Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811397

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
              9/10 from 34 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dolcered 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from 5 fabulous days where our base was the Glencoe Caravaning and Camping site. We visited glencose village, the nevis range, fort william, oban and had a wee trip to the clachaig inn.

Lovely welome at the reception, and shown where to pitch (freedom to pick your own spot). Electric hook up available if desired.

Site was a little soggy but this is Scotland and we did have a night of biblical rain.

Backpacker huts are a really nice touch. Usual rules apply on site, no fires, dogs on leads etc. No real issues with any of these.

You certainly can't better the views on offer.

Toilet block kept immaculately clean, although closing completely between 10. 45 and 12. 00 is bad timing right before lunch (A Disabled toilet is available for emergencies) Was impressed by the private sink facilities, no issues with queues for showers or toilets. Laundry facilities available although not required by us.

Site benefits from being close to the visitor centre, I wouldn't bother with the centre itself, but the 'woodland' walks (lots of foresty operations ongoing at the moment, lots of trees down) are ideal for furry friends. Site is a 20min walk from Glencoe village along a safe traffic free path.

The only complaint I have is about the dracaonian 'lady' who appears to patrol the toilet block on a power trip mission. A lesson in dealing with customers and basic manners would not go amiss. Star rating would have been higher if not for this lady. (Customer service rating is only relevant to this lady not the couple at reception)

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: D Martin 2 reviews from this member

We spent 2 nights here and had to pay top dollar not being members (44). If we had seen the sloping field we were given before we paid, maybe the campsite a mile up the road would have been a better option. We had to park on a gravel track away from our pitch and carry everything 25 yards to the flattest piece of ground we could find. A shame as the site has lots of flat, well drained and prepared areas elsewhere that left us feeling we were tucked away at the back of the site away from members pitches.

The facilities are the usual Caravan and Camping Club high quality and the block is guarded by a keypad password. The midges definitely mean business and need to be prepared for, but the surrounding mountain scenery make it all worth while.

The site office holds all primary supplies and is run by a friendly couple. The gate is locked at 11pm so a late night would mean leaving your car outside the barrier until morning. A mile or so further down the road is a garage and a few diners, plus a scenic Loch Leven round trip that includes a shellfish factory where fresh produce can be eaten or taken away.

You can save 5. 40 a night if you join the CC Club (42 a year) making the nightly rate more acceptable for tents if you use them more than 8 nights a year.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 29 reviews from this member

This site set in a ring of hills Ben Nevis not far away what wonderful views breath taking drive her from Loch Ness and onwards to Killin. Next to Glencoe tourist information centre that has a nice coffee shop and a good viewing platform. Lovely site good clean toilet block with showers, laundry and wash up area. Pitches ample for car van and awning all set around a large grass area. No papers in reception but milk, coffee, tea etc. There is a walk from site into Glencoe village I was told a walk of one mile to village it felt like one and a half miles to me but pretty, though hard going for my old legs, through the forest path good well laid out all the way good dog walk. It meets the road after about half a mile into the village. A nisa store and lovely cafe (great coffee and scrambled eggs)in the village with a garage that also had papers. A great walking area and I was told good for Munro's. Staff friendly and always busy they are new to the site and adding to it all the time.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ENOCH 21 reviews from this member

The Glen Coe club site is situated off the A82 near the visitor centre and access to the site is easy. The toilets, shower areas and the grounds are of the standard expected and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Glen Coe has fantastic scenery and numerous walks ranging from gentle strolls to the more serious climbs. The site is more than a mile from Glencoe village where small local shops are available, there is a Co oP supermarket and Tourist information centre further south at Ballachulish. Fort William is the main local town offering various supermarkets and fuel, Oban is situated further south, again with numerous shops and supermarkets.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jpandsp 6 reviews from this member

Great site in a stunning location in the mountains next door to the Visitors Centre.

Showers and toilets were modern and kept clean (despite the relentless rain and doubtlessly muddy feet).

Nice path through the woods to the village centre where you can stock up on essentials, and other nice walks through the woods from the site

Wardens were friendly and helpful

Bit near to the road and the logging road on one side so if road noise is going to bother you ask for a pitch on the other side

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 271 reviews from this member

We usually stay at Bunree, but thought we would give this site a go - so pleased we did.

You don't get the loch views, but you do get spectacular mountain views all around you from every pitch. All pitches are spacious and hard-standing. Facilities are as you expect from C&CC - immaculate, warm and welcoming. We were booked in to the site by the assistant warden - very friendly and helpful a real asset to the C&CC.

From the site there is a footpath down to Gencloe village, plenty of other walks in the area. Less then 20 minutes drive into Fort William and 10 minutes up to Glencoe itself. The Ski centre has a brilliant cafe which is worth a visit - the chairlifts run all year too.

Yet another top C&CC site, really cannot fault it in anyway and would recommend it.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6861 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1016