Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tetford Country Cottages Certified Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Tetford Country Cottages Certified Site
East Road
Tetford
Horncastle
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN9 6QQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01507 533276

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 5 CCC Members only plus a few tents
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
              8/10 from 6 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting. It is a member only site - you may be able to join on arrival - please check direct with the site.

Reviews:

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve-34 1 review from this member

We have been coming here for the over the last eight years on and off usually staying in the cottages, and since it has been taken over it has come on leaps and bounds.

This year we brought our Conway Crusader folding camper to try out.

The hosts are very welcoming and are usually around and about to help.

It is a 5 pitch Caravan & Camping Club CS Campsite on a flat grass field next to the Cottages and lake it is nice and quite with lots of wildlife.

There is loads of room for everybody so you are not on top of each other and plenty of 10 amp hook points.

Onsite facilities include chemical disposal next to toilet block, drinking water tap located in corner of the camping field near the gate for the lake, 2 toilets, 2 wash basins and a shower (small charge) they are unisex and they also have a laundry area with washing machine an drier.

The local pub is only around 2-3 mins walk from the campsite and is very good it also has a little shop and tea room attached that also do breakfasts as the site no longer do this.

The 2 fishing lakes are very well set out and full of fish such as carp, bream, tench, barbel, roach, perch and golden orfe so will keep the fisherman busy all day long.

There is a charge of 6 a day to fish and 4 for a evening ticket for camping customers.

Hope to return soon

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eggsylad 3 reviews from this member

We have been to this site three times now, and have loved every one of them. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The fishing is superb in a wonderful setting.

The Pub is a two minute walk away, and it serves great beers. The food is excellent, and the staff are very friendly.

We can't wait to go back, hopefully in the next few weeks.

Overall it is a lovely friendly site.

If you enjoy walking or cycling, this site is surrounded by lovely Wolds countryside suited for walking or cycling.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sooh 3 reviews from this member

This is a super little Caravan & Camping CS which we came across by chance when attending a day out in Tetford Village during their annual scarecrow festival weekend. We stopped for a bite to eat and a drink at the superb Lakeside restaurant and discovered there was a 5 pitch Caravan & Camping Club CS Campsite adjacent to this restaurant and it's beautiful fishing lake that the restaurant overlooks. My husband loves fishing and when he realised there was a campsite next door and it only being only 20 miles from our home in the seaside resort of Skegness, he thought it would make an ideal break when we didn't fancying travelling too far.

We are still staying on this campsite as I write this review and we are here with my brother and his partner and their little girl. We've come for the May 2014 spring bank holiday week, we both own 30 foot Motorhomes and we have encountered no problems with access. Both the entrance to the site and the campsite itself can easily accommodate even the largest of motorhomes and RV's and as it's a large spacious CS, you are not all pitched on top of each other, even when all 5 pitches are taken.

The owners are a lovely couple and made us feel very welcome, telling us we could pitch where we liked. No hard and fast rules, unlike many larger sites seem to have these days.

The restaurant next door is amazing and is leased to a lovely young couple who took over last year. Their home cooked food is wonderful and excellent value for money. Last night was their 'Fishy Friday Evening Special Menu' this comprised of a ginormous piece of haddock in batter, homemade rustic chips and garden peas with a creamy jug of tartar sauce, plus a full 75cl bottle of wine (choice of white, red or rose) all this at only 14. 00 for 2 people! We were blown away by the price as even our local fish and chip takeaway costs 12 and that's to eat out! I am not exaggerating when I say that all 4 of us said it was the best fish and chips we'd ever had and the golden crisp batter and the succulent white de boned fish was truly first class. We gave into temptation and ordered the homemade banoffee pie with whipped cream and oh my goodness. It was like heaven in a dish!

The well established fishing lake looks like an anglers dream and my husband cannot wait to get his tackle out! lol! Apparently there is carp in their as big as 26lb and you can tell the owner is very proud of its reputation.

The campsite is a large and level grassy field, very spacious with ample 16 amp hookups, it offers quite a basic toilet and shower block but as we prefer to use our own facilities we weren't too worried that they weren't anything special!

Of course there are the normal services such as fresh drinking water and chemical toilet emptying facilities etc. The owners also provide a washing machine and tumble dryer at 1. 00 per machine. Which is definitely a rare inclusion on any small CL or CS.

The village is lovely, very pretty and set in an area of outstanding natural beauty it has a very interesting village pub with a lovely community feel to it, a tearoom, the lakeside restaurant plus if you need everyday basics such as bread, milk, tea etc then the pub provides a unique village shop type service too! Very quirky and a very welcome service too especially as the nearest supermarket is approx 5 miles away.

There is a nice and safe playground for children on the recreation field across the road from the campsite.

A great base for exploring the surrounding area and is only a short drive from many nearby places of interest.

We cannot recommend this campsite or the adjacent restaurant and fishing lake enough and if you're looking for peace and tranquility and a proper get away from it all break, then look no further as this is a real hidden gem!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SarahHaydn 3 reviews from this member

This is one of our favourite sites and we return regularly. Only taken over last August by new owners and the improvement to the wildlife on site is already noticeable.

We tend to go on the August Bank Holiday for bike racing at Cadwell Park and it can be full but we have never experienced a problem with noise.

Local pub up the road does lovely food and the slightly more distant one has a menu as well although we have never used this ourselves. Great walks from the site and through the village which is delightful with a village shop up past the church.

The village is circled by the four lanes, North, South, East and West roads and footpaths criss cross the area in between which makes exploring great fun. As previously stated, only the 2 toilets and one shower which are unisex and are lovely and clean.

Also have a laundry area with washing machine an drier. Locally there are interesting bike rides and it is an acceptable drive to Mablethorpe on the coast for real fish and chips!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anja 9 reviews from this member

As a CCC certified site, we thought space would be limited to a certain number of units but being the bank holiday weekend, it seemed all bets were off. There were 2 large groups (7 cars in one, 5 in the other) and noise was anticipated despite the 'no noise after 23.00 warning'. We only experienced a problem on the Sunday night.

The site itself is relatively flat and there is the provision of 2 toilets, 2 wash basins and a shower. They are unisex. The staff were pleasant and helpful and their office also acts as reception to some adjacent holiday cottages, the lake fishing and a small tearoom.

200m away is one pub doing food and about 800m in the opposite direction is another although this one was rather under-utilised despite being a BH weekend. We preferred the CAMRA listed pubs at the nearby villages of South Ormby and Aby (both did food and excellent beer).

Being in the Lincolnshire Wolds, there were walks straight out the site and these were quiet; we hardly met anyone.

Overall, a pleasant site if you don't need lots of facilities. It's probably quieter off peak.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trevexess 9 reviews from this member

Excellent CL site, 2 x good pubs close by, within walking distance, large field, all 5 pitches with hook up, good toilet/shower facilities - Fishing lakes on the site although we did not use, also as in the name holiday cottages on site. We visited during scarecrow weekend, a real good old fashioned treat, recommended !


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lincolnshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3380 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window