Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Parc De Fierbois

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Camping Parc De Fierbois
Parc De Fierbois
Ste Catherine De Fierbois
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37800   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 0 2 47 65 43 35

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby:
10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 420
Open: 02/05/15 To 04/09/15

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
              8/10 from 21 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (21)

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ponciauman 8 reviews from this member

This is a 5 star Castel site with a lovely pool complex. During my visit 70% of campers/caravanners were dutch. The site is kept clean, however, would benefit from a bit of TLC on the pitches (grass cutting)before arrival.

The prices on the site are high in comparison to others I have visited and it is a little remote in its location.

The takeaway is limited in both its menu and opening times and the bar is expensive, 6 euros for a pint, unless you go during happy hour 18. 00-19. 00 when it is half price. The shower blocks are clean and have plenty to cope with the high season. The WC's do not have any WHB's and if you go around the corner to find one the do not have any soap so take your own.

The staff are all friendly and helpful and there is plenty to do including a lake with man made beach, indoor pool overlooking the lake, tree top zip wires, tennis and table tennis and bike hire is available on site.

I would go here again, however, prefer a site closer to restaurants etc but it is good for the Chateau.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EasyLu 11 reviews from this member

We had 10 nights here and it was a very enjoyable holiday. The weather was fantastic. The site is sloping towards the lake but pitches are tiered so all fairly level and large. The pitches on the side nearest the lake are largely set in woodland so more shaded. Electric and water tap were on the pitch. Electric was good it didnít trip the entire holiday, we didnít need our European adapter. We hired a fridge which was fairly new.

There were a high percentage of British families on the site and our children made friends easily, which meant we were able to relax as the children were busy playing. There are plenty of organised sporting activities to do on site but my children chose not to attend them.

There are two toilet/shower blocks both were fine. A smaller one nearer the woodland pitches which has separate ladies and gents toilets/showers/sinks with hand wash and a much larger block in the centre of the site serving the less shaded pitches. They were cleaned twice daily, although walls, doors and floor corners were missed, which certainly didn't spoil our holiday. I didnít try using the row of unisex toilet cubicles at the end of the large block; we used the large disabled cubicles as they have a sink in them for washing hands and offered a little more privacy. Hand wash in the large block is located in the dish washing area. We used showers in the back of the large block and they were generally piping hot. There are good dish washing facilities and big sinks for laundry with hot water.

The lake was much larger than expected, ideal for kayaking and warm to swim out to the pontoon from the beach. I purchased buoyancy jackets before we went for my own children for peace of mind. We bought a large dingy and oars from the local Aldi and rowed around the lake which was enjoyable. The beach is south facing and sheltered, so is much warmer than the water park. Many children went between the lake and the indoor pool which is close by. Lots of people fished in the lake and were catching huge carp, we had a go but having never fished before and only caught cat fish! The beach is more of a fine grit rather than sand, it was a little weedy but a very pleasant natural environment to enjoy. You could hire pedal boats from by the beach. The children enjoyed the water park with slides but found it cold and didnít last long in the water.

This is the largest site we have ever stopped on and I found it took longer for things to settle at night. We were disturbed on two nights from pitches nearby where 3 English families had made friends and were loud until gone 2am one night, at midnight the next night other campers started making comments about them so they quietened down. Reception were reactive when I gave them the pitch numbers the following morning and we did hear a golf buggy come by and check a few times during that evening /night and all was quiet.

My daughter really enjoyed the 3 zip wires suspended from trees over the lake (5euro). I think it was quite challenging to do really and you have to be confident to unclip you own carabiner to climb up rope ladders and attach yourself to each wire, so better for teenagers really. If you take your own equipment there are 5 table tennis tables and an area to play boules, which a lot of families did in the evening. Wi-Fi connection was generally good and 3 euro for 24 hours although the owner did give it us complimentary on some days. My son advised the skate park was more suitable for teenagers as the ramps were high.

We visited a few towns. Loches was the most interesting-lots of medieval market stalls aligning the entrance to the castle and people dressed up. The castle reminded me of something out of a film. We went on market day and a walking medieval band played. The market was extensive and we had lovely crepes from it. There is a small, relatively shallow river where kayaks and kit could be hired for about 8euro for a couple hours.

We came back on a Sunday morning via the N10, N154 before picking the toll roads up at Rouen. It was a much more scenic route and cheaper than the toll roads as you actually got to see some of France. This took us about 7 hours to get back to Calais with comfort stops and towing a trailer. The road is good with some parts that are dual carriage way.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swanny65 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 weeks in France and stayed here for the first 6 days.

The site was a little dated but nice and clean. Large level pitch with our own water supply. You will need an adapter for electricity.

Toilets were clean but no soap provided. Showers also clean with hot water. Plenty on washing up area. The on site shop had a good range of stock, although a lot cheaper in the nearest supermarket.

As already mentioned the lake had green algae during our stay, which meant no swimming in the lake.

Pool area great for kids with slides and several different pools. Lifeguard was not present in the morning.

Plenty for the kids to do, including a skateboard area, 2 tennis courts and 5 table tennis tables. Archery is for over 12's only. My son preferred this site to the others we visited.

Be prepared for power cuts. We had 3 during our 6 day stay. The first couple were less than an hour. The final one started at 5pm on the day before we left and the power was still off over 36 hours later. Pity the Welshman near me who had only brought one gas cylinder for his families 3 week stay.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dubs1978 3 reviews from this member

We took our folding camper on it's 1st visit to France this summer, staying at Parc de Fierbois.

Our pitch (206) was massive, we managed to park the car next to the hedge, then have the folding camper and awning as well as a tarp up for shade and still had room loads of room on our pitch! There was a water tap on the EHU post and a waste drainpipe on the pitch, but it only had a small opening to pour grey water down, which wasn't easy. The ground was patchy grass and very firm, so we had to use rock pegs to peg down the awning.

Our pitch was fairly shaded for some of the day so we didn't have to worry about the kids being in the sun all day. Some of the pitches in the middle of the site towards the showerblock didn't seem to have very much shade at all and the pitches in the woods towards the lake didn't seem to have much sun. So really our pitch was perfect.

We needed to use our Frence EHU adapter, but if you don't have you you can hire them for 20 euros from the site.

The showers and toilets were fine, some were a little cramped, but the two corner showers were bigger and good if you have to shower children as you have somewhere to stand. The showers in the main block were sometimes cold, sometimes hot, but I found the few showers nr the washing up area were better temperature controlled. There was another shower block nr the shops and playground but I didn't use those ones.

The shop was fine, we had bread and crossiants from there daily, as well as emergency food. The intermarche is a short drive away in Sainte Maure de Touraine.

The site itself was laid out well, ourdoor pool was next to the bar and arcade, shops were nearby as was the takeaway and restaurant. We didn't have a meal our but did get chips from the takeaway a few times.

Pool complex was nice, pool was cold but like most outdoor pools fine once you were in. It had a shallow sloping end for little kids, and shallow round area of the pool, then deeper until you got to the other side. I am 5ft 3 and I couldn't stand in the deep end, but my husband is 6ft and he's shoulders were always out of the water.

The slides were fun and landed into a splash pool that was about 1 meter deep, meaning small kids would be ok.

The pool complex was very busy most days and lots of people had huge inflatables which made actually swimming hard. Towards the end of our holiday we started going swimming about 6. 30pm and found the pools emptied enough by then so you could swim without meeting someone in your way.

My children used the kids club and had lots of fun with Alex and Rosie. Kids club ran most days for 4hrs a day, morning and afternoon.

The lake was ok to swim in, we gave it a go and spent about 40 mins in the water. It is very deep though and drops off quite quickly so you need to supervise young kids. It is also very murky and if a child was to ever go under I doubt you would even see them under the water to help them. My husband swam out to the pontoon in the middle and said he couldn't touch the bottom when he jumped in!

The indoor pool was ok, not massive and not that warm, but again, once you're in it's fine.

We didn't use the bikes, or go cars, didn't use the adventure park or ponies.

The night time emtertainment left a lot to be disired and one show they did just looked so wrong, where the two men pretended the two girls were instruments and 'played' them. It just looked wrong!

Also couldn't understand why everything was inside the bar when the weather was baking hot. They had massive fold away doors by the inside seating and stage and not once did they open them up so those outside could watch.

Outside of an evening they had little kids ride on cars on a track and they cost 2euros a go.

Beer cost about 3 euros a pint, so we started buying wine from the bar as that was only 8 euros a bottle.

We had a few days out, we went to a grotte (caves) in Villandry which was interesting (and you get to taste some of their wine) we went to Ch‚teau du Rivau, in Lťmerť which was nice for children as the gardens send you on a hunt for an Ogre and the gardens are full of fairytale adventures. We also went to Lulu park on the banks of the Loire in Rochecorbon. This is an ourdoor play area with inflatables, bouncing pillows, bikes, tampolines, a taboggan ride, and inflatable water slides. It's a good day out if you have kids under 12.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Si123 3 reviews from this member

Very friendly and helpful girl in reception. Shop was nice too and had everything needed. Pitches were a really good size and even with our large tent and porch we still had loads of room for kids to play on the pitch. We stayed quite near the main toilet shower blocks and there was no major issues with noise etc.

Showers / toilets were a little dated but of a decent standard and clean. Pool was great but a little on the cold side despite the weather being quite warm (+25) all holiday.

Despite the size of the place - number of pitches - it felt empty - which was nice - I think this was due to it's overall size and the generous pitches.

The lake was probably more suited to fishing than swimming as said before due to the algae. Saw a massive catfish jump up like jaws, I'm sure they would not touch humans but I certainly would not advise going into the lake in the buff!

I would ask for a grass pitch out of the woods unless you like the shade all day.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper Bunnies 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a French trip, we stayed here for 3 days during that time.

The site was nice, clean and very tidy, and our pitch was enormous, level grass with our own water supply.

Toilets were clean, unisex as on a lot of European sites, showers were also clean. The on site shop closed from 12. 30 until 15. 00, fairly good range of stock, although a little pricey.

Unfortunately the lake had green algae during our stay, which meant swimming in it was off limits, the pool complex is great for kids with flumes and several different pools. Lifeguard was not really on the ball though, and I doubt if he would have noticed if anyone was in any difficulty.

Lovely walks around the lake, generally the site was quiet at night, although we were woken up by a loud gaggle of teenagers at 3. 00 one morning.

Mini golf course, somewhat challenging due to incline of the greens, but fun anyhow, we also hired a go kart which kept the kids amused. We did not use the children's clubs here.

We would have enjoyed our stay a little more if we could have used the lake to swim

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3608 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1094