Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Champ De La Chapelle

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Site Reviews

Camping Champ De La Chapelle
10 Champ De La Chapelle
Braize, Allier
Auvergne   (Browse area)
03360   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 470078246

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m 5m   5m  5m 

Pitches: 80
Open: Mid April - End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
              9/10 from 14 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve2106 2 reviews from this member

I have stayed at this site previously and left a review of our 2014 stay but I am writing another one due to our fantastic visit in August 2015.

The site now has new owners and they have started on a program of improvements, there is now a new bar/cafe area and a large covered terrace by the swimming pool. A lot of general maintenance has been carried out (painting and general tidying up).

We had a great visit and thoroughly enjoyed a cheese and wine evening held in the bar, I also like the new 9 hole Foot Golf course, a game that I had never previously played.

Since our visit we have discovered that the new owners have written 2 Amazon Kindle books about their hunt for a campsite and about their experiences of running a French campsite (Simon Swinn- 'A tent in France' and 'A lot of Tents in France'). My wife and my children enjoyed these books as did I.

So good luck to the new owners and we will certainly be visiting in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TJFos 1 review from this member

Had a very enjoyable 5 day visit to the campsite. The owner was very welcoming, friendly and informative. The site is set in beautiful woodland with plenty of room and shade when it gets hot, there is lots of local wildlife about as we experienced one night as we approached the site and had a beautiful fully grown stag in all his glory in our headlights (brilliant). The toilet blocks etc are kept spotless and great to have a lovely pool to cool down in. If you are a couple looking for a peaceful retreat or a family looking to keep the kids happy this site has it all. I would recommend a stay to anyone and looking forward to our next trip.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve2106 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights with my wife and our teenage daughter and her friend. The owners gave us a wide choice of pitches and were generally very welcoming. All the facilities (including separate male and female sanitation blocks) were of a high standard and very clean. Some extra facilities included refrigerator space being available to campers, very welcome in hot weather. The site is in a beautiful situation and there is plenty to see and do in the local area. I would recommend this site to anybody looking for a holiday in the heart of rural France.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Niallsan 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site mid-August.

The approach we took to the site may have been the wrong one. We entered from the south side of the site. The forest track was fairly badly rutted in spots and more suitable to a tractor. It might be a problem for a car though as we were in a 05 Ford Galaxy and this has decent ground clearance. We made it though, no big deal really, just mentioning it in case people are pulling their caravan with a Ferrari! We never used the other entrance from the north so it could be a tarmac layers fantasy for all I know!

Anyway, we were only staying one night on our way south.

When we arrived the Dutch man welcomed us and offered us a pitch but said we could pitch wherever we wanted.

This is a really quiet site. There were maybe 6 other visitors so you could call it exclusive!

We arrived late enough so kids didn't get to use the pool which looked fun. They did have a kick around in the play area and used the goals that were there.

The toilet block and showers were very clean.

After travelling from Roscoff we needed and had a quiet/solid nights sleep.

My wife was slightly put off by how far the site was from the autoroute but I didn't think it was that bad maybe 12 miles to the site from the turnoff?

Overall pleasant experience.

Thanks Champ de la Chapelle. .

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alahol2 20 reviews from this member

Second week September 2012, weather like England but dry.

Be careful if trying to use GPS to find the site (and in the general area) many of the 'roads' are actually tracks through the forest and you can end up going in circles trying to find the way in.

Once found, the site is just what we like. Loads of space, large pitches, well shaded, water at stand pipes close at hand. Loos, showers, washups all kept very clean and fresh. BBQ's no problem.

The owners are very friendly and helpful making recommendations for walks and visits in the area.

As mentioned the site is totally surrounded by broadleaf forest so wildlife is in abundance and walking is a pleasure. We had the awesome experience of hearing rutting stags bellowing on the edge of the site one night, almost scary. Only had three nights here so the only visit we managed was to the Jardins artistiques de Drulon a lovely garden housing a collection of weird modern art.

If you like quiet and natural you will love this site. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gcamper 1 review from this member

We really enjoyed our stay here(8/9 days summer 2012). The campsite is set on a hill in a forest so you're surrounded by trees - there are woodpeckers, wood pigeons, hedgehogs, rabbits etc, if you look carefully.

V clean toilet block and washing up area and generally looked after by the friendly Dutch owners and their family/friends. You can use the fridges which is handy if you don't have a way of keeping food cool. There's a little hut selling snacks/chips/quiches etc though not a restaurant.

There is wireless internet near the pool/hut area - also a computer you can use, but it's not exactly state-of the art!

Pool is nice and our son loved it. There are quite a few small lakes ('etangs')which are also great for swimming in. We found the Etang de St Bonnet nicer and less busy than the local lake but no cafe there (we didn't need one).

This is a very quiet site which we loved though it might not suit you of course. It's a beautiful area, still fairly undiscovered by tourists. I'm amazed there aren't more British there, mostly Dutch and French which is fine by me.

We just had a tent and a car so can't comment on water/elec etc, but we had a fantastic view of this green campsite and the forest from our pitch and I'd recommend it.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Auvergne   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent Win a Weekend Camping Ticket East Anglian Game & Country Fair

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd - 3rd April
Held in Newark with day visitors, weekend campers, club rallies and trade stands. Buy tickets, or enter our competition to win some!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4975 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1406