We visited this site in August, we were camping in 2 tents. On arrival we were late but made very welcome and shown where everything was. The site was clean and tidy, showers/toilets were always clean and I personally never had to queue, there was always hot water too. Swimming pool was good however too cold for me but not the kiddies they loved it.
Very safe site for children they went off with their new found friends either to the playground, wifi hut, blackberry picking, cycling round the site circuit or putting together dance routines.
The town centre when open was bustling, we had difficulties finding restaurants at times in the evening there is however a McDonald's 5 minutes away so we painfully resorted to this a couple of times, the restaurants when open were lovely.
There was loads to do around the area we went to puy du foy, chateaus, markets, bowling, fishing. Supermarket is within a 5 minute drive. Should also say we took 2 dogs with us and the owner made an appointment for us with the local vet again around a 5 minute drive. We had bread and crossaints delivered most mornings which was lovely.
There was definitely a relaxing family vibe to the campsite and I would not hesitate to recommend to others.
The site is on 3 levels with plenty of trees and good views from many of the pitches which are well maintained and of a good size. The owners work tirelessly to keep the site, including the sanitation block and pool, beautifully clean and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble for them: they were friendly and helpful; they delivered bread to each outfit which had ordered it every morning, and they were constantly around if you needed any help or advice. These personal touches go a long way to ensuring a good holiday.
This is a small site situated on the outskirts of Bressuire which has plenty of shops, supermarkets, a lovely church and an imposing chateau, a charming walk away alongside a lake and river. Unlike many British sites, WiFi is free in the information hut by the entrance, a popular place in the morning and evening! The pool is medium sized, suitable for all ages with swimming aids, sun loungers and a gazebo freely provided. Campers are trusted to use the washing machine (there is plenty of line space to dry clothes) and to pay the owners when they see them. No hunting for the right coins or having to buy tokens! Whilst the sanitation block is dated, it is perfectly adequate, even at peak times, and we always found it clean.
This is an ideal base for exploring the wider area. Puy de Fou and other attractions, such as the Japanese Gardens, are not far, and we particularly enjoyed the medieval towns of Parthenay and Vouvant. There are dedicated cycling/walking paths along disused railway lines which are accessible close to the site.
Puy Rond is a peaceful site in rural France with the feel of the best of the British CLs and we had an enjoyable 10 days there despite, at times, very untypical French weather!
We were disappointed with Puy Rond as we had just left a perfect site in the Dordogne. The area itself is uninspiring particularly the drive through the town towards the site (through what looked like a disused industrial area).
On arrival the owner was very pleasant and polite and showed us to our pitch. Our pitch was quite secluded but the view was not terrific. The shower block was OK but if honest need updating, new shower heads, warmer water, better lighting, showers that stay on for longer than a few seconds, taps that don't leak. The website advertises 'wifi' which indeed it has but only available in a hut near the entrance to the site. We felt fairly disappointed with the area as there was nothing of particular interest locally. Most places that were worth visiting were at least an hours drive away if not more.
Management response: We are very sorry that you were very disappointed with Puy Rond Camping. We have never compared our location with the Dordogne albeit there is nothing wrong with the location and there are other roads other than the one you used to enter the site.
The pitch that was allocated to you is named Heaven as it is our most secluded spot with a 360 degree view of trees, hills and foliage, with private woodland and steps leading to our facilities. The rest of the campsite has open pitches and has views of the surrounding farmland.
All pitches have access to an electricity point which is lit together with all lighting at the sanitary block that are left on all night.
The showers are standard commercial showers with a time flow system to help alleviate wasting water. As for the temperature it is set at a safety level so that adults and children can use them. The sanitary block is old but kept very clean with an endless supply of toilet rolls and soap.
In the reception area where there is free Wifi there are more than 60 places to visit most of them being less than 35 minutes from the site. Puy du Fou is only 35 minutes and is the second largest tourist attraction in France so again your statement is incorrect.
We were really upset after reading this review as it is so important that everybody that visits us has a nice time and we hoped that if you were this unhappy you would of approached us and shared your concerns and not made these untrue accusations.
Many people who stayed with us have booked this year for next year and we have received personal letters of thanks however one review like this upsets us to the core.
We hope next time you write a review about a campsite you will think about the harm it can cause others and to make sure that what you say is correct.
Excellent camp site, clean tidy well organised and maintained. A little haven away from the noise of the town. Plenty of pleasant walks from the campsite, around the lakes and along the disused railway line. Town centre within easy walking distance, local shops and small supermarket. Larger superstore can be walked to on footpaths within parkland but a long distance and probably better to drive. Everyone on site extremely helpful and friendly arranging visit to local vet and suggesting places to visit. Swimming pool a definite plus.
We have been returning to this camp site for almost 10 years as part of our regular family (2 adults, 4 children) holidays along Western/Southern France. In all our time visiting here, we have never experienced anything other than friendly owners, excellent sanitary facilities and an all round clean site.
The pitches are large and we have found other people visiting the site are friendly and welcoming. The children love the play area and we all enjoy being in and around the well maintained pool.
We have never experienced any problems with the flow of water from the showers and all facilities are always spotless. I have only ever had to queue behind one person for a shower and that was due to preferring to use the large shower/toilet room for showering my youngest daughter.
Bressuire itself is very interesting. I agree that a small part of it is run down but we have seen a great improvement since our very first visit. We have walked into Bressuire from the camp site and were pleasantly surprised by the lovely town and it's many restaurants and bars, all of which are listed in the information hut at the camp site. The owners are happy to provide a map of cycle routes, the one we followed took us along an old railway track. We loved the medieval features of the town and have taken a walk to the chateau a couple of times. It certainly pays to look beyond the outskirts and explore the town.
We have regularly been to the Puy de Fou nearby and I would highly recommend a day or 2 there to anyone. It's one of our favourite parks anywhere.
We have taken trips to La Rochelle, beaches and Samur from here, all of which aren't too much of a journey.
The fact that this is the only site we return to each time we visit France should speak volumes.
This campsite has a lovely situation, in the countryside, and we had a large pitch totally to ourselves for the 10 nights we stayed.
The site is on three levels and there are a variety of motorhomes, caravans and tents staying most nights.
There is a lovely, very clean (unheated) pool which the children loved and a little playpark area. The site also has free wifi in a little cabin though this doesn't extend to the camping area.
We did have a good holiday and the area had some great attractions including castles, the city of Nantes and a bit further away and La Rochelle which is a very easy 2 hr drive.
However the town of Bressuire has seen better days and we found it shabby (certainly the walk from the campsite into town is not attractive, via factories and very run down housing). There was only one restaurant of any note and a couple of snack bars. We like to eat out in the evenings, but there was nowhere really to go. It is certainly not a tourist town and everything is shut on a Sunday except the patisseries.
Our second negative point would relate to the sanitary block. Whilst this was kept clean at all times by the very pleasant and hardworking wardens, it is very dated and we found quite unpleasant to use. There is no female/male separation which we would have preferred. The showers are simply nozzles very high up on the wall and the water doesn't flow very well in one direction but fans out so it is difficult to get more than just spray on yourself. There was one shower with a more modern shower head, however the push button allowed just 10 seconds of water and you couldn't keep your hand on the button but had to wait for the water to stop and repress it which meant a very long period to shower and tricky to wash soap away.
For these reasons it was very hard to shower the children and we resorted to using a jug which they didn't like one bit!
We have camped in a lot of sites before we had children and now we have a 5 and 3 yr old and these showers fell well below expectations for our main summer holiday. In fact if our tent wasn't so big, we had talked about moving sites after one night.
We paid over €300 for 10 nights and the sanitary facilities and the local amenities didn't justify this price in our opinion and we won't be returning.
17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6Next
Submit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.
If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.
All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.
The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions