Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Riverside Campsite
Chollerford
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE46 4EW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01434 681325

Facilities:  (Key)
        

Nearby:
1m  1m  

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
              8/10 from 8 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes 

Reviews:  8 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Argentum66 8 reviews from this member

Perfect for overnight stay while walking Hadrian's wall. Site right in the centre of Chollerford. Owner operates Cafe by the Garage during the day, out of hours enquire at the bungalow. We were told they only take backpackers on the site.

The facilities are great, with a spotless, purpose built shower and toilet block. Camping field is well kept but rather large if it really is just for backpackers.

2 nearby pubs, The George just over the Road and The Crown about 1 mile away. Chesters Roman fort is just about 1 mile away also. Cafe opens at 9 for breakfast and to get you on your way on the next leg. £5 per night

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy22w 4 reviews from this member

This campsite is located in the picturesque village of Chollerford, and on the route of the Hadrian's Wall path.

There is a cafe here, plus basic facilities (toilet, shower). Unfortunately, the dryer was not connected, but I didn't really need it.

The owners were sufficiently friendly and accommodating; campground booking took place in the cafe, and outside of cafe hours you need to go and knock on the bungalow door. (Took me a while to work that out!).

There's a pub over the road; didn't investigate it, but it looks nice enough.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Privatehudson 18 reviews from this member

I spent the night at this site whilst doing the Hadrian's Wall Path. It is ideally located right alongside the path close to the Chollerford Bridge.

The site has three toilets and a good shower, along with an area to clean dishes, all of which are kept clean. I don't recall there being any specific play area. Attached to the site is some tea rooms and a garage which has a small shop.

Within 20 minutes walking distance is the Roman fort of Chesters along with sections of the wall across the North Tyne near the Brunton Turret.

If you're doing the path and intending to see Chesters bear in mind that it does not open until 10am and the site is at most 30 minutes walk away, so its no point getting up really early that day!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hsamuel 3 reviews from this member

Stayed one night while walking the wall. This site is on the trail so very handy. Shower block, toilets clean and good quality. Friendly and helpful owners. The cafe is there for brekkie and packed lunches but it shuts at 4pm. Posh pub across the road we felt a bit tired and dirty for but a lovely pub about half a mile up the road. The dogs were quiet for us. It is right by a road and the weir on the river is close, but neither particularly noisy.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northerngal33 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 3 days while recovering from blisters after walking the wall and the owners could not be more friendly.
The toilet block was only just being built when we got there so the owner said we could use the toilets in the tea rooms, not ideal but did the job, we then went on to walk the rest of the wall refreshed with better feet. Oh yes the dogs did bark incessently but you got used to them and they shut up if you shouted at them. All in all a lovely field to stay in with warm and friendly staff nothing was too much trouble.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wallwalker08 2 reviews from this member

We walked Hadrians wall in early june 2008. We stayed for 1 night.

Lovely little campsite on the banks of the tyne with excellent facillities.What looked to be a newly built toilet block with 2 shower cubicles with piping hot water. The field was nicely cut and close to the george hotel where we had a fairly decent evening meal(the wife said it was poor)but i'm not as critical!.

In the morning the owner organised for our packs to be transported along to the next campsite 15 miles away to save us carrying them.

Couldn't have been more helpful.An excellent 'full english' to start the day in the Riverside cafe.

Only 1 negative;

The 2 greyhounds that the owner had barked constantly until it got dark

Will definitely stay there again next year :-)

Previous     8 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508