Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Jeugdstadion

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Overseas > Belgium > Site Reviews

Camping Jeugdstadion
Bolwerkstraat 1, B 8900
Ieper
Ypres
Belgium   (Browse area)
                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +32 057 21 72 82

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 5m  10m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 21 caravan / 50 tent
Open: 1 March To 12 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
              8/10 from 39 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 50 reviews from this member

Stayed here over two one night stays whilst touring the area.

It was busy on both occasions and had we not booked over the internet in advance, we wouldn’t have got a pitch. The self-check-in was easy to follow, I would have preferred to pay by cash, but this wasn’t an option.

The pitches were ok in size and based on grass growing through matting, which made it easy and fairly level. There weren’t enough facilities to cater for the number of campers and on both occasions I had to queue for the showers/toilets that were a bit dated/unkempt.

The location was good with a level 15 min walk to the Menin Gate and the centre of town. There was also a dog walk off through the back of the site. It’s not the quietest of sites, during our midweek stay there was a fair bit of industrial noise and at the weekend, there is a club/bar which had loud music until about midnight. We used the site on the second occasion to have the dog passports updated at the nearby English speaking vet; Dierenartsenpraktijk 'De Gouden Poort'; very reasonable 40 euros for the appointment that covered both our dogs.

Overall, if visiting the area again, I’d use the site as it was fairly priced and conveniently located.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LaurieW 2 reviews from this member

This was the second visit we have made to this site, the first being 2011. We advanced booked this visit in February 2014. The showers have been changed. They are now push-button operated(electric). The problem is that the button is outside the cubicle. I got a 50second 'squirt' from one button press, then I had to come out and press again. One of the gents showers, however gave a continuous 'Squirt' (broken?)

In the ladies showers, one of the buttons was mounted too high for my wife to reach. There is no temperature control.

The toilet block self-closing communal door bangs shut throughout the night.

We were allocated pitch A15. Three metres from this, through the hedge, was a creche or a kids activity centre where parents can leave the kids. We couldn't see anything but the racket started at 8. 00am 'til 6. 00pm. Depending who was on duty governed whether we were treated to tannoy announcements, referee whistles or music (sometimes all at once). Some keen kids started at 7. 30am. Our pitch was dark and in the shade 'til 1. 30pm, due to tall trees. We asked if we could move(we were there 4 days)on day 1. We were told by the woman in reception that this was not possible as all pitches were booked. We discovered this was not the case as there were pitches empty throughout our stay and some were only occupied for one night. Our electrical/water tap was overgrown with nettles and thistles.

However the site is very convenient for Ypres town and the Menin gate.

I would suggest that you should avoid pitches A14, A15, A16. Determine which pitch you are allocated BEFORE you pay. Take some secateurs to cut the nettles.

I don't think we will go again. The site is not as good as it was.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ronni54 23 reviews from this member

We booked this site before travelling and were very glad we had as we arrived to find the site full, probably because of the WW1 centenary. Despite this, we never had to queue for showers and didn't find the push buttons a problem. We used the showers beneath the sports stadium and found them clean and well kept. The area around each pitch was certainly unmown and there were signs indicating that these were wildlife areas. We were on the 'touristic' pitches and found them an adequate size. The 8pm Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate was very moving and it was great to be able to walk into town. There is a supermarket within walking distance of the site so the lack of a site shop was no problem. Wifi is only available in the area around Reception but there are tables and benches here so not a problem (unless it is raining!) The site is only a short hop from Dunkirk so handy for a first night stopover - we stayed for a week and would use this site again. 2 adults and electric pitch was 15 Euros per night.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elainemcd 7 reviews from this member

We pre booked and stayed here for 2 nights as we wanted to go see the Menin Gate Memorial and the Last Post. We stayed for 2 nights and we liked the closeness to the town (which is lovely).

We stayed on the touristic pitches which were bigger then the motorhome pitches and we weren't sure about the automated check in, but having had a good look at it found it to be safe and efficient.

The site itself was clean and tidy but the grass needed a cut.

The toilets under the sports stadium were clean, as were the showers but the fact that the push button was outside the actual shower cubicle (in the bit you get dry and dressed) was a bit of a nuisance, as the water didn't stay on for very long.

We would, however, stop here again

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkymik 9 reviews from this member

Three nights in Ieper the site is a short walk for the Menem Gate we were able to have a dinner and walk to the gate in time for The Last Post a 2000hrs good standard of facilities clean and modern gated access very bike and walk friendly staff efficient if a little stiff, maybe it a local thing, showers were always piping hot and clean just a bit of a hike from the MoHo areas, the best thing about this site is it's location so convenient for town, the Menem Gate Market Square and walks around the defences, no bar or eatery on site I recommend The Walker bar in town cheapest beer and food I could find in an expensive place, The Flandersfields experience is easley reached from this site by bike or on foot and worth the visit. Child Friendliness only three from ten it is open to the public as it is on route for joggers and members of the public accessing the sports fields

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the Motorhome 3 reviews from this member

Agree with other posts. Well sited for tourist places and the town & Menin Gate.

Visited 12th-15th April, staying on the touristic pitch.

No wifi working while there.

Lady on reception not particularly helpful, more interested in her computer!

Could do with a couple more toilets and or cleaning/checking more often. Saying that even though site nearly full there wasn't a queue. The toilets adjoining reception are okay but appearance could be better. Toilets under the sports stadium in the Touristic place are nicer.

Showers not powerful at all, shuts off after a minute or so depending on cubicle. When shower stops you have to press the button in the other part of the cubicle! Oh and water temp set you cant adjust.

Noise in a morning from 7am from one of the business units near the entrance.

We stayed on the Touristic pitch as impression of the pictures these looked more spacious and nicer than the camping car section. Weed killing wouldn't go a miss and to be honest next time we would opt for the camping car section, also cheaper.

Great automated check in system for when reception closed.

Regardless of above minor things we would go again all be it staying on the camping car section.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Belgium   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3797 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391