Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Le Moulin Du Roch

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Site Reviews

Castel Le Moulin Du Roch
Route Des Eyzies
Sarlat
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24200   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 05 53 59 20 27

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 195
Open: 08/05 To 14/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
              8/10 from 12 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailbonney 14 reviews from this member

Just back from this site. It was our first venture to the Dordogne area. On the whole we enjoyed both area and site although weather was very changeable with some rain every day! I spoke to rest of family (OH, 18yr old and 9yr old sons)and these are our pros and cons

Pros

Great reception, bar and indoor games (snooker and table football)

Beautifully maintained site

Very clean facilities

Great area to visit, lots to do and see

Good pool area

Snack shop chips - great

Cons

Pitches quite tight and shady really does mean very very shady!

Wifi useless!

Distance and hills/steps to toilets/ showers and washing up facilities

Entertainment bit hit and miss

Restaurant menu limited and didn't change from week to week.

Places to go

Canoeing/kayaking down Dordogne or Vezeres

Roque Saint Christophe

Lascaux II

Chateau de Fenelon

Great meal at Mentalo restaurant (Les Elzies de Tayac)

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nc-woods 4 reviews from this member

We had a wonderful stay here nothing was too much trouble for staff. Only thing that marred our stay was the fact that there was no notice of the rotisserie closing for the season, otherwise couldn't fault it.

Toilet blocks were spotless at all times pitches were plenty big enough for caravan, awning and car.

Restaurant was excellent not my favourite type of food in this area but well cooked and presented

Close to Sarlat and all attractions don't miss taking a canoe trip even for the aged it's great fun

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dodger936 8 reviews from this member

Well, what can I say, we started planning this holiday some months ago and had some excellent advice and assistance from other members.

We wanted to go to this area because my parents used to go to the Dordogne 20 years ago and they always raved about it. We looked for a site in the area and came across 'Le Moulin du Roche'

It looked an excellent site with good facilities and it also had great reviews on here, so we booked it!

We then found out from my Aunty and Uncle that not only was this the same area that Mum and Dad used to go, it was exactly the same site!

Anyway, was it all worth it, of course it was.

This has been the best holiday that we can remember. It was simply fantastic. We arrived on a Sunday in the pouring rain but then didn't see any more until the following Sunday. Apart from that the weather was fantastic. With regard to the site,

PROS -

Fantastic facilities, always clean and we didn't queue once while we were there.

Showers nice and hot and free

Situation - beautiful location, lovely site and area, nice walks, (we went on one of the mapped walks through the forests and I can't remember any nicer scenery, it was like being in a Disney film).

Shop - had everything we needed and a great selection of freshly baked goodies every morning. You simply put your name on the list outside the shop the night before and ticked the box(es) of the eight or nine choices that were there. Next day, you collected it from the shop and enjoyed it in the sunshine!

Reception - excellent, very helpful and good discounts available. We went canoeing down the Dordogne and it was not only arranged and booked for us by reception, they gave us a hefty discount as well! That was a day to remember for the rest of our lives and was worth the journey to the Dordogne on it's own! haha

The bar was our favourite haunt between 5ish - 7ish and we would sit outside watching the boules or just cooling down with an ice cold beer or some surprisingly potent home made sangria at 2 euros a glass.

The restaurant was great and we used it more than we've ever used an on-site eatery as the food was so good. The daily set menu was varied and very reasonable at 12 euros for 3 courses. The steak for 20 euros was mind blowing. It consisted of a very large piece of fillet, (not a slice but a whole end piece). This came on a very hot marble platter that you actually cooked it on yourself! You sliced a piece off and cooked it to your taste and enjoyed it! Heaven.

Pool area was super clean and pool was very very nice when it got hot.

The staff couldn't do enough and you could tell that they enjoyed making the holiday as good as it was.

I will be counting the days until we go back there.

Please remember that different people like different things and this was ideal for my Wife and I. It also looked great for families with children but it was 6 miles from the town of Sarlat so there was driving involved. Would I recommend it? of course!

Thanks again to the members on here who gave us invaluable advice and thanks to Le Moulin Du Roche.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplehat 26 reviews from this member

I would agree with others that this is a good campsite and thus I won't go over the good points. I do need however to add one major caveat. We had a less than happy time here and if we could have left we would have done but they would not refund any money at all, and as it is a very expensive site, we could not take 'the money hit' ( we had paid for two weeks)and just move on.

We had very specifically requested a quiet restful area on a 'grand comfort' pitch. The pitch was a good size but opposite the speakers from the swimming pool area. Every day, the speakers blasted out English pop music of the boom boom variety at all hours of the day, starting with pool aerobics at 10 pm. It was incredibly loud, the French lady next to us complained that it hurt her ears. It was certainly the loudest I have ever heard on any campsite in my 25 years of camping and caravanning.

The disco thankfully is only once a week but went on until 12:15, but there were other musical shows as well.

If you want peace and quiet there are many areas you can choose from but not with a grand comfort pitch, so please be aware of this.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jamatsue 1 review from this member

Totally agree with previous comments. The weather was fantastic. Everything about our holiday was great. All staff were always happy and nothing was too much trouble. We were also on a serviced pitch near the main area which was lovely - close to everything but never noisy. The area is gorgeous - our 2 boys (12 & 10) said the highlight of the holiday was canoeing down the Dordogne; Sarlat and Rocamadour are a must see. We always stay on a Castels site when in France and this site is ideal if you want enough going on but not feel that you are at 'Butlins' abroad. The whole site has a lovely family atmosphere. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stretch83 7 reviews from this member

Phew, what a scorcher - arrived in 39 degree heat, the warmth of the air was equal to the greeting when we arrived at site. Two adults and two children (7&13). We had booked a premium pitch, which came with full service facilities for waste and water, table and chairs for six, two sun loungers, sun umbrella, bbq and fridge - all in our own little shed. Fantastic - wholly recommend the extra. The two pools were warm and very inviting in the heat; the two wash blocks were clean and there was always space no matter what time of day / night. You can order bread / croissants for breakfast everyday, orders in by 6pm the day before. A samll, but well stocked shop on site was good, prices keen to compete with local Carefore at Sarlat (c. 10kms away). We booked a canoe trip down the river Dordogne with pick up from the site - very good, even with a 7 yr old.

Great site from which to explore the regions history of prehistoric man, cave dwellings and paintings and also the famed 'goose' etc etc

Camp site was very quite from around 10. 45pm onwards and cars are banned from 10. 30pm. Most of the managed sites are near the 'lake' but we had one much closer to all the main facilities, pool, snack - takeaway service, bar and restaurant, which was very, very good.

Great site, great location and we were lucky with unbelievable weather, with the odd thunder storm, but all cleared through by morning. We will certainly revisit.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aquitaine   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3053 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1074