Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sunnymead Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Sunnymead Farm
Nr Woolacombe
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 8NZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01271 879845

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m   5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   5m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
              8/10 from 26 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pbrad39 3 reviews from this member

Another good holiday at a most pleasant site good too see the new statics are not encroaching on the camping field. Showers and toilets clean as last year. Baguettes every bit as good as last year. According t my daughter's we will be back next year. If your looking for a small family site then this is for you.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Koffeebreak 1 review from this member

Just back from a week in devon staying at Sunnymead camp site.

We arrived in the middle of the storm with very high winds, unfortunately we couldn't get our tent up and had to sleep that night in our van where we were at least warm dry and safe.

The site owner was extremely helpful and let us put all our camping equipment in a spare stable until the next day when we were able to get the tent up. He also lent us some tent poles.

We found this lovely little site to be very well situated for all local beaches and towns.

The road can be heard at times but in no way spoiled our peace.

The facilities were clean and adequate for our needs, we didn't ever have to wait for a shower or toilet.

Plenty of hot water.

Easy to find with good access.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mothergriff 2 reviews from this member

The site was easy to find, Owners were very friendly and the surrounding area was stunning. Unfortunately the washrooms/ showers and toilets were not cleaned often enough and there was only one female, one male and one family toilet for 30 pitches. The site is very close to a main and very busy road therefore very noisy. The children's play area seemed well built, there was a grass area in front of the pitches but too small for a game of football without annoying your neighbours. No café was seen, nor was it mentioned by the owners. In our opinion the site is well over priced for what you get as there is much better for less in the near vicinity. We sited our caravan here and toured the area by car.

Management response: We are sorry you had issues with your stay and wished you had spoken to us during your stay as we are always keen to ensure all our visitors have an enjoyable holiday and we try to do our upmost to make it so.

Our site is accessed from the B3343, the main road to Woolacombe and Morthoe, this can be busy at times but does have the advantage of not having to negotiate the very narrow lanes that surround the area especially when
towing.

Our facilities are checked and cleaned at least 4 times a day and all have signs asking for problems to be reported to reception, which we appreciate being told about when you are with us. We also actually have 5 toilets, 4
showers and a family shower room plus hot dish washing facilities all of which are free.

We offer takeaway food which can be delivered to your pitch; a menu is displayed outside and inside reception.

The centre of each of our 2 camping areas offer plenty of room for soft ball games so parents can watch from the comfort of their pitch.

We may not now be the cheapest site in the Woolacombe area but feel we do offer value for money, as the cheaper sites do not offer the facilities we do.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pbrad39 3 reviews from this member

Really nice site with excellent family wash room

Kids safe to play in front of all pitches as the centre area is left free for them to play. Very friendly owners who were most helpful when are motor home broke down suggesting a good garage and a local car hire firm. Thanks for a lovely stay we will be back, and thanks for the best sausage and bacon baguettes. A special thanks for running us to A+E when lily fell in the motor home.

If your looking for a nice small friendly site with very clean facilities just off the main road so no nasty little bumpy lanes to negotiate then I recommend this site. Easy road access to woolacombe and the surrounding areas.

See you soon

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smithstrio 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fab weekend at this small site and felt we wanted to tell people what a great find it is, but could not believe the review we have just read here which we guess will be below this one. I would check out that persons other reviews looks like they don't rate anywhere they stay! we have never placed reviews online before now but will in the future as it seems those who like a moan like to review!

Well we admittedly had absolutely brilliant weather which always helps but

1 - The site is clean the toilets and showers are cleaned daily and we saw the owners out there at least twice in the day on Saturday as we chose to spend the day on site as the views from our pitch were just great. The J cloths are there to wipe the sinks out after you use them as they have in many of the sites we have been to and as for no towels don't you bring your own when camping not a big deal for us. The only time the water was not hot was very early on Sunday morning but it came through hot after a while so guess we were the first in there.

2- The site was fairly quiet but having visited the area before we found the car parks beaches everything quiet. Our pitch was in what they call the 2nd field still close enough to all facilities but away from the play area which was ideal for us as we took our dog and a bonus you don't find everywhere we didn't have to pay for him. The pitches are huge by the way.

3 - The road - not a problem for us it is as we expected fairly busy as it is the main road down to the beach

4 - Reception - we found this flexible the owners could not do enough to help with advice on where to go dog friendly pubs etc They don't have the reception room open all the time but are available I think about 12 hours a day from the house or by phone

5 - grass was cut ok for us

6 - Hedges - the two camping areas are surrounded by wooden rail fences and a wall/bank blocking it from the road, only hedges we saw were not in the camping areas!

7- we saw no caravans in storage there are 6 which were opposite us and we were talking to one of the owners they are all seasonal pitches and the one we spoke to had been staying at this site for the past 4 summers so guess they like it too.

8 - Dog walking area was left rough and as the owners explained when we arrive this is left so deliberately for the dogs to mooch around in.

9- Ducks for our stay they were in the garden with their duckings

10 - we found it good value at just £14 a night, yes there were some cheaper ones around but we spoke to someone on site that had looked at one of these first and they had a portaloo and a water tap

That's it I could go on as we really enjoyed our long weekend and so did the dog, we would recommend this site, its position in terms of getting to places is great.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bobblebear 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at the campsite for 10 day in June, when we got there we were the only ones on the site, now I know this is the so called midseason, but to say it was in a sorry tired state is an understatement, The grass for the pitches had not been cut, the reception was closed, but there was a note saying call at house, when we were taken to the office to book in, it was very untidy with papers and stuff all over the place.

The general look of the site was overgrown walls were part painted the flower planters were grassed and full of weeds, hedges were wild, to me it looked like it had just been left and not maintained at all, the dog walking area was very over grown, and where the duck/s were looked very neglected.

Even the static caravan area had a broken gate and the hedges were out of control, it was like they had forgotten that had campers coming and had not even started to do any site house keeping

On the second day the owner did start to mow the grass but only in one of the two fields. They seemed to have 5 caravans in storage on other field and nothing else.

In fact while we were there two other campers came one drove in and just turned around and drove out again, the other went to reception and house and came back saying they could not get an answer so drove out too! The site just looked un-inviting but that could be remedied with a lot of TLC and work. But the worst was yet to come!

The wash rooms did look nice in respect of the décor. But that was as far as it goes there was problems listed

1. No paper towels

2. No hot water

3. Toilets not cleaned daily

4. Road outside was used as a race track late in day and at night.

No paper towels only 3 J clothes in the gents and my partner said the same thing about the ladies, these were there the whole of our stay and were not changed at all I even put dirt marks on some to check this.

No hot water, the shower was easy to use but the hot water stopped within about 3 minutes and then there was no water at all, and this was in mid shower, so I had to finish off at one of the three sinks to my horror the same thing happened water for a bit then nothing, all I had was cold so had to finish off in just cold water, this was reported to Peter how said he would take a look, later that day he told me that it had been sorted

The next day the shower was hot and worked, it was nice to have a good shower. Trouble was sinks were the same again, told owner about this and he seemed puzzled and would take another look.

My partners was beginning to suspect that the block on her side was not being cleaned, and after checking mine I could see it was the case too, in fact even when some teenagers came and camped the I can only remember seeing the block on gents side cleaned once more. The WC had no brush in the gents and my partner said the ladies brush was disgusting as she was going to clean the WC herself but after seeing the state of the brush didn’t touch it.

In fact in the gents if the ladies were being used there was no hot water in sinks until they stopped using water, and even then it only trickled out, which was very frustrating.

All in all the site was in a very sorry state and not like the pictures on the web site. We have stayed in sites that were cheaper per night than this and had a much better experience.

I hope the owners can turn this around as it could be a great little site, but I’m afraid we won’t be staying there again

Marks out of 10 from me 3 at the outside

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (North)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2532 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469