Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811397

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
              8/10 from 37 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (14)

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Damaca 5 reviews from this member

We meant to stay 1 night here en route further north, but liked it so much we stayed another.

Spotless facilities, very friendly couple who are the joint site managers, great views all round. Nice traffic free'nature' walk into Glencoe village from where there are several more good walks, also café, shop, pub and interesting local museum. Or you can drive a couple of miles up the main road, where there are many car parks giving access to numerous high level walks. For wifi we walked 50m on a path to the nearby Scottish National Trust Visitor centre where there is good free wifi, also café, shop, exhibitions and very helpful staff who have detailed local weather forecasts.

An excellent site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentaddict7 16 reviews from this member

We used this site for a 2 night stop over on our way up to the Western Highlands, there were two adults, one teenager and a dog.

Overall this site was a fairly good one, in its location and facilities on site and locally. It is in a stunning setting with mountains all around, and a scenic drive before arrival too.

The staff were welcoming and efficient, although I had asked for a pitch away from the road and logging noise (as per previous reviews) and the man who showed us to our pitch denied that there was ever any road noise or logging noise (there was, not a huge issue but it was there).

The site was not busy at all, there were a few tents but lots of space, and plenty of empty caravan and motorhome pitches.

The tent field was at the back of the site, although in a very pleasant area with lovely views, it did feel that the site was more focused on the caravan and motorhome owners.

It was very boggy underfoot in many parts of the field, although not muddy. You could pitch where you wanted, and we managed to find an area that was a bit firmer to set up. Although we could not park the car on the grass it was no bother to bring gear across, it was only a short distance.

Facilities were very good, although the entry code system was annoying, especially when you are desperate for the loo in the night, it didn't seem necessary to me.

My husband was told off by one of the staff (possibly the lady mentioned in a below review) for parking the car on an empty motorhome pitch next to the facilities, only very briefly when returning to the site and dashing to the toilet after a few hours out fishing with our son, she rushed out and he was told that it would mess up the ground (less than a huge heavy motorhome parking on it??)

We felt that this site was a good place to stop over for a couple of nights, but not for a longer stay, it was a bit too regimented for our taste and very much more well set up for caravans/motorhomes than tent campers.

I don't think we will return, lots more sites we could use in the area for the future but that is just our personal preference.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magieann 7 reviews from this member

This site was the last one of our fantastic three week tour of Scotland. The site itself is situated in a picturesque setting with a pleasant walk in to Glencoe, set back from the road.

The site was close to empty other than a couple of tourers dotted about here and there. The site entrance road was in need of maintenance. There was a very large and deep pot hole full of water from the heavy rain. This caused us some concern.

The toilets are immaculate and the showers were clean and hot.

We saw three wardens on the site and the over the top attitude of one of them is the reason that we would not revisit.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dolcered 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from 5 fabulous days where our base was the Glencoe Caravaning and Camping site. We visited glencose village, the nevis range, fort william, oban and had a wee trip to the clachaig inn.

Lovely welome at the reception, and shown where to pitch (freedom to pick your own spot). Electric hook up available if desired.

Site was a little soggy but this is Scotland and we did have a night of biblical rain.

Backpacker huts are a really nice touch. Usual rules apply on site, no fires, dogs on leads etc. No real issues with any of these.

You certainly can't better the views on offer.

Toilet block kept immaculately clean, although closing completely between 10. 45 and 12. 00 is bad timing right before lunch (A Disabled toilet is available for emergencies) Was impressed by the private sink facilities, no issues with queues for showers or toilets. Laundry facilities available although not required by us.

Site benefits from being close to the visitor centre, I wouldn't bother with the centre itself, but the 'woodland' walks (lots of foresty operations ongoing at the moment, lots of trees down) are ideal for furry friends. Site is a 20min walk from Glencoe village along a safe traffic free path.

The only complaint I have is about the dracaonian 'lady' who appears to patrol the toilet block on a power trip mission. A lesson in dealing with customers and basic manners would not go amiss. Star rating would have been higher if not for this lady. (Customer service rating is only relevant to this lady not the couple at reception)

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: D Martin 2 reviews from this member

We spent 2 nights here and had to pay top dollar not being members (£44). If we had seen the sloping field we were given before we paid, maybe the campsite a mile up the road would have been a better option. We had to park on a gravel track away from our pitch and carry everything 25 yards to the flattest piece of ground we could find. A shame as the site has lots of flat, well drained and prepared areas elsewhere that left us feeling we were tucked away at the back of the site away from members pitches.

The facilities are the usual Caravan and Camping Club high quality and the block is guarded by a keypad password. The midges definitely mean business and need to be prepared for, but the surrounding mountain scenery make it all worth while.

The site office holds all primary supplies and is run by a friendly couple. The gate is locked at 11pm so a late night would mean leaving your car outside the barrier until morning. A mile or so further down the road is a garage and a few diners, plus a scenic Loch Leven round trip that includes a shellfish factory where fresh produce can be eaten or taken away.

You can save £5. 40 a night if you join the CC Club (£42 a year) making the nightly rate more acceptable for tents if you use them more than 8 nights a year.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 43 reviews from this member

This site set in a ring of hills Ben Nevis not far away what wonderful views breath taking drive her from Loch Ness and onwards to Killin. Next to Glencoe tourist information centre that has a nice coffee shop and a good viewing platform. Lovely site good clean toilet block with showers, laundry and wash up area. Pitches ample for car van and awning all set around a large grass area. No papers in reception but milk, coffee, tea etc. There is a walk from site into Glencoe village I was told a walk of one mile to village it felt like one and a half miles to me but pretty, though hard going for my old legs, through the forest path good well laid out all the way good dog walk. It meets the road after about half a mile into the village. A nisa store and lovely cafe (great coffee and scrambled eggs)in the village with a garage that also had papers. A great walking area and I was told good for Munro's. Staff friendly and always busy they are new to the site and adding to it all the time.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 – 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5519 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015