Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Plume Of Feathers Inn

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

The Plume Of Feathers Inn
Plymouth Hill
Princetown
Dartmoor
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL20 6QQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 890240

Facilities:  (Key)
        

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   10m  5m  

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
              8/10 from 14 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 162 reviews from this member

We stayed in the new bunkhouse over the weekend, but this review is also the same for the campsite as I had a wander around the field and the facilities for camping too.

Check in was at the bar and was quick and efficient and they gave us all the door access codes and the option to purchase breakfast tokens for 5 each.

The new bunkhouse is clean, well thought out and had 4 rooms each with two bunks in it. They provide the sheets and use of the toilets and showers is included. There is also a communal room with tables and chairs and full kitchen facilities. The new bunkhouse was 24 per person, per night. The beds were comfortable for a couple of nights and the facilities were clean, tidy and well maintained.

The camping field is large, although on a slight slope, but there were flat spots all around it. There is also a separate area for motorhomes / campervans. The facilities for the campers were clean, well looked after and would certainly do the job very well. There is also a washing up area.

The pub itself is very popular with locals and the tourists and we had to reserve tables on both nights to ensure we got a space. The choice of drinks is very good and the prices are very reasonable. Their a good menu here with daily specials and it is reasonably priced and all cooked fresh to order, so was piping hot and delicious.

We had a full English on both days and for 5 we got a huge spread and it was fresh and very tasty.

The site is right in the centre of Princetown with the visitor centre across the road, a cafe and shops for general supplies. There is a brewery around the corner and of course the area has all of Dartmoor on offer with walks and cycling, and activities plentiful.

Dartmouth is around an hours drive away as are other coastal towns.

I would definitely stay here again and will return in the tent or campervan in the future.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bbdawes 7 reviews from this member

Great location for walkers and cyclists, this site is at the back of the pub with direct access onto Dartmoor. There is a fairly large field for tents and some hardstanding for campervans or the carpark. The shower blocks are warm and clean. Good value for money at 7 pp all year round, and a bargain 5 breakfast too. Pub has a large food menu, dogs and children are very welcome. Small play area for kids near the pub.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deba 13 reviews from this member

Great site for seeing the sites around princetown. Big field for tents and motorhomes can park on hardstanding in the carpark. Free showers and elsan point all for 7 each per night. Will be returning. Food at the pub is also excellent. The local area has lots of places to visit and we were able to take our dog in to the museum at the prison. In fact the whole area is very dog friendly and allow them in all the pubs and cafes.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catswhiskers 1 review from this member

Although we haven't used this site for 2 years I have been a regular visitor here for many years. I was therefore, rather surprised at the negativity of some of the reviews. Yes the site is very basic but for someone who doesn't mind roughing it in the true style of camping the site is very good. It caters specifically for outdoor activity people so yes, one can expect to see training groups, school groups etc etc. The people who use this site are away walking etc for the whole day and creature comforts are not high on their list of priorities. If a more comfortable style of camping is preferred then it may be advisable to choose an alternative site - of which there are many to choose from.

I would agree that the toilet and shower facilities do require a re-vamp as I noticed last time I was there they were looking decidedly worse for wear since their last re-fit.

The staff and locals are friendly and helpful. Dogs are welcomed and this is one of the attractions of the site as many walkers bring their dogs with them. The pub even provides special doggy treats (for a small fee)! The pub grub is good and has a varied menu. Given the quality of the food provided it is reasonably priced (or was last time I was there).

The Visitor centre accross from the pub is well worth a visit as is the prison museum which gives an excellent history of the prison through the years and is extremely interesting and popular with tourists.

The Ten Tors cafe next to the pub offers food and refreshments and their breakfasts are very reasonably priced and filling. There is a small village shop which provides basic provisions but a supermarket is only a short drive away in Tavistock.

The site is well situated for walks directly from the campsite or if you wish you can drive a short distance and be spoilt for choice as to where you want to walk.

A word of warning - the site and Dartmoor are high up and the weather is unpredictable. Ensure you are wearing suitable clothing and footwear and make sure you carry maps and preferably a compass if you intend walking away from car parks and well worn tracks.

At 7 per night per person you will be hard pressed to find anything cheaper in the area although I notice this figure has gone up from 5. 50 2 years ago.

We have just replaced our tent and are going to be using this site twice this year so will probably be able to give a more up to date review later in the year.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Npea 8 reviews from this member

A nice cheap campsite, good for dogs and with excellent shower and toilet facilities. This is quite a small campsite so be aware that you may need to book. At weekends it is swamped with walkers and d of e or ten tours users but they were all quiet.

Bare in mind with this campsite that you can not take your car onto the field, which limits how much stuff you can take or in our case, means you have to walk backwards and forwards about twenty times. The site is right next to the moors and there is plenty of walking around this pretty village without getting in the car.

The site is right in the centre behind the pub which is quiet and nice to have a drink in after a long walk. I have to say the food is not great at this pub but that maybe personal preference. However the bar staff were very friendly and they have a dog menu (cold cuts from the carvery for 1. 20) which my dog was extremely happy about.

Toilets were never full when I was there and there was always toilet roll. Yes they are metal so do get a bit damp with condensation but that's no big deal. The best bit was the quality of the showers which are free, powerful and plenty warm enough. The other big plus for us (particularly as it was very chilly at night when we were there is the fact the toilets seem to have heating in them.

Price wise its cheap and cheerful, we paid 6. 95 pp pn and the dog was free. They have a cash machine in the pub but there is a charge for using it. Nearest large supermarket was Morrisons and was about fifteen minutes drive away.

Overall a great campsite, in a great location to explore Devon. There is the prison in Princetown which I believe you can visit the museum off but we never got that far and also I think you can rent bikes from the nearby tourist information place.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woodland Maiden 3 reviews from this member

Small, well cared for site literally on the edge of of the town so you can walk from the site onto the moorland. This is its most redeeming factor. The walks from the site are fantastic

Not a particularly friendly welcome, woman was rather curt. Camping is however very cheap and no tent charge like some sites insist upon. We were allowed to camp anywhere in the field.

Facilities include two showers and two toilets. The toilets get rather wet with condensation after showers have been used. Locks on all doors are very stiff and I actually cut myself quite deeply on the toilet bolt. Fortunately it wasn't the rusty one. Children would find them difficult to use I imagine. Showers are set at a fixed temperature which was fine for me.

This is a great site when its quiet but unfortunately, it is very popular wth DoE and Ten Tors youth groups. Some are considerate with adults ensuring their young charges do not disturb campers after a certain hour, and others are not. We were unfortunate on one night to have a large group of college students who were very loud and wandered around the site until gone 2am. The staff accompanying them did nothing to stop them and as a consequence, there were many bleary eyed campers the next morning who were none too impressed with these youths.

In spite of the minor issues, I would return

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8516 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938