Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cae Gwyn Farm & Nature Reserve

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Cae Gwyn Farm & Nature Reserve
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
Bronaber
Coed Y Brenin
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL41 4YE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01766 540245

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  10m  10m  5m  5m  10m   10m  10m 

Pitches: Approx. 30 - 40 depending on size of tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
              8/10 from 16 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HappyBiker 1 review from this member

Stayed here on the bank holiday weekend (in the meadow field). After torrential rain the field coped remarkably well and cars were allowed back in there the following day.

There are superb views from the site and there is no traffic noise from the bottom field.

The facilities were spotless for the entire weekend. There is a separate toilet and shower next to the B&B barn and then unisex toilets and showers in another building. There were never any queues for the showers and they were hot (and free!).

The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating towards a late arrival on Friday.

I would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone looking for peace and quiet and good views. It is 5 minutes from Coed Y Brenin mountain biking and approx. 30 - 40 mins from the Marin and Penmachno trails. At £8 for a tent per night it is good value.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Misskittykat 6 reviews from this member

Arrived at campsite late afternoon, owner was really nice. The view from our pitch were fantastic.

The Owner let us choose our pitch, which we had plenty of space.

We went to a pub owner gave us a lift for £1. 00 each really handy. The pub near the holiday village food excellent and we got a choice of 10% off our food or a lift back. We chose a lift back.

About 20 mins from Port Merridon and 10 mins from the Slate Caverns.

Facilities need updated a bit.

Apart from that I would go back yes I would

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PatrickD 3 reviews from this member

This was a really great campsite for me and my girlfriend to camp at. The location was beautiful and we were blessed with good weather. Not guaranteed, I understand! With its own pub and a steam railway station, and close proximity to Snowdonia, it was also convenient for us having landed in Holyhead on the ferry. The staff were helpful but unobtrusive and the facilities were cleaned every day. We liked it so much that we went back for 2 nights on our way home. I highly recommend this place and would go back without hesitation.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

The view from this hillside campsite is stunningly beautiful, and the main reason for recommending this place. A previous reviewer felt it was overpriced for the facilities, but the truth is, it is worth paying for the chance to enjoy that view. It is also perfectly situated for Coed Y Brenin mountain bike trails.

It is a small site, situated on sloping fields, below the A470 road between Portmadog and Dolgellau, miles from anywhere, and looking out over a wilderness.

The facilities are basic and I agree with a previous reviewer that they are a bit strangely organised and confusing. There seemed to be more showers than toilets - which is probably a good thing for all the walkers and cyclists who have been out all day building up a sweat - and there was always a queue even though the site was not filled to capacity. However, the owners told us they are keen to improve the place as much as they can so it is a work in progress.

Two things I must point out because of previous reviews:

The site is no longer Adults Only. The current owner took over the site 3 years ago, and welcomes well behaved families, but hasn't got around to changing this detail on the website. He has had some trouble already from campers who are not happy to share the site with kids. We camped with our 5 & 1 year old boys, next to people with a couple of 9 year old boys, and we had no issues. But this isn't a site for young kids to ride bikes or play for long hours unsupervised.

There is a mobile signal - depending on which mobile network you are on obviously. No problems at all on Orange.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathymartin 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Cae Gwyn Farm and had one of the best Holidays ever. We took the opportunity to get away by ourselves whilst our 9 year old son was away at cub camp. We arrived to a warm welcome despite the weather being rather wet. Due to us arriving on the Saturday of a Bank Holiday weekend the car park was packed but we managed to drive the car down to an almost level pitch. When we woke the next morning we discovered the beautiful view which was hidden the evening before by low cloud. The sunsets were amazing and on a clear night the stars were too!

I have a mixed opinion of the facilities, on the good side- Kettle, microwave, Fridge and Freezer, free warm showers, racks to dry wet clothes and towels and electric points for Hair dryers. The lay out of the facilities were unusual, they were literally in a barn, one side had one Pot wash sink and one hand wash sink, then behind a fence like partition were the two loos.

The Mens was a portaloo with a real loo inside and the ladies was built out of part of the barn. They were always clean but the ladies flush was a bit dodgy from time to time. The other side of the barn again divided by another Fence like partition was a work top with about four very small round stainless steel Sinks for men and Women to share and behind these were a couple of showers which were in a sort of Portable cabin within the barn, these were usually clean, although some people chose to ignore the sign to remove boots before entering.

There was an extra shower and Loo next to the B&B barn which were warmer and you are able to benefit from a little more luxury and have the use of the electric points to dry your hair or use the Clothes dryers to dry your towels.

There was a further Pot wash room next to the Camping barn which housed the Microwave, Kettle, Fridge and Freezer.The loos ran out of loo roll a couple of times during our stay and the washbasin in the loo next to the B&B Barn didn't look like it had been cleaned during the 5 days we were there. All the Facilities were good just really oddly laid out.

With the site being adults only the mornings were very relaxing and quiet and there was little noise after 10pm The young Adults in the Camping Barn were rather noisy but didn't really bother us. The Location was perfect for the Coed y brenin Mountain bike trails (Just over a mile down the road) and the secure bike store was really useful especially with us not cycling every day.

We drove to Dolgellau one evening for somewhere to eat and we were spoilt for choice with 2 Bistros, 3 pubs and a chip shop. The restaurant at Coed y brenin was good and is a good place to go for breakfast.

There is no Mobile signal on the campsite and I couldn't get my iphone to pick up the WiFi in the Farmyard. But if you drive about 5 minutes up the road towards Portmadog you should manage to get a signal. There are no supermarkets nearby but there's a shop in the nearby Holiday Park or you can drive to Portmadog where there's a Tesco. Snowdon is about 40-50 minutes drive away and we had a fabulous day climbing the Llanberis Track.

We had such a good time here that we really want to bring our son back with us, so will have to find another camp site to accommodate us. But I have to say I'm struggling to find another campsite in the area that offers secure bike lock up. Forgot to mention the resident Sheep dog was extremely friendly and it was hard to walk past without stoking her as she gave you such a look if you didn't!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Javiermi 2 reviews from this member

Maybe the area around the camping site is very scenic, but the camping is expensive ( £15 for 2 people on a tent) and the facilities are lacking:

There are only 2 toilets - 1 for men and 1 for women - and 2 showers

It was also unfortunate that you could not drive to the tent area - due to terrain apparently wet and muddy - which made moving all of the stuff from / to the tent a lot of voyages

Owners were friendly, though

If the price had been cheaper, we would have accepted the limitations, but for that money we expected more

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469