Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Letang Des Haizes

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Site Reviews

Camping Letang Des Haizes
43 Rue Cauticotte
St Symphorien Le Valois
La Haye Du Puits
Normandy   (Browse area)
50250   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 2 33 46 01 16

Facilities:  (Key)
                      

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  10m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 6 April - 8 October 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
              9/10 from 21 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Nitnat 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here during May half term and picked this site as it and the reviews said it was a good base for visiting the D Day beaches. Unfortunately we found it to be a little too far out, having to travel a good hour each day to visit any of them. The last time we came for the D Day beaches we stayed at Tournieres and that seemed a more central location for them.

We also chose this site on the basis you could order bread/croissants - unfortunately it must only be in high season as when we asked about it they said not!

I liked the fact the reviews mentioned English speaking staff, another reason for choosing the site. The lady at check in communicated with me typing in on google translate and showing it to me, and the others spoke very basic English. I appreciate we are in France, but as our own French is very basic we tend to choose those sites where English speaking staff is advertised.

There was a site BBQ whilst we were there with meats, chips and sangria, but unfortunately apart from a sign saying 'No snacks tonight' we knew nothing about it until they were wheeling the BBQ back in and getting a bit louder in the bar! If this would be something you'd like to attend, then it might be worth asking the owners when it will be.

It may sound as though we didn't actually enjoy our time here, these were just our niggles! On a positive note it was a nice, relatively small and well kept site and the static caravans for rental were nice and modern & well equipped, although it was an old fashioned hob kettle as opposed to an electric one, and there were no kitchen scissors. Little niggles, but did have an effect!

The pool area, again quite small was nice and well looked after. I did not actually go in, so cannot comment on the temperature. It was very quiet during our stay, but I imagine in high season it may get a little overcrowded.

The boys enjoyed the fishing lake too, plenty of fish in there!

I think this site, even thought go it does have facilities for children is more geared towards older couples and those who have bought their own statics there.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hobart0406 9 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed this campsite. It was consistently peaceful, with few cars moving around (and all of them carefully). Some noise at night from the on site bar/restaurant, but nothing to keep us awake, and it didn't go on late into the night. But the site just had a relaxed, friendly feel to it that we very much enjoyed.

Our boys played with others on the football pitch at the top of the site (they said they wished it had bigger goals though!). They met other young people, and enjoyed their company.

Lovely pool, but it was a big irritation to my boys that it was 'trunks only' and no swimming shorts. Perhaps this is a French thing, but my boys did not want to wear 'speedos'. Now if we'd read the printed information better we'd have known about this beforehand. But we hadn't read it, and we've never encountered such a rule before in a pool - in fact we were dumbfounded as to why it was considered necessary! Fortunately, we could buy trunks in the shop at 8. 50 euros each, and some of the boys used their younger brothers shorts so they were tight (and no-one commented on those). But this was a put off for our boys, so be warned, and come prepared!

Table tennis was also on site, but bats and balls had to purchased from the shop. I kicked myself as I had a good set of these at home, but didn't think of bringing them. So, again, please bring these unless you wish to buy them on site.

Those two slight niggles aside, we found the site and facilities good.

Two toilet blocks, with ample showers, enough hot water, and ample places to wash, clean teeth etc. Toilets can be multi-sex, but were usually clean. Paper was in rolls outside the toilets, so you had to collect paper before going into the loo - a bit different.

Site was well lit at night (on a clear night, lovely views of the stars). Water was nearby, electric hook up (I think they assume everyone will want this) was readily accessible though we didn't use it.

Wifi! Yes, that! Available from the bar/restaurant where there are two transmitters. It costs 2 Euros for 4 hours, and that is 4 hours of logging in and out, so total time. So this was sufficient for some of us, and worked fine. But coverage is not available right across the campsite (so it seemed to us). It is possible to buy Wifi in larger amounts if required - as some people cannot live with it eh?!

Lovely to be able to wash dishes within the washrooms so dry, and warm. Again, never busy, and more than enough hot water. And these rooms were cleaned and maintained regularly and well.

The small bar/restaurant had essentials available, including milk, and a few other necessities. Also ice creams, drinks etc. Bread can be ordered the day before and collected in the morning - and a good choice - the pain au chocolats were lovely, as was the bread. We never tried the restaurant food itself, as we cooked for ourselves or ate out during the day.

For bigger shops, the nearby village/town is within walking distance, with a wide range of shops and an Aldi - open until 7. 30pm most nights. There is a buzz in this place, that is missing from other French towns we've been to, so it's helpful to have that nearby. We bought our ice creams from Aldi, and cheaper for other things too!

We were within easy striking distance of Utah Beach, some of the museums, Cherbourg which has an excellent Museum of the Sea (more like 4 Museums in one). We went there one day (taking about 50 minutes I think) and thoroughly enjoyed that for several hours. Well worth visiting on a wet day too!

Mont St Michel is also relatively near - certainly within easy driving distance.

We spent a day in Bayeux, an hour's drive, and enjoyed the tapestry and the shops (this town was hardly damaged in WW2 so maintains a very French, small shop feel, with lots to enjoy.

We also did the Maisy Battery, Omaha Beach and Pointe du Hoc, all worthwhile places to visit. And, as it was an invasion area, it's worth realising that the beaches are very good. For instance, at Omaha, you can park almost anywhere near the beach, for free. The road goes along, right behind the beach. Beautifully sandy and more or less empty!

On a previous visit to the area with went to the American Cemetery near Omaha, that too is well worth visiting.

So a lovely stay, with slight reservations about the pool regime. If we wanted to visit this part of Normandy again we'd definitely consider this campsite. (It's well signposted from the main road. )

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donnac 1 review from this member

Best site in Normandy, We have visited most sites in Normandy and this is the best one

We have been going to this site for around 8 years. Spotless and clean. People are really friendly and helpful and the site is perfect. This site is a must of you want a great holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alumchinegirl 3 reviews from this member

This is one of our favourite sites that we have visited over the past 15 years of Touring in France, staying at various times and length. This year we Stayed on this lovely site for 2 weeks, with the Tour de France passing through Haye du Puits, on the middle Saturday.

It is a lovely quiet site with large hedged pitches, very good, clean showers and a lovely Pool with slide and large fishing lake. The family and staff are very helpful and there is a small bar where the WC football was watched.

The town of Haye du Puits is within 10 mins walk and there are good shops and Resturants there and a very good Market on a Wednesday. You can access many lovely sandy Beaches between 15/ 30mins drive and also the WW sites and Beaches 30mins + drive.

The icing on the cake was seeing the Cycle race go through the town and all the celebrations. The campsite was busy for the weekend but very well organised and did not feel crowded at all.

A wonderful Holiday despite a little rain, wonderful sitting hearing the birds, and Church Bells ringing, we love this site and as it is an easy 40 kms from Cherbourg we will return again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 20 reviews from this member

Sorry only stayed the one night, what a lovely site, the pitches still looked good. The facilities were in good condition and clean. It is a nice walk into hay du puits were there are plenty of shops to suit your needs. With it's location we will definitely be returning for a longer stay during the season. But not the first week of July as the Tour de France is visiting!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil rawson 3 reviews from this member

Just had 9 nights at this site. It was superb. Could not have wished for a better site in any way

Great size pitch. You can choose your own if they not too busy. Pool great warm enough when we were there. Nice bar area. Fab toilets and showers they're mixed male and female but don't let it put you off they're fantastic. Clean water warm on all occasions we visited

The lake great for fishing. Fish will keep you busy whatever bait your using

Two mins in car to town and supermarkets or 20 min stroll if you prefer

Great location to visit all major sights in Normandy. To sum up excellent site. Would not hesitate to recommend. 5***** no hesitation to give 10/10 for everything. Great price too

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Normandy   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2296 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec