Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - White Horse Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

White Horse Camp Site
Mill Green
Edwardstone
Sudbury
Suffolk   (Browse area)
CO10 5PX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01787 211211

Facilities:  (Key)
      

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
              8/10 from 20 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 111 reviews from this member

Just got back from the Cider Festival. Superb range of real ciders, and they were all on at once!

The main news for 2017 is that the campsite now has electric hook up, making it a truly year round site.

Also of interest is that it has new owners and that the Mill Green Brewery seems to have closed.

This time, we stayed in one of the two self catering cottages which overlook the campsite. The buildings 'footprint' measures approximately 5m x 5m, is of wooden construction inside and out and will accommodate up to 4 people. Kitchen, lounge and wet room type shower/toilet are downstairs and bedroom is up. It has been thoughtfully equipped with just about everything you should need for self catering including washing machine. Towels are the only thing not provided.

Observations intended to help:

-Those needing to visit the toilet during the night should note that it is downstairs.

-Heating is by plug-in electric convector heater which might prove slightly inadequate during the coldest months.

-These cottages are over 5 years old now, whilst well maintained, don't expect pristine.

-No tariff is currently published. We were charged £40/night which I thought was fine.

Pub food is very good with main courses typically around £10.

To sum up: I've previously said that the White Horse was the best “pub site” I know of (See reviews Oct 2015, May 2013, May 2012) now complete with EHU, it can't get any better. I wish the new owners every success.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moplet 6 reviews from this member

This is an excellent old-fashioned pub, in great rural surroundings, with basic campsite facilities. As long as you go along expecting this, you'll have a lovely time, as we did. Landlord very relaxed, and he and his team work very hard in the pub serving excellent ale. The camping field is flat and sheltered, although be prepared for noise from the pub and any music acts it has on. This didn't bother us as it was all part of the experience.

There's only 1 loo for men and 1 for women. The weekend I went there were at least five times as many men than women, so you found a lot of men queuing or nipping into the ladies (sometimes for quite a long period of time!) There are two showers, although one not immediately obvious, which is why some people might think there's only one. Hot water was in slightly short supply which made washing up a little more difficult, but it wasn't a disaster. The proximity to this great pub more than made up for the slightly basic facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DickDude 1 review from this member

We've been coming here for years to camp, enjoy the on site brewed provisions and to Eddyfest.

Great for kids to run free without worry and the site never packed. Solar panelled facilities clean but sometimes busy in peak times of day.

It appears that there has been a takeover and the much loved Mill Green brewery has/had shut down which means the ales served are not from ten metres away. Still had a good range of regional beers and ciders but not the fantastically local ones on offer previously. I don't think that Eddyfest was on this year either, which use to be a crackin' weekend.

We ate at the pub which seemed as good as before if a little pricey but it was very empty on a Saturday early, evening, mid summer which may speak volumes. Unsure of the exact situation with the pub or brewery but it seems that there may be life in the brewery yet but in the over marketed 'craft beer' form rather than real ale.

I hope this site gets its mojo back because without fear of contradiction it was the best pub site in the UK so I hope it can return to that status.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 111 reviews from this member

Just got back from the annual Cider Festival at the White Horse, so just by way of update.

Other than to say that there has recently been a slight price increase to £7/person/night with a min of £14, nothing has materially changed since my last visit/review of May 2013.

Happy to concur with other reviewers' complimentary comments.

To sum up: When I reviewed the White Horse in May 2012, I concluded, “. If anybody can suggest a better ‘pub site’, I would like to hear about it. ” I have yet to receive any suggestion. Cheers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrAndMrsSmith 3 reviews from this member

A wonderful little campsite hidden in the little lanes of Suffolk. The camping field is flat and nicely surrounded by hedges to break the wind. There is plenty of space for children to run around and play, with the village park and cricket green just across the quiet lane. Good clean toilets and shower, although there can be a bit of a queue for the single shower in the mornings. The pub is popular, but not noisy, with 4 different drinking \ eating rooms which you can take well behaved dogs into. They stock a wide range of beers and ciders some of which are brewed on site. The food is excellent.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RobandB 4 reviews from this member

Fabulous place off the beaten track, surrounded by nothing but countryside, lovely walks and thatched cottages. Stayed for just one night mid week so it was very quiet. Lovely, friendly pub with it's own brewery, (great ale. ) Flat field, well maintained site, no hook up but not an issue for a night or two, loos and washing up area clean and the eco solar shower was lovely and hot. Great value and beautiful location, well worth a look.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Suffolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5731 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec