Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pont De Fournil Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Site Reviews

Pont De Fournil Camping
St Laurent Des Hommes
Mussidan
Dordogne
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24400   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033553819752

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 8-10
Open: 27.06.15 - 12.09.15

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
              9/10 from 20 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24)

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Buckcello 1 review from this member

A fantastic campsite that is very well run and very well organised by the owners/host. Very relaxed feel, well priced, friendly, welcoming and completely safe and secure, where everything and anything that a person can possibly need has been carefully thought out in advance. The site accommodates tents, caravans, camper vans and also has guest houses/Gites on site. Private and clean hot shower cubicles, two lovely large lakes, tennis court, BBQ's allowed, Wi-Fi available, washing machine, communal fridge and freezer, indoor washing up area, information given, beautiful pool to take dip in, boats to use as desired. We turned up for the night and ended up staying a week. That says it all! Highly recommended and Big Thanks goes to the campsite owners who are professional, helpful, accommodating and do everything they can to give information about the local area and the surrounds.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B4bardsley 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic stay in Pont De Fournil having stayed for 3 weeks in our touring caravan. The site is set on a gorgeous river that slowly meanders around the campsite ( River L'isle) with a lovely fishing lake in the middle. The site has 10 huge pitches with electrical hook-ups and would accommodate large caravans or motor homes with plenty of room to spare.

The setting is stunning and set on a large wooded area with a green in the middle which was fantastic for our kids to play cricket with the other children. The great thing about the site is its rural and tranquil setting, unlike some of the large touristy sites that you find in the Dordogne. The shower block is immaculate and cleaned twice a day and the showers have plenty of hot water. There is a laundry and wash room attached to the shower block with various sports equipment free to use including tennis rackets for the tennis courts and a book exchange point.

All the pitches have some shade but also lots of opportunity to soak up the sun, essential for our ritual evening wine, watching the sun go down over the river!

The village is a short drive ( or cycle ride in my case) and is lovely and sleepy. There is a bakers selling fresh bread and the like and also some small shops to pick up the essentials ( including English newspapers if you feel the need). There is also a bar but we have never been in as we prefer drinking outside our awning! Montpon and Mussidan are the two nearest towns, about a 10 min drive away. There are plenty of supermarkets in both but we tended to use the Liddle which had everything we needed ; particularly the cheap wine.

Bergerac is a 30 min drive and is gorgeous to visit; particularly the markets. One of our favourite places is Archachon and the dunes (largest sand dune in Europe, unmissable but go when it's cooler).

This is our fourth visit to this campsite and we absolutely love it. We always stay for 3 weeks ( teacher !) and will be going back again next year. Our two children ( 9&12) love the fact that they can roam free and safely on the site and make lasting friendships with other children. They loved playing in the free canoes and boats and swimming in the river. The swimming pool also got loads of attention too.

Finally the owners, Karen, Ricky, Betty and Keith ( all English) are fantastic hosts and will do all they can to make your holiday fantastic.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Noswap 1 review from this member

We had a really nice stay here, stayed for 1 week fished the lake and river with good results.

Toilets nice & clean and we had a big pitch very close to the river and enjoyed a glass of wine or 2 on the river bank as the sun went down

We enjoyed the cycling in this part of the dordogne quite flat and not far to local towns and villages.

Plenty of space for children to play in the centre of the site and good canoeing on the river and lake

This site has only 7 or 8 pitches and all our neighbours were really nice especially Norma & Eddie who let us finish our last meal in there awning as it rained and we had packed everything away

Overall a nice quiet site to get away from it all, we will return soon

John & Ruth

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Z - J Bodnar 1 review from this member

Stuck in paradise!

Whilst touring France in the Easter holiday we had car trouble and pulled in to this small family campsite. It was pre season so the site was not yet open. Despite this the owners took us in and helped us whilst we arranged for our car to be fixed. We ended up staying there for two weeks in this iidilic location. There is a river running at the bottom of the site, a gorgeous fishing lake, tennis court and swimming pool. The pitch was large with 16 amp electric hook up, don't forget your European adapter! As always we used our own facilities whilst the owners were preparing for their season, they were busy upgrading the spacious shower blocks and retiling the gorgeous swimming pool. There are also three lovely Gites overlooking the lake.

The owners are English but had a good knowledge of the local area as they have lived there for many years.

We explored the local villages on bikes picking up fresh bread each morning from the local bakery. There are several supermarkets within 10 minutes drive. There were amazing places to visit nearby including St Emilion, and Brantome. We also spent some time on the river in the owners little boat going through the lovely countryside. If you are adventurous you can go through the locks and explore the villages further away.

Despite the traumatic car problems, we had an amazing stay thanks to Karen, Ricky, Keith and Betty opening their site for us. We will definitely return to this lovely place in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pegasus2 1 review from this member

This was our second stay at Pont de fournil we just love it. With it being a small CL type of campsite it suited us rather than the larger commercial sites. It had everything we wanted, a nice shower block with piping hot water, which were cleaned every day, unfortunately the odd camper did not wipe the shower cubicle out with mop and bucket provided by the owners. It had a utility room with sinks for preparing food and washing pots and also a fridge freezer which came in useful in the hot weather. In the corner of the room were information leaflets of places to visit, which was very handy.

They were also a few books for you to read if you wanted to chill out. They were plenty of things for the children to do, swings, table tennis, tennis court, pedalo, rowing boat, canoe with life jackets all provided free of charge and a nice swimming pool which was a godsend in the high temperatures.

There were many places to visit in the Dordogne, Bergerac, Brantome, Perigeaux, St Emillion, Bordeaux (use Tram Park and Ride so easy), last but not least Arcachon(dunes) absolutely stunning. Shopping is no trouble, there are two large supermarkets and a Lidl ten minutes drive and three minutes drive to the local village where there is a bread shop and a general store.

We hope to go back again and meet two couples we made friends with who had invited us to a birthday party and a Sunday roast they were such lovely couples. The campsite has a road running along side which has the odd lorry or tractor and local traffic, we soon got use to it. We would certainly recommend this site to anyone. The owners were always there if you wanted any help but gave you plenty of space also. Thank you Karen, Ricky, Betty and Keith for a brilliant holiday.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MelSiCarrington 6 reviews from this member

We chose this site as we were looking for a small campsite in the Dordogne area, we stayed there at the beginning of September (once all the kids were back at school) which meant we were the only campers on site (and a couple staying in a gite), this was great for us as we had almost exclusive use of the swimming pool which was kept very clean, it is not heated but was warm enough for us, we also had use of the canoe and rowing boat which we took out a couple of times. The shower block was what we expected, a decent shower and toilet area with mirror, however the shower did get inhabited with bugs (which you can accept as campers) but it wasn't very clean. The campsite was centrally located to many towns, we enjoyed Bergerac & Saint Emilion, as well as supermarkets at Mussidan and Montpon, the local village of Saint Laurent Des Hommes is small but has a nice bar with friendly staff and a lovely bakers. The owner was helpful when we needed but gave us space and privacy too. Overall we would recommend this campsite but think the facilities may struggle when at full capacity.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aquitaine   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
50 Tickets for the NEC Oct Motorhome & Caravan Show Win a Clarke IG2000 2kW Generator

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6349 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1094