Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup
Chanteloup
Sille Le Philippe
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
72460   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 02 43 27 51 07

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 148
Open: 01/06 To 01/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
              9/10 from 42 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vwontour 3 reviews from this member

We have visited this lovely site in summer 2011 and 2013 and found it really clean and welcoming each time, a real treat! Based near Le Mans, its a good stopover (although this can easily turn into several days!) if you're visiting the west coast or to/from Calais/Paris etc. And the perfect relaxing antidote if you have had to endure Disney! The facilities, showers etc. Are always spotless and tidy, and pitches are well laid out with loads of space. We ate at the restaurant (usual good French campsite menu) burgers, steak and a local dish, and all was of good quality and reasonably priced. The shop had local produce, and bread/croissants/pain au chocolat etc. Are delivered by the local baker in the mornings. A relaxed ambience where you can pitch in the woods (our favourite) and enjoy the surrounding nature. A clean pool of average size, with loungers on surrounding grass, where you can happily while away the time with a drink and book, whilst the kids swim and play. Pool activities (water polo etc. ) are scheduled for an hour or so a day, so try and avoid these times if you want to swim, as there is only one pool. We really enjoyed the impromptu BBQs etc. Too (with free wine and cheese tasting!), as they resemble family 'get togethers' rather than 'organised entertainment' (which we usually avoid), a nice touch. The owner Dominic and his family and staff are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful, and make you feel like you are part of the family. We have met many regulars on the site that stay for weeks because it is like a 'home from home' and we have always extended our stay, as we have enjoyed it so much. We generally don't like large sites, preferring peace and tranquillity. But as there are only 90 pitches, all very well spaced out, you never feel crowed and because of this the site still has the intimacy of a smaller set up. We have found the site always peaceful, as you can easily get away from any sounds from the Château (although this is minimal) by choosing a quieter pitch slightly away from the main area. Unusually for France English seems to be spoken as a matter of course, as most guests are British with some Dutch and German visitors also. So if you want to practice your French, just tell the staff and they will happily accommodate! Yes it is on the expensive side compared to some other French sites. But we feel it is well worth the cost for the experience of staying at a lovely Château with a relaxed intimate atmosphere and great facilities, where the staff truly make you feel like family. Highly recommend we will return!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zersty 2 reviews from this member

Very nice and open campsite with quite a unique layout for pitches in the open fields, caravans/tents/motorhomes/etc. Are placed in a circle around a grass area, allows for a lot of space for your pitch and for those with children, a place for them to play whilst you can also watch them.

Toilets and showers all clean and water is usually a good temperature. However there was pop/rap being played in one of the toilet blocks which was interesting.

Bar had a good selection and was not too expensive. Restaurant was enjoyable and food was quite good although the prices were slightly higher than what I'm used to. Shop on site that sells groceries as well as alcohol and cigarettes.

Lots of communal events such as barbecues and also a hog roast, wine is supplied by the site and you can drink as much as you like. Entertainment on some nights during the week that can sometimes run a bit late and is quite loud. Different activities organised during the week such as karting or canoeing.

Large swimming pool with lots of room around for sun-bathing. Reasonable play area with bouncy castle. Kids club very good and English is spoken.

Most of the staff are friendly and welcoming and speak very good English. The owner of the site is fantastic and definitely makes his guests feel welcome.

Close to Le Mans and plenty to explore nearby.

Campfire at night in the forest for teenagers and young adults, which is something very nice as not many sites have something for older ages.

My only concern with the site is that it is quite expensive in comparison to other places I have stayed, value for money depends in what you are looking for.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dirksdonuts 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here in August 2013 for 6 nights and found the site to be one of the best I have stayed on. The toilet and shower blocks are very clean and brand new with the exception of the mens showers which are due to be replaced this autumn ready for next season.

We did not eat in the bar/café but were told the food was great. The bar area was great but a little pricey. No more than anywhere else though. There were great facilities including the pool which the two children loved.

The area was nicely out of the way some 10-12 miles from Le Mans city and when we cycled out of the camp each day we struggled to find people or cars along the lanes directly from the site. It was heaven.

There were however supermarkets within easy reach for stores and the site has a well stocked shop anyway for basics.

We will return in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewc 4 reviews from this member

Our only mistake was to make this a 'stop off' on the journey - we should have spent our whole holiday here!

As soon as we arrived the owner greeted us warmly and passed us on to his friendly and welcoming staff, who all had a brilliant command of English. We were shown to the wooded area, where we could choose any pitch we wanted.

The pool area was lovely, the heated pool just the right temperature and a cold pool that was refreshing! Plenty of sunbeds and chairs.

The children's playground was well maintained and the little play houses were a favourite with the 4 year old, whilst the bouncy castle entertained the 6 year old.

We ate in the restaurant on the evening; what a fantastic meal - we both had the burger, which was fantastic and reasonably priced.

A lovely site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RNEALE 2 reviews from this member

This is a difficult review to write as we did not actually stay in the end due to my wife not being well when we arrived but we did take the chance to look around and speak to others who were staying. The site was fantastic with a heated pool, a grocery, a bar, games room, fishing lake and a great shower block. Bread can be ordered to be delivered in the morning and the restaurant was lovely. The actual pitches were lovely and flat in amongst the trees or on the meadow but all of them were a good size. The staff were fantastic and really helpful with a great welcome and very sympathetic of the fact that we could not stay. Genuinely sorry we could not stay but will definitely go back. Several people I spoke to were staying longer as so nice.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JULIED444 50 reviews from this member

Extremely warm welcome and very efficient staff giving us all the low down on what the site offers. We stayed here for one night on a stop-over so managed to stay in the wooded field just by the entrance gate without having to unhitch the caravan. They were very specific about where and how to park.

Didn’t have time to use any of the facilities apart from the toilet and shower block. We used the one by the Chateau, which you do have to pass a very busy restaurant with quite a few people sitting outside, which I did find a bit odd.

The usual standards you expect from a Castel site and of course the usual price for August 2013, 2 adults, 1 child under 12 years, caravan and electricity for one night was 39 euros

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4438 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0420