Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Plume Of Feathers Inn

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

The Plume Of Feathers Inn
Plymouth Hill
Princetown
Dartmoor
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL20 6QQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 890240

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
1m   10m  5m  10m   10m 

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
              8/10 from 12 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deba 7 reviews from this member

Great site for seeing the sites around princetown. Big field for tents and motorhomes can park on hardstanding in the carpark. Free showers and elsan point all for £7 each per night. Will be returning. Food at the pub is also excellent. The local area has lots of places to visit and we were able to take our dog in to the museum at the prison. In fact the whole area is very dog friendly and allow them in all the pubs and cafes.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catswhiskers 1 review from this member

Although we haven't used this site for 2 years I have been a regular visitor here for many years. I was therefore, rather surprised at the negativity of some of the reviews. Yes the site is very basic but for someone who doesn't mind roughing it in the true style of camping the site is very good. It caters specifically for outdoor activity people so yes, one can expect to see training groups, school groups etc etc. The people who use this site are away walking etc for the whole day and creature comforts are not high on their list of priorities. If a more comfortable style of camping is preferred then it may be advisable to choose an alternative site - of which there are many to choose from.

I would agree that the toilet and shower facilities do require a re-vamp as I noticed last time I was there they were looking decidedly worse for wear since their last re-fit.

The staff and locals are friendly and helpful. Dogs are welcomed and this is one of the attractions of the site as many walkers bring their dogs with them. The pub even provides special doggy treats (for a small fee)! The pub grub is good and has a varied menu. Given the quality of the food provided it is reasonably priced (or was last time I was there).

The Visitor centre accross from the pub is well worth a visit as is the prison museum which gives an excellent history of the prison through the years and is extremely interesting and popular with tourists.

The Ten Tors cafe next to the pub offers food and refreshments and their breakfasts are very reasonably priced and filling. There is a small village shop which provides basic provisions but a supermarket is only a short drive away in Tavistock.

The site is well situated for walks directly from the campsite or if you wish you can drive a short distance and be spoilt for choice as to where you want to walk.

A word of warning - the site and Dartmoor are high up and the weather is unpredictable. Ensure you are wearing suitable clothing and footwear and make sure you carry maps and preferably a compass if you intend walking away from car parks and well worn tracks.

At £7 per night per person you will be hard pressed to find anything cheaper in the area although I notice this figure has gone up from £5. 50 2 years ago.

We have just replaced our tent and are going to be using this site twice this year so will probably be able to give a more up to date review later in the year.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Npea 6 reviews from this member

A nice cheap campsite, good for dogs and with excellent shower and toilet facilities. This is quite a small campsite so be aware that you may need to book. At weekends it is swamped with walkers and d of e or ten tours users but they were all quiet.

Bare in mind with this campsite that you can not take your car onto the field, which limits how much stuff you can take or in our case, means you have to walk backwards and forwards about twenty times. The site is right next to the moors and there is plenty of walking around this pretty village without getting in the car.

The site is right in the centre behind the pub which is quiet and nice to have a drink in after a long walk. I have to say the food is not great at this pub but that maybe personal preference. However the bar staff were very friendly and they have a dog menu (cold cuts from the carvery for £1. 20) which my dog was extremely happy about.

Toilets were never full when I was there and there was always toilet roll. Yes they are metal so do get a bit damp with condensation but that's no big deal. The best bit was the quality of the showers which are free, powerful and plenty warm enough. The other big plus for us (particularly as it was very chilly at night when we were there is the fact the toilets seem to have heating in them.

Price wise its cheap and cheerful, we paid £6. 95 pp pn and the dog was free. They have a cash machine in the pub but there is a charge for using it. Nearest large supermarket was Morrisons and was about fifteen minutes drive away.

Overall a great campsite, in a great location to explore Devon. There is the prison in Princetown which I believe you can visit the museum off but we never got that far and also I think you can rent bikes from the nearby tourist information place.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woodland Maiden 3 reviews from this member

Small, well cared for site literally on the edge of of the town so you can walk from the site onto the moorland. This is its most redeeming factor. The walks from the site are fantastic

Not a particularly friendly welcome, woman was rather curt. Camping is however very cheap and no tent charge like some sites insist upon. We were allowed to camp anywhere in the field.

Facilities include two showers and two toilets. The toilets get rather wet with condensation after showers have been used. Locks on all doors are very stiff and I actually cut myself quite deeply on the toilet bolt. Fortunately it wasn't the rusty one. Children would find them difficult to use I imagine. Showers are set at a fixed temperature which was fine for me.

This is a great site when its quiet but unfortunately, it is very popular wth DoE and Ten Tors youth groups. Some are considerate with adults ensuring their young charges do not disturb campers after a certain hour, and others are not. We were unfortunate on one night to have a large group of college students who were very loud and wandered around the site until gone 2am. The staff accompanying them did nothing to stop them and as a consequence, there were many bleary eyed campers the next morning who were none too impressed with these youths.

In spite of the minor issues, I would return

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DubAngel 1 review from this member

Firstly, don't expect too much from the weather at this campsite. As previously mentioned, the site is very high up and so the cloud base can often obscure the wonderful views of Dartmoor and the famous prison.

The weather here is extremely changeable - so be prepared!. We first arrived in Dartmoor in May of this year and checked out the 'Plume of Feathers' (although we were staying in a comfy hotel further down the road).

Our first camping visit was in early June and initially decided that we would be here for three days. Although it was intermittently foggy, I finally got to walk up South Hessary Tor and even made it to Nun's Cross and the little farm nearby (a modest achievement for a known non-walker such as myself!).

The fog is extremely intimidating but I was with an experienced fell walker, even so I would advise keeping to the well provided for footpath which runs by the side of the campsite and up the Tor.

Due to the weather, our plans for a wild camp were thrown out and we decided to stay at the Plume for a day longer - good job we did, the weather was nasty that particular night!.

The campsite is all you would need it to be, the showers are hot and the toilets are basic but clean (just make sure you don't need to pay a visit between 10am and 11am).

The site has a pub, hot food and a small play area for children (I cannot comment as I didn't use any of these facilities), it also has an open fire in the pub which makes it very welcoming. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous.

Besides this and walking, there is very little else to do in Princetown - I didn't see any takeaways and very little shops, it really is a rural hamlet.

We are planning a second trip (we intend to be regulars) at the end of this month with friends, camping at the Plume again and I'm looking forward to it already.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adeanddeb 1 review from this member

We have used this for many years as it is convenient for night's away. The field is of a fair size sloping from top to bottom but you can always get a reasonable pitch.

It is very popular with youth groups for TenTors and DofE so can get very busy and noisy at weekends. There are showers and toilets these can get very busy and muddy in poor weather {you are on the edge of high open moorland }there is a covered pot wash area and a children's play area.

The big plus here is a fantastic pub which this site is part of it serves excellent food and beer allday.Also the views of the moors from your tent are a great start to another day.

The toilets could do with an update they are heavily used and the camping field could be a bit tidier other than that it is a nice site very popular all year round.

Just keep an eye on the weather forecast before you go this site is high up on Dartmoor and the weather can change quickly

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2444 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1133