Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - White Horse Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

White Horse Camp Site
Mill Green
Edwardstone
Sudbury
Suffolk   (Browse area)
CO10 5PX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01787 211211

Facilities:  (Key)
      

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
              8/10 from 18 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DickDude 1 review from this member

We've been coming here for years to camp, enjoy the on site brewed provisions and to Eddyfest.

Great for kids to run free without worry and the site never packed. Solar panelled facilities clean but sometimes busy in peak times of day.

It appears that there has been a takeover and the much loved Mill Green brewery has/had shut down which means the ales served are not from ten metres away. Still had a good range of regional beers and ciders but not the fantastically local ones on offer previously. I don't think that Eddyfest was on this year either, which use to be a crackin' weekend.

We ate at the pub which seemed as good as before if a little pricey but it was very empty on a Saturday early, evening, mid summer which may speak volumes. Unsure of the exact situation with the pub or brewery but it seems that there may be life in the brewery yet but in the over marketed 'craft beer' form rather than real ale.

I hope this site gets its mojo back because without fear of contradiction it was the best pub site in the UK so I hope it can return to that status.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 108 reviews from this member

Just got back from the annual Cider Festival at the White Horse, so just by way of update.

Other than to say that there has recently been a slight price increase to £7/person/night with a min of £14, nothing has materially changed since my last visit/review of May 2013.

Happy to concur with other reviewers' complimentary comments.

To sum up: When I reviewed the White Horse in May 2012, I concluded, “. If anybody can suggest a better ‘pub site’, I would like to hear about it. ” I have yet to receive any suggestion. Cheers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrAndMrsSmith 3 reviews from this member

A wonderful little campsite hidden in the little lanes of Suffolk. The camping field is flat and nicely surrounded by hedges to break the wind. There is plenty of space for children to run around and play, with the village park and cricket green just across the quiet lane. Good clean toilets and shower, although there can be a bit of a queue for the single shower in the mornings. The pub is popular, but not noisy, with 4 different drinking \ eating rooms which you can take well behaved dogs into. They stock a wide range of beers and ciders some of which are brewed on site. The food is excellent.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RobandB 4 reviews from this member

Fabulous place off the beaten track, surrounded by nothing but countryside, lovely walks and thatched cottages. Stayed for just one night mid week so it was very quiet. Lovely, friendly pub with it's own brewery, (great ale. ) Flat field, well maintained site, no hook up but not an issue for a night or two, loos and washing up area clean and the eco solar shower was lovely and hot. Great value and beautiful location, well worth a look.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EllieR 6 reviews from this member

This site was recommended to us by friends and it did not disappoint. In fact we stayed on for a couple of extra days. It was very peaceful. All you could hear upon waking was birdsong. The field is level and we were able to 'park' where we wanted. We used our own facilities most of the time but because we were using the caravan battery (no hook up) we did need to use the showers one day which were quite good.

The pub is very friendly and it has only very recently had a new landlord. The attached brewery supplied many different ales which we enjoyed. We only ate in the pub one night and we were very pleased with the burger deal. The vegetarian option was very tasty too. Many people were eating there on other nights.

There were many places to walk our dog, either using the public footpaths around the pub or across the road through the Millennium Field.

We will definitely be back in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sasara0 14 reviews from this member

A fabulous site on a level field which was well maintained. We did find a mallet a rather handy tool. The site is sheltered by trees and hedges. The surrounding area is lovely with plenty of good walking to be done. The village of Kersey is well worth the walk. The site belongs to the pub and can be a bit busier at weekends. We spent a wonderful 2 days here midweek and then went back again at the weekend which was some what busier. The pub is fantastic with many home brewed ciders and beers. Would particularly recommend their elderflower cider. There is a small wind turbine on site, this is turned off at night and starts again around 9. 00 am so don't be put off by this. The hot water was produced by solar power for the washing up area and the showers, this was very hot. My only negative comment would be that the toilets could perhaps be cleaned more often. Tip, take your own loo paper. Would we return? yes we already have! We would also just like to thank the owners for organising the Suffolk Seven, great event and we really enjoyed the day, despite it being so hot! Many thanks.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Suffolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over £1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2776 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1191