Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup
Chanteloup
Sille Le Philippe
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
72460   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 02 43 27 51 07

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 148
Open: 01/06 To 01/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
              9/10 from 47 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Defender 6 reviews from this member

Difficult to offer anything other than an overall impression of this site as we only used it for one night as a stop-over en-route to the Vendee.

Lovely location just NE of Le Mans and around a 30mins drive to the famous motor-racing circuit. We arrived on site and followed the signs to reception whereupon, after booking-in, we had to execute a three-point turn (whilst minding the grass!) and head back towards the entrance to the Chateau, where the short-stays and overnighters appear to be located.

The pitch was not a pitch as such, more a case of park up in the outer loop of a partially wooded area and hook up to one of the numerous electric points. The ground was reasonable level and flat but due to the canopy of the trees, extremely shaded and therefore damp underfoot.

We were due to leave early the next morning so it was a 'basic' set-up: unhitch, legs down and hook-up connected.

We walked back into what you would justifiably call the site proper. The location and setting are sublime. The site staff were all friendly and helpful and on the evening of our arrival there was a social BBQ organised with the staff cooking the food and patrons sitting at long tables.

We ate at the restaurant where the food was excellent and although the prices appeared a little steep (we have not holidayed overseas before) we soon realised that these prices were comparable with what we would be paying throughout the rest of our holiday. From memory, I think it was around 13E for a chickenburger and chips.

There was a very small shop on site, from which we had no cause to purchase anything.

There appeared to be a friendly, convivial atmosphere on the site, with the majority of guests appearing to be either British or Dutch?

The site has a swimming pool, large fishing lake (yes- lake!) woodland walks leading to some unexpected and delightful finds ( a small rotunda building complete with its own suntrap lawn) and adjacent to the overnight stays, a large football area.

I'm not sure if we would return to this site - not because of the site itself, just that I'm not sure that we would spend time exploring this region of France - but time will tell! Were we too, this site would be high on our list of 'must stay at' locations.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robanddeb281006 4 reviews from this member

This was our first holiday with the caravan to France (2 kids aged 8 & 10), having used our tent previously. You are made welcome by Dominique and his team who spoke excellent English. The setting of the Chateau was beautiful and, in my opinion, the best pitches were V01-V16, C01-C13 and L01-L13 (see layout map on their website). The pitches in the trees were totally covered with no sun really coming through and muddy under foot. We had L21 which was on a narrower section to the other pitches and a little bit out of the way for our children who were given freedom to roam for the first time. Our pitch was permanently wet under foot, probably because the pitch was sloping with a pond behind us and a lake in front of us. All pitches were sloping.

The shower and toilet facilities were excellent and clean. The kids enjoyed fishing for the first time and took part in the activities for the first time ever(!). Extension cables for EHU were needed in some places; we did not require a continental adaptor as it had the British 3-pin type. The electric was tripping regularly but there were no trip-switches at the 'box' - our fridge display was flashing quite often to show there was no power going to it. We tried the restaurant once and it was good. The pool was a bit on the cold side. Table tennis, fishing, boules, pool table etc for all to use. Very popular site for people stopping over on their way to or from further south and they generally used the pitches in the first field immediately as you enter the site. Families were a 50/50 split of Dutch and British. Highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nelmo 22 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this great site and had an amazing time, although the weather wasn't great (although France had a bad summer this year).

I won't repeat what other reviewers have already said but will just add a couple of points: firstly, there are lots of small, local lanes which are great for bike rides - traffic is almost non-existent and there are no hills.

Also, visit the zoo at La Fleche - it is amazing, the best zoo I have ever visited. About an hours drive away but well worth it.

And obviously, don't forget the old town of Le Mans.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 12 reviews from this member

We spent 6 nights here - group included 9yo and 15yo girls.

We absolutely loved this site. The openness of the pitch we had, the lovely facilities, the lovely pool, the beautiful chateau, the friendly staff, the entertainment. We would really struggle to find fault in anything.

Having an 8. 5M RV it took them a little time to find a pitch suitable (they had us pencilled in for the lake but on seeing the rig decided we may get stuck!) and we ended up located near the chateau in pitch V1. At first we though it was a bit too open as we were next to the road into reception; however after putting up a small windbreak we had more than enough privacy.

The owner and staff are really great and are so keen to ensure everyone has a really great time. Our 15yo really enjoyed the trips to the woods with others the same age to play music and talk rubbish into the early hours. Our 9yo loved the pool and the freedom she got at such a lovely site.

The surrounding area is very picturesque but any facilities are all a drive away - something to bear in mind if you have a large MH and don't fancy packing everything up to go to the shops! There is a shop on site should you need anything, it is a little expensive but not too bad.

We loved it here and will definitely return; as many people do year after year (one couple had been returning every year for 30+ years!).

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ronsar 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a week's stay at Chateau de Chanteloup and will definitely be returning for two weeks next year.

Well this was our first trip abroad with our caravan so we didn't really know where to start. After searching Trip Advisor and reading reviews we really liked the look of Chateau de Chanteloup, and boy were we not disappointed.

We had a few problems on the booking site so decided to ring them. Dominique (the owner) sorted the reservation and all the reviews about his customer service are spot on, he really cares about the people that stay with him. We expected to pay prior to the holiday but no at the end was fine.

When we arrived we were immediately welcomed by Dominique, who stopped his work to welcome us and show us where reception was. One of his Dream Team were immediately on hand to show us to the pitch that was big enough to fit three caravans on! There was a choice of in front or behind the chateu with a full sunny aspect, in the woods, or we had our own hedged plot with part sun part shade.

There was a hog roast reception on the night that we arrived but unfortunately all of the tickets had gone, it looked scrumptious though. The team work hard with their entertainment and this seems to be about three times a week.

We found the facilities on site first class. The showers are the best I have seen and happened to be better than mine at home! They were immaculate, plenty of so three was never a queue, and also a separate family shower which contained two showers and a toilet, a built in baby bath, and baby changing, which is great for young families.

There is an adequate swimming pool, the main section heated, a further section colder (refreshing on a hot day) and a paddling section. This was never over full and my children would have spent the whole holiday in there if they could. The pool was surrounded by a hedge and then a pretty garden area with sun loungers and tables etc. This was a great place to relax and unwind whilst the kids splashed around.

Next to the pool was a small children's play area with bouncy castle, swings and beautiful kids wooden houses at the edge of the wooded area.

There is a on site shop and the baker brings fresh bread every morning. An on site restaurant for people who don't want to cook serving what looked like really good quality food. A games room, bar and lovely terrace complete things.

My kids loved the kids club with Sophie who catered very well for children who spoke different languages. There was also entertainment in the afternoon if you wanted to join in. I watched a great Zumba session (didn't do as I was still wet from swimming!), in which Dominique was dancing with everyone else.

We loved this site and all of the extra touches that Dominique and his team put in place to ensure that your stay is 5*. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

The kids had a great time and we felt okay about giving them a bit of freedom, they were able to ride there bikes, play plenty of ping pong and make some new friends.

I would highly recommend this site and so much so that we have now decided that we will be going back next year and not travel further south as we had originally planned to do

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vwontour 3 reviews from this member

We have visited this lovely site in summer 2011 and 2013 and found it really clean and welcoming each time, a real treat! Based near Le Mans, its a good stopover (although this can easily turn into several days!) if you're visiting the west coast or to/from Calais/Paris etc. And the perfect relaxing antidote if you have had to endure Disney! The facilities, showers etc. Are always spotless and tidy, and pitches are well laid out with loads of space. We ate at the restaurant (usual good French campsite menu) burgers, steak and a local dish, and all was of good quality and reasonably priced. The shop had local produce, and bread/croissants/pain au chocolat etc. Are delivered by the local baker in the mornings. A relaxed ambience where you can pitch in the woods (our favourite) and enjoy the surrounding nature. A clean pool of average size, with loungers on surrounding grass, where you can happily while away the time with a drink and book, whilst the kids swim and play. Pool activities (water polo etc. ) are scheduled for an hour or so a day, so try and avoid these times if you want to swim, as there is only one pool. We really enjoyed the impromptu BBQs etc. Too (with free wine and cheese tasting!), as they resemble family 'get togethers' rather than 'organised entertainment' (which we usually avoid), a nice touch. The owner Dominic and his family and staff are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful, and make you feel like you are part of the family. We have met many regulars on the site that stay for weeks because it is like a 'home from home' and we have always extended our stay, as we have enjoyed it so much. We generally don't like large sites, preferring peace and tranquillity. But as there are only 90 pitches, all very well spaced out, you never feel crowed and because of this the site still has the intimacy of a smaller set up. We have found the site always peaceful, as you can easily get away from any sounds from the Château (although this is minimal) by choosing a quieter pitch slightly away from the main area. Unusually for France English seems to be spoken as a matter of course, as most guests are British with some Dutch and German visitors also. So if you want to practice your French, just tell the staff and they will happily accommodate! Yes it is on the expensive side compared to some other French sites. But we feel it is well worth the cost for the experience of staying at a lovely Château with a relaxed intimate atmosphere and great facilities, where the staff truly make you feel like family. Highly recommend we will return!

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2332 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0488