Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brocklehead Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Brocklehead Farm
Roman Road
Blacksnape
Darwen
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB3 3PJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01254 703742

Facilities:  (Key)
        

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  5m  5m 

Pitches: 30
Open: 15th February To 16th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
              8/10 from 18 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirsten-Jayne 4 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, ideal for a weekend away, close to home. Campsite is clean and owners are friendly and helpful. Facilities- showers, toilets and sinks for washing up are spotless. There's obviously bins for rubbish too that were emptied daily and toilet disposal and drinking water tap. Notice boards are available with up to date information about the local pubs and things to do. The Punch Bowl is in easy walking distance and welcomes children and dogs. The children had fun on the small playground central to the campsite.

Yes the campsite is windy but our tent stood up well to the test with its steel poles!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nic3101 29 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weekend at this farm. It's literally 15 miles from our home, but we'd rather be out in our van than stuck at home looking at 4 walls.

The farm itself is very high up on the Moors. So, as a result you get an almost perfect 360 degree view of the surrounding areas including Darwen Tower (put there for Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee).

The down side to this as many have already pointed out is you are exposed to the elements and for any who camped this weekend 22-24 June - you will be well aware there were floods all over the North West including Darwen. Luckily for us, we were high enough to not suffer with flooding, we did however get the backlash of the wind and rain which was truly atrocious.

The farm itself was very clean, and tidy, the grass was perfectly manicured, the little play area was great for our boys & all the other children.

The Shower block was honestly the best I have used. The exterior has been newly painted, then inside instead of a row of loo's and a row of sinks then separate showers, there were three large cubicles and each contained a sink, shower & loo! So, for Mrs, Fussy like me - just perfect and immaculate too.

We went with our little local camping club (on a rally) so not sure of the normal fees, but found it very very reasonable.

As others have said, you can't really put your awning up - it's too windy, so travel light.

It's handy for Blackburn & Darwen for shops, or a bit further you have Boundary Mill.

There's a great little pub just round the corner from the campsite that does meals for under a £5. Becuase we couldn't put up our marquee, we all went to the pub and the landlady happily arranged a back roon for us as we all had children - very accomodating, we even joined in with the locals on the karaoke machine! :)

Will definitely go back here, fabulous facilities, fantastic views, great area to be.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Candgf 5 reviews from this member

My husband and I went here for a 3 night stay over Easter to visit friends. The weather had become cold but wasn't too concerned as apart from that it looked like a good place to stay.

Unfortunately there was no heating working in the toilet/shower block so having a shower was out of the question as it was freezing, also the hot water kept running out just filling a small bowl to wash dishes!

the ground is very uneven which makes finding a flat surface to pitch difficult. I would like to emphasise you are on top of a very exposed hill so if you are considering camping in a tent go when the weather forecasts little or no wind. We had a weather front come around on us and it flattened our fremont 8 tent, shredding 2 poles on the first day! All the owner had to say was the tent was too big which there is no statement on the web site to tent limitations nor did they say once they saw it pitched up. They refused to give us a refund of the 2 days and nights we we unable to stay, they offered a free night next time but as our tent is too big its very unlikely we will return.

They stated they were aware of the heating and water issue but it wouldn't be fixed in our stay. This was not told to us when we booked only 7 days prior to arrival! Also they stated the wind nearly blew their house roof off and yet did not make sure anyone camping was safe.

The electric was also intermittent and kept tripping out. My husband requires a cpap machine for medical reasons and it kept stopping requiring us going out the tent to turn back on.

Although the web site states family tents are welcome I would consider any size tent above a 3mtr x 2 mtr may find it difficult if it gets windy or very heavy rain as their is no shelter.

It says it has disabled access. I would find it difficult to use the site if I was in a wheelchair or crutches etc, the ground is uneven, the road is large crushed rubble and there is a step into the disabled toilet. It was locked so couldn't get in but if it didn't have a shower the showers in the mens/ladies has a step in and out. They are very clean and well stocked though, with 2 shower rooms with a toilet mirror and sink and a further 2 toilets.

The pot wash outside is 2 sinks where the bins are for rubbish and recycling. There is fire fighting equipment at the toilet block too.

The children's play area is ok a bowl style swing and small climbing frame, we did see other playground equipment to one side so there may be more being installed which will be good.

It is close to the motorway and other villages and facilities. A good place to have a base so you can go to Bolton, Blackburn, Burnley, Nelson and Manchester. There is pubs and takeaways near by and some do deliver.

There is several supermarkets close by, Sainsburys, Asda, Tesco and Burnley is only 15mins away and its like a mini city centre with a shopping centre with most high street stores.

I would like to say we know the owners could not control the weather, and it was unfortunate how it changed so fast on us and caused the damage and up set. But it was their lack of concern and how they dealt with us that has made us feel let down. We will not be returning here.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rustbucket5 1 review from this member

We have just got home after four lovely days at Brocklehead, its a great site, like other reviews the first two days were windy but on the last two days the wind had died down and you couldn't ask for a more peaceful site.

The views are spectacular over the East Lancashire moors and in the other direction Darwen Tower stands magnificently overlooking the valley.

There's lots of wildlife and if birdwatching is your thing you won't be disappointed. The site is well laid out with big pitches and plenty of space in between caravans.

The shower and toilet block are very clean and well looked after, and the owners are very friendly and helpful you can buy lovely freerange eggs from the farm, delicious for breakfast.

There is a paper shop a few minutes walk away that sells bread and milk and other essentials.

The town of Darwen has lots of shops and small supermarkets and is well worth a visit and a short drive away is Blackburn, that has everything you could need and, a great new market.

Motor way access is only a couple of miles away and you can get to all the many attractions that Lancashire has to offer easily, Blackpool, Southport, Camelot.

Chorley and Preston are great little market towns. The Trough of Bowlands only half an hour away by car, one of Lancashires amazing places.

We will definitely be visiting Brocklehead again and it will not be long before we do.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MattCharlie 17 reviews from this member

I have visited here twice before on rally events. My last visit was July 2011 and I went last minute as I had been let down by another site. I rang up and booked Brocklehead and the owner was very friendly and accommodated 2 caravans and a tent no problem.

The site is good value for money at £13. 00 a night with electric. The site is rectangular with grass pitches down the left and along the top of the site, whilst there is hardstandings down the right hand side of the field.

There is a large grassed area in the middle which is ideal for children and also a climbing frame and swing for children to play on. All pitches have electric hookup but you don't have to use it should you prefer non electric.

There is unfortunately only 1 water tap for the site which is by the entrance so can be a bit of a walk if your up at the top end but this wouldn't put me off going again. The toilets and showers are clean and reasonably modern.

The best thing being the showers aren't those silly push button types most caravan sites have so you can have a proper shower in them. There is wasing up sinks provided at the amenities block for tenters which looked quite large and would be useful for those that don't have there own facilities.

The views from the site are brilliant in either direction but as the site is so exposed it can get windy. 2 out of the 3 times there has been a breeze but a windbreak soon sorts that out. The electrics can sometimes be iffy on this site dependant on the pitch you get. Its powerful enough for your lights and heating on 1000W but not a great deal more.

The pitch I was on this last time however allowed me to power my hoover and at nights the heating was on 2000W as it got chilly and it didn't trip out.

I think this is just dependant on pitch. The Punchbowl Inn is just a short walk away and is OK for couple of drinks. Its quite oldie worldy and the landlord and landlady very friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hollander 2 reviews from this member

Just returned after a fantastic three nights stay at Brocklehead Farm. With two boys not wanting to travel too far, this campsite fitted the bill perfectly.

The site is fabulous, lots of space and GREAT for the kids. Showers and toilets were excellent, showers hot and no queuing.

Only one thing on downside didn't fathom out how to lock the toilet and shower doors :/ Very friendly owners who let you 'get on with it' Supermarkets are only 2-3 miles away. Will definitely be returning the this campsite - you cant beat it :)

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4688 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1055