Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dartmoor Halfway Inn

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Dartmoor Halfway Inn
Ashburton Road
Bickington, Newton Abbot
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01626 821270

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  

Pitches:
Open: Site Temp Closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
              8/10 from 13 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dodi164 16 reviews from this member

Wow! What a find! Superb campsite with very new buildings therefore very high quality shower, loo, etc and each pitch hedged in and with an electrical hook up, level ground and a water tap, sort of place you would expect to be quite expensive. But in our case, was FREE! I had found this place as too lazy to cook so wanted a meal on site and at the moment if you have a meal at the pub, then the camping is free. I would return to eat here even if not camping as our food was delicious and not expensive, great and friendly service as an added bonus, generally a lovely atmosphere about the whole place. Is by a main road but very quiet in the night and many owls could be heard hooting. LOVELY!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BERTIE 11 reviews from this member

Visited this site at the weekend as its reopened - didn't stay but had a good look around.

The toilets/shower room has had a complete reburbishment and are lovely - only one toilet but 2 showers in each of the Mens and Ladies, then an additional disabled wet room.

The pitches were all of a generous size and surrounded by well maintained hedges for privacy and to block the sound of the main road which it did really well.

All pitches had electric and some were serviced, the access was good with the newly tarmacked car park.

We had a fab meal in the pub and the food was really good.

Planning on returning with the caravans and making a weekend of it - full credit to the new owners.

Only 5 minutes off the A38 so ideal for a stop over if travelling that way to Cornwall or for the Plymouth Ferry Port.

18. 00 per pitch September/October and 25. 00 per pitch July/August - didn't advertise any other months.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Webmaster 4 reviews from this member

Unfortunately we have been advised the Dartmoor Halfway Inn is closed until further notice.

Apparently the company who own the pub and the site will be looking into reopening the pub and site as soon as possible.

If you are aware that the site has reopened please let us know. Many thanks.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Witheys 3 reviews from this member

Used to go to this campsite often but returned this week after an illness stopped us travelling for a while. We were disappointed to note the campsite is not as it was. The pub has had a facelift and is much brighter and modern but unfortunately they have let the campsite go. We stayed only 3 days electing to leave before our week was up. The toilets were not cleaned in that time and clothes were left in the sinks in the laundry. No one else could use it. The person booking us in said the toilets could do with updating-he is right. We remember them being built many years ago and they haven't been updated at all. There was no lighting in the campsite at night.

The clientele on the site appear to be mostly residential and played very loud music but complained with four letter base language when our dog barked. They knocked us up in the early hours complaining our small security light was bothering them.

We will not return.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SneekyPeeps 15 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site, the first being approx 2 years ago. We really enjoyed our first visit, but on arriving we were made aware of some changes ( not necessarily better!) We think that the pub and site have changed hands? When we arrived we were told that you could no longer take your car to your pitch unless loading or unloading your vehicle, you now had to leave it in the pub carpark and walk to your pitch (something that my husband and myself do not like and would not normally have booked) You cannot see your cars from the site and therefore cannot keep an eye on it! Also a sign in the carpark warns that you park at your own risk! Surely if you are abiding by the rules then the site must accept responsibility if your car is broken into?? Also they now have a barrier and request 20 returnable deposit if you wish to take your car into site for loading/unloading etc. It poured with rain everyday we were there and we got soaked running to/from the car to the pitch. The site was how we remembered it, high hedges around each pitch, secluded feeling and very quiet.

The facilities were reasonably clean, although 1 shower in ladies and 1 shower in gents would not be enough if site was completely full!My husband did find another shower like a family room around the side, but he`s not sure if it was marked accordingly? I didn't see a play area as such just a slide frame in the pub garden itself, you wouldn't be able to watch your child from the site while he was playing on this, also it is situated right near an extremely busy road!

We had a meal at the pub, which was nice, we also got 10% discount as we were staying at the site which we thought extremely good!. This site is in our opinion more for people wanting a certain amount of quite and privacy, I do not think it suitable for children. There is a washing/drying room also which is good. There is no shop nearby so you must drive to get to shops, the pub is on a very busy and fast road and there is nothing actually there, it is about 4 miles from Newton Abbot, but there is a Post Office a couple of miles away. This second visit was ok but I don't think we will be returning again.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laracarl 5 reviews from this member

This is my second visit to this site, and what a transformation.

The whole site looked a lot cleaner and more presentable than when I first visited 2 years ago.

On arrival we were greated by friendly bar staff who checked us in and allocated us pitch number 1 out of 22. You still need to leave a 20 deposit for the barrier keycard, which is refundable.

Our pitch was by the corner of the small river and was surrounded by flower borders. The pitch was very well kept and had easy access for our van. All the pitches on the site are of good size and are separated by hedges.

The site is only small and very peaceful, and an ideal place for visiting the local attractions.

The toilet/shower block is well heated with one hot shower in the male's and one for the ladies, and the block was kept very clean.

We did not experience much noisy traffic from the main road, and the pub was nowhere near as noisy as it was during our last visit. In fact the sound of the water flowing down the river made more noise than the pub.

We had lunch in the pub on Sunday, which was fantastic. I fully recommend the carvery with its very tasty melt in the mouth beef, and flavoursome fresh vegetables. The hostess was very welcoming, chatty and pleasant to all visitors to the pub in equal measures.

This visit was much better than my previous and I would definitely visit again.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5795 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec