Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sperrin Mountains Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Site Reviews

Sperrin Mountains Caravan And Campsite
1 Lisnaharney Rd
Omagh
County Tyrone
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT79 7UG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07813957563

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 10m   5m  5m 

Pitches: 40
Open: Easter To Late September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
              7/10 from 14 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Elaine-n-Trev 7 reviews from this member

Very mixed feelings about this campsite.

The location is spectacular. There are 40 pitches, the layout and facilities for campervans are very good. Electricity (20 amp)on every second pitch, all pitches are bordered with high hedges for privacy, they are all level and hardstanding, there are fresh water taps at regular intervals.

The amenities appear to be cleaned regularly and the toilets supply paper, soap and a towel. There are showers which appear to be cleaned regularly as well (although we didn't use them). There is a games room, an area for BBQs, even shelters for smokers and a play area for children. The grass around the pitches was cut.

There is no site manager - but there is a forest warden, who is a very pleasant man and came as soon as we phoned him to let him know we had arrived.

So why were we and a family with a tent, the only people there?

Personally I found it spooky and would not have stayed there on my own. Effectively it's been abandoned and although there is daily cleaning of the loos and showers, it's dusty and shabby and in dire need of TLC.

The fact that there is no on site personnel gives the impression that nobody really cares that much to keep it maintained, or even to entice people to come and camp. The reception is dirty and run down.

All considered, I felt that the £18 was unjustified.

What interested me was that this site was given European Regional Development funding to help set it up.

What a waste of a potentially fantastic campsite. Shame on those that let it run down - the cottages on site were in a terrible state - they were closed and in need of painting and repair. The grass around the cottages was overgrown. Clearly they haven't been used for a long time.

For a one night stop over, I would recommend it - if not to get people to use the site and perhaps join us in asking the question - what happened?

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J+ES 3 reviews from this member

Peace and quiet in abundance. Nice site set in the Sperrins.

Wonderful view on a starry night.

There is a small play area for children.

Electricity on your pitch. Fresh water and waste water points nearby. Chemical toilet point in the main block. Free showers - good.

Picked our own pitch on arrival - phoned owner on mobile and were told to go ahead and pick whichever one we wanted.

Gortin village three miles away. Good local supermarket. Omagh about seven miles away.

Left to your own devices by the owners. If you want tourist information you won't get much here so bring it with you or be prepared to go and get it.

A bit of a tidy up in the amenities block would not go amiss.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SoloBackpack 2 reviews from this member

I was backpacking Northern Ireland as a single girl and stayed at this campsite for two nights just with my tent. I wanted to visit the Sperrins and walk around there.

This seemed to be the only camping in the Sperrins area that could be reached by public transport (the Sperrins Rambler 403 stops at the Ulster History Park which is 10 minutes walking from the campsite)

(+) location: just close to the main entrance to Glen Forest Park. You're right in the middle of nature and the camping is green and beautiful and quiet

(+) cosy toilet blocks. I never thought I would say this of a toilet block but these ones were really ' pretty'. Wooden structure with windows on the top to look at the sky. They were pretty clean too.

(+) shelter: there's a big game room inside, so if you only have a tent and it starts raining there's place to shelter

(-) the price: they charged me £10 a night for just me and my tent. Didn't need any electricity or gas. I find this expensive

(-) the location: when you have a car you should be ok, but you are really in the middle of nowhere. Nearest village with shop is Gortin, 4 miles away. Nearest town is Omagh, 9 miles away. The bus only runs 2x a day, which is pretty worthless if you want to go out walking in the mountains. You'd only have 4 hours to be out.

(-) the facilities: the hot water taps in the sinks (for doing the dishes) didn't work properly, neither did most of the showers (only found 1 working), neither did the hairdryer in the lady's toilet block. The whole place felt quite desolated and not well maintained to me. It felt to me the owners mainly were interested in making some easy money then really caring about the place or its visitors. Which is really a shame because it is basically a beautiful place with potential.

(-) contact: the owners only come down once in the evening to collect the money. You never know what time they're gonna drop by so if you have a question you might have to wait all evening. You could phone them (but this is expensive if you are a foreign tourist)

I would not recommend this campsite to international packpackers.

For people with a car or campervan this site should be ok though as long as you don't need a high rate of luxury.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: London 1 review from this member

I stayed here beginning of September 2010 and the place was a delight. We have stayed here at least five times. It was clean and better maintained than most sites we have visited.

The owner was pleasant and I met the cleaner who's name was Jim if my memory serves me. He was there in the morning and the owner was there in the evenings. The toilet and shower block was immaculate and this coupled with the beautiful site is the reason we will return this year.

The office block is not used as far as I know but we weren't there to visit an office. We have been camping nearly fifteen years and we are very happy to visit and stay at this site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alba_T4 5 reviews from this member

This site was a disappointment. The reception with warden’s mobile number pinned to the door ought to have been a clue as to what lay ahead. We rang the number and were told just to pick a spot as the warden would be round to collect the money when he finished work that night.

This is a small site with 24 pitches, all set in woodland setting around a purpose built facility. Not all pitches were available as the people using the site had parked their transit vans in some of them.

There are male and female Toilets, plus 4 shower rooms, 2 of which were broken and out of use. There is a play room for young children which is a great idea (but this was dirty with broken toys) and a games room with a broken pool table, a table tennis table with no ball or bats, 2 dead vending machines and a TV/DVD which was working.

The two working showers were full of dead and live insects and didn't appear to have been cleaned recently. The toilets were also dirty and nothing was cleaned in the 2 nights we stayed.

The campers' kitchen had one of 2 sinks broken and the covered BBQ area was unusable due to a broken grill - it was also full of ash and dirty socks.

The laundry only had one of 2 washing machines working and the tumble dryers only worked when the warden performed a special trick to get them to recognise coins. We phoned to complain about this but the warden was at work and could not come until the evening. His wife did come and fix the driers and we mentioned the general state of the place but she didn't seem too interested.

On a positive note the play park was good with three swings and a slide.

There were 3 travellers' vans there when we arrived but we had no issues as these guys kept quiet and kept the place clean and tidy. Other than letting their Staffordshire terrier run loose round the site we had no concerns about these people. On our second night however, two more vans arrived, with a much rowdier crowd. They were unruly, drunk and loud. There was lots of shouting and swearing. The teenage girls from this group got drunk and spent their time sitting in the toilets smoking or commandeering the kids' play park. Later at night there was a lot of noise as they drove a transit van around the site blaring the horn until around 1am when all went quiet.

This site has a beautiful setting with facilities which were obviously once excellent. At £15 per night the minimum you should expect is clean toilets and showers. The warden told us there was a cleaner every morning between 8 and 9am but the shower had the same discarded toiletries in it and the toilets had the same globules of spit on the floor when we left as when we arrived. We were right beside the amenity block and saw no cleaner each morning we stayed there.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wmclaughlin 1 review from this member

Stayed Friday to Sunday here and really enjoyed it. The site is very sheltered by trees but this does encourage the midges unfortunately, so bring the insect repellent! Facilities are clean although not all the showers were open. The little play area and games room seemed quite popular. Some of the camping areas were a bit soggy and could have done with a run over with the mower. The area itself is very picturesque and the forest park has some lovely scenery.

Overall a good site and I'm sure we'll be back. P.S. They seem to allow campfires.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in N Ireland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3934 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508