Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Champ De La Chapelle

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Site Reviews

Camping Champ De La Chapelle
10 Champ De La Chapelle
Braize, Allier
Auvergne   (Browse area)
03360   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 470078246

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m 5m   5m  5m 

Pitches: 80
Open: Mid April - End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
              9/10 from 18 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jabackahot 3 reviews from this member

We are a family of 5 – 2 adults and 3 teenagers. We used this campsite as a stop off on the way down to the south of France. It was perfectly located – about 5. 5 hours drive from Calais and close to the A75. We spent one night there on the way down and two nights there on the way back up.

It is an immaculately run campsite set in large grounds, in the beautiful Fôret de Tronçais. With just 2 small tents requiring no electricity we were allowed to camp in the large field with no specific emplacements.

Wherever you are on the site it would be a v short walk to the wash block where the showers were hot and clean, separate cubicles for wash basins, plenty of places for washing up and no queues.

Pool was small but fine, our kids particularly loved the football-golf, volleyball, badminton and relaxed feel to the whole site with lots of space to play. We rented bikes (VTT) from local St Bonnet and spent pleasant 4 hours cycling around forest and swimming in the lake.

We also explored Puy de Dome from here, about 1. 5 hours from the site.

V friendly owners. Lisbeth (Dutch) is handing the site over to Simon (English) and both were extremely accommodating.

Food on site is sadly not French. Basic burger/omelette/nuggets/chips were not great. Recommend you bring own food or eat out– highly recommend ‘Au Coeur de Meaulne’ in Meaulne, 10 minutes away. Excellent meal.

A great little site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heepyfat 1 review from this member

We’ve stayed at this campsite 5 times, usually as a rest-halt for a few days on our way to and from the south of France.

The location is in the centre of a forest in the Foret Tronçais and you might want to check out the tarmac road leading to it from the D28 on Google Earth before you set off – it’s easy to miss. The site is peaceful and tranquil, the pitches are a good size and there’s lots of high pressure water points and electric hookup very nearby. Wild campers are also catered for if you don’t need electricity.

The separate ladies and gents facilities are a little dated, but constantly kept clean by Simon and his team. Food is available at the covered bar/café if a little limited in choice at the moment. The area is lovely for walking or quiet enough to chill out. There are play areas and a swimming pool for the kids if you have any.

If you want a fascinating potted history of Holland, Liesbeth is the lady to speak to.

Our daughter and family loved it the last time they were there in the ‘van and can’t wait to go back.

As with previous reviewers, we think this campsite is a gem and we’ll certainly be going back in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate w 46 reviews from this member

We have just got back from 8 nights at this really lovely site. We drove from Derbyshire via the channel tunnel, setting off around midnight, and arrived mid afternoon the following day. Satnav man took us via the paris inner peripherique, I don't recommend this on a sunday, let alone a week day!

On the edge of the forest it is really peaceful and quiet. Simon, his family, friends and staff are all very nice people, very knowledgeable about the area and where to visit. Our Satnav man enjoys taking us the scenic route using narrow single track lanes to get us to our destination, there are plenty to choose from in the forest.

There is a good mix of nationalities on site, British, Dutch, French And Spanish whilst we were there. It is popular with both people stopping off for a couple of nights as well as those like us who were there for their main holiday.

Pitches are mostly gently sloping, a good size and shape, providing both sunshine and shade. EHU and water points are plentiful. There is lots of space for those who can just pitch without the need for EHU.

There is a large shower block with separate facilities for ladies and gents, water in the shower is hot though all but the disabled cubicle are quite small and there is a step down into the shower tray that Simon is aware needs improving.

Washing up sinks, laundry sinks, washing machine, ironing facilities (if that floats your boat whilst on holiday) fridge and freezer were all available for campers to use.

There are a few static caravans and they have a few very well equipped rent a tents.

Bread can be preordered the night before (except for Monday, the baker has the day off on Monday). A bar by the pool also offers food, perfect if you can't be bothered to fire up the bbq! There is also wifi at the bar.

There are a couple of children's play areas, with sandpit, swings, wendy houses, obstacle course, footgolf course, volley ball net, table tennis, football goals as well as the all important swimming pool for cooling off in the sunshine. The pool is great, it is inflatable, a reasonable depth for swimming but not too deep to worry about children being in there and getting out of their depth.

There are lots of places to visit in about a half hour drive, lots of Chateaux to visit, a swimming lake with a small sandy beach just a few minutes drive up the lane, beautiful gardens and whilst we were there some really good brocantes in the local towns. The whole town would be closed off to traffic, a huge car boot sale, bars and food stalls, a great way to spend a leisurely day, even if you do come home with only a 50 cent cutlery basket for the dishwasher and a toy John Deere tractor for your husband!

We took a longer trip to visit Puy de Dome, which was magnificent. A train takes you up to the summit where the views are to die for, paragliders were taking off and landing just a couple of metres from where we ate our picnic. We also went to the visitor centre at Volvic, which was free, where there was information in English, films with English commentary through a headset and then free tasting of all the different flavours of their water. It was very good and I bought a lovely set of glass tumblers from their shop.

The forest surrounding the site is full of wildlife, we met (thankfully whilst in the car driving on a forest track) a family of wild boar, there are also deer, though we weren't lucky enough to spot any this vist. The campsite is home to red squirrels, they were lovely to see.

Prices were very reasonable, Simon is constantly looking for ways to improve his site and I wish him and his family all the best for their future. We will be returning at some point in the future and will recommend it to all my camping friends looking for somewhere to stay.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pjh57 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the second time after a five year gap, on the way from south to north, stayed for 3 nights. This site is still a delightful mix of mainly Dutch and English, with a happy friendly atmosphere, created by the guests and the new owner Simon and previous owner Lisbet, who still helps manage the site.

There are some organised events - Cheese and Wine night and Nature walks, Moonlight swims in the pool all took place in the short time we were there,

Situated in the middle of the Troncais forest (Europe's largest Oak forest apparently) and a short ride to St Bonnet de Troncais for the nearest swimming lake, 10 mins by car, 30 mins by bike, the site is quiet, peaceful and close to nature, you can see bats, red squirrels, birds of prey and wild boar and many others too.

There are some excellent off road cycle paths through the forest, and plenty of quiet lanes to explore the local villages by bike.

The toilets, showers, chemical waste point and washing up area are all very well looked after and clean, although the shower cubicles are a bit on the small side.

The pitches are semi shaded and plenty large enough for big tents, caravans and motorhomes, and all in all the site provided a thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable experience.

We would definitely recommend and hope to return someday.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve2106 2 reviews from this member

I have stayed at this site previously and left a review of our 2014 stay but I am writing another one due to our fantastic visit in August 2015.

The site now has new owners and they have started on a program of improvements, there is now a new bar/cafe area and a large covered terrace by the swimming pool. A lot of general maintenance has been carried out (painting and general tidying up).

We had a great visit and thoroughly enjoyed a cheese and wine evening held in the bar, I also like the new 9 hole Foot Golf course, a game that I had never previously played.

Since our visit we have discovered that the new owners have written 2 Amazon Kindle books about their hunt for a campsite and about their experiences of running a French campsite (Simon Swinn- 'A tent in France' and 'A lot of Tents in France'). My wife and my children enjoyed these books as did I.

So good luck to the new owners and we will certainly be visiting in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TJFos 1 review from this member

Had a very enjoyable 5 day visit to the campsite. The owner was very welcoming, friendly and informative. The site is set in beautiful woodland with plenty of room and shade when it gets hot, there is lots of local wildlife about as we experienced one night as we approached the site and had a beautiful fully grown stag in all his glory in our headlights (brilliant). The toilet blocks etc are kept spotless and great to have a lovely pool to cool down in. If you are a couple looking for a peaceful retreat or a family looking to keep the kids happy this site has it all. I would recommend a stay to anyone and looking forward to our next trip.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Auvergne   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4081 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window