Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Saint Avit Loisirs

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Site Reviews

Castel Saint Avit Loisirs
Saint Avit De Vialard
Le Bugue Vezere
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24260   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 05 53 02 64 00

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 199
Open: 23/03 To 14/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
              8/10 from 16 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynn_brighton 11 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a great 14 days at Saint Avit between 14-30th August 2015. The weather was fantastic at over 30c and the region is a great location for a holiday. I've stayed at other campsites in the region but I'd summarise Saint Avit as a quality campsite but be prepared for the noise.

General Campsite

Saint Avit is very large with chalets and camping. There were mostly British families there in August with some French and Dutch. We stayed in our tent on a grand comfort pitch with electric and water. The pitches are close together and separated by trees, so you need to get on with your neighbours! Some pitches were better than others and we were on a fairly small pitch, the campsite do give you the option to chose a pitch but when we went it was completely full and there was nothing else available. I was worried from other reviews that the pitches would be too small and our tent wouldn't fit but they are all at least 10x10m albeit they are random shapes and sizes. All pitches were close to amenities which was great (not far to go to the toilet) but there wasnít much space for cars so this added to the feeling of being quite cramped. There were quite a few wasps and ants but no mossies.


Because of the campsite having so many people and pitches there was a lot going on. The bar was busy, the pool was mega busy and there was just a lot of general noise. The campsite entertainment started exactly at 9pm and finished dead on 11pm and wherever you were on the campsite it sounded like you were next to the speakers. Even playing cards on our pitch we could hear everything that was going on at the bar. This didn't really bother us as we went to bed after 11pm but it might be too loud for those with smaller children.

Each week there was a lantern parade and fireworks which was excellent and everyone joined in.

There was a kids club which we didn't use but seemed very good. Eurocamp are also based here and offer abseiling, zip wire, bouncy castles. We played tennis a few times and the courts were excellent (make sure you book in advance to play)

There is a well stocked shop that sells the essentials at a reasonable price including Gas, baguettes, Croissants, Newspapers. We only bought bread and pastries from the campsite shop but used the Intermarche or Aldi in Le Bugue for food / drink etc

The takeaway was excellent, one of the best weíve seen and reasonably priced. Approx. 10Ä for a pizza and 2. 50Ä for a portion of frites. We didnít use the table service restaurant.

Toliets / Showers

The toilet blocks were well located and were clean. They werenít as spotless as other campsites Iíve been on but certainly clean and hygienic. There was always toilet paper available. Showers were hot and there were never any queues. The blocks also contained laundry and washing up facilities which were ideal.

Swimming Pool

The swimming pools are excellent, particularly the slides and the area for under 6ís. The only thing letting it down is that the tiles are in bad repair and need some maintenance. The sunbeds are taken by 9. 15 so your chances of getting one are very slim. Some are reserved but the site was trying to eliminate this by confiscating towels that had clearly been left for some time. Some of the slides need rings which could be purchased in the shop for about 7Ä but we brought our own with us. The outside pools aren't heated but it was so hot we didn't mind the water being cool.


We found that the campsite wasnít really in the heart of the region. We did a lot of driving over to Sarlat (50 mins drive away) to use the cycling paths and the rope activities and to visit Sarlat itself. We stayed in 2011 close to Sarlat and that was a better location for exploring the historic villages such as Domme. We visited a couple of Grottes and Caves but the highlight was a canoe down the Dordogne. We hired canoes from Lemeuil and got driven further upstream and then paddled for 20k back to Lemeuil over the course of about 5 hrs. This was a great day but there is more to see further up the Dordogne.

All in all a great holiday with great on site activities but if you want to explore the region I would recommend staying closer to Sarlat.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Curleywurley 3 reviews from this member

A large site with camping and euro camp (tents and statics). Good family atmosphere catering for all ages both in the outstanding pool facilities and evening entertainment. Rural location meant quiet nights after entertainment finished at 11pm.

However, with a motor home pitch access can be difficult. If allocated an 'outside' pitch near the access road not a problem. If you are unfortunate as we were to be allocated a pitch beneath the trees - getting on and off was very difficult. This was due to trees and vehicles belonging to other pitches. Our pitch was also accessed via a slope - very difficult to manoeuvre onto and off. As a result we didn't move the motor home during our stay. We watched a motor home hit a low fence when trying to get onto their pitch during our stay. Fortunately the campsite supermarket was well stocked but our exploring was curtailed.

On a positive note, all facilities were clean with plenty of hot water. Although we saw a bus stop by the site, no sign of a bus so not sure how easy public transport is to access. We would go back but request a specific pitch by number next time.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Winny5573 1 review from this member

We spent a lovely 12 nights camping at this site and were very impressed with the amenities and the friendliness of the staff. On arrival you are offered the option of a campsite 'credit' card which can be used to purchase anything from ice lollies at a kiosk to beer from the various bars. Great idea if a little dangerous as you have to settle up on departure ! We had some very hot sunny weather on our stay (36 degrees one day !) which made the pool and water slide complex extremely popular. It is the great attraction of the site and rightly so as our girls loved it and having made friends with 4 sisters from a neighbouring tent, had the time of their lives ! Having said that people would queue from 8. 30am in order to try and reserve usually more loungers than they needed by placing towels on them. This practice, although discouraged by the staff, still persisted and was one of the few negatives of our stay, along with a lack of shade on our pitch (bad luck more than anything) and perhaps a few more shower blocks wouldn't go amiss. Other than that a great campsite which offers a dizzying array of children's activities ranging from zip wire and quad biking to archery and horse riding (ours dipped in and out due to the heat !) There are lots of interesting places to visit nearby as well such as the cave paintings at Lascaux and the troglodyte caves as well as some great local street markets. All in all highly recommended and would go back but the kids want to try somewhere new next year, in fact ever year so can't argue with that ! 4. 5 out of 5 from me !

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Checkley1973 6 reviews from this member

Visited this site in August 2014. We have stayed in castels sites previously and this one was no disappointment.

Reception - friendly welcome and lots of information on local attractions. Wifi available but very slow as you would expect in such a rural location.

Pool area - best we've seen. Indoor pool, 3 large outdoor pools, splash area for very young plus many slides including ones you go down on a ring. Although these were said unsupervised at peak times they did supervise them.

Pitches - appear a little random amongst the trees but all ok and fully serviced pitches usable for waste and water. If you can I would request a pitch on the outer edge of the touring area facing towards the kids clubs. This gives a more open feel and room to sunbathe outside the tree area.

Shop - good, well stocked and good value for a campsite shop.

Staff - excellent, everyone we encountered was friendly with a smile.

Evening entertainment - not really put cup of tea but the children liked it. The house lager is good and not exprnsive.

Takeaway - great pizzas, salads, waffles and crepes.

Overall probably the best site we've stayed on, although next visit we will book a specific pitch.

One more tip, travelling from the toll road down towards the site I would ignore the first sign on your right, carry on for another 2 or 3km and then turn at the next site sign. Both roads are narrow but the first one is very tight when towing a van. We didn't meet anything coming the other way but it would be tricky if you did.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stretch83 7 reviews from this member

We came to this site nearly 12 years ago with Euro camp and returned this year with our caravan for ten nights booked direct with the site. The site had changed so much, new pool areas and facilities. I concur with other reviews, that for large outfits access can be a little tight but we got in and pitched up fine. Our pitch was on the edge of the grass empty spaces towards the valley area overlooking the activity areas and was really good, nice mixture of sun and shade. The shower and toilet blocks were excellent; always clean, always availability.

There is a bit of an issue with the 'sunbed' reservations, putting towels down to reserve, they try to police it, but hey, just go with the flow and do as the rest do! The pool area does get busy, especially with the new water slide and lazy rivers for the inflatable tyres - it kept our son busy for hours on any of our visits.

The on site shop stocks most items, prices are fair and the snack areas for lunch quite good. The noise level at night given the site is 'large' was quiet past 11pm and even during the day, very little obtrusive noise.

Le Bugue market is well worth a visit, car parking can be sparce though and the local hotel by the river has excellent food with tables overlooking the river Vezerre, fantastic in the late evening sunshine. Bergerac is well worth a visit; old town area with great shops and restaurants and the chance to go down the river on a barge boat - nice and relaxing. The site is now part of the Castells group and we stayed last year at their Moulon du Roche site, which was perhaps just a little better, not quite a big and the premium pitches were just that - quality. Perhaps St Avit is just a little too large for that quality to shine through, some aspects do suffer, but it is still an excellent site with a lot going on.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DJMC 10 reviews from this member

We have just spent a week here, and found the site to be excellent.

I booked direct with the site online, and asked for a large pitch as we have a twin axle.

As you arrive the site looks fantastic from the main road, and the welcome we received was very friendly.

They allocated us an 'easy access' pitch, which was plenty big enough for the car & caravan & awning etc, although it was a little difficult to position the van due to the trees, but luckily we had help from nearby neighbours when we had to unhitch and push !

Our pitch had no shade until approx 7pm which was fine with us. Some of the pitches in the centre of the site were totally shaded.

The pool complex was very good, with the usual sunbed issues, but it was acceptable to take your own chairs which lots of people were doing.

The shop was well stocked, and although more expensive than the supermarkets, not excessively over priced.

We didn't really go to the bar very often, but there was entertainment on most evenings, which stopped at 11pm prompt, and although we were fairly close to the bar & restaurant, we didn't have any problems with noise. In fact, our teenage daughters reported that the security guard was very strict if anyone was heard to be making too much noise around the site, he was there to remind them to be quiet for the comfort of others !

The toilet blocks were always clean, and we never had to queue for a shower despite the site being constantly full.

We used the restaurant one night, and it was very nice food. Our girls used the cafeteria on numerous occasions, it was good value for money and there was a good choice of 'snack' meals.

All in all we thought this was a great site, with a nice atmosphere, and we will definitely return if we go to the same area next year.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aquitaine   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3438 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder