Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Forfar Lochside Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Site Reviews

Forfar Lochside Caravan Club Site
Forfar Loch Country Park
Craig Oloch Road
Forfar
Angus   (Browse area)
DD8 1BT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01307 468917

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 07/02/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
              9/10 from 46 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 120 reviews from this member

We were very impressed by this site - its impeccable toilets & showers; the layout in a circle, which makes it seem less regimented - the central grass area has EHUs but they weren't in use this late in the season; very generous hardstands, well separated; CDPs sited by each bin / water area, which was convenient; the location beside the Country Park around Forfar Loch with its ducks, geese, swans & gulls (an unobtrusive security fence separates the site from the many walkers, joggers and weekend football players); the 'help yourself' herb beds; the two hard-working friendly Wardens. For us, the only thing it lacked was a small on-site dog walk for comfort breaks, but that wouldn't stop us coming back. Cost £18 pn, should have been £28 as we are not CC members but they kindly waived the surcharge as the site wasn't full. It's possible to walk right around the loch, this would take a good hour or more. Town is a short walk away, 'the meffan' Gallery / Museum / TIC is worth a visit as it has very good exhibitions. Each of the several Angus Glens has a different character, we enjoyed 'ticking' them off. The other thing to recommend, of course, is a delicious Forfar Bridie for lunch! As essential as eating a Cornish Pasty in Cornwall.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Clangoddard 4 reviews from this member

First class camp site. Very Warm welcome, immaculate site, superb toilets and fantastic location. It is next to the loch which has a lovely walk, leisure centre and is a short walk from the town centre. I can recommend the Stag for a lovely meat which is a short walk from the site. I would have no hesitation in recommend this site. Well done to the staff that maintain and run the site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WOBBLE 8 reviews from this member

As previous posts have said this site is very good, The toilet block is one of the best we have used, The country park that surrounds the site is good for walking, There is a leisure centre with a swimming pool and golf course as well. Aldi is only across the road from the site, and other super markets are close by. The only down side to our stay was that 5 caravans pitched on the playing field behind our pitch, we had dogs barking all the time a generator running through the night and cars driving round at night. The police were round every day but nothing was done. This put us and several others off from using this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heleng57 4 reviews from this member

Loved this site. Wardens are so friendly and helpful. Probably one of the best ones we have dealt with in the last year. Forfar is a lovely little town within walking distance. We stayed here for 7 nights and I would have been happy to have had longer. Facilities were immaculate. Again probably the best that we have had in a long time. We would most definitely return to this little peach

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 85 reviews from this member

Lovely Caravan Club site located just outside Forfar town centre and by the edge of Forfar Loch which provides ideal dog walking and kidís playground.

Spacious pitches with plenty of open space between pitches.

Very good toilet/facilities block, top drawer even by Caravan Club standards.

Forfar has numerous supermarkets and local shops, so no problem with stocking up with supplies and provisions.

The delightful Glamis Castle and Gardens is 6 Ĺ miles from the site and is an easy cycle ride although on a main but not too busy A road and is worth a visit whilst in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gooner21 5 reviews from this member

This is our 3rd season touring with our motorhome and we've stayed at a variety of sites. But I can honestly say this has been the best by far. OK, the weather was good and it was out of school holiday times so no kids but the site was particularly well run and had something for everyone.

Situated right on the edge of the town so minutes walk from shops, supermarkets, pubs, restaurants etc. But on the edge of a beautiful loch and country park, ideal for dog walking, cycling or just a quite stroll in the trees with fantastic views. Only just over 2 miles all the way round and far enough from the bypass not to hear the traffic noise.

The site staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The site itself has a protective fence and keycode gates to control entry. Pitches not too close together and the best toilet and shower block I've ever been to. Clean, tidy, well heated and showers that you can turn on and off, none of those push button 10 second jobs.

Not far to Perth or historic Dundee and very close to the Glens of the Grampians, Clova and Prossen. Great base for exploring further afield.

We will definitely put this site on our list of places to stop.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Angus   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4725 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1104