Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Criw Touring Caravan And Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Criw Touring Caravan And Camp Site
Criw
Bryncroes
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8ED   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07890 522229

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  10m  5m  10m   10m  5m 

Pitches: 17
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
              9/10 from 19 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smogian 12 reviews from this member

We always try to stop on basic sites and this one didn't disappoint to hit all our criteria. It is in a excellent location to explore the llyn peninsular. Close to Abersoch, Phwllheli which both had good beaches to walk the dog on. We also went to Nefyn and went to the beach where we walked for about 15 minutes and come across a pub(the Ty Coch Inn) in a little cove called Porth Dillaen which did excellent food and drink. Our favourite place was Aberadon a few minutes away which had a good beach for dog walking and a bakery situated in a corrugated building.

The facilities at the campsite may look dated but don't be put off the toilets were always spotless and the showers gave plenty of time and had perfect temperature and water pressure

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joshuasian 1 review from this member

This year our plans were to walk around the Lleyn peninsua from Caernarvon to Porthmadog. We chose the campsite Criw because of its location and also how pleasant and professional Ron and Myfannwy were when we came to look at the pitch. We were allocated an excellent pitch with open views with only one other caravan near by. It was perfect for us to have the space as our jack russell does have issues and would find it difficult to be around many people. The site is very clean as are the facilities. I don't know how the owners manage this as no showers or toilets were ever unavailable for cleaning. They organised to electrics so that we didn't need lots of cable around the caravan. There are plenty of taps for the fresh water. The site is child friendly and also dog friendly.

I would like very much to think we could return to this site at some time in the future, in nearly fifteen years of caravanning it really felt as if we were staying with family. We would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone who wants to visit the Lleyn, there are many facilities not too far away such as Aberdaron for the chip shop, Abersoch for the beach or Pwllheli for Asda!

Walking from Rhiw to Abersoch we were unsure of the public transport, Myfannwy kindly came and collected us and took us back to the car. So kind and helpful. We loved the place and the people. Thank you both.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fong 1 review from this member

We moved our caravan onto the site in September 2010 and quickly realised what a great find it was. We have had our caravan on the site ever since and cannot fault it. It is great being able to go all year round and, as the weather seems to be better on the peninsula, the winter is a great time to visit and be able to go on long walks.

The owner, is very helpful. He really goes out of his way and nothing is too much trouble.

The site itself is quite small and has 3 toilets and showers plus chemical waste point. This is always sufficient. The site is always clean and tidy. There is electric hook up for all the main pitches and plenty of water points. There is also a large camping field.

The situation of the site is brilliant with so many beautiful beaches nearby. There are plenty of great walks both by the coast and inland. The nearby village of Sarn offers everything you could need with pubs that do food, a post office, shop, garage, pottery and cafe.

We intend leaving our caravan sited here for the foreseeable future as we can't imagine finding anywhere better, especially as it is very good value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JennyJeffs 1 review from this member

We visited the site for a long weekend in June. Our first impression was what a lovely setting with fantastic views over the local countryside. This is a nice, small site ideal for anyone looking for a relaxing stay.

Although the facilities are basic they were clean and functional. It was nice to be on a site where the people were all very friendly. And the owner of the site was extremely helpful. Unbeknown to us there was Sky cable available for each pitch and he lent us a sky box to use with our TV. Every pitch has electric hook up and there are water points all around the site. He seemed to go out of his way to help whenever he could.

The site is well situated with plenty of beautiful beaches within a few miles. The nearest village is about a mile away and there's a shop, post office, garage, cafe and pubs. Everything we needed!

We will certainly be returning to the site as we couldn't fault it.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fathe 1 review from this member

The Llyn Peninsula is one of my favourite places in the whole of the UK. The scenery and terrain is reminiscent of Cornwall, but itís a hell of a lot closer to South Yorkshire where we live!

We normally visit the Llyn at Easter and sometimes at Christmas and we stay in a Farmhouse close to the village of Sarn. However I have always wanted to camp nearby, so during a break in the poor August weather I did a campsite search using the Farmhouse address. The fist site up happened to be Criw. I fired off an email and soon had a friendly reply saying they would have room now the mad rush was over and the owner informed me it would be £12 per night including hook-up. Well with the weather looking so good and the price so great we gave it a shot. I am so glad we did as the site was just perfect for what I was looking for. That was a well kept, small, quiet, family safe and friendly site right in the middle of the Peninsula.

I sent the owner another email the night before we were due to leave to double check he still had space. Again he sent a friendly reply and off we went. When I say Ďweí I mean myself and my 3 boys all under the age of ten (Mummy stayed at home for a rest at the end of the 6 week holidays)! We arrived just after lunch and we were met by Ron on his ride-on mower who was cutting his well kept grass. He showed us where to go and left us to it. He didnít even ask for payment (or a deposit before hand) he just wished us a good visit as he knew I know the area.

The site is pretty level and has 6 hook-ups. There are 3 touring vans that look like they are there semi-permanently. The site also has some other spaces with no hook-ups. The site has basic but very kept facilities. I think I counted 3 showers, 3 toilets and a chemical disposal area. There is also a small utility room with sink dryer and washing machine. The only think lacking is a freezer for ice blocks. All the hot water is run of electric so itís always available and included in the price.

We have a large family sized tent and it fitted on to our pitch very well. There were no extras for cook tents, extras for 'extra' kids etc just the £12 including the hook-up. To me this was a pure bargain and money well spent.

The site is in the very small village of Bryncross. The nearest shops and pubs are about a mile down the road in the village of Sarn. Here you can find a small post office, three pubs, a garage plus craft shops. The nearest large supermarket would be the Asda in Pwllheli (a pleasant 25 miles drive away).

Criw is an excellent base to visit the amazing beaches, attractions and walks close by. These include, Whistling Sands/Porth Oer (look it up on the BBC iPlayer it is featured in Coast), Llanbedrog (my perfect beach), Abersoch (Water Sports) Hells Mouth (Surf Beach), Rhiw (National Trust House), Porth Ysgo, Aberdaron (great bakery), Mynydd Mawr (old coastguard Lookout), Morfa Nefyn/ Porthdinllaen (One of the best pints in one of the best pubs in the UK look-up ĎTy Coch Inní itís actually on the beach), and even the village of Beddgelert in the foot hills of Snowdonia is not far away. Basically you could stay here for a week and visit a different place each day and I havenít even mentioned all the famous castle in the wider area.

One top tip I would give is to have some kind of National Trust membership as the car parks are normally £4 each if manned or £1.50 if unmanned (odd I know). This could be just one child membership for example. Plus buy this before you go as itís a lot cheaper than buying from the sites!

As you can probably tell I thought Criw is an excellent little site. Its clean and friendly and a little piece of tranquilly in this busy world!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Baggers1 7 reviews from this member

First time visiting this site for the August Bank Holiday.

First impressions. A clean and tidy site, the EHU pitches are a generous size and well maintained - we could have got two tents the size of ours on one pitch, but it was nice to have the space as you didn't feel cramped by other campers. Ron, the owner, was a friendly, helpful man who was quick to sort out any problem you had. He even fixed our friends mallet for them!

The site is on a slope but the EHU pitches are all terraced and so each pitch is flat. The owner advised us that he is hoping to increase the number of pitches for next season by clearing the lower area of the field, which is flatter but currently overgrown, and laying grass and supplying further EHU points.

The toilet/shower facilities, whilst not the best, were adequate. A bit odd having shower heads for taps over the sinks but manageable. Having said that, all seemed to be kept reasonably clean, and the water was hot (except for twice during our stay the shower went off mid-way through soaping oneself after the electric tripped! Not really a problem. More of a 'highlight' for us to laugh back at I suppose!). There is also an undercover utility area with a sink / drainer, washing machine & tumble dryer.

Whilst the site is a little isolated from the busier areas of the Llyn Peninsula it is not too far to travel to the coast, whichever direction you go, and there are some lovely beaches nearby - Aberdaron and Porth Colman were both lovely beaches for the children.

For supplies, there is an ASDA in Pwllheli (about 12 miles away) but, to be honest, the town itself was somewhere to avoid if at all possible!

All in all though, the site is very quiet and well maintained, set in a peaceful sloping valley location and it was tremendous value for money too - only £12 per night for 3 of us over an August Bank Holiday weekend with EHU. Bargain!

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3641 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1138