Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clickimin Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Shetlands > Site Reviews

Clickimin Caravan And Campsite
Clickimin Leisure Centre
Lochside
Shetlands   (Browse area)
                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel:

Facilities:  (Key)


Nearby:

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
              8/10 from 7 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes 

Reviews:  7 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil

As my earlier report states, this site will cease trading on 31 January 2014 and doesn’t look like it will be replaced by Shetland Island Council any time soon. It is a great loss to the camping fraternity in Lerwick as this was a superb base to return to whilst travelling around the Shetland Isles.

However, the following sites were used during our May 2013 trip and we would thoroughly recommend them. Some are new and not widely known about:-

North Roe/Loch End village hall Northmavine. This is essentially their car park but with hook up & water supply. £10 per night and superb walks to Uyea and Fethaland. - see separate UKCampsite listing

Burravoe Pier & Marina – Yell. A super site by the local pier with the roof of the amenities block being the upturned hull of a lifeboat from the SS Canberra! Everything from the pitch fee, shower & laundry are based on an honesty system. Whilst the pitch fee is set, you can donate what you feel the shower & laundry facilities are worth! An otter was spied trotting across the boat ramp at dusk one evening [11. 00pm in May!]. - see separate UKCampsite listing

Sumburgh Hotel – the hotel has a couple of electric & water points in their car park that are £5 per night. Good walks to Sumburgh Head for puffin watching & long sand beaches close by.

Braewick Caravan Park – Northmavine – see separate UKCampsite listing

Gardiesfauld Hostel & Campsite – Uyeasound – Unst – see separate UKCampsite listing

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 35 reviews from this member

All of the reviews reflect the status of this site BUT it is due to close in October 2013 and a school is to be built on the site.

At the moment the Shetland Island Council are not planning a replacement.

It will be sad loss to Shetland as it was an excellent 'base' to return to to re-supply etc. After some wildcamping in other parts of the islands. It was also ideal for the Northlink Ferries terminal. Very sad.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grovesred 1 review from this member

We found this to be an excellent site, though hopefully the various trees and shrubs will grow rapidly to protect future campers from Shetland's strong winds!

The amenity block was excellent, and kept very clean throughout our stay. The temperature of the showers was fine, but I would have preferred to be able to turn it on and off myself, rather than have it timing out every sixty seconds or so.

The dish- and clothes-washing and drying facilities facilities were good too, and also kept very clean.

Booking-in was easy. Booking out was OK, but on a bank holiday the leisure centre was closed(!) and we were able to collect our key deposit a couple of days early.

The campsite is close to Lerwick town centre and all amenities, which are good.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rover21 2 reviews from this member

Excellent location overlooking loch and broch. Fabulous leisure pool next-door. Lawns were immaculately maintained. Very good price. However, we were disappointed with the amenities block.

The gents and ladies washrooms contained one shower each and 4 washbasins. There was also a disabled bathroom with a further shower. The facilities are dated and not pleasant. You can use the showers at the leisure centre if you don't mind communal showering with strangers.

My family showered, after a daily swim, in the communal showers by the poolside as the water in the amenities block was too hot for children.

There is a dishwashing/laundry room. It isn't nice. It has 1 sink for washing up and 1 sink for something else. I have no idea what it is for but it must be a metre deep. This room is in need of a good clear-out and freshening up.

There is a further room to the rear of the building for trash. It contains a number of rubber dustbins and has the most repulsive smell. We resorted to using a bin on a nearby lamp-post.

Customer service is questionable. During our stay there was a plague of flying insects (not midges) that attacked every part of the amenities block. I've never seen so many and they remained there for the last couple of nights of our stay. The staff were aware of the problem but no attempt seemed to be made to remove them.

The lady that checked us in was friendly and helpful. You pay a deposit for the key to the amenities block, so when you leave you have to re-visit the leisure centre reception for a refund. I was served by a different receptionist on this occasion and I expected to be asked whether I enjoyed my stay, or something along those lines. Instead, the key was taken from me and I was given my refund, and that was it! I never got the chance to make my feelings known.

Such a shame because this could be an excellent site with very little further expense.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Granma 2 reviews from this member

This site was superb. The grass pitches were manicured so much so that we did not need a groundsheet

The view over the loch was stunning and the amenities block was spotless and centrally heated.

The leisure centre was brilliant just alongside.

The town centre was five minutes walk with a great range of places to eat.

Shetland is a stunning place to visit

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nankypoo 2 reviews from this member

This is a nice council run site next to the leisure centre and within easy walking distance of the town centre and supermarket and well positioned to explore the Lerwick and Sumburgh area.
There is no warden as such you have to pay at the centre reception.
The site is a large oval with hardstanding for caravans in the middle and grass on the outside for tents. It can be quite noisy at weekends as the campsite is between the sports pitches which are also used for community events and the sports centre and a main road passes the site.
There are toilets, showers and dishwashing in a block on the site which are well maintained but you get a pass for the leisure centre and I used the facilities in the sports centre which were far nicer.
The site is very busy and because the mainland ferry lands at 6.30 every morning you will be disturbed by the new arrivals.

Previous     7 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shetlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7619 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0703