Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Forfar Lochside Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Site Reviews

Forfar Lochside Caravan Club Site
Forfar Loch Country Park
Craig Oloch Road
Forfar
Angus   (Browse area)
DD8 1BT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01307 468917

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 07/02/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
              9/10 from 39 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Steven2205 1 review from this member

Just returned from 3 night stay, and the site was spotless with the most friendly wardens I have met, they made us so welcome, thank you. Toilet facilities were new and very warm with plenty of hot showers.

The site itself is in a great location and easy walking distance into town where there is a great selection of shops, pubs and eating places. It is also located in a ideal spot to drive short distances to visit some lovely coastal towns, will be back soon.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roons 2 reviews from this member

We chose Lochside Caravan Site on its many good reviews and also recommendation by friends. We were not disappointed when we pulled in. Friendly and welcoming wardens greeted us on arrival. And the site looked lovely. We were keen to have a good view of the loch from our van and were delighted when the warden showed us which available pitches would offer this and were also advised that we could point the caravan into the middle of the site or turn it around and have it overlooking the loch – this was just what we were looking for! Sadly the perfect pitch had already been taken by some lucky couple…. Instead we chose Pitch 33 which bordered the local park/football pitch and had views of the loch beyond! We were advised that the local kids play football sometimes into the evening but that it wasn’t too noisy.

The site itself can’t be faulted. Very, clean, level and generous hard standing and grass pitches. Well kept, neat grass between pitches and around site. Showers / toilets absolutely spotless as is normal for Caravan Club Sites. Plenty of hot water. Great information area in the ‘hallway’ between the male and female showers. Nifty little direction slips (printed directions for Supermarkets, shops etc. ) that you could pick up and put in your purse - a nice little touch! There is gated access to the loch and children’s play park which uses a pin code. One suggestion would be a path to the toilets would be a bit more practical than grass.

At about 9pm on our first evening we were sitting in our awning having a drink and talking about how perfect the site was and rating it as one of our favourites to date. Unfortunately this conversation came to an abrupt end when some local teenagers decided to throw, with some force, a metal object over the fence at our brand new caravan…putting a hole in the back wall! The warden was informed immediately and along with the local police was extremely helpful! The warden admitted a similar incident had happened before and the police said they had been called to the site a few times for incidents of that nature. The police also thought the park and perimeter of the site was used as a short cut to the play park and other parts of the town. The site has new high metal fencing and in places there are trees and bushes offering further privacy. Perhaps high hedges could be planted in the areas where there is fence only.

We really do not want to put people off from coming to what is a fantastic, well run and immaculate site but think it’s important to make people aware of what happened to us and a few other unfortunate caravanners. We appreciate that the site have no control on the behaviour of the local youth and it is so unfortunate that this happened on a site that is obviously well run and well cared for. We thank the wardens for their concern and help and hope there are no more such incidents! We will be back but we will just opt for a different pitch next time!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LouH 9 reviews from this member

Friendly wardens who were efficient and helpful from the start.

Barrier system in and out with a card for entry, on arrival space for 2 units to queue in front of 2 separate barriers and a further barrier for others to gain access, great idea as no blocking entry.

The pitches felt really spacious and some had views to the country park and Loch adjoining. Very little on site for children but access gained via a key coded gate from the site to the park for children and dog walkers and then acres of space to enjoy.

Showers and toilets were spotless, as previously said the cleanest we have come across and the radio a good touch.

Laundry clean and with 2 washing machines and 2 dryers.

Town of Forfar within a 10 minute walk with an Asda, Tesco and Aldi all within walking distance.

Ideal base to visit as far as Aberdeen and down to Dundee.

If you like beaches then Lunan Bay is beautiful and I would highly recommend a visit, there is also a small farm shop and cafe there now too.

If you would like to sample in our opinion the best fish and chips ever then a visit to Inverbervie and the Inverbervie Chipper is a must!

Would return if in the area again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dickiebird 2 reviews from this member

Very centrally located site within an easy stroll of the town. Warm and friendly welcome on arrival - up to the Caravan Club's usual high standard. Spacious, level pitches, some with good views over the loch. Although just the two of us, there were great play facilities for the children, plus a leisure centre right next door, and super walks for dogs.

The toilet and shower blocks were the best we've experienced in our travels, and although the site was about 80% full, we never had to queue. Forfar is a pleasant town with lots of shops, supermarkets, pubs, restaurants and takeaway establishments - so plenty to choose from should you not wish to cook. Would recommend the 'proper' Forfar Bridie' for lunch, and should you venture into Arbroath - then you must purchase some Arbroath Smokies!

Located in the town was a good bus service to other towns and cities including Arbroath, Montrose, Dundee and Aberdeen, with lots of historical attractions nearby and within an hour's drive.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vintage t 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a very relaxing break at Forfar. The wardens could not be more helpful or welcoming. We were on a serviced pitch, which was level as were most of the pitches on the site. Toilet and shower block was spotless with plenty warm water.

There are three supermarkets within easy walking distance. There is also plenty of places to eat out at reasonable prices, we went to Chapter & Verse and had a high tea which was delicious.

Out and about there is loads to do with House of Dun, Montrose, Glams castle and Arbroath to name a few. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bunny72 6 reviews from this member

Excellent reception -most welcoming and helpful. Fully serviced and level pitches. Excellent toilet block to usual Caravan Club standards. Forfar a good centre for the surrounding areas. About two minutes walk from shops. Very good dog walks (off lead) adjacent. Quiet when we were there but next to public park which might have the potential for noise as some have experienced. Only spent one night as moving on.

Previous     39 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Angus   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0625