Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Killegruer Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Killegruer Caravan Site
Woodend Glenbarr
Tarbert
Kintyre
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01583 421241

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  1m 5m  1m  10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: April To Beginning Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
              9/10 from 35 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DMKay 3 reviews from this member

What an amazing place. We only stayed 2 nights as that was what we had planned on our tour but wish we'd stayed longer. Fantastic beach location and only a small site so not surrounded by vans. In fact every pitch faces the ocean. And campfires on the beach. Toilets and shower facilities are adequate, clean, and in keeping with the feel of the site. It was the highlight of our Holiday and can't wait to return. Note. No laundry facilities!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa101082 1 review from this member

From talking to Ann on the phone to book the holiday, to turning up on the first day she was nothing but helpful and could answer every question asked and accommodate every request. The tent was pitched right on the beach with fantastic views over to Ireland and Campbeltown was only 10miles away. The tent pitches are substantial with lots of room and plenty of electrical hookup points. No problems with rain or drainage while staying despite some torrential rainstorms. All facilities are super clean and have everything you would expect of a high standard campsite. The beach is fantastic especially for walking dogs (we took our springer spaniel). There is plenty to do in and around the campsite. Looking forward to going back later this year.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nessie287 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 weeks last year and 4 this year, we had a brilliant time despite some awful weather. Thank you for a very warm welcome. The site is quiet, friendly and next to a lovely beach with some of the best views I've seen from a site. The shower block was always kept clean and in good repair. We never had to cue either which is a bonus. The site is a short nice walk/drive to shop and cafe in Glenbarr and supermarket, leisure centre, tourist info etc. Are only a short drive away in Campbeltown. Despite being close to the main road, we heard hardly any traffic noise. The beach is the children's playground. If you are looking for spectacular views, peace and quiet, this is the place to visit. We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pawelwks 1 review from this member

We had chosen the site because of its location for cycling and the ocean views it has. The owner is friendly and helpful and we met her on the first day, the site is cheap, very cheap even and is dog and child friendly. The toilet block is always clean, with no worries about the hot water in taps and showers all the time. The toilet block has outside tap for washing dishes and toilet waste disposal for those with their own toilets. The water can be taken from a tap on the toilet block and two other taps along the campsite's road. If you want to have internet access, the best is vodafone (by the noticeboard in the toilet block) but I am using '3' and could find a signal in tent, not the greatest but it worked fine. The nearest shops are in villages Glenbarr, 20-30 mins walk and Bellochantuy - Farm shop (5 mins driveway along A83 towards Campbeltown). For bigger shopping you have to drive to Campbeltown which is 15-20 mins drive. In Campbeltown you can find Co-op and Tesco. Attractions nearby are mostly wildlife and great views you can enjoy in good weather conditions. On Friday before we left the campsite on Sunday morning, there was a celebration of 50 year anniversary of the campsite with campfire on the beach and fireworks with drinks, guitar singing, etc.

The owner, as I mentioned earlier is helpful. By that I mean that in windy weather she looked after tents and when we were away our tent's pegs loosen so she hammered them back. Because she is really friendly all of holiday-makers where friendly orientated, too.

Yes, we definitely recommend that site, and hope to visit the site next time!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baz1951 13 reviews from this member

Next to the beach, what better location could you want? Within 10 minutes of our arrival everyone on the site was invited to help the owners celebrate 50 years of the site with cake and wine. Very friendly owner and a spotlessly clean site. Will definitely visit again

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SMEESH 4 reviews from this member

Been going to Killiegruer on and off since I first started caravanning nearly 30 years ago with my first £200 2 berth glass windowed caravan special and can honestly say apart from the new toilet block has not changed a bit since my last visit last year. Still holds the peace and tranquillity with panoramic breathtaking views. When I say new toilet block think it has been up for a while now. For a shoreline small site the toilet block is more than adequate and meets every campers needs and kept up to a good standard of cleanliness. If you want decent 4g Wifi and Freeviw telly don't come here but with the onset of satellite and they Dongo things you can bring your technology.

Beautiful shore line beach walk to the Argyll Hotel in Bellochcantuy. That will get rid of your city cobwebs. Although I have seen the hotel owners come and go over the years in the struggling tourist industry the hotel has very good reviews for food and drink. Have witnessed porpoise slowly swimming past off shore. Have seen sea otters chasing salmon at the mouth of the River Barr near the site but my best memorys of all are the panoramic sun sets over Jura and Islay. Will live with you for ever.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets for the UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 18 - 21 August 2017
East Yorkshire - the world’s biggest tribute band music festival, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9038 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0859