Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Plough Inn C L

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

The Plough Inn C L
Allerdean
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2TD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01289 387206

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
5m   5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravan Club only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
              9/10 from 20 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

This is a Caravan Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes (no tents) and is for Caravan Club Members only.

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyke-ess 5 reviews from this member

What a find! The site is approx 3 miles off the A1 and maybe 5 miles from Berwick Upon Tweed, where you will find Morrison's, Tesco & Asda as well as other shops, pubs & restaurants and of course the city walls. The site is perfectly placed for getting to Bamburgh, Seahouses, Holy Island and more.

The site is a CL so only has toilet facilities, located in the pub, a key is provided for when the pub is closed, there is a CDP behind the pub. The field is level, grassy & surrounded by trees & shrubs.

We received a warm friendly welcome from Julie, Trevor and their Team, nothing was too much trouble. In the porch you will find Tourist Information for various local attractions.

The meals in the pub are great, there is a good menu along with a daily specials board. All food is cooked to order and there are two eating areas either side of the main bar area.

A few little pointers:

Could do with a towel rail or hook in both ladies & Gents toilets.

No obvious place to empty grey water.

Taps in Elsan point need securing to wall.

We will definitely be returning soon☺

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 29 reviews from this member

Our second visit a lovely little CL stop over on the way to Scotland. There are no washing up facilities or showers. The toilets are at the side of the pub and you have a key for 24 hour use. The staff are friendly, helpful, and good company. The pitches are grass but have electric up and fresh water and chemical disposal. There are no shops in the vicinity but it is in a good spot for sight seeing the area by car. The pub serves very good food it was full when we were there mid week. We spent a lovely evening with other visitors and local people. We will be back the next time we go to Scotland

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Apilking 5 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site and a great pub with superb food. Very handy for Berwick and Coldstream. We had 5 nights there and great weather. Will definitely go again.

Loos are in the pub with key supplied. No shower but nice and clean & warm.

Site is flat with easy access, entrance is easy to miss but you can turn in the pub carpark

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bigyin247 10 reviews from this member

We were doing a small tour down the East coast and decided to wander across the border to Berwick Upon Tweed. A nice town that like so many other towns full of pound shops which is a real shame. It was a roasting hot day and I looked up sites locally using my 'caravan buddy' app and I found this gem.

We called ahead and they had space. On arrival it was like a scene from a BBC drama, local pub, locals drinking stranger walks in.

To be fair the welcome was warm and the beer very wet so I had arrived in bliss. We sat in the lounge and had some drinks watched the F1 and the owner offered us up the menu.

Food - 10/10 ( the roast was just like your gran made)

Facilities:

It is basic, you are using the toilets in the pub. There are no showers so you need to use your own. That is the only downside. The beer and the hosting more than makes up !

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The Shredders 1 review from this member

First visited The Plough by chance on a drive about two years ago. Stopped for a meal and noticed the CL. Eventually stayed at the CL August 2013 and what a great decision! We went with another two couples and we all agree that the weekend was just about the best we have ever had. The hosts were wonderful and we took advantage of the pub and had great beer, truly wonderful food and many, many laughs. This place has everything you need; beautiful location, five minutes from the A1 and Berwick, great food on the doorstep and guaranteed smiles all round from the hosts and staff. We'll be back!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Petejohno 1 review from this member

Looked for somewhere on the Borders which was handy for both coast and inland. Found a gem of a sight. 10 minutes to Holy Island and Eyemouth and 20 minutes to Kelso and then the lochs. Mine hosts are incredibly friendly as are all the locals. Rest assured this is not a site next to the 'lads or happy hour' crowd. On site you didn't know you was next door to the pub. Pub served good beer and excellent food. We had both, for the bar meal we chose the delicious steak baps with salad ) and for the restaurant meal had the works, enjoyed all the food, which is cooked to order, not microwaved. Tractors passing during the day, but what do you expect when you're on the edge of the Cheviots. We toured during the day and for the evening it was to the pub, using their excellent wi fi we reported to the family on our adventures. We'll definitely return. A word of advice is to throw away your tourist guides and ask the locals in the pub were to go, you'll find some brilliant sites and places.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


21 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1094