Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ilam Park National Trust Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Ilam Park National Trust Caravan Site
Ilam
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel:

Facilities:  (Key)


Nearby: (within x miles)

Pitches: Permanently Closed from 2017
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
              9/10 from 36 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site has closed permanently, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Luckyskip 17 reviews from this member

Just returned from this fab little site today, we have been away for the last 3 days & could not have enjoyed our break more. This small site (only 20 pitches) which are a mixture of grass & hardstanding is located right in the centre of Ilam park, the wardens are NT volunteers & are extremely helpful & friendly, always happy to chat with a smile. We have two little dogs & it's a brilliant place to walk them straight out of the gates into acres of fields & public footpaths. The walk into Dovedale is approx half hour away across the fields great for us & the dogs.

Yes, as others have said the toilets & showers are 'off site', however they are actually no further away than many toilet blocks on the larger caravan sites, at the prices charged per night this site is still excellent value for money.

We were told by the wardens that the NT intend to shut this site & make it into a car park!

Everyone on site were amazed at the shortsightedness of this, the site is clearly paying its way as it is very well used particularly at the weekend. It will be a massive blow if the NT do close this site, personally I think it should be left as it is or even invested in to improve it further.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveb67 3 reviews from this member

Really pleased we went here, good value and great location. Only here 2 nights which wasn't enough as there are many things to do, assuming the weather is nice. We missed out on breakfast on site at either the Youth hostel (£5. 50 for adults, £3. 50? for kids, but you have to get there before 9am!) or the National trust cafe.

Colin and his wife and the other warden were very friendly and helpful.

Only got to look at the showers and didn't use them but as mentioned elsewhere, they are in the main building which is not directly within the caravan site. There were 2 and they looked ok, nothing special, although nice and warm. Site only cost £14 a night which is great value.

Bear in mind the reasonably steep roads into the valley, which I was aware of already but actually weren't as bad as I expected, and we do have a twin axle caravan.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue6 26 reviews from this member

A Lovely setting. Please be aware the showers and toilets are located a few minutes walk from the site, in the back courtyard of a building/café and shop. It is best to have your own facilities. The YMCA if asked may allow you to use there bar. Good Walking in the area. When leaving the campsite be carful of exiting from the minor road onto the A515. It is pity that Ashbourne does not have a by-pass the traffic can be busy at times. There are a good number of shops in Ashbourne. Dogs on Leads at ALL times, but there are plenty of areas to walk, with dogs ON leads. Unfortunately the wardens Len & Maria who were there on our arrival did little in way on cleaning the showers, dirty mops, the next wardens cleaned and replaced with a new mop. The toilets are shared with public visitors to the site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fradford 2 reviews from this member

We visited August bank holiday weekend - myself, my husband, two children and father-in-law. We had previously visited in August 2015 and decided to come back to explore the area some more. It has to be the most beautiful site I've visited, surrounded by the stunning Peak District countryside. There are beautiful walks along the river Dove and the river Manifold. Last year (2015) we visited nearby Chatsworth House and this year we brought the bikes with us and took a bike ride along the Manifold valley taking in Thor's cave along the way. The site is very well kept by its National Trust volunteers who will happily take orders for any essentials (bread, milk, newspapers) to be delivered the next day from the local shop. As others have mentioned the toilet block and showers are a short walk away in part of Ilam Hall however we used our own facilities. The surrounding roads can be very narrow and steep in places so it's worthwhile putting a little research into any route you might take if you have a large unit. We are planning on visiting again this summer but this time with our new touring caravan so we'll see how we get on getting to the site.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 6 reviews from this member

Gourgeous site set in National trusts Ilam Hall.

Staff really friendly and helpful.

Plenty of gorgeous walks around and well placed for peak district attractions.

You can even use the halls Youth hostel for drinks and games room and if not that busy even eat there.

Facilities a bit dated but that's the only negative thing I can mention.

Our dogs love it!

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4825 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window