Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Saules

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Camping Les Saules
Les Saules
41700 Cheverny
Loire
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41700   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +33 2 54 79 90 01

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
10m  1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 164
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
              9/10 from 28 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (22) and Video

This is a Caravan Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes (no tents) and is for Caravan Club Members only.

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shavedgoat 1 review from this member

We had eight nights a Les Saules, and it was a brilliant stay! We have camped in the UK, but this was our first experience in France. I was keen to make sure it was a good experience and read lots of reviews carefully before we booked. I made a really good choice!

The first thing that struck me was the friendliness of the staff. I was worried that my rudimentary French wouldn't hold up, but everyone spoke perfect English very happily. Check-in was a breeze, and as others have stated it was great fun following the man on the bike to our pitch. The owner came around shortly afterwards to make sure we had everything we needed, and was always on hand to help out. The pitch was big (easily taking a Kalahari 8 plus porch, a car, and table/seating) and the electric hook-up was standard fitting. It was very level and smooth, making pitching easy, although the ground was hard.

The kids loved the amenities. Free crazy golf, table tennis, wifi were a real bonus, and the pool was very pleasant. There is a fairly large games field for playing, and a 'walking' area with a trail cut out of a meadow with fitness equipment and info about local birds. We also liked the catering. We had takeout pizza and chips several nights, which were pretty standard prices. We also tried the menu of the day in the restaurant and had a lovely meal. The menu changed every day with local dishes & produce - pretty straightforward but done nicely, and good value at 18 Euros for three courses. We also ordered fresh bread and croissants every day, and the kids said these were better than those bought elsewhere.

The area is lovely. There are loads of vineyards & chateaux to explore, and Cheverny village was very pleasant. It was geared for tourists and presented very well. We also hired bikes from the site and followed a short family route around the area. This was very well signposted and easy to ride. A great value afternoon out.

The facilities at the site aren't new and are a little dated, but they were always very clean. Showers had plenty of hot water, and they never got too busy despite the site being full. A laundry proved useful, and good value.

Others felt the site was a bit cramped, but we didn't agree. There was a logic to the layout and plenty of space. Even though there were lots staying there it didn't get too noisy and we didn't feel overlooked. It stayed very quiet from 10. 30pm until 8. 30am and we always got a good night's sleep. The pitches are quite shady as they are mainly tree-lined, but we felt this was a bonus as it kept the morning sun off the tent. The sun did hit our seating area and we enjoyed evening sunshine (with a nice glass of wine!) and felt we had the best of both worlds.

We had everything we wanted from our first French experience. We aren't a family that goes for theme-park sites and so this one fit the bill beautifully. If we wanted hundreds of pitches and lots of water slides we would have looked elsewhere, but we were very pleased with our choice and would definitely recommend it to like-minded people. Top marks from us!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan lady 67 4 reviews from this member

Great site for kids! lovely welcome by the owners and great to have free wifi at the reception, good clean toilets and showers lovely pool and crazy golf, stayed for 8 nights would use the site again, but would stay less nights found the pitches a little open and very shaded in the woods, easy to find off the motorway and useful for a stopover site would visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RNEALE 2 reviews from this member

A really nice site with a nice flat pitch amongst the trees. We used it as a stopover on our way down to the South of France. The facilities were good and the toilets clean. There was a nice area to walk the dog and the children liked the pool and the crazy golf. What really made it though was the exceptionally warm welcome and the really nice person running the site. The only criticism was that the restaurant was pricey and the food was very average. The staff all were very friendly and English was generally well spoken when my French let me down (which it did frequently!). Will definitely go back and would recommend as a stopover not sure about staying longer.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikelaloe 1 review from this member

We stayed at Camping Les Saules in June 2013 for three days. It's one of the best campsites we've ever visited and it was recommended by friends. Unfortunately there were storms and flooding when we went and our cheap tent couldn't cope. Mercifully the campsite manager could not have been more helpful. He moved us to a chalet at the same cost as a pitch to help us dry out, pulled our friend's van out of the mud when he got stuck and constantly lifted our spirits with his general chirpy demeanour - he could not have been more friendly or helpful. And as it was our first camping trip abroad (with two young children) we will be eternally grateful to Camping Les Saules - we cannot recommend the place highly enough.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 18 reviews from this member

Just left rally at this site. It's a great site. The facilities could not be better and all pitches are level and well spaced out, under trees for shade and most on grass. The shade wasn't a problem. Weather not really good but the stewards were always helpful and never intrusive. The owners were superb, spoke good English and kept the site immaculate. The rubbish disposal point was quite a walk away but through a lovely campsite. We would definitely go there again. Plenty to see in the area and two large supermarkets a short drive away. A really good site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oxter 25 reviews from this member

Excellent site with good facilities but cool showers in the large block. Small block fine but loos a bit whiffy. Also sewage smell at times near the big block. Very nice reception staff and they allow bad French to be spoken. Excellent bike routes all around and really well signed and marked - very few hills. Need to select pitch for satellite reception due to trees. Free wifi point at TV Room but not on the site generally unfortunately. ACSI card makes this a good value site off season. Walkable or cycleable to the Chateau if you are fit = otherwise free parking - just over E8 per person for discount tickets sold at Reception and worth that.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2077 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0459