Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pont De Fournil Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Site Reviews

Pont De Fournil Camping
St Laurent Des Hommes
Mussidan
Dordogne
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24400   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033553819752

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 8-10
Open: 27.06.15 - 12.09.15

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
              9/10 from 18 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24)

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B4bardsley 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic stay in Pont De Fournil having stayed for 3 weeks in our touring caravan. The site is set on a gorgeous river that slowly meanders around the campsite ( River L'isle) with a lovely fishing lake in the middle. The site has 10 huge pitches with electrical hook-ups and would accommodate large caravans or motor homes with plenty of room to spare.

The setting is stunning and set on a large wooded area with a green in the middle which was fantastic for our kids to play cricket with the other children. The great thing about the site is its rural and tranquil setting, unlike some of the large touristy sites that you find in the Dordogne. The shower block is immaculate and cleaned twice a day and the showers have plenty of hot water. There is a laundry and wash room attached to the shower block with various sports equipment free to use including tennis rackets for the tennis courts and a book exchange point.

All the pitches have some shade but also lots of opportunity to soak up the sun, essential for our ritual evening wine, watching the sun go down over the river!

The village is a short drive ( or cycle ride in my case) and is lovely and sleepy. There is a bakers selling fresh bread and the like and also some small shops to pick up the essentials ( including English newspapers if you feel the need). There is also a bar but we have never been in as we prefer drinking outside our awning! Montpon and Mussidan are the two nearest towns, about a 10 min drive away. There are plenty of supermarkets in both but we tended to use the Liddle which had everything we needed ; particularly the cheap wine.

Bergerac is a 30 min drive and is gorgeous to visit; particularly the markets. One of our favourite places is Archachon and the dunes (largest sand dune in Europe, unmissable but go when it's cooler).

This is our fourth visit to this campsite and we absolutely love it. We always stay for 3 weeks ( teacher !) and will be going back again next year. Our two children ( 9&12) love the fact that they can roam free and safely on the site and make lasting friendships with other children. They loved playing in the free canoes and boats and swimming in the river. The swimming pool also got loads of attention too.

Finally the owners, Karen, Ricky, Betty and Keith ( all English) are fantastic hosts and will do all they can to make your holiday fantastic.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Z - J Bodnar 1 review from this member

Stuck in paradise!

Whilst touring France in the Easter holiday we had car trouble and pulled in to this small family campsite. It was pre season so the site was not yet open. Despite this the owners took us in and helped us whilst we arranged for our car to be fixed. We ended up staying there for two weeks in this iidilic location. There is a river running at the bottom of the site, a gorgeous fishing lake, tennis court and swimming pool. The pitch was large with 16 amp electric hook up, don't forget your European adapter! As always we used our own facilities whilst the owners were preparing for their season, they were busy upgrading the spacious shower blocks and retiling the gorgeous swimming pool. There are also three lovely Gites overlooking the lake.

The owners are English but had a good knowledge of the local area as they have lived there for many years.

We explored the local villages on bikes picking up fresh bread each morning from the local bakery. There are several supermarkets within 10 minutes drive. There were amazing places to visit nearby including St Emilion, and Brantome. We also spent some time on the river in the owners little boat going through the lovely countryside. If you are adventurous you can go through the locks and explore the villages further away.

Despite the traumatic car problems, we had an amazing stay thanks to Karen, Ricky, Keith and Betty opening their site for us. We will definitely return to this lovely place in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pegasus2 1 review from this member

This was our second stay at Pont de fournil we just love it. With it being a small CL type of campsite it suited us rather than the larger commercial sites. It had everything we wanted, a nice shower block with piping hot water, which were cleaned every day, unfortunately the odd camper did not wipe the shower cubicle out with mop and bucket provided by the owners. It had a utility room with sinks for preparing food and washing pots and also a fridge freezer which came in useful in the hot weather. In the corner of the room were information leaflets of places to visit, which was very handy.

They were also a few books for you to read if you wanted to chill out. They were plenty of things for the children to do, swings, table tennis, tennis court, pedalo, rowing boat, canoe with life jackets all provided free of charge and a nice swimming pool which was a godsend in the high temperatures.

There were many places to visit in the Dordogne, Bergerac, Brantome, Perigeaux, St Emillion, Bordeaux (use Tram Park and Ride so easy), last but not least Arcachon(dunes) absolutely stunning. Shopping is no trouble, there are two large supermarkets and a Lidl ten minutes drive and three minutes drive to the local village where there is a bread shop and a general store.

We hope to go back again and meet two couples we made friends with who had invited us to a birthday party and a Sunday roast they were such lovely couples. The campsite has a road running along side which has the odd lorry or tractor and local traffic, we soon got use to it. We would certainly recommend this site to anyone. The owners were always there if you wanted any help but gave you plenty of space also. Thank you Karen, Ricky, Betty and Keith for a brilliant holiday.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MelSiCarrington 6 reviews from this member

We chose this site as we were looking for a small campsite in the Dordogne area, we stayed there at the beginning of September (once all the kids were back at school) which meant we were the only campers on site (and a couple staying in a gite), this was great for us as we had almost exclusive use of the swimming pool which was kept very clean, it is not heated but was warm enough for us, we also had use of the canoe and rowing boat which we took out a couple of times. The shower block was what we expected, a decent shower and toilet area with mirror, however the shower did get inhabited with bugs (which you can accept as campers) but it wasn't very clean. The campsite was centrally located to many towns, we enjoyed Bergerac & Saint Emilion, as well as supermarkets at Mussidan and Montpon, the local village of Saint Laurent Des Hommes is small but has a nice bar with friendly staff and a lovely bakers. The owner was helpful when we needed but gave us space and privacy too. Overall we would recommend this campsite but think the facilities may struggle when at full capacity.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracyannie 2 reviews from this member

What a find, we've recently returned from a fabulous 2 weeks at Pont De Fournil and will definitely be returning! From the moment we arrived and were shown to our pitch we were welcomed by everyone, even given a beer and a lemonade before the van was unhooked by the wonderful couple next door to us. The site itself is in a beautiful, relaxed setting with the pool and lake on one side and the river the other. Although there is a road running alongside it, it is a relatively quiet road leading to the local village and mostly seemed to be used by local traffic and agricultural vehicles which after a while we just didn't notice it. Having a caravan obviously means we don't need to use all the facilities in the utilities and shower blocks, but there were 2 large washing areas as well as a washing machine which was very useful indeed! The showers were a little tired but the water was always piping hot and powerful. Although there were some issues with the edge of the pool, the owners were aware of this and told us they were dealing with it. Despite this the pool was a godsend in the baking hot weather and was certainly welcomed by all. Whenever we have been on holiday before we have always done a lot of exploring of the local area but to be honest we rarely ventured out. The supermarket in Mussidan was a 5/10 minute drive away and had everything we needed, and Bergerac is definitley worth a day out for. If you like camping in busy places with tons of facilities and entertainment this is not going to be for you, but if you love just chillin' out with great company and your children having the freedom to play and entertain themselves we would highly recommend Pont De Fournil. Thank you Karen, Ricky and Betty for a fabulous holiday

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meps 5 reviews from this member

Its a while since a review has been posted about this site. We went on previous reviews but were quite disappointed, we agree that the pitches were huge, right by the river with free use of boat etc. Was lovely. However we were pretty much left to our own devices on arrival, didn't see the owner (knocked on door of house to book in) and didn't see them for a few days. Seems like the personal touch has been lost a bit. We were not told much about the area, apart from being directed to a folder in the room where the washing machine was but generally thought a bit of effort and TLC is needed here. The toilets/showers got pretty grim throughout the day because the toilet was in the same room as the shower so full of grass and mud in no time. The main road was really noisy due to HGV's trundling past starting from the early hours. The pool was in need of some TLC with edges broken and sharp. The toilets are quite a way from the pool so if kids need a wee 'mid swim' they had to go all the way across the field to the toilet block. Locally its a long way from main attractions in the Dordogne like Sarlat although trip to Brantome well worth it. Its also about 7km from nearest hypermarket but Boulangerie and newsagent is about 1. 5km away. Probably won't be coming back to this site, overall opinion - soul-less!

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aquitaine   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO 'POP' Quick Erect 2 Berth Tent Win a Dog Bag Pop Up Fabric Kennel

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show, Newark - 2nd to 4th September
Weekend Campers and day visitors will see a huge range of motorhomes, caravans, as well as accessories and consumables

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6396 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1172