Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clachan Caravan Club Members Only

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Site Reviews

Clachan Caravan Club Members Only
Aberfeldy Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel:

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 5m  5m   5m 

Pitches: 45
Open: 04/04/2014 To 27/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
              8/10 from 9 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  9 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scouser1959 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site very peaceful nobody bothers you. No toilet block so own shower and toilet required. Large pitches plenty of space between caravans well kept.

Set in woods so plenty of wildlife, birds ducks etc.

Great area for walking and fishing. Bit too quiet a site if you have children not much for them to do as no play area, bigger caravan club site just a mile down the road better suited for children.

Killin is a nice little village, just wish you could walk from campsite to it, but no footpath at the side of road, which is a very dangerous bendy road so not advisable to walk along it, so you have to use car to visit Killin that is the only thing wrong with where site is situated. Will not stop us coming back for a third visit though.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IainM 18 reviews from this member

Peaceful, though a little road noise as we were on the outside edge of the park nearest the road.

No facilities, but that wasn't an issue.

All of the water points are part way up a slope which is an issue coming back down as a full aquaroll wants to drag you with it.

Limited TV, no freeview, but picture Ok with directional aerial. No O2 phone signal, though orange was fine. T-mobile dongle got excellent reception!

Will return.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Moseley38 23 reviews from this member

A wonderful site with excellent links to many of the main tourist areas being fairly central.

Walking from the site is not wonderful but is possible. To access most footpaths you need to negotiate the road into Killin but it is worth it as there are is some spectacular countryside to walk in.

As said before the site is terraced and much of it is tree covered, there are no toilets so you need your own. The dog walk is rather small. There is also no play are so it is probably best for people without children. The lack of facilities is reflected in the price.I was a little worried there might be a lot of road noise as it is very close to an A road but in fact it was very quiet.

Killin is very prety and has some well stocked shops - the hardware come petshop was excellent and the staff very helpful. There is also a very good little folklore museum.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prickles46 6 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site, our pitch had a lovely view of a mountain and Killin below. The lack of facilities didn't bother us, as we prefer to use our own and the price reflects that. I would imagine that some of the pitches can be a little dark because of the trees. We were on hardstanding as none of the grass pitches were in use. They did look a bit boggy!

Do try the road over Ben Law and along Glen Lyon, ending up in Aberfeldy. (But NOT with a caravan in tow!) It's quite breathtaking! Killin is small, but has a well stocked Co-op, and quite a few other shops, including a wool shop.

There was a problem with the water supply the day we left, whether it was to do with the imminent floods down below, I don't know. I was glad we were on the Clachan site, and not the Maragowan one, as they were evacuating the site in case the river came over the bank! TV & radio were useless, even tho we were in the area of the site that was supposed to be better.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Raithfanz 7 reviews from this member

This was a lovely, peaceful site set in woodland. It has no facilities (other than electric points) but we knew this before our arrival so it wasn't a problem. This site was popular with dog owners (us among them) and occasionally we heard other dogs barking, but as the pitches are well spaced and the site is terraced it was never a problem. Our children enjoyed exploring the wooded areas around the site.

Killin itself is lovely (if a little touristy) and has plenty of facilities including a laundrette but I would not recommend walking there from the site as the road is narrow but busy during the summer.

The site is a great location to explore the Loch Lomond area and we thoroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: I+AC 2 reviews from this member

The site is peaceful with some pitches in small groups amongst the trees and a grassy open area at the end of the site. We have been to the site twice and the first time we had a lovely pitch amongst the trees. This time we were in the grassy area, which was extremely soft, and we were looking directly into the back of another caravan, so found it more claustrophobic, but that's probably because we mostly use Certified Locations and are used to more space and less vans. We don't mind having to use the caravan shower and toilet facilities, so in that respect, the site was ideal for us. Television reception is not good in some areas of the site. We used the site as a base for exploring Glencoe, Oban and Fort William. Nearby Killin is scenic with pubs, shops, cafes and a good size children's playpark.

Previous     9 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Stirlingshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4805 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469