Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clover Fields Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Clover Fields Touring Park
1 Heath View
Harpur Hill
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9PU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 78731

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 166 Reviews
              10/10 from 166 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  166 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Littlewhitebus 3 reviews from this member

Well what a find! We used to live in Buxton and remember this site being opening several years ago. We were visiting our son nearby, so thought we'd have a night at Clover Fields before heading home to North Yorkshire. So glad we did! The owners and their family made us feel so welcome. The shop is well stocked, and facilities second to none even having piped music! The pitches were a good size and on gravel with grass strip at side for awnings. This was really good for early and late season as no getting stuck in the mud with our motorhome. The icing on the cake was the cafe! We had a fantastic meal with wine in the evening and a very filling breakfast before our journey home in the morning. This really made us feel 'on holiday'. Almost like being in a hotel. Of course, people on holiday in their own motorhome or caravan may like to cook for themselves, but with the weather still being cold and wet, the cafe was more than welcome! Thank you so much! We WILL be back!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The highbury 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the Easter. It was our first visit. My god we are so pleased we stayed here. This site is amazing. It is a family run site and it is run by Stephen, Jan and their lovely children. The thing I would like to say first of all is thank you to the family that own this site, they have thought of everything, there isn't anything they have forgotten. The site is a credit to the owners. The site is clean. The showers are outstanding. The toilets are spotless. Even when you go to the Elsan point they have even put hand cleaner there. I will return here without any hesitation. Plus you have for your safety two electronic gates one in and one out, so I would give this site 100%. It just leaves me to say thanks again to the owners for this lovely site. I would like to add the outlook to the area is very pretty. You're not far from Buxton town centre where you can find all you need, if you go here its worth visiting the heights of Abraham, the views are amazing.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Babstreefern 10 reviews from this member

Done it again Jan, Jodie and Steve. We three (including Timber the mainecoon cat), absolutely adore this campsite. We visit twice a year, usually March and October. Facilities are first class. We always like to pitch on the middle terrace, thereby using the older toilets, so have not seen or used the new ones on the upper terrace. But the toilets/ showers are spotless, and warm. The restaurant has just opened for weekend evenings, so we had the Derbyshire menu. I had the steak (succulent wasn't in it - it was mouth-watering). OH had the Game casserole.

If you have any problems, Jan, Jodie or Steve will be with you. You don't have to walk to the shop, just call them if you have a mobile, and they will be with you in mere minutes.

If you read this and have not yet visited this campsite, you are their friends who they have not yet met.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CALDAN 8 reviews from this member

We selected Adult only site as we were getting a child free weekend away. Very helpful and chatty on the phone when booking. On arrival all staff were welcoming and friendly. Site has a well stocked shop and a cafe/tearoom which wasn't open at the time we went due to being start of season. A very unexpected added bonus was that the staff were aware of Gluten Free food and options and, as my husband is a Coeliac that in itself gets the site a gold star.

Lovely clean toilets and showers. Views all around of the countryside and only a few minutes into Buxton.

Will be returning very soon

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5448 21 reviews from this member

On way home after spending a lovely three days here. Steve, Jan and Jodie are lovely. The shop is well stocked (even at this time of year). The cafe looks lovely but only open at weekends at the moment. The pitches are well spaced out over three terraces. The facilities were really clean and warm. There is more development taking place as we speak. Loads of lovely walks accessible from the site and an all weather track currently under construction that will eventually be a distance of 50 miles. Lovely site. Lovely owners. Highly recommended. We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 24 reviews from this member

Couple in early 50s Hoping for peace and quiet, plus clean, warm winter proof amenities!

Stayed 3 nights - Fri 22/1 to Mon 25/1.

And we got what we were hoping for!

Started with a professional but friendly/welcoming chat during my initial tele-con to request a grass pitch for a tent (with EHU), which after double checking, was confirmed. (Not many sites allow/can accommodate tents on grass in mid winter, it seems!)

Arrival on site 3 days later was equally welcoming, where we were shown the two pitch options available to us. We were offered a large, all-grass pitch, with the sensible option to park the car on the opposite, unoccupied hardstanding. The grass was understandably longish, and wet of course. Ground was quite soft, but far from boggy/waterlogged, and certainly pitch-able.

Our second option, which we accepted, was to choose a caravan pitch which was half hardstanding/half grass. We pitched the tent on the edge of the grass, with the door leading directly onto the hardstanding. The perfect compromise for tentists at this time of year!

All pitches were very generous in size, and reasonably well spaced out. There were bins/recycling tubs at each pitch, tidy and well protected, which was probably a good thing, seeing as we two city urchins witnessed the truly terrifying screams of fox(es) for the first time! (Had to google it, to confirm!) Must say, we prefer owls-a-hooting! LOL!

We did end up struggling to peg our door canopy guylines into the hardstanding, but as these were new pitches, it was put down to the pitch needing time to settle. Elsewhere on site, in the not-so-new areas, there were a number of caravans/MHs, some with awnings, so clearly no pegging problems there.

We also had free-rein of the brand spanking new shower block, as we were the only occupants in the new area.

The facilities were absolutely superb, as previous reviews confirm. Spotlessly clean, all new/modern/quality fittings/materials throughout, All very spacious, and a good layout. Would put many a so-called 'posh' hotel to shame! The underfloor heating was very much appreciated, of course. There were hands-free auto soap dispensers by the wash basins, and even shower gel dispensers in the oh-so excellent shower cubicles. Only one hook on the back of shower doors, but there were lockable lockers immediately outside the showers. Personally, Id ask for more door hooks and maybe a screen between shower and hook(s), but the cubicles are so big, it is rather difficult to get your hanging clothes wet anyway, to be fair! Id also prefer hanging points around the wash basins, for towels/wash bags etc, although the basin surrounds are spacious, and clean/dry on this occasion. It does rely on fellow campers keeping it that way though, with the current set up! (There is also a paper towel dispenser, so no excuses there!) I also like the opportunity to mop up behind me, but there was no sign of a mop/bucket. Got away with it this time of course, as it was only us using the facilities, and we weren't trundling over mud/wet grass. Not sure how clean things would stay when people are using grass pitches and the site is busy. Again, it leaves a lot of reliance on the camper, and let's face it, some of us are less considerate than others!

Not sure what the thinking is behind leaving a bowl of sweets by the wash basins, effectively 1. 5m or so from the WC doors, (Cant say I was tempted, even though they were individually wrapped!) but the cotton buds, hand sanitizer, hand cream etc was a nice touch, if a little 'girly'.

The 24/7 piped musak could prove annoying! Not to me, I hasten to add, as I thoroughly enjoyed it. But seeing as I couldn't stop humming/whistling/singing along, it could prove annoying to others, especially as I am notorious for not knowing the words! LOL! Nice touch again, Id say.

The above was all in one block, which is currently being replicated in a second, adjacent block, to accommodate both genders. The current all-in-one ladies room will then become the disabled room. No idea what the programme/deadline is, for the second block to be completed.

There were also more established amenities nearer to the centre of the site, which we didn't use.

Had a nosey in the site shop, and the cafe. (And a very amiable chit-chat with the boss and her daughter). Again, all appeared top notch, and the shop very well stocked, although we failed to spend anything in either, on this occasion. (Cafe was open for breakfast only, on Sat/Sun only, at this time of year. I believe they open longer, inc. Lunch and evenings (?) during the main season. )

There was a dog walk around the perimeter of the site (hidden by the hedge), with doggy bag bins at each end (I think?) and a small fishing pond in the top corner. Tidy, but a little bland-looking at this time of year, as one would expect. Id put money on it looking somewhat healthier/more colourful in the warmer climes, hopefully with a little sunshine in the background!

Beyond the site boundary at this end of the site (highest level), there was the odd trundling freight train passing by, heading for the local quarry, I believe. Not sure how this affects the daytime, as we were out all day, each day, but we only heard it once each (early) evening, and it was short lived. Truly wasnt a problem for us, and only mention it for accuracy! Similarly, we heard the odd plane high up, but again, hardly worth mentioning. Didnt witness any road noise whatsoever.

Locality-wise, its not in the best place for us, (or so we thought!) as we live only an hour away, and have done Buxton (5min drive) and Bakewell (20 min drive) to death! But for anyone else, it is perfectly situated for both, and of course, in the heart of the wonderful Peak District.

On this occasion, we took a trip up into Yorkshire (1 hour to Last of the summer wine country), and another to the Goyt Valley/Cat & Fiddle area, which is a mere 12 min drive from site. Thoroughly enjoyed both, and it means we are now tempted to return to this area (and this camp site!) again! Might take up hiking after all!

Ive learned my lesson since the early days, and will refrain from scoring 10s all round, as I now appreciate there is no such thing as a perfect camp site, as we all have personal preferences and opinions, but rest assured this is a top-notch site, ran by top-notch people, and Im more than happy to recommend it personally, to anyone who will listen. My rating will show a 9, but I'd go to 9. 6 if it was possible!

Not sure well return in the summer months, as we like to take our bikes to flatter lands, but at the very least, it is now top of our list for a winter site, and being local to home makes it an easy option for a possible last minute decision, when daylight hours are at a premium.

All in all, we had an excellent weekend, on a superb site, so many thanks for having us. Hopefully see you again soon.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Berniebobs 1 review from this member

We arrived on site on Christmas eve staying for 6 nights and had a lovely welcome from Jodie. We had a problem with our gas supply and Jan came down to try and help supplying us with 'o' rings. We still had leaking gas. Hubby Steve came along and he tried to help us to no avail. A quick call to Peak Leisure ( sorry didn't get your name) The guy was Christmas shopping and dropped everything to come out and help and had us up and running within the hour.

The toilets were always immaculate and the little touches are great eg sweets, tissues, hand cream etc. The wet room showers are excellent and were heated.

Nearest pub was The Parks Inn about a mile away and was uphill, but was easier coming back as it was downhill.

Buxton itself is great for shopping. Didn't eat there but there a pubs and eating places.

Drove into Bakewell. This is one of our favourite places to go, with lots of tearooms and lovely Bakewell tart.

We can only re-iterate what everyone else has said about this site. It is well run and Jan, Steve and Jodie can not do enough for you. They went above and beyond any other site that we have stayed on. They truly deserve 10 out of 10 on UK campsite reviews.

We love the Peak District and will definitely be visiting this site again. Let's hope there's availability as it gets booked up and no wonder. Thanks for a lovely 6 night stay.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Babstreefern 10 reviews from this member

Again, we have stayed at this caravan site, and apologies for submitting this a month late.

We always start our touring season here and also our last one of the year. We pitched our caravan, and plugged in the electric cable (we have two - one short and one long), we had to use the long one, and found that this kept tripping out the electric. We contacted Jane and she came across with a lead of her own, which worked perfectly (obviously ours is defunct) at now cost.

Had a great time. Timber, our mainecoon cat, made some more friends when he wanted to do his wander, on his lead of course.

The caf was shut for a few weeks for renovation. I was looking forward to a meal in there. Oh well:)

Carry on the great work Jane and crew. The other reviews tells you all you need to know about this outstanding site - the best in the country:).

Someone mentioned about plane and train noise. I don't agree. The train is not a passenger train, but they come from the quarries, and slowly chug along and the plane noise (they do not go to East Midlands (too far away), but Manchester Airport), and at the altitude overhead, they are too high to really bother with.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rosiejoe 1 review from this member

WE stayed here for 3 nights. Our first trip out in our motorhome. The site is well laid out with plenty of space between each pitch. The shower block and wc were warm, inviting, excellent facilities. The only slight down side was there was only one elsan disposal facility but this is being rectified by the construction of a new block with washing and waste disposal. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us with our tv problem

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kerrching 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend break at this brilliant site.

The pitches are separated by small hedges which provide privacy whilst not obscuring the spectacular views.

The toilet blocks are spotlessly clean, the showers better than we have encountered in hotels. Background music and complimentary sweets in the shower blocks add a nice touch. A new shower block is also currently under construction.

The owners could not have been more helpful, even lending us a phone charger as we had forgotten to bring one.

We did not use the cafe as we had our dog with us so we took advantage of the option to have meals delivered to the caravan. The fish and chips were the best we've tasted!

Our Golden Retriever, Woody enjoyed the dog walking area adjacent to the site entrance. Dogs are to be kept on leads at all times.

The site is a short drive from Buxton market place where you will find an assortment of shops, cafes, pubs etc.

Our pitch was closest to the road but this was not in any way a problem.

It should be noted that mobile phone signals were intermittent, and there is limited 3G.

We will definitely return to this spectacular site!

Previous     166 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent Win a Weekend Camping Ticket East Anglian Game & Country Fair

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd - 3rd April
Held in Newark with day visitors, weekend campers, club rallies and trade stands. Buy tickets, or enter our competition to win some!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3446 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1250