Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Saint Avit Loisirs

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Site Reviews

Castel Saint Avit Loisirs
Saint Avit De Vialard
Le Bugue Vezere
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24260   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 05 53 02 64 00

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 199
Open: 23/03 To 14/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
              8/10 from 13 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Checkley1973 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site in August 2014. We have stayed in castels sites previously and this one was no disappointment.

Reception - friendly welcome and lots of information on local attractions. Wifi available but very slow as you would expect in such a rural location.

Pool area - best we've seen. Indoor pool, 3 large outdoor pools, splash area for very young plus many slides including ones you go down on a ring. Although these were said unsupervised at peak times they did supervise them.

Pitches - appear a little random amongst the trees but all ok and fully serviced pitches usable for waste and water. If you can I would request a pitch on the outer edge of the touring area facing towards the kids clubs. This gives a more open feel and room to sunbathe outside the tree area.

Shop - good, well stocked and good value for a campsite shop.

Staff - excellent, everyone we encountered was friendly with a smile.

Evening entertainment - not really put cup of tea but the children liked it. The house lager is good and not exprnsive.

Takeaway - great pizzas, salads, waffles and crepes.

Overall probably the best site we've stayed on, although next visit we will book a specific pitch.

One more tip, travelling from the toll road down towards the site I would ignore the first sign on your right, carry on for another 2 or 3km and then turn at the next site sign. Both roads are narrow but the first one is very tight when towing a van. We didn't meet anything coming the other way but it would be tricky if you did.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stretch83 7 reviews from this member

We came to this site nearly 12 years ago with Euro camp and returned this year with our caravan for ten nights booked direct with the site. The site had changed so much, new pool areas and facilities. I concur with other reviews, that for large outfits access can be a little tight but we got in and pitched up fine. Our pitch was on the edge of the grass empty spaces towards the valley area overlooking the activity areas and was really good, nice mixture of sun and shade. The shower and toilet blocks were excellent; always clean, always availability.

There is a bit of an issue with the 'sunbed' reservations, putting towels down to reserve, they try to police it, but hey, just go with the flow and do as the rest do! The pool area does get busy, especially with the new water slide and lazy rivers for the inflatable tyres - it kept our son busy for hours on any of our visits.

The on site shop stocks most items, prices are fair and the snack areas for lunch quite good. The noise level at night given the site is 'large' was quiet past 11pm and even during the day, very little obtrusive noise.

Le Bugue market is well worth a visit, car parking can be sparce though and the local hotel by the river has excellent food with tables overlooking the river Vezerre, fantastic in the late evening sunshine. Bergerac is well worth a visit; old town area with great shops and restaurants and the chance to go down the river on a barge boat - nice and relaxing. The site is now part of the Castells group and we stayed last year at their Moulon du Roche site, which was perhaps just a little better, not quite a big and the premium pitches were just that - quality. Perhaps St Avit is just a little too large for that quality to shine through, some aspects do suffer, but it is still an excellent site with a lot going on.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DJMC 8 reviews from this member

We have just spent a week here, and found the site to be excellent.

I booked direct with the site online, and asked for a large pitch as we have a twin axle.

As you arrive the site looks fantastic from the main road, and the welcome we received was very friendly.

They allocated us an 'easy access' pitch, which was plenty big enough for the car & caravan & awning etc, although it was a little difficult to position the van due to the trees, but luckily we had help from nearby neighbours when we had to unhitch and push !

Our pitch had no shade until approx 7pm which was fine with us. Some of the pitches in the centre of the site were totally shaded.

The pool complex was very good, with the usual sunbed issues, but it was acceptable to take your own chairs which lots of people were doing.

The shop was well stocked, and although more expensive than the supermarkets, not excessively over priced.

We didn't really go to the bar very often, but there was entertainment on most evenings, which stopped at 11pm prompt, and although we were fairly close to the bar & restaurant, we didn't have any problems with noise. In fact, our teenage daughters reported that the security guard was very strict if anyone was heard to be making too much noise around the site, he was there to remind them to be quiet for the comfort of others !

The toilet blocks were always clean, and we never had to queue for a shower despite the site being constantly full.

We used the restaurant one night, and it was very nice food. Our girls used the cafeteria on numerous occasions, it was good value for money and there was a good choice of 'snack' meals.

All in all we thought this was a great site, with a nice atmosphere, and we will definitely return if we go to the same area next year.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: MYFAMILY 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 2 week stay with Eurocamp. We had a fantastic caravan (new for 2011) and a brilliant pitch looking out onto the fields, driving range and activities. We could not have asked for better and if you stay with Keycamp in their top of the range caravans, you will get the same view. Ideal if your kids want to play football/games.

The pool complex is good with two slides for using rubber rings. Take your own rings as they are expensive in the site shop. The only downside to the pools were the lack of loungers. In peak season the pools are packed and even though the site states that it does not allow reserving a lounger, it happens with most people doing it when getting their croissants first thing in the morning and then not turning up till the middle of the afternoon. This is a gripe of mine but may not bother some people. A lot of people took their own foldable loungers.

The bar is large and offers plenty of entertainment for the kids. We ate in the bar cafeteria a couple of times and the food is nice and surprisingly cheap for a site restaurant. The take away is open until about 11pm for crepes etc. We used the a la carte restuaurant which needs to be booked with reception. This was quite expensive but the food and service was great and well worth trying.

I cannot comment on the toilet blocks as we had a static caravan but I did use the washing machine of which there a few scattered about the site. This costs 4. 50 euros. Again, take your own liquid/powder as it is expensive in the shop.

Some reviews have commented on noise late at night. We never experienced this and whenever there was entertainment, it always ended at 11pm on the dot. There were lots of families with kids and lots of gangs of teenagers. At one point, my son wouldn't go in the inside pool because he said there were loads of older kids in there. Unfortunatley, as always, the gangs of teenagers were English, smoking, drinking, F'ing and B'linding. You never saw French, German or Dutch kids acting like this. It wasn't a huge problem, I just get wound up by it but my husband didn't notice a thing when I brought it up.

There is plenty for you to do on site. There are kids clubs, quad bikes for adults and children, driving range, putting green, petanque, table tennis, tennis, bike hire, pools, PGL centre which does archery, abseiling, wall climbing, zip wire and leap of faith and also a soccer station for your football mad kids.

This site is quite remote and you will need a car if you are staying here as the site shop is very expensive and I don't think it stocks enough to feed a family for 2 weeks. The nearest intermarche is in Le Bugue 6km away and there is also a petrol station there. A word of warning, Le Bugue holds a market on Tuesdays and Saturdays and the traffic is horrendous. We maded this mistake and ended up sitting in a 5km traffic queue. Avoid on these days if you can. Tip = when you come out of the campsite, you turn left to go to Le Bugue. Carry on and you come to the hamlet of St. Avit Vialard. The road turns very sharply to the left here (you'll see a church in front of you) but instead of going left, turn right (signposted Paunat). This is a one car road, although we hardly ever saw any other cars. It takes you straight down into Le Bugue. Turn left at the end of the road and you are at a roundabout. Turn right into Le Bugue and you miss out the queue of traffic. It sounds complicated but it isn't. We did it once and used that road from then on as it was a lot easier.

We visited Bergerac which is a 1 hour drive. If you like quaint medieval cobbled streets, then this is for you. It's a beautiful town and there is a boat that goes down the Dordogne river here. A must do in the region is a canoe trip down the Dorgogne river. There are loads of companies to choose from but we paid 45 euros for a 2 and 3 person canoes. We did a 15km trip and stopped for snacks along the way. The kids and us loved it and I would definitely recommend doing this. There are numerous caves in the area, some on the doorstep or further afield. There is one on the road I mentioned above on the way to Le Bugue.

All in all, I would recommend this site although as I said, I would drive there or do fly drive. There were some people who had flown but but not hired a car and they said that they felt restricted to the site because it was too far to walk to the nearest town/shops. It's a long drive down, 7. 5 hours driving time from Caen to the site and that's using all motorways (total of around 60 euros in tolls).

I have no idea what some people have against Eurocamp/Keycamp but we have used them for the past 5 years and never had any problems at all. I would always recommend them to anybody.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Queenbee3 2 reviews from this member

I wanted to leave a review for this fantastic campsite in the dordogne. We visited with our two young children, 2 and 5 in June and found the site quiet and very relaxing. We stayed with eurocamp in a static caravan with a great spot overlooking the activities and playing field. We were next to lots of English and Dutch holiday makers and everyone was very friendly.

The pools are excellent. Two outdoor and 1 indoor. Plus an excellent toddler pool with a pirate ship and slides, perfect for our kids, safe and with lots of seating surrounding it ( I was pregnant and so needed a seat!). The river slide looked great for older children but you must have a large ring, so purchase beforehand.

The shop sells the rings but they are pricey.

The shop was well stocked for what we needed and lovely bread, croissants and pain au raisons. Lovely. Although they sold out quickly each day.

The restaurant was a bit posh for us with our sometimes noisy children although there was a cafe which was a bit less formal.

The playpark was excellent for us and next to the pub/cafe seating ( I needed to sit down a lot!). There was a cool springy climbing frame for older children and all the equipment looked fairly new.

We drove down from Scotland and used the overnight Portsmouth to st Malo sailing, and it was worth the long journey. The Dordogne is beautiful and we went on lots of day trips to Sarlat, Domme and the many grottes (underground caves).

Overall I would recommend this site for all, and eurocamp were great- our mobile home with decking was perfect with a gas bbq and our own shower. Our eldest daughter is at school now so we will have to take our summer holiday in early July so we expect the experience to be a bit busier although up in Scotland the school holidays start earlier than England so hopefully will avoid the crowds. Off to the Loire and Vendee this year but will return to this site when our baby is a bit older to cope with the 7 hour drive from st malo to the dordogne.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chefman 1 review from this member

I have been a bit slack not reviewing this site sooner. I've just read the previous review from last August and I cannot agree with it.

I don't think this site was any worse than most large sites in France. If you want a quiet site my tip is to camp and not go to sites where the Brits flock to mobile homes on offer from the likes of Eurocamp.

The restaurant was excellent, pools good, shop well stocked, staff friendly, the local area was for me some of the most beautiful in France, the towns had great markets and local festivals were fun.

I would go back to this site but I make it a policy not to do that because France has so many brilliant sites; although we are going to the same region this year.

Not like Benidorm at all but perhaps not for those who look for total silence after 10 pm.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aquitaine   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5092 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0508