Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Manor Farm Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Manor Farm Camping
Daccombe
Newton Abbot
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ12 4ST   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 328294

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 10m  5m  10m  10m   5m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: up to 75
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
              8/10 from 15 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hvr7 1 review from this member

I camped here on 11. 08. 14 for a week with my family, and I must say I will definitely be going back. Such a lovely quite and reasonably priced campsite! Owners are so friendly and helpful, they charged my phone for me every morning. There is a little shop on the site which offers essentials like milk, tea bags and sweets for the children. The toilet/shower block was clean an basic, showers were always lovely with a perfect temperature, there are sockets for hair dryer etc. Behind the toilet block are sinks where you can do your washing up an a laundry room just round the side, although we never used them there are brick BBQ's behind the toilet block which I think is a lovely thought. At the bottom of the site there is a lovely little playground, which my daughter loved. We were never short of things to do or places to see as the campsite is situated a good distance from beaches, towns and places to explore. I would recommend this campsite for anyone who is willing to leave technology behind and have a fantastic family holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babycamping 1 review from this member

Can't recommend this site highly enough. If you like your sites relaxed, rustic and real, , proper campsites (not that glamping variety) then this is it. Wonderful views, relaxed friendly atmosphere and functional no frills shower, laundry and BBQ facilities. This site is situated on a Devonshire farm and has that authentic farmland feel. It came highly recommended by locals too. Great value for money, and the rates don't take the mick. We have a little one, and the owners went far out of their way to help us, and make sure we had a lovely time; which we did.

Well worth a visit and we will be returning again and again and again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fuggle 3 reviews from this member

We have been here twice to visit family nearby. The site is very basic, there is no electric but the toilet facilities & shower block are clean & have a steady hot water supply & are free to use. There are washing up & laundry facilities too. The reception has freezer blocks & sells essentials for the adults (& penny sweets for the little ones!) there is also a children's playground. It's a lovely setting, surrounded by a small freshwater stream, set in a valley with cows (noisy ones - especially in the morning) & horses in surrounding fields, plus buzzards flying overhead and on clear nights it's a wonderful spot to star gaze. Daccombe is a very small & pretty village, it has no supermarket or pub, but you can buy fresh eggs up the road.

The site isn't flat by any means, especially towards the bottom end, but the welcome is warm, very laid back (pitch where you want, raised fire pits are allowed) & I highly recommend it. We won't be staying anywhere else when we visit Torquay.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicky Hatherell 16 reviews from this member

We loved this site - ok, it's basic, but that's part of its charm! And it was a sloping field, but there were plenty of almost flat bits to pitch on.

The views were wonderful, and it was so peaceful and quiet.

The ladies shower block (I assume the gents was the same) contained 5 electric showers and 10 toilet cubicles which meant that for the weekend we were there, there were often more toilets than tents!

The hot water (not shower water) was a bit hit and miss - at times it was absolutely scalding hot and at other times it was cold, but we can live with that!

We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sazmac 2 reviews from this member

As a avid camper for the last 20 years, I have been to this site for at least 12 times the last time being June 2012. This is site is a large field which is purely for non electric tents only. It is back to basics, there is a small shop on site which will freeze your ice blocks for nothing and has basic supplies.

The staff are really friendly and helpful. It is a working farm and so there is a small noise from the animals although not enough to cause your any annoyance.

There is one shower block with free showers, also a pot washing area and dryer area, small charge. There is a small childs play area at the bottom of the field. There is an excellent local pub about 1 mile away called the linny which does excellent food and friendly management.

The nearby seaside down of torquay is about 5 miles away, which is excellent, with a good selection of shops and bars, restaurants and a good marina area.

There are various boat trips to nearby brixham which is a quaint little village both well worth the visit. The best place to eat in torquay is called jingles where they do steaks, mexican food etc, it is busy all the time but excellent value for money.

This site is as I said back to basic, quiet, with excellent views of the devon countryside so if you are wanting an all singing, all dancing site this is not for you.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gurdy 2 reviews from this member

We were a group of 6 in two tents and really enjoyed the location and the site but the shower block, I don't think I have ever stayed on a site which has such dirty shower cubicles.

I would prefer to pay a little extra each night in order for them to be cleaned. Wear flip flops, crocs or aqua shoes when you shower and take a large plastic bag to put all your clothes and towels in as the cubicles are so small everything will get wet.

Shame really as the water was piping hot, but the sight of other peoples hair and scum, day after day was really off putting. (Why people don't rinse the cubicle after them is a mystery)

As much as I liked the site and the view ( which is spectacular) I would not go back unless the showers are updated or cleaned frequently

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4460 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1123