Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Domaine De L Etang

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Domaine De L Etang
Route De St Mathurin
Brissac Quince
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
49320   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 02 41 91 70 61

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby:
1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
              9/10 from 13 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Ninja 47 5 reviews from this member

We had a wonderful week here at this pleasant picturesque site. Facilities are generally very good.

3 swimming pools, outdoor cool and shallow, toddler pool and an indoor heated one.

Lovely cycle rides from site and route information provided.

Nice walk along the river to the local town and just over the road there is a nice little amusement park.

Reception could be slow but other than that very good.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevimarr 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site as the first stop on our 2 week holiday in late July. Arrived one day late due to a breakdown and missed ferry but that's another story!

We stayed for 7 nights and arrived late afternoon. We were given a large pitch in the middle of the site with high hedges all around. Partly shaded through morning and evening. The further away from the reception leads to the larger camping and mobile home area which is less shaded, but still good.

Toilet/shower facilities were in good order and I found them to be clean and tidy. As mentioned in previous posts the disabled workers were in evidence early mornings. Play facilities for the kids were in good condition and the both pools were clean and tidy. My son certainly gave it the thumbs up. There is a bar attached to the pool but on our visit never appeared to be staffed which was odd! The restaurant on site was good, not a great choice of food, but certainly adequate. Once a week there are tastings of the local wines. Also a large E Leclerc is situated just south of Brissac Quince.

Overall this is a pleasant site, not too big, and quiet enough for adults to enjoy. It is an excellent base for Chateau Exploring!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bofs 33 reviews from this member

Returned to this site after 6 years, as we were in the area, curious to see what it was like out of the main season. Surprised at how many pitches were occupied in comparison with the other sites we'd been on this holiday, although I would say it was still only about a third full at most. Reception was fine, though not as welcoming as some other sites, and the site still had a nice feel to it. Part of the main toilet block was closed but the one we used on the original part of the site was very clean and well-maintained, with plenty of hot water. The disabled workers were still in evidence, obviously getting the site ready for the high season and it was good to recognise some from our previous visits. The trees and shrubs on the newer part of the site are now established and will provide some necessary shade but the pitches are still so enormous that part of them will also be in the sun, giving the best of both worlds. We still liked the site and love its location, and would return if in the area again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julie s 11 reviews from this member

This peaceful and well kept campsite is situated in the Anjou wine growing region of France and so is in a pretty location surrounded by vineyards. The site even produces its own wine which for sale in the campsite shop.

When we arrived I found the lady in reception not very welcoming and quite harassed. Also the pitch that we was allocated was already taken when we got to it- this however was to our advantage as our allocated pitch had been in a very crowded part of the site despite the site only being half full and so we were allowed to choose our own pitch in a much less crowded, prettier part of the site. On booking through the Caravan Club though I had booked us a special pitch with electricity, water and drainage on the pitch- the original pitch we were allocated on arrival was not a special pitch and also when we looked around before choosing our new pitch we noticed that every pitch seemed to just share water. And so if you book through the Caravan Club I would just pay for a standard electric pitch.

We found all the rest of the staff to be very nice.

The toilets and showers were kept clean and there was always plenty of hot water.

There is entertainment organised on site- kids club in the mornings, afternoon pool or sports activities, a mini disco at 7pm followed by low key evening entertainment.

The pool area is nice-there is an outdoor pool and also a covered pool.

There is a small lake, which is full of big fish, in the centre of the site. Most of the lake is fenced apart from the jetty from where it is possible to fish- the jetty is next to the children's swings and so little ones who like wandering will need to be watched! However there are two other good play areas on site.

Brissac Quince is a very pretty town with a weekly market on Thursdays. Also in the town is the very impressive Brissac Castle which is the permenant residence of the Duke of Brissac- the grounds are open to the public and there is an English guided tour inside the castle once a day.

Angers (nice shops, castle) is also a short drive away.

The best thing about the site for us though (we are a family with 3 children) was the adjoining Parc de Loisirs leisure park which seemed to be owned by the campsite. People staying on the campsite get free entrance- although you will need to ask at reception for your tickets as on our arrival nothing was mentioned about this, (we only found out when we picked up an information leaflet about the leisure park). The leisure park is great for children with plenty to keep them happy- pony rides, a train, trampolines, bouncy castles, waterslides, pedalos, swimming in the lake and lots more. The park is well kept and the staff are very nice and all seem to take great pride in their work. When we arrived the lady offered to stamp our hands so that we could nip back to the caravan for lunch, swimming things etc.

I would use this campsite again if we returned to this part of France.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StuartL171 1 review from this member

We were at the site in the last week of June and first week of July It is a lovely flat and well maintained site with friendly staff, however 1 large toilet/washing block was cordoned off, leaving only 6 male toilets for the whole site, which had no paper for an entire weekend, despite being cleaned at least twice a day. They are relying on caravanners having their own facilities. The shop was small but did some nice wine and had the essentials, bread can be ordered the night before and was supertasty. We didnít use the bar. There were three kiddies play areas, one by the pond with swings and the bounciest rocking elephant I have ever seen, some swings and a slide near the reception and quite a large playpark with a climbing wall, swings and roundabout behind the reception block. If your child is over 8 though there isn't much to keep them entertained. Kids club in high season but is mostly aimed at younger children.

The Security on site is laughable, the gate shuts at 10, but there are 3 other ways in that are in no way barred, not even a squeaky gate! Our tent was one of 3 that got slashed (05/07/11) and my partnerís shorts were stolen, go figure. However the Montana is now well and truly bust and the 3 nights that we had left at the site were sleepless with my 9 year old daughter asking what would happen if the robbers came back. It doesnít really matter how pretty the site is if you end up feeling unsafe in your pitch.

Puy du Fou is an hour away and at least worth a full days investigation, plenty of chateaux, vineyards, troglodytes, abbeys and a fine zoo in the area. Thereís a large Leclerc 5 mins drive away in Brissac, and a huge hyperU in Murs- Erigne.

Would I recommend this site? Only if you have a caravan that you can secure.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaypea74 5 reviews from this member

We really liked this site - it is immaculately maintained, the plentiful washing facilities were the cleanest I've ever come across on a campsite, an absolute pleasure to use. There are flowers and plants everywhere and the pitches are large and well shaded. There's a good mix of nationalities and the site has a very friendly atmosphere. There are three great pools, bike hire, wine tastings and one night there was a band on in the bar. Best of all there's a free kids club every morning from 9.30-12.00 and a 'mini-disco' each evening, fantastic for keeping the children busy!

The park across the road is also great for kids and the free tickets for campers are an excellent bonus. Brissac-Quince is a nice little town with it's very own castle and a fantastic market on Thursdays. There's also a huge E.Leclerc hypermarche. There's a fishing lake on-site and a lovely stream running alongside the site that makes a good walk.

The only downside is that the on-site restaurant isn't very good, but with the town so close it hardly mattered. All in all a lovely stay and we were sorry to leave.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4762 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1094