Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Huttopia Saumur

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Site Reviews

Camping Huttopia Saumur
St Hilaire St Florent
Saumur
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49400   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 02 41 67 95 34

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m  1m   1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
              8/10 from 33 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marham2 3 reviews from this member

If you come here ensure you get a pitch overlooking the Loire. We had pitch 10 and those along side also have great views. The other pitches are not so well situated. The toilets are modern and first class. Seats, paper and lighting! The showers are unisex in a separate building alongside. They too are modern. The site is level and no blocks required. Wifi is not available throughout the site as stated in the particulars but only at the office and the bar/restaurant. However the latter is most comfortable with armchairs so it was very pleasant to relax and use the wifi. The restaurant has a modest but good menu and in September was still open 5 nights a week. The staff were very pleasant and spoke fluent English. The overall impression of the site may be that it is worn but the first class facilities belie that. Saumur is about 10km but there are nearer villages many with wine 'degustation'. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+julie 52 reviews from this member

We decided to come back to this site for an overnight stay as it used to be one of our favourite sites.

A lot of work has been done over the winter.

Brand new reception, sanitaires and washing up facilities.

Refurbished bar, restaurant and takeaway with nice patio area outside.

New children's play park.

Swimming pool remains in need of refurbishment but the manager told me this would be done next and the water quality was good.

The main changes are that about 5 rows of touring pitches have been removed and the area landscaped with about 40 beige/brown safari type bungalow tents in amongst it. It looks ok.

A lot of wooden chalets on the site and no private statics that I could see.

The touring pitches are a bit rough round the edges and I suppose will be the last thing to be looked at.

The Loire view pitches (46 euros) a night which were the best pitches now have a row of 3 of theses beige bungalows in front of them on the grass below. You still get a view but they get a better one.

Reception closed 12-2 which is annoying when you have been travelling for a long way and its 37c. You just have to sit and wait. Why cant reception stagger their lunch break. Or just put up a list of available pitches so we can get set up.

We paid Acsi 18 euros.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey01 3 reviews from this member

Huttopia Saumur, formerly Camping Chantepie, ( which I understand in the past, was family run and beautiful).

On arrival, (late June, for 2 weeks) my heart sank, your initial view is one of a barren, un-cared for site - patchy dry grass and dusty tracks. The photographs you find on the website (both the 'old' Chantepie site and new Huttopia site) and google images, flatter and were taken in bygone times.

On various sources; adverts and publications, and signage as you approach, you will see the site rated as either 4 or 5*. - it is not a 5* site and really only 4* by way of the facilities and not quality. The emplacements lack maintenance, patchy dry grass and unkept hedging. The grass on our 'premium' pitch had not been cut since the 'last time', (sometime in 2016?), it was long and untidy. The pitches though are very large, quite private, mostly with some shade and some further back from the river have water supply (for an extra charge). Some taps on site are of the 'press and hold' type, useless for filling an aquaroll, find a twist tap, there are some!

We had booked a premium pitch with view of la Loire, the hedging though obscured 'the view', we chose another pitch with no hedging. There are 11 pitches with 'la Loire views', 10, 11, 12 and 14 (there is no 13) do not have hedges and offer uninterrupted views, (15 has a river view at a long stretch). The hedges (on pitches 4-9, these also overlook 3 'permanent' tents) were cut to 'view height' whilst we were there, at the request of a camper I guess, rather than through necessity.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheChristerFamily 9 reviews from this member

We booked this site months in advanced when it was independently owned having stayed at what was their sister site in Brissac which was outstanding. Like a previous review initial impressions were that the site was neglected. Weeds in flower beds and very overgrown bushes between pitches, overhanging trees in need of cutting back. Not once in our two weeks did I see any maintenance.

The shop had a very limited stock. The bar and restaurant were only open from 5pm and half the small menu not available. Then after a week they closed it completely, not even being able to buy a drink. Reception closed all afternoon so couldn't access the clubs for pitch and put which also needs some maintenance. They said the reason for these things was it was the end of season, yet there was still plenty of campers who had paid full price for their pitch expecting these services. The lovely family bathroom area was also closed during our stay. We felt as if we were out staying welcome.

The covered heated pool wasn't always heated and could be rather cold. The paving around this pool was a hazard with loose and uneven slabs which I had read in a review in Aug 2015, so nothing had been done about it.

Saying that the site is in great location for Saumur and all the attractions in the area.

We had booked a river view pitch and this made our holiday. It was so relaxing sitting at our pitch with the lovely view of the river and it felt very private. The staff in reception were friendly and helpful.

Ok they say the site is going to be renovated but if they couldn't maintain what was a well loved and looked after site I'm not sure

UK campsite you need to update your details for this site as several things are no longer available for this site like pony rides, and it is no longer independent but comes under Indigo chain.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+julie 52 reviews from this member

We visited this site last August and had a wonderful stay.

We arrived today for a 3 nighter and what a difference.

This site has been taken over by the Indigo group and doesn't look like its been hardly touched since the winter, everything overgrown and tatty. This may be due to having a late start because of the bad weather in May.

In my opinion it is going to take a lot of hard work to get it up to scratch before the main season.

Sanitaires are clean and plentiful.

Bar closed, restaurant closed, TV room open just for the football.

At the moment reception is closed between 12 and 4 but a list of available pitches is left on the notice board outside so you can choose and pitch up during this time. Wifi free on piches. Acsi 18 euros as at June 27th.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bluenote 4 reviews from this member

Stopped here for a single night but could have stayed longer at this lovely campsite.

We booked a riverside pitch and the view was fabulous, overlooking the Loire, just a shame about the weather.

Greeting on arrival was excellent and the facilities were good. Would certainly visit again. No town within walking distance but Saumur is just up the road if you have transport.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Pays de la Loire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0879
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec