Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Levenwick Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Shetlands > Site Reviews

Levenwick Campsite
Taingview
Levenwick
Shetlands   (Browse area)
ZE2 9HX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01950 422320

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
1m  5m  5m  1m  

Pitches: 16
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
              9/10 from 8 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  8 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 41 reviews from this member

What's not to like about this site?

It sits just off the main road between Lerwick and Sumburgh

It has marvellous views(when the mist isn't down) out to sea and to the beach where we saw Red Throated Divers.

The facilities are good, especially considering that it only costs £12/night for a van with hookup.

Support from the volunteer members of the Community group is first rate. John Sinclair was always friendly & helpful.

It's well located for buses and only a few minutes from a shop.

It's also well located for some of Shetland's remarkable sights - the night visit to Mousa Brochure for the Storm Petrels return is quite life affirming. Jarlshof and Bigton/St Ninian's Island were memorable too.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gibbyice 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a weekend visit to Levenwick Campsite, on a fine day it commands stunning views of the area and a short car drive away we spent 4 hours of glorious sunshine at Levenwick beach.

We had a very large tunnel style family tent which cost £8 per night plus £2 for electric hook up, the money was collected between 7 and 8pm each evening by a very friendly warden. I liked this campsite due to the separate toilets and shower from the main kitchen. Which meant you had more privacy and didn't continually bump into other campers if you didn't want to, although we did meet some very nice people camping here from england and italy.

The main area has a kitchen with an industrial nyborg washing machine and a tumble dryer in addition to another newer shower and a great seating area to take in the view which was lovely.

Its raised location means it can be exposed to the elements, however we did tuck in close to one of the hills for shelter, our tent took a fair amount of wind the second night but we were all snug inside. I will return next year and had a great weekend with my family.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lully 4 reviews from this member

It was pouring with rain, low cloud so we could not see a lot. We pulled onto what was a village hall with a car park as the hard standings. It had the toilets in the hall, a small building at the side with nice shower, tables and chairs, washing machine and dryer that were NOT a rip off, and the clothes were dry! A lovely garden and tenters field. And when the cloud went WOW what a view. A lovely man came to collect the fees. This was a comfortable site and we enjoyed our stay. From here visit the puffins at sumburgh head and the bigton tombolo. A site you will never forget.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimwillsher 4 reviews from this member

Excellent, community-run site, ideally located for exploring the south of the Mainland. We stayed in early June 2012 with our three-man tent. Site can be a bit exposed - we had strong northerly winds - but has excellent views.

Two showers, one taking 50p coins and one taking 20p coins. Showers and toilets very clean. I only used the older, 50p shower, but it gives at least 10 minutes for the 50p, and it's nice and hot (although electric, so not very powerful).

New-ish (5 years old) indoor kitchen area with sink, microwave, kettle, washing machine and drier, and access to the second shower. Three tables in this room, perfect for campers to use - especially as the room is warm and with excellent views! Site also has a small garden area which we used to BBQ. Very friendly and knowledgeable warden.

No recycling facilities, but these can be found just a few miles down the road towards Sumburgh.

All proceeds from the site go towards funds for the community hall - they were installing insulation for the first time ever when we visited, paid for over the years by site fees.

June is quiet for them - just three other tents and two campers during our stay.

This site is well recommended.

Local attractions: Loch Spiggie and Mousa (birds), No Ness (walking) the Tombolo at St. Ninians (beach).

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ForgetfulCat 9 reviews from this member

A small community run site, with good basic facilities including a large lounge area which would be very useful for tenters in bad weather. Wonderful sea views, and we were told that Orcas have been seen from the site.

Excellent friendly warden.

The turn in off the main road is a bit tight, I found it somewhat awkward in a 5. 5m vehicle. Luckily, being Shetland, the main road is busy if there are two cars in a minute!

If at all possible, in summer you should arrange to go on the night ferry to Mousa to see the Storm Petrels nesting in the broch - one of the great wildlife experiences of the UK.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cathy d 2 reviews from this member

Great little site. Facilities excellent. The southern end of Shetland has too many places to visit to mention them all but St. Ninians is a safe and beautiful place for families and Boddam museum is very quaint.Plenty of shops about and a sports centre at Hoswick. Again a well kept site a good example of what a community can achieve when they work together.Good luck for the future and see you again next year.

Previous     8 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shetlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4637 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391