Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Braewick Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Shetlands > Site Reviews

Braewick Caravan Park
Braewick
Eshaness
Shetlands   (Browse area)
ZE2 9RS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01806 503345

Facilities:  (Key)
      

Nearby:
5m  5m   1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
              8/10 from 12 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

Just extremely good. Unusual for Shetland in that this is a commercial site but don, t let that put you off. Great location and lovely people running it. The cafe serves great food and if you are lucky they will be doing an evening meal whilst you are there. We had a great time. Excellent facilities. Would not hesitate to recommend as a must visit. Cannot fault it really.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dippingatoe 7 reviews from this member

A lovely site. Stunning views, Excellent facilities and good value for money, Plus run by lovely people What more could you want.

We visited early in the year, and the weather was a bit misty but I still managed to get some photos from the campsite. It was too early in the year for the cafe to be open, but I called back with friends a bit later on and have to say the food was EXCELLENT.

There looked to be a nice little play area for children

The owners suggested I went on up to the lighthouse and I am pleased I did, well worth while.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lully 4 reviews from this member

This campsite is really hardstanding in a car park next to a cafe. But the view is out of this world along the cliffs and staacks of escherness, probably the most spectacular in shetland. A walk along the cliffs by the lighthouse is a must. The toilets are shared with the cafe so this is not ideal. Do eat in the cafe. My wife had four huge shetland lamb chops with trimmings for £9!. Fantastic views from the cafe.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 42 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night in May 2013 but had also spent three nights previously on our 2009 Shetland tour. As others have said, the hardstandings are basically a glorified tarmac car park [slightly sloping] but none the worse for that. The facilities are fine with showers and toilets. We didn’t get to frequent the café itself this time though.

The views are superb and are probably the best from a campsite on the island. There is a short walk down to the shoreline from the corner of the site.

If you are really organized you can dance in front of the webcam on the building facing the sea and tell your friends about it as they will be able to see you on the Visit Shetland webcam!

One minor niggle is that there appears to be no pitch reservation system. On our arrival there were only 2 other vehicles on site so we put our cable & blocks against two “front row” pitches and moved on to Eshaness light house to walk the stunning coastline [wrap up warm as there is invariably a gale blowing!]. We then returned to the site only to find a small tent pitched on the grass between our two pitches and using our hook up! As we had left our cable & ramps on this pitch we assumed that we had “reserved” it! Apparently the actual pitch had been taken by a VW campervan [booked via the internet!] but no one had put a “reserved” sign up! We only found this out after the owners son had come over and explained this to us after we had got set up! No great problem as we just reversed back to the bays behind and saved ourselves £2. 00! [The “front row” was £16 per night, whereas the “back row” was only £14!].

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Albatross77 1 review from this member

This is indeed a lovely site.

I pitched below the hard standing, so had uninterrupted views of St Magnus Bay, and had no trouble parking nearby while I pitched and struck. I don't then mind walking 60 yards to the car.

It is exposed - keeps the midges down, but I wouldn't wnat to camp there is a South Wester. The shower block is new and well kept, but there's nowhere indoors that you can sit - other than the cafe which was only open 10 - 4 when I was there in August - which is a shame.

It is wonderfully placed for walking and cycling round Esherness, but you need a car to get an evening meal - St Magnus Hotel in Hillswick will fill you up, I guarantee!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimwillsher 4 reviews from this member

We've just spent three nights here in our three-man tent. Braewick is an excellent base for exploring Eshaness.

We arrived on a Tuesday, and the cafe is closed on a Tuesday and Wednesday. And when the cafe is closed, the staff are absolutely nowhere to be found with no contact details. So although we had wanted to use the washing machine (token) and the wi-fi (password) we were unable to do so. It appears that the cafe owner lives just 200 yards away so I'm sure a one-hour 'evening rounds' could be on their rota.

The toilet block is very clean and very modern. There are three showers: the two on the left are rubbish - luke-warm (or cold) and you have to press a button every twelve seconds to get water; the one on the right (baby changing room) is excellent - hot with a good flow and a normal shower tap! Well worth waiting for the baby-care room if you want a shower. All the shower rooms (plus baby room) have toilet and sink.

The kitchen area has a microwave and kettle, and the aforementioned washing machine (and drier), but no seating area - a shame for campers like ourselves as it meant we had to stand by the sink to eat breakfast, but as they are primarily a cafe I guess it makes sense for the business. The toilet block is also a public toilet, so you do find cars arriving and leaving at odd times.

There's a lovely walk down to the beach from the site, and there's a straightforward 9-mile walk around Eshaness. Also, a 4. 5 mile walk around the headland at Hillswick is well worth doing, as you get lovely views of the sea stacks (The Drongs) from the opposite side to where you view them from the campsite.

The nearby community-run shop at Hillswick (approx 5 miles) is superbly stocked. We expected to find jars, tins and long-life bread rolls, which is often the case with island shops. Yes it has these, but also fresh bread, fresh fruit and veg (including broccoli, tomatoes, mushrooms and avocados) and an excellent selection of fresh meat (burgers, mince, sausages, steak) and fish (fresh, smoked, hot-smoked, peppered) from Shetland. We purchased fresh whole plaice and skate wings for the barbecue! The shop is open long hours, seven days, and is a real gem when you're so far from Lerwick.

We know Shetland is windy, but Braewick seems to be a wind tunnel. The site has excellent views of the bay, but seems to attract strong winds from every direction. Strong enough to blow down our windbreak! The strong winds actually became really tedious as there was no respite.

One negative point for the site management. There was a strong sewage smell around the site, and a campervan owner commented that there was a sign on the septic tank advising owners to not empty their caravan waste tanks into it as it was full. We appreciate that Shetland is a group of islands and that it takes time to organise things, but we can't help feeling that the site owners took their eyes off the ball and allowed the septic tank to get too full, with the consequences of the surrounding site smelling horrible. This wasn't good for the campsite, and probably wasn't great for the cafe either.

We would stay there again, but we think the site owners should focus on the cafe AND the site; instead the site seems to be a sideline and it needs some attention to detail.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shetlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4255 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430