Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Port Mor

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Port Mor
Port Charlotte
Isle Of Islay
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA48 7UE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01496 850441

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  10m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 10 electrical hook ups, 45 tent pitches
Open: February Until End Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
              9/10 from 27 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ninja Nanjan 1 review from this member

What a super site with fantastic views! What a great way to add value to a sports ground. We received a lovely welcome from Anna and we were able to choose between a pitch at the bottom of the site or one at the top. We chose the pitch at the top because there was more space between the units. A very clean site. The showers and toilets were spotless and spacious with lots of hot water.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 42 reviews from this member

What a superbly run campsite which is a credit to the local community who saw a gap in the market and amply filled it!

We spent just two nights here in early September 2014 and the site was full each night. The hardstanding pitches at the bottom of the site are a bit close together but the sea views & the spectacular sunrise soon made up for that small criticism.

There are two water fill point - one at the top of the driveway by the equipment store and another one adjacent to the pitches. The EHU’s are against the fence and easily accessible. The CDP is up by the café/clubhouse so is a bit of a distance away, so maybe a small trolley would be a good investment!

The toilets, showers and washing up areas were kept spotless and are accessible at all times – even when the café etc. Is closed.

We had a fish & chip lunch at the café [to be recommended] and also made use of their free Wi-Fi facility [in the café only].

The staff were all friendly and accessible.

Port Charlotte has two pubs/hotels as well as a SPAR shop and the Museum of Islay Life.

There appears to be only one other campsite on Islay, so you have little choice should you not wish to wild camp. It would be great if other communities on the island could provide a similar campsite – say at Bowmore. Or maybe the RSPB could put aside some land on one of their two reserves?

Well done Port Mor!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jen821 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site. It's very well kept and has a football pitch, an excellent children's playpark, good facilities and a cafe on site.

It is within easy walking distance of Port Charlotte, and slightly further from Bruichladdich, which has the best distillery tour on the island.

The only slight criticism we have is that the electric hookups were very close together. When we stayed the weather was so good we didn't actually need any electronic gizmos, and wished we hadn't booked a hookup!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alanawayfromhome 8 reviews from this member

Great site with a friendly laid back atmosphere. A community owned site which is looked after with obvious pride by all concerned.

Toilets and showers first rate.

Hard standings with EHU right at the front of the site therefore uninterrupted views over and up and down the loch.

Short walk into Port Charlotte with its shop, hotel, good meals and live music on Wednesday, the Lochindaal Bar and try Yan's Kitchen opposite the museum coffee and free home made scone.

You must visit the Museum of Islay Life a wonderful eclectic collection and again friendly laid back staff (sums up this wonderful island really).

The site doesn't have a card machine so take cash, the shop in the village has a free cash machine if you forget.

Cal Mac now allow motorhomes up to 6m at the car rate.

Excellent site to use as a base to explore this gem of an island - a credit to everyone involved.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johari 8 reviews from this member

We camped at Port Mor for 7 nights in July 13, and had a brilliant holiday. The site was perfect for our boys aged 11 & 8, with the football pitches and play park. The view from the site is amazing over Loch Indaal.

The showers, toilets and washing up block was kept spotless, and we never had to wait for a shower. We never used the cafe, but it was always busy with locals and campers alike. The best place to pitch up is along the bottom bottom for the view, these pitches filled up quickly, but plenty of spaces elsewhere too and the view would still be fine. What a great community facility this is.

The weather was hot and sunny the whole week, and we spent a lot of time on the beaches, the local ones are lovely. The distilleries are worth visiting, the local one, Bruichladdich, was the most welcoming, giving myself and the boys complimentary juice and water on a hot day while hubby sampled a malt or two. We also had a nice lunch at Ardbeg. Finlaggan and the American Monument also worth a visit.

We looked at Kintra campsite while there, but felt that Port Mor was the right right choice for us. It was a great base base for the whole island, and one of our most enjoyable camping trips, would definitely recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rexxie 26 reviews from this member

We loved the laid back and friendly feel of Islay.

This community run campsite is situated on the edge of Port Charlotte village with most pitches overlooking the bay with views to Jura and beyond. The helpful and friendly wardens were a credit to the place.

The facilities are shared by the community - you walk past the football pitches to the shower/toilet block. There are separate toilets and showers for both men and women. Facilities incredibly clean but the shower area (Ladies) was quite small -and appeared busy at times and a little reminiscent of school changing rooms.

There is a cafe/restaurant open until 8pm which also sells postcards and gifts.

There is Wifi at a 3 pound a day charge for use with own device or 1 hour loan of a laptop- wifi coverage in the centre only.

Port Charlotte centre is a short walk away -it is a pretty and friendly village. There is a small shop and a pub and a hotel. Would recommend the hotel bar -with sea views-the bar meals looked fab- unfortunately did not get a taste as tables fully booked when we called in The hotel has a restaurant also.

There is a local bus stop a short distance from the site.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3665 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1484