Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pillaton Hall Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Site Reviews

Pillaton Hall Farm
Pillaton
Penkridge
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST19 5RZ   See Map
Tel: 01785 715177
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 151 Reviews
                9/10 from 151 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wannabeonthebeach 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fabulous weekend at Pillaton Farm. We stayed in our folding camper, with EHU on pitch 19 - so we could supervise the children on the football pitch from our deck chairs :0)

On arrival, staff at the reception were friendly and helpful. Once onto the actual site Karen, one of the wardens, was really helpful, showed us to our pitch and told us where everything was.

All pitches were pristine, generous and marked out. The grass was lovely and short. The pitches next to 19 (15 & 17) are no longer grass but black gravel and would be ideal for larger motorhomes or RVs.

We only used the toilets and showers along from pitch 19, but they were always spotlessly clean. The showers were warm, the temperature could be adjusted and the shower head taken off the post if needed. Each shower opened onto the communal changing area, with a bench and lots of hooks - ideal if you have children and for keeping your things dry. I am told the other shower area has individual changing areas attached to each shower and push button not adjustable temperature showers. The showers also had free lockers just outside. I did not find anywhere to plug in a hairdryer or straighteners, but being on EHU this did not matter for us.

Behind the shower/toilet block was also a vending machine area with a freezer for freezer packs.

The take away was a real bonus - 5 star hygiene rating, lots of choice and open at useful times.

The pitch and park kept my two boys 12 and 9 entertained all weekend. I will say that both my boys are strong swimmers and even though they were given their boundaries before we got to the campsite I am confident that had they have fallen into the lakes, they could have got out. Being the slightly OTT mum I am, I am not sure how I would feel with say, a curious toddler and so much water! I'd probably resort to making them play in one of those floatation jackets they use to learn to swim!

The dog paddock, is fully fenced off and gated. It has a poop bin and the grass was free of dog poo, so I could run around with the dog off lead. The fence is about 4ft high and the paddock big enough to run our speedy whippet. It was also lovely to see her play with other friendly dogs here.

The only reason I have given 9 instead of 10 stars, is because from pitch 19 you can hear the slight noise from the motorway (we do not live near any main roads, so this is probably why it was noticeable for us). And the light aircraft from the local small run way was a little bit much at times.

The site is well looked after, well maintained and well thought out. We will definitely be returning :0) Many thanks.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JulesT-001 6 reviews from this member

We came here in June 2017 & stayed 3 nights. Our friends joined us for the weekend. What a lovely site.

It is peaceful, safe & secure. The on site shop is a bit of a tardis (bigger on the inside than it looks!).

The pitch was flat even and spacious (our tent is a Kampa Filey 6 - so a big tent). Plenty of space.

The toilet & shower facilities were brilliant. Hot showers & clean. There was one block with small shower cubicles that opened onto a communal changing room. The other shower block had spaces to change within the cubicles. I can only speak for the ladies facilities though! Plenty of toilet cubicles & separate sinks. One toilet cubicle containing a sink. Everything was clean.

The whole site is thoughtfully laid out and just beautiful with the fishing pools. We even caught a glimpse of the herd of deer over the Chase as sun set. Just perfect. Thank you to the incredibly friendly and ever so helpful team.

A highly recommended site.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: MYOBFGS 4 reviews from this member

Tent & Touring Caravan

We were lucky enough to get pitches on a small enclosed area not far from reception so it was fairly quiet, not crowded and plenty of room to play tennis/badminton etc with the 10yr old in our 'group'. One loo and shower per gender - can't even remember what the washing up facilities were like since we did all ours in my friends caravan. Has a takeaway on site which seemed very popular but if you have any kind of food 'allergy' it's a no go since it caters for the 'normal' diets (which I understand totally)

For just a long weekend there was no need to leave the site. We walked the dogs to the specific field supplied for the purpose, the 10 yr old enjoyed the play park, the fishing folks enjoyed their fishing in the ponds etc.

Not sure we would go for a longer period but would go back for a long weekend again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Graham 32 reviews from this member

Another trip to Pillaton with our grandkids. (now aged 9!)It's a local site so we can do a couple of trips to enable then to use their bikes to ride about on.

Got a great pitch near the lake that had some shelter thanks to the mature trees behind it.

This is about our third or fourth visit to Pillaton and there are just a few additions to the kids play areas since our last visit.

Toilets/showers/wash-up areas all clean and in good working order.

Ground is nice and flat and the tent pegs went in easy enough (no need for rock pegs). If I could offer one piece of advice re pitches it would be to avoid numbers 15, 17, 19. They have a fair slope on them and you may have probs getting a tent up properly.

We made use of the on site takeaway service. Nice food, cooked while you wait and in decent portions for the price. Not so much choice as our last visit I noted. But all the normal chips, pizza, burgers etc.

The only gripe I seem to have with this site is the lack of proper parenting skills. Although the older kids play area has signage to say ALL kids must be accompanied by an adult my wife and I rarely saw another adult down there. Hence the language used by kids as young as 6 years old. It was like a meeting of the ADHD club. I'm no prude but there was one 'dust-up' between kids then about half an hour later the mother turned up, told off everyone, then wandered off again to her tent/caravan never to be seen again. This is not the fault of the site at all BUT in any review you have to speak as you find.

So, a great local site that we will use again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mummymills 7 reviews from this member

My husband, myself and our 3 boys have just returned from a long weekend camping here & yet again, had an amazing time!

We arrived Friday eve, checked in & starting pitching our new tent. Wishing 10 minutes of arriving, the warden whizzed past on his golf buggy & gave us a nod. The first of many times we saw him patrolling the site.

We had fish & chips from the chippy in the local village which was reasonably priced & lovely. The village itself looked lovely though we didn't venture back. Choosing instead to spend a couple of days exploring nearby Cannock Chase.

The facilities were great as usual, though one of the showers was a bit cold I just tried another which was fine. The toilet are cleaned at least twice a day which is reassuring, and there was always plenty of toilet roll. There are freezers for ice packs & vending machines for hot & cold drinks too.

The two kids play areas are brilliant, spacious & fenced off. They thoroughly tired my boys out!

The hook up points are a quite spread out so bring an extension if you don't want to be short.

The shop at the entrance to the farm is well stocked & reasonablely priced. I'd put it on a par with corner shop prices.

The only thing I didn't see was laundry facilities.

All in all another fantastic weekend at our favourite local site.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doneil 18 reviews from this member

Stayed here while the kids were at V festival which was only 10 mins away, and although it was so close and quite busy the site never felt overcrowded or noisy, we had a great pitch next to the lake which I made full use of, great facilities, only problem was the showers were a bit on the small side you were confined to the area the size of the shower tray, unless you stepped out to the open changing room area.

The staff were all great and very friendly and a brilliant on site shop stocking allsorts from essentials to fishing bait and tackle. This is a site we will definitely ne returning to

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chunk1 5 reviews from this member

We stayed as a small group of four units, both tents and a caravan. When booking you choose your pitch which is great.

There is plenty of room around the pitches and the site for children to play. There are two play areas for them. There is a separate small field to walk dogs which is great and helps to keep the site clean.

Toilet and shower facilities are all clean, there are two shower blocks, one has small showers where you have to dress outside the cubicle and the other has bigger ones where there is room for your clothes. We never had to queue and we were there at a weekend.

There are fishing pools which were popular. Very close to Cannock Chase for walking and cycling. The nearest village, Penkridge, has a market each Wednesday and Saturday.

The site have details of local takeaways that deliver to the site- the Indian is very nice!

The staff were friendly and helpful, the small shop has some of the basic things you may need.

Very good site, we've been twice now and plan to return next year.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jjools 6 reviews from this member

This area of the country is not one we usually come to but we wanted somewhere quite close to home as we were bringing along a second new dog camping for the first time and weren't sure how he would take to camping. We picked a great site for dogs and will certainly return! The site itself is large with lots of pitches but unlike many campsites, where you can be crammed in, each pitch has a fantastic amount of space. When you book online you get to chose which pitch you would like-We chose pitch 112 which is right next to one of the fishing lakes but away in one corner. A great spot to sit and admire the water. We had a large 7 man tent and two cars - the kids still had space to play tennis next to the tent. The kids enjoyed the play areas and generally riding their bikes around the site. The dog area is fantastic. A large fenced off space where you can take them off the lead and allow them to chase a ball and stretch their legs. We do a lot of walking when we camp, and the area is great for that- Cannock Chase is just 15 minutes away and is a lovely area to walk. The facilities on site are clean and the showers nice and hot. Despite the size of the site we didn't have to queue for facilities. If I had any gripes it would be a couple of small things. For instance I like to have a cubicle to wash in the morning so I can make sure the kids wash properly and brush their teeth rather than having to do that at an open sink. Also the washing up facilities are either in the entrance to the ladies or the gents which makes it awkward to wash up together. Just small things that certainly won't prevent us returning. The site has a lovely laid back feel to it-it was quiet when we arrived on the Monday but the laid back vibe was there even when it was full at the weekend.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mummymills 7 reviews from this member

We arrived at Pillaton just as the kids broke up for the summer holidays, with great expectations of of a well kept site. We were not disappointed!

We struggled a bit to choose a pitch when booking online, so I called the office to ask for some help. We wanted a site not too close to the play areas (due to early morning wake-ups) & not too close to any of the fishing pools. We were allocated pitch 122 (non-electric). This was in a separate field to the main area, no pools, close but not too close to the showers & with breath-taking views of the countryside. It was perfect!

The facilities were amazing & very clean. Showers were lovely. You could control your own temp & no push button every 30 seconds either. Luxury! The wash-up was fine, though we only used it once on the last day as tended to wash up at the tent.

The children's play areas were both excellent, though be warned the red sand in both areas is a nightmare to wash out of clothes. Next time, my kids will only wear dark coloured clothes!

We had chips from the on site takeaway on the Saturday night, and whilst there was a bit of a wait, we just took the kids to the nearby play area until they were ready.

The only thing I found a bit frustrating was the on-site shop was located by the entrance to the site, probably a 1/2 mile walk or drive away. However this was the only negative point & it really wasn't that much of an inconvenience.

We visited nearby Cannock Chase one of the days & did the Stick Man trail with the kids, then a bike-ride following one of the mapped out routes. Parking was a little steep, 4 for the day but as this is one the main sources of income for maintaining the forest, in hind site it was worth it.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Turned Outwell 1 review from this member

Motorway traffic noise is a real consideration if you are thinking of booking this site. Its only 3/4 of a mile from the M6 and you can really hear the traffic. During the day its not so bad, but at night its a constant drone. We all used earplugs after the first night to try and get some sleep, but not ideal.

The site is self is pleasant with lakes to camp around and for fishing. Good play areas, great slide, site shop (well stocked but half a mile from the pitches), and a snack shed we didn't use but looked OK.

Site was pretty empty when we visited, even in the middle of the school hols, maybe the traffic noise puts families off?

Toilet blocks were fine, mostly clean (though you can write in the dust on the cisterns!), no hairdryers or anywhere to plug them in though (so people used the hand drier!. Showers though were badly designed as the cubicles are very small with a 1 foot step up to the shower tray (end cubicle is a bit larger with a 1ft drop on one side - could be dangerous for kids). No room in the cubicles to put anything down - just a hook, the cubicles are just the size of the shower tray. The idea is you change on the bench area outside to speed things up, however not everyone wants to get changed in public especially if there was a queue. Black mould on shower curtains not nice.

No recycling on site which is unusual, not even glass, just an open skip (so loose stuff just blows out), feels wrong not to recycle, though I guess the site don't want to pay for the collections?

Staff zoom around the site in a golf buggy. Site has a 5mph speed limit (which is a fast walk/jog), there are children playing here so maybe the staff could slow down a bit as no way was the buggy going at jogging speed!

Pleasant site with useful facilities like a freezer to freeze ice blocks, and well thought out, but the traffic noise puts us off returning.

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Staffordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Weeks Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a Clarke IG1200B 1.1kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 8th to 10th June, Kent
Exclusive discount, plus win 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5686 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016