Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping L Ile Des Papes

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Site Reviews

Camping L Ile Des Papes
Villeneuve Les Avignon
Gard
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
30400   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 04 90 15 15 90

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)

Pitches: 260
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
              7/10 from 11 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 34 reviews from this member

Large Commercial site, part of the Campeole group. Situated on an island between two channels of the Rhone, close to the Barrage de Villeneuve (Dam). Site has a mix of Touring pitches, statics and pre-erected tents. There were three different areas for tourers and tents, we were on the area furthest from reception. The pitches here were mainly dirt and stones with very little grass. Other areas had more grass. We had some afternoon shade on our pitch. Toilet & shower facilities were modern and well maintained. No seats on toilets, and paper was on large rolls outside the cubicles. There were several dotted about the site. Bread and croissants available from the site restaurant each morning. Nice pool with separate kids area with fountains etc. There is entertainment (disco or similar) most nights in the bar, with music till midnight, which could disturb you. This was usually advertised by staff touring the site on golf buggies with loud speaker. I can imagine that the noise of the water coming through the sluices in the dam could be annoying if you were at that end of the site. The site is nicely situated close to Avignon and its attractions. There is an hourly bus to Avignon from the site gates (check timetable, doesn’t run at lunch time) which is useful as parking in Avignon fills quickly!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pinkfeebee 9 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to L'Ile des Papes. We like the area - it is a good base for visits to Avignon, Orange and all the historical castles and wine producers in the area such as Chateauneuf des Papes. The location of the campsite on an island makes it ideal for exercising a dog on a hot day - plenty of water for them to cool off in. Plus there's a convenient path by the Rhone for a morning run. The site itself has a large area for caravans and motorhomes. Our motorhome is 8. 5m long and we had no problem finding a sufficiently large pitch with shade; the ground is sandy with little grass but that doesn't seem to be uncommon towards Southern Europe. The toilet block closest to our camping area wasn't the best - a bit smelly; however both of the other blocks (closer to the mobile homes which presumably have their own plumbing) were quieter, cleaner and much less smelly.

The facilities for kids are great - brilliant swimming pools and lots of activities (in French). It is a noisy, bustling site in the daytime but we found it quietened down fine at night.

The bar is fine but the restaurant is a bit limited in choice - it's pizza or grilled meat. Three courses (buffet starter, pizza/meat, buffet dessert) is 15Euro which is good value. The snack bar does roast chicken to take away which we had twice in our week and it was delicious both times.

We could not get any wifi signal anywhere - it was supposed to be ok by the bar/restaurant but didn't work for us.

We would go back but it would be nice if they improved the toilets and the wifi.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 26 reviews from this member

On our first night at this campsite we opted for a pitch backing onto the river, but found the noise from the nearby weir/sluice gates was excessive and, when combined with the train noise, it was just too much so we decided to move on. However, we then saw a nice vacant pitch on the other side, near to the pools area and so relocated and ended up staying here for 5 nights.

There are 2 x excellent pool areas: one for toddlers (deck chairs instead of sunbeds and little slides etc) and one for adults. The adult pools are not very deep but great for cooling off. The pool area can get very busy, even out of season, and people reserve sunbeds with towels. Vacant beds are taken within seconds!

We got a lot of mosquito bites during our stay, probably due to pitch proximity to the pond area

There is entertainment each night until about 11:30pm.

There is a little shop on-site, selling grocery basics (most are labelled 'Géant') and bread, croissants etc must be ordered.

There was no security presence on site during our stay. The gates are closed between 11pm - 7am but someone on an adjacent pitch to ours must have left their car inside the barrier as they then drove to their pitch at around 4:30am and continued to talk - loudly - while they entered their tent and got ready for bed.

The sanitaires were okay, but limited. They are divided into men's and women's, each with just three showers to each section. This is a big site so, I suspect there might be some queues in high season. Loo roll is situated outside the cubicles so you have to remember and take it in with you.

Each sanitaire block has laundry facilities (washers costing either 4 or 8 euros, depending on size, and dryer 2 euros - they take coins).

Avignan is within easy driving distance and is well worth a visit.

Would we return? It seemed good value on ACSI, so possibly so. I wouldn't fancy a stay in high season, though!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bobbymax 9 reviews from this member

What a dump!

We planned to stay four days but left after two after returning on the second to find our pitch had been hijacked by Slovakian bikers.

When we complained we were told we'd have to move as the bikers couldn't be traced then ended up backing on to a bunch of Romanian migrant workers who were obviously using the site as a home-from home.

There was rubbish everywhere, the toilets were, at best, basic and the whole site was dilapidated apart from the new kiddies water area.

I thought sites like this had disappeared 30 years ago and would give it a wide berth.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mzzy 10 reviews from this member

Pleasantly surprised with this site, after reading some bad reviews about it.

We stayed for a week, it was very hot weather.

The new kids paddling pool is great. Bar good. Shop small, didn't sell much, but we shopped at the nearby supermarket. Pitches are big, dry, with shade and very hard and rocky, you won't get a normal peg in the ground here! Not many other Brits staying there, mostly French families. Good fishing on site. Avignon is well worth a visit. Quite a lot in the local area for a trip out to see.

For us the bad bits were the toilets and showers, although old and clean, they smelled quite bad, from the drains, it made me feel a bit sick towards the end of the holiday.

There was also lots of noise at night, A disco or singer on every night, which went on until well after midnight, then there were gangs of teenagers running around the campsite. Well in to the small hours. One night they threw plant pots in to the swimming pool, meaning it was shut the next day. I really think some kind of security is needed for the busy August weeks.

Didn't find the staff very helpful when we lost our money in the washing machine, they told us not their problem and to ring the phone number on the machine, which I found quite funny! Anyway we didn't back down and in the end we got some tokens from them, we found the customer service some what lacking. Would we go back? Yes but in the quieter season.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smudge1997 7 reviews from this member

I just wanted to add to what has been written about this campsite. We stayed here with another family, turning up on a very windy day. I must admit thinking what have we arrived too. However things really looked up from then on. This is a gem of a site, as mentioned the swimming pools are fantastic with activities for the kids to keep them entertained.

The free bus into Avignon is a bonus, and whilst the Avignon festival is on, the last bus isn't until 10. 30pm which is great for a night out.

The small restaurant served good food but it is advisable to book a table.

Would we go back, yes; as we've started looking for next year and nothing comes close to this sites facilities, in this area.

All in all a great site with excellent facilities at a good price, what could be better!

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Languedoc Roussillon   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5014 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0972
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window