appalling if you ask me!

The pool bar area has wifi and boules but is no where near the reception which is where you need to book and pay!

The pool itself was a bit cold but still fine for a splash around in high temperatures and the kids loved it, there is a small slide but don't be fooled it packs a punch on its twist which I hated but again kids loved.

If you intend in sunbathing by the pool you need to queue before 10am opening to get your towels down as its not that large and gets very busy. There is also a small indoor heated pool which again seemed to be a teen hang out and was no where near safe for my little one to be in with this lot!

The play area is huge and very very good with a large sandpit and ideal for the kids to go off of an evening when it's cooling down.

Prod imminently English guests with a few French which is good if you like to mingle but most seem to keep themselves to themselves.

The shop had quite a bit of stuff that you would need but the prices were over double than anywhere else for bog basic essentials so we avoided this other than a fresh baguette daily.

There are a few large you supermarkets around which is handy and well priced.

Bbq's are permitted on pitch as long as they are gas and can be hired if you don't have one which was good as the restaurant again was very expensive so we never tried the food there except chips on a late night back starving and they were good sized and very yummy!

The site is meant to have security from 10:30pm with restrictions on the amount of noise but it is by far the most noisy park we have ever stayed at throughout france and uk and the security were no where to be found!

The local area itself is just ok with gift shops bike hire and a few places to eat. The local beach is by far the best and once discovered we never returned back to the pool as there was good food and drink at good prices, rocks dividing areas which kids crabbed in and excellent waves for bodyboarding and lovely clean sand all overseen by lifeguards which were on the ball and were constantly up and down in a boat or on a quad which made me more happy to let my children swim alone.

We travelled into saint jean de monts itself which is fantastic!

There is a lovely beach with lots of activities and lots of good places, shops, pharmacies, rosalee bike hire shops and plenty of fair type rides up lots of side streets which were fab and a rotisserie chicken shop which was excellent and very well priced.

Best of all was King Glacé which is by far the largest and best ice cream place we have ever seen with sooo many flavours to choose from on waffle cones made whilst you wait.

We also drove along the cost towards St Gilles which is a stunning little area to visit and recommended but avoid the Aquarium in Normoutier if you want a good day out that's longer than half and hour for 80€!

The reception staff are very friendly and helpful but the rest of the staff seem skeleton staff and when they do appear they don't talk or seem very nice especially the bar tender!

On our second week two units arrived and basically did what they wanted when they wanted all day and all night and got away with it, the kids were a nightmare frequently banging on tents and all of them just walked through pitches with no respect for nothing and this is something no site should allow!

The toilets were cleaned regularly and were ok seeing as the site was pretty busy but the shower cubicals always seemed a bit grim with temperature controls that don't work and frequently went so hot you had no choice but to go.

Overall we had a lovely holiday every day spent off the park and bad nights with constant noise and no we will not return to this site!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clairos 1 review from this member

We spent 17 nights here this summer and it was just okay. The pitches were a really good size and no restrictions on which way around your outfit had to be so we were able to face our friends who we had travelled with.

The playground was good but had no shade at all. The pool area was clean but there were many teenagers playing quite boisterously with no regard for small children and they had their ball confiscated by the lifeguard on a couple of occasions as it was being whizzed around the pool area.

There was a children's 'disco' which was really good - BUT it was only on 1 night per week which was a real shame. The site is in a good location - close to all amenities and the beaches. The showers were clean but quite worn and there was no way to control the

Water temperature; one minute it was hot the next quite cool. We had a really good holiday but would try other sites in future.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghislaine 24 reviews from this member

Visited here for 3 nights as part of our touring holiday of the south west coast. Were looking for a beach site around St Jean de Monts, but were disappointed in what we saw and decided to return to La Yole having previously {10 years ago} holidayed with our children. Site was full and could only offer a choice of 2 pitches. We happily choose a large hedged, electric pitch next to the bar and swimming pool. Suited us well. Close to all amenities, we had a great time. Very clean toilets and showers and pool. Entertainment in bar during the evening was fun. Good choice for families. Merlin plage beautiful and quiet. Lots of local restaurants and a supermarket within walking distance. Wifi available in the bar. Would definitely return in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woody31 1 review from this member

Spent 2 weeks here at the end of July, top site for young families. My tribe 4yr/2yr and a 4 month old boys! Good size pitches, plenty of showers/toilets all clean. Good size baby washing sinks(don't forget your sink plugs) Pool was ok, could've had more sun shades :(

230 miles from Caen 5hrs with plenty of stops, all toll free!

Site was about 1. 5 miles from the beach, but well worth it, so much sand!

This site is nice and quiet in the evenings so good for little ones, no loud discos/karaoke, some/most of the sites closer to the beach are more geared up for that.

Almost everyone cycles to the beach, kids trailer is a must, can hire them from site shop. Nice cycle tracks through woods into town.

Large Super you and Intermarche 10 min drive away.

Will be returning next summer.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: I_mck 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a camping holiday at La Yole.

We had a great time there and I can recommend it. The facilities were clean and sensibly distributed throughout the site. Toilet roll, soap etc was all provided.

The outdoor pool is a decent size though a bit cold, probably due to the cloudy weather we had for a bit. The indoor pool is heated and provides a warm alternative. NOTE: As others have said, you will not be allowed into the pool with any kind of shorts on. It must be speedo type trunks. This is strictly enforced.

The bar provides food and entertainment, together with the usual pool, air hockey and slot machines.

It has a decently stocked shop, but this was very expensive compared with SuperU 5 mins away. There is also a huge Leclercs hypermarket(and McDonalds) about 6 miles away on the road to Les Sables. I found Leclercs had a much bigger range of everything and it was cheaper.

The pitches are pretty large, you could get two large tents on them and the electrics are standard commando hook-ups. There was also a large playpark for the kids right by our pitch, which the youngest loved.

As we went before the english and french schools break up, the site was quite quiet (a good thing).

At peak times I imagine the bar would get a bit crowded.

There isn't a lot of nightlife around St Jean de monts, so if you are looking for nightclubs etc you would be better with a site nearer Les Sables which has a lot of pubs and clubs.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at La Yole and I can recommend it.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Pays de la Loire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469