Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clover Fields Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Clover Fields Touring Park
1 Heath View
Harpur Hill
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9PU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 78731

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 185 Reviews
              10/10 from 185 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TraceyD 16 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this beautiful site. We received a lovely welcome and were shown to our super pitch, complete with electric, water and bins for rubbish and recycling. We were offered a daily paper delivered to our pitch, a nice touch but not required by us. We had the Sunday Roast from Teapots Café delivered to our tent and it was huge and very tasty!

Unfortunately, the café wasn't open for evening meals, which we had been looking forward to, however it was open for breakfasts, not sampled by us. The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced and on one occasion when they didn't have something we wanted, they were able to let us have some from the kitchen, great service.

The second toilet block isn't yet finished due to bad weather and my only slight criticism would be the lack of ladies only showers, the gents have three in the new block and the old block has two unisex, there is only one ladies only shower in the new block, a wet room which will eventually be the disabled facilities. The facilities are always very clean and have nice additional touches of handcream, cotton wool/buds and even a dish of sweets!

The site is so quiet and very picturesque, the only sound is the birds and the occasional train passing to the nearby quarry, which looks lovely lit up at night.

My husband made use of the fishing lake and I made friends with the donkeys in the next field, they love carrots.

The location is perfect being only 10 mins from Buxton and 20-25 from Bakewell and Castleton, all beautiful places to visit.

All in all a lovely site that we can't wait to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BarnacleBob 5 reviews from this member

We visited for the first time with some friends in their motorhome and liked the layout of the pitches on two terraces providing beautiful views from each pitch. Each pitch was separated by hedges giving excellent privacy. Water taps and waste bins were located at each for convenience. We also like the security gates that prevent unauthorised entry.

The lower shower/toilet block was small but up to date and sparkling clean whilst the upper block was newer and large. A full m'home service area was in use as part of a new development of facilities. The restaurant was not available for evening meals at the time of our short stay. However it was available for breakfasts Thursday-Sunday.

The site was very quite and peaceful except for some low level road traffic noise. The owners and staff were very welcoming and helpful and we will be pleased to return for a longer stay in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Samsimcaravan 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from this excellent site. The reviews were all spot on and more. We couldn't have had a more welcoming stay right from the start to the end. Nothing was too much bother. The site was very well laid out, with lots of hedging for some privacy. Water taps at each pitch and your own rubbish and recycling bins. There were 3 levels with a toilet block on the middle level, which had loos and just 2 showers which were unisex, but only had to queue once and not for long. The top level had a new toilet block, but the women's side only had one big room with loo, shower and sink. The men's had showers and loos. The showers themselves were lovely, big shower heads, constant warm water and all clean. The only small gripe is a shelf in the middle block showers would be nice to put shampoo on. The Teapot cafe is definitely one to try, the portions were very generous and delicious, the only downfall was we only tried pudding once as we didn't have room the other days. It was lovely to have the food delivered to your pitch as we had the dogs with us and couldn't sit in the cafe. There was a small shop which sold most things you might need, including a selection of caravan spares. There was an area designated as a dog walk, which was a nice bit of grassy area but we preferred to take a circuit round the site and up to the pond, there were a few dog bins dotted about. The Church Inn at Chelmorton was a lovely pub recommended to us, dog friendly and with lovely food. Lots of places to visit around the area. If we came to the area again we would definitely stay here as we couldn't really fault it.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maarkb 1 review from this member

Just come home from Clover Fields (Didn't want to) So peaceful and quiet (Adults Only) The standards on this campsite are exceptional, Pitch mowed hedges trimmed and Shower and Toilets of a 5 star Hotel. The standard of service is second to none breakfast and news papers delivered to your pitch. Nothing is too much trouble for the very welcoming owners and staff which makes it such a wonderful place to stay.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Woowar 9 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights wished it had been 4 weeks. Immaculately kept site with the best showers we have encountered. Pitches have own tap, electric, recycling and general waste bins. There is a shop on site which is not overpriced like many sites. Also a cafe open at weekends, food was very high quality and cooked to order so there was a slight wait but worth it. Dogs are not allowed in cafe but they will happily bring take away to your pitch. We will definitely be going back as soon as we possibly can.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sejb 1 review from this member

What a great holiday we had here, fantastic site, quiet, well kept, staffed by a lovely couple who couldn't do enough for you, nothing was to much trouble. Facilities on site were amazing, under floor heating in showers which were large and very clean, toilets the same. Pitches large with grass and hard standing, electric h u, water and divided by hedging. Paper delivered if required, well stocked shop for necessities, cafe open Thursday to Sunday for breakfast and evening meals and Sunday lunch. Quality of meals was second to none and value for money was great, make sure you have room if eating there!plenty to do in surrounding area, lovely walks, shopping in Buxton, Bakewell. Although it was a 4 hour journey for us we will definitely be returning- can't wait

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpy grandpa 1 review from this member

We stayed at Clover fields for 3 nights last week. What a joy! The hard standing pitches are shielded by their own individual hedges and have electric and fresh water supply on the pitch together with individual waste bins.

The toilet and shower blocks are superb! Attention to detail in everything - all top quality fittings. They even put cotton buds and body cream on the side.

The Teapot cafe on site opened for evening meals on Thurs Fri and Sat. We ate there twice. What an absolutely great place to eat. Beautiful linen tablecloths and napkins. 5 star quality service. The food is cooked by a qualified chef and is really good at very reasonable prices. Thoroughly recommend - make sure you don't miss out! Morning papers delivered to caravan on request.

We will be going back. Thanks to all the hard working team.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scooronimudge 2 reviews from this member

We can’t believe it’s been two years since we joined the Clover Fields family by taking a seasonal (summer and winter) pitch for our touring caravan. From the first time we spoke to Jan in June 2014 right up to the present day, every visit has been met with a welcome befitting of close family.

The on site Teapots cafe has become a regular haunt of ours for both evening meals and breakfasts, and nothing has ever been anything other than exceptional, with the choice and quality of food putting many restaurants to shame.

We enjoy a stroll around the park after eating in the cafe and occasionally the donkeys will come over for a pat if called, while the alpacas just tend to look at you as if to say “maybe next time'. The residential ginger cat is partial to friendly fuss too.

Being on the middle tier we are able to make full use of the original toilet/shower/utility rooms and rarely have had to venture up to the newer facilities on the upper level, even if the site is full.

Yes, the site is near a main road, local to a quarry railway and apparently under the flight path for Manchester airport, but honestly this has never bothered us at all. Unless you are the Duke of Devonshire and live somewhere like Chatsworth House, then some “local” noise as you would get at home is to be expected.

We make regular use of the local A2Z taxi company, which offers a discounted rate into Buxton from the site, for an impromptu pub crawl or quiz night - and on the odd occasion that they have not been available for the return journey, we have never failed to get a timely local taxi back to site from the town’s taxi ranks.

As Clover Fields is only one hour from home, it means that we get to enjoy many visits to this wonderful site, sometimes only arriving Friday or Saturday afternoon/evening and departing the next day - but to us it feels like we have been on holiday for several days. Nothing is too much trouble for this very friendly, family team who always welcome us with open arms. In fact we’d go so far as to say our visits to Clover Fields keep us sane!

Chris & Sue xx

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely two night break at this wonderful site. There is a reason this site gets consistently excellent reviews and that is simply the love and hard graft the owners and staff pour into it everyday. They have sat back and thought lomg and hard about how to

Make their site stand out and they offer lovely little touches that help make your stay extra special.

Toilets and showers spotless! Didn't quite understand why the new toilet block only has a joint one loo and shower in though as this is nearest the tent pitches who have a greater reliance on this than caravanners. However not that much further is the bigger block and never struggled to use the loo here. As said before spotlessly clean, with piped music and lovely touches such as hand cream and even nail files.

Washing up in utility area clean and warm but only one sink here but more outside facilities are available too.

Shop sell basics and we liked the buy now pay on depature deal.

Pitches; well this is mainly a caravan park. But it does have 6 I think pitches for tents which we used. All pitches massive! We have a large tent and a large car. Both fitted on with ooodles of room left front, back and both sides too. Lovely and level too. Grass could have done with a cut though as long but the weather the last two weeks prior to arrival has done nothing but rain so maybe it's not been possible.

The area of Buxton however I was a little disappointed in and that may mean we don't return but that is no reflection on the site which we found top class.

The best thing of all though wasn't the clean loos or piped music or helpful owners it was the peace and quiet! No screaming children as its adult only and no one playing loud music. Just people sitting out enjoying a BBQ and glass of wine and making no noise once dark or early morning. Bliss!

Well done owners.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Graham 29 reviews from this member

Well there is not much to say about CF. It's all in the 10/10 reviews below this one which will also be a 10/10. So, I hear you ask why bother. 'WHY BOTHER?'

This campsite is quite simply excellent. Jan and her crew do a brilliant job from booking you in to waving you off. THIS is how camping should be.

The site is mainly used by caravanners and camper van people, there was also a monster fifth wheeler American RV on site when we were there.

I think the total number of grassed tent pitches would be about 6-7 all having water EHU and your own bin area (strong rubbish bags provided too) The pitches are huge and even our Outwell Delaware 7 would fit with ease.

Toilets & Showers are top notch with free hot water (and no silly button to keep pressing)Blimey there is even a tray of wrapped boiled sweets to enjoy after your shower!

Now Jan calls it the Teapot cafe. No way is this a cafe it serves restaurant quality food in large portions. My wife and I had to sample the Sunday lunch, the curry and the breakfast over our four day bank holiday stay. Regards to the chef were always passed on. If you do visit PLEASE do use the 'cafe' or ask them to deliver your selected food to your pitch. You will not be disappointed.

Our first ever visit to CF and definitely not our last. Also our first ever adults only campsite and what lovely people were there too. Our neighbours on the adjoining pitches were a real pleasure. Perhaps the nice part was that during the whole stay I never heard a single swear word from anyone.

Please don't go to this site because I may not be able to get in if you all do. Voted heart of England campsite of the year 2015-2016 and I can clearly see why. 10/10

Previous     185 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth £48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

6039 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016