Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Recreatiecentrum Delftse Hout

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Overseas > Netherlands > Site Reviews

Recreatiecentrum Delftse Hout
Korftlaan 5
2616 Lj
Delft
Netherlands   (Browse area)
   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0031 015 2130040

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
5m  5m  10m  1m  10m   10m 

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
              9/10 from 22 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roba2728 9 reviews from this member

We stayed for 12 nights at the end of august but despite the heavy rain we still found plenty to do both on and off site. Delft is a 10 minute walk away to the picturesque city centre where you can also catch a tram to The Hague. Duinrell theme park and waterpark is a 20 minute drive away great for a day out if you have kids. A 30 minute drive away is Amsterdam head for the RAI park and ride where a tram will take you right to Central Station and only €5 for four tram tickets and upto 24 hrs parking. Just 10 minutes away is Diergaarde Blijdorp ( Rotterdam Zoo ) another good day out. Friendly and helpful staff at the campsite with a well stocked shop, very clean toilets, hot showers, heated swimming pool, big children's playground and big pitches. An all round great site handy for exploring Holland.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyorp 3 reviews from this member

This was the second site we stayed at during our two week trip to the Netherlands. After reading all the fantastic reviews our expectations were very high. Unfortunately we left rather underwhelmed.

On arrival the staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English. However the access road to our pitch was quite narrow (and not one-way) so we got caught up in a bit of a traffic jam of people leaving the site and new arrivals. Our biggest disappointment was the state of the “special” pitch. It was an irregular shaped mix of grit/sand/mud and weeds. The bushes were very overgrown and really needed cutting back. The front part of our caravan was parked under a tree. Forty eight hours and about 20 “blobs” of bird poo later we had to move the van and spend about 30 minutes cleaning up the front of the van, hitch cover and aquaroll. Thankfully we hadn’t put the awning up.

The toilet block was excellent. Plenty of showers very clean. The on-site shop was useful with fresh bread baked daily. Bike hire available too. Did not use the restaurant as it seemed quite pricey.

We found the whole site a little run down. Really looked as if it needs a refurbishment. We also noticed that on some of regular pitches the caravans were VERY close together.

Word about the wifi – advertised as site wide. The weekend we arrived it worked perfectly in our caravan. Then from Monday to Thursday it was woeful. Lo and behold on Friday and Saturday it worked perfectly again. Very odd.

The surrounding area was quite nice. We rode our bikes into Delft which is a charming Dutch town. Also rode round the local park. It was OK but did not seem anything special to us. It may look a lot better when the sun is out. Nice big IKEA five minutes walk away.

I would class this as an “OK” site but at just short of thirty pounds a night for two people out of high season this site is very expensive.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Asfc70 8 reviews from this member

What an excellent site, surely the best we have ever been on. We missed the yellow diversion signs on the motorway slip road, but found it eventually. The site is located on the outskirts of the charming town of Delft, a 3 minute bike ride or 10 minute walk. Adjacent is a 'country park', with lots of cycle paths, lake with beach, paddle-boat hire and a hidden gem of a restaurant that does lovely omelettes.

We did not use the sites bar or restaurant but it looked nice. Toilet and shower block very clean and no queues.

The site is great for kids with lots of activities, a good playground and pool. The site atmosphere is very relaxed and quiet.

Lots of English visitors and it was great to talk to them.

Delft is beautiful, we enjoyed the free Music Festival in the main square and found numerous 'PUBS'. Unfortunately we had to leave on the day of the Canal Boat Parade, but will return for it next year.

A big IKEA is 2 minutes from the site.

A lovely beach is at Schievningen, 30 minutes drive.

Can't wait to book for two weeks next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BethanHuw 4 reviews from this member

Just back after a fortnight in Delftse Hout and have to say we enjoyed it tremendously. We were on pitch 73 which was ideal (what a shame we hadn't brought our super pitch hosepipe as that's what we had - even though we hadn't booked one). But yes, site was great. Daily hosing down/cleaning of toilet block took ages to dry, and never enough hand towel paper to last the next 24hours. But that's nit-picking! Sorry! But as a family with two teenagers, not much activities for them on site, BUT a FAB site for off site activities. Delft the town is minutes away, and SUCH a charming place! Then the bike routes surrounding. Wonderful! And so close to Amsterdam (yes - DO pre-book tickets to Anne Frank Huis online - massive queues), The Hague - hairy bike ride away! ;-) And we went to Antwerp for the day which was great! SatNav takes you wrong way so yes - go towards IKEA roundabout turn left for Samsung buildings and then right after really narrow bit of road! Hope this helps!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jack_igm 30 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 weeks and had a brilliant time. Not the first time in Delft having stayed here for 3 1/2 years 10 years ago so it was like coming home.

Staff were very friendly and park has excellent facilities, including very well equipped play park, a heated outdoor swimming pool, on site shop and on site restaurant and snack bar.

We had picked pitch 113 when booking the site, and although this was a good pitch was difficult to access with such a large outfit as the roads are very narrow with hedges so not a lot of room for tail swing. Also 113 had no power point so we had to run a cable from a normal extension lead from a utility shed next to the pitch but alarmingly this extension lead was also supplying another pitch and charging the site golf cart. The power point for this pitch was actually located a considerable distance away and although I had a very long power cable would have needed a further cable of equal length to reach. There was also a tree blocking our satellite dish mounted on our roof so no SKY TV but this was not a problem as weather was excellent and there were loads to do.

The only grumble and it is a very minor one was about the barriers for getting in or out. These would be fine if you had a left hand drive car but having a right hand drive car using the access card was not easy especially if I nipped out for something without a passenger.

Delft is well situated for touring the country and there are loads of activities with a 2 hour drive of Delft and with the excellent Dutch road network is quick and easy to access.

If you want an action packed holiday with things to do for the kids I would recommend the following attractions: - For the smaller kids there is a soft play area just along from McDonalds at Delft on the next junction down from the campsite on the A13. Also situated there is Race Planet indoor go kart centre. Madourodam miniature Holland is close by in Den Haag as is Dreivliet Amusement park. Duinrell theme park and leisure pool are close by in Wassenaar, and highly recommended is Archeon outdoor living museum where you go through the stone age, iron age, bronze age, Roman era and middle ages all with actors and loads of activities for kids. You will spend a whole day here.

Apenhuel primate park at Apeldoorn and Burgers zoo at Arnhem are absolutely superb. Dolfinarium Harderwijk is also an attraction but not recommended as it is not good to see such majestic creatures in captivity.

If you like theme parks there are loads within a 2 hour drive including, Slagharen, Hellendoorn, Walibi Holland, Efteling, Walibi Belgium, Bobbejaanland Belgium and Movie Park Germany.

This has probably been the best Holiday we have been on in a long time. 37 degree weather did help however :o)

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 17 reviews from this member

We booked this site in advance through the caravan Club for 5 nights. On arrival the reception was very friendly and informative. There was a very good shop at reception, with a full time bakery. We went to our allocated pitch which had water/waste and electric hook up, the water was shared with 1 other unit. The pitch areas were divided by hedges and within each area, 4 pitches, which for the ones at the back may be a bit tight with a large unit. The hedges and bushes were very overgrown at our time of visit which did cause some problems. The toilet facilities were fine. The site also had a restaurant/bar a large play area with table tennis, and a small swimming pool. The overall feel of the site was that it could do with a bit of modernisation and renovation, which I think was actually going on at this time. A short ten minute walk takes you into Delft City which is very nice, full of canals, lovely shops and cafes. The nearest largish supermarket is Albert Heijn, in Choorstraat, Delft and there is a huge IKEA, Concept Store 5 minutes walk from the site. In Delft there is a Railway Station, 55 minutes takes you to Amsterdam. This site is excellent for visiting Delft and would recommend it for this. We would probably return to this site but as a stopover, only.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Netherlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3396 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430