Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Forfar Lochside Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Site Reviews

Forfar Lochside Caravan Club Site
Forfar Loch Country Park
Craig Oloch Road
Forfar
Angus   (Browse area)
DD8 1BT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01307 468917

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 07/02/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
              9/10 from 44 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WOBBLE 7 reviews from this member

As previous posts have said this site is very good, The toilet block is one of the best we have used, The country park that surrounds the site is good for walking, There is a leisure centre with a swimming pool and golf course as well. Aldi is only across the road from the site, and other super markets are close by. The only down side to our stay was that 5 caravans pitched on the playing field behind our pitch, we had dogs barking all the time a generator running through the night and cars driving round at night. The police were round every day but nothing was done. This put us and several others off from using this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heleng57 4 reviews from this member

Loved this site. Wardens are so friendly and helpful. Probably one of the best ones we have dealt with in the last year. Forfar is a lovely little town within walking distance. We stayed here for 7 nights and I would have been happy to have had longer. Facilities were immaculate. Again probably the best that we have had in a long time. We would most definitely return to this little peach

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 80 reviews from this member

Lovely Caravan Club site located just outside Forfar town centre and by the edge of Forfar Loch which provides ideal dog walking and kid’s playground.

Spacious pitches with plenty of open space between pitches.

Very good toilet/facilities block, top drawer even by Caravan Club standards.

Forfar has numerous supermarkets and local shops, so no problem with stocking up with supplies and provisions.

The delightful Glamis Castle and Gardens is 6 ½ miles from the site and is an easy cycle ride although on a main but not too busy A road and is worth a visit whilst in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gooner21 5 reviews from this member

This is our 3rd season touring with our motorhome and we've stayed at a variety of sites. But I can honestly say this has been the best by far. OK, the weather was good and it was out of school holiday times so no kids but the site was particularly well run and had something for everyone.

Situated right on the edge of the town so minutes walk from shops, supermarkets, pubs, restaurants etc. But on the edge of a beautiful loch and country park, ideal for dog walking, cycling or just a quite stroll in the trees with fantastic views. Only just over 2 miles all the way round and far enough from the bypass not to hear the traffic noise.

The site staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The site itself has a protective fence and keycode gates to control entry. Pitches not too close together and the best toilet and shower block I've ever been to. Clean, tidy, well heated and showers that you can turn on and off, none of those push button 10 second jobs.

Not far to Perth or historic Dundee and very close to the Glens of the Grampians, Clova and Prossen. Great base for exploring further afield.

We will definitely put this site on our list of places to stop.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Steven2205 1 review from this member

Just returned from 3 night stay, and the site was spotless with the most friendly wardens I have met, they made us so welcome, thank you. Toilet facilities were new and very warm with plenty of hot showers.

The site itself is in a great location and easy walking distance into town where there is a great selection of shops, pubs and eating places. It is also located in a ideal spot to drive short distances to visit some lovely coastal towns, will be back soon.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roons 2 reviews from this member

We chose Lochside Caravan Site on its many good reviews and also recommendation by friends. We were not disappointed when we pulled in. Friendly and welcoming wardens greeted us on arrival. And the site looked lovely. We were keen to have a good view of the loch from our van and were delighted when the warden showed us which available pitches would offer this and were also advised that we could point the caravan into the middle of the site or turn it around and have it overlooking the loch – this was just what we were looking for! Sadly the perfect pitch had already been taken by some lucky couple…. Instead we chose Pitch 33 which bordered the local park/football pitch and had views of the loch beyond! We were advised that the local kids play football sometimes into the evening but that it wasn’t too noisy.

The site itself can’t be faulted. Very, clean, level and generous hard standing and grass pitches. Well kept, neat grass between pitches and around site. Showers / toilets absolutely spotless as is normal for Caravan Club Sites. Plenty of hot water. Great information area in the ‘hallway’ between the male and female showers. Nifty little direction slips (printed directions for Supermarkets, shops etc. ) that you could pick up and put in your purse - a nice little touch! There is gated access to the loch and children’s play park which uses a pin code. One suggestion would be a path to the toilets would be a bit more practical than grass.

At about 9pm on our first evening we were sitting in our awning having a drink and talking about how perfect the site was and rating it as one of our favourites to date. Unfortunately this conversation came to an abrupt end when some local teenagers decided to throw, with some force, a metal object over the fence at our brand new caravan…putting a hole in the back wall! The warden was informed immediately and along with the local police was extremely helpful! The warden admitted a similar incident had happened before and the police said they had been called to the site a few times for incidents of that nature. The police also thought the park and perimeter of the site was used as a short cut to the play park and other parts of the town. The site has new high metal fencing and in places there are trees and bushes offering further privacy. Perhaps high hedges could be planted in the areas where there is fence only.

We really do not want to put people off from coming to what is a fantastic, well run and immaculate site but think it’s important to make people aware of what happened to us and a few other unfortunate caravanners. We appreciate that the site have no control on the behaviour of the local youth and it is so unfortunate that this happened on a site that is obviously well run and well cared for. We thank the wardens for their concern and help and hope there are no more such incidents! We will be back but we will just opt for a different pitch next time!

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Angus   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469