Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Les Alicourts Resort

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Les Alicourts Resort
Domaine Des Alicourts
Pierrefitte Sur Sauldre
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41300   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +33 2 54 88 63 34

Facilities:  (Key)
                        

Nearby:
5m  5m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 490
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
              8/10 from 13 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trekkin Tekkie 9 reviews from this member

As the name suggests, this is more of a 'resort' than a camp site. Depending on your preferences this could be a good thing or a bad one. About 70% of pitches, at least, are statics.

Certainly geared to young families, in August at least.

Reception style is more aligned with a modern hotel than a camp site, with uniformed receptionists etc. Prices to match though. And the extortion doesn't end when you have paid for the pitch. 8 euros for one hour wi-fi (!) / 10 Euros per day or 30 for a week. And to get it you have to accept a disclaimer that it will be slow and might not work. Worked for me though - I had to have it because I need to work whilst away.

Our second visit here, this time for a fortnight, having been hear three years ago.

Great site, I suppose, If you're a young family and this is your first continental camping experience. Many I spoke to were doing just that, with young families, and were loving it.

The 'sanitaires' are excellent. Shower temperature is adjustable, pressure reasonable, toilets have seats and toilet roll in the cubicle, and soap is provided for hand-wash. My only quibbles are that the main block is a bewildering labyrinth (so signage, or even a map would be helpful), and why oh why are ALL mens' toilets closed for cleaning between 7 and 8 each morning?

Despite booking 6 months in advance, and asking for a shady pitch, ours had none, until about 6pm each day. We did have some very hot weather during our stay (high 30s) and some shade would have been useful, if only to facilitate keeping food fresh.

The location (in terms of distance south) suits many who don't wish to 'waste' further days travelling, but for me the landscape for miles around the site is rather boring. The roads are long and straight, and heavily lined with woodland. Nearby towns are pleasant enough but too small to offer much for visitors. The chateau at Chambord is spectacular and is a feasible day trip if you can stomach the journey. Orleans is worth a visit too, and on a dull day you can join the convoy that inevitably forms from the site. We parked in the underground car park beneath the cathedral, which was surprisingly reasonable. Alternatively there is a park and ride system involving the new-looking trams.

The pool complex is great, especially for children of all ages. The waves in the wave pool are welcome for those of us who miss the real thing. Of course in high season it is overcrowded, and in our 14 days on site only once did we manage to get a pair of sunbeds. Space between sunbeds is minimal, so as the sun moves around you will not be able to move to follow it. Getting sunbeds on a sunny day involves partaking in the morning queue / sprint / bunfight / towel- spreading ritual.

The lake offers more space. Its usually possible to find adequate space for a decent swim: going along the edge of the wake-boarding area worked best for me.

Play on the pontoon/raft in the lake can get rough and is not for young kids.

Evening entertainment baffled me. It is abysmal, yet draws large audiences. Typically it will be sketches by the life-guards, or a 'Mr Alicourts' (drunk dads) competition. It's very family oriented, and I suppose passes the time, if that's your thing.

Nightime noise; the site rules show a quiet time of 10pm until 7. 30am. Whilst the entertainment can only be barely heard at the far reaches of the site (full-on if you'r pitched near it) it does wrap up around 10. 30 /11. There was lots of noise from people making their way back to their pitches, going on until after 12 most nights. Loud conversations on pitches until 1am, or on one occasion 2am went un-checked by site staff.

If you don't venture out, it is all too easy to forget you are in France. A pity, in my opinion.

If like ourselves, you have friends or family who wish to join you but prefer bricks and mortar, I would recommend Château des Bouffards - 18410 Brinon sur Sauldre - Tel : 02. 48. 58. 59. 88. Our friends invited us to join them over there for dinner and it was excellent and very peaceful.

We did enjoy our stay immensely: the site has lots of good points, and our company was great.

Will we return to Les Alicourts? Probably not. It's expensive, and other sites offer more (French things) to see/do in their immediate vicinity.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markpd999 6 reviews from this member

This is the most expensive campsite I have ever stayed on in France.

We were staying as a quite large group, 3 families, so I was expecting very high standards. I was disappointed straight away when told Wi-Fi was an additional 30 Euros per person per week; having three teenagers in the group this meant 90 Euros. Every thing you do on this site costs extra, Tennis, Frisby Golf.

Good points -

Pool complex is great if a bit small for the size of the site, playground looked good, toilets were clean and showers hot, lake with beach is great, fishing is average.

Now For the main Rant. The Restaurant.

For our second-to-last night we thought it would be a great idea to all have a meal at the site restaurant. There were 15 of us so we had booked well in advance and ordered our meals in advance too. As we walked in it was obvious that the head waiter was not happy, even though they had previous knowledge of what we were eating, Starters took about 40 mins and some of us were given the wrong order but mistakes can be made so being in good spirits this was just laughed off. Then the main courses started to come out, 3 were missing. This meant 12 of us had finished while 3 were still waiting; then when one of the kids got their burger, it came with cheese when we had asked for no cheese so we had to send it back. By this time the waiter was growling at us that this was not his fault. It was starting to be like Fawlty Towers. Still, mains over, we were feeling brave and had a sweet. Frozen profiterole rolls too hard to cut and a black crumble that had to be sent back.

By this time I had had enough and went to reception to complain. Bearing in mind that the site was 6 or 7 miles from the nearest town, and therefore the nearest competition, I had expected a little more effort on their behalf.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: NessP 8 reviews from this member

We stayed in a 6 person Chalet, the last week of August. The weather was great which helped as last time we visited in mayhalf term 4 years ago it rained everyday! The site is large with a mixture of mobile homes, chalets and camping pitches. We were the far side of the lake and loved the location. The pool complex was open at 10am and lots of people were putting their towels on the loungers then disappearing for a couple of hours! Pool complex was lovely, the main pool was a bit chilly, the pool with the slide and chute was warmer. My kids loved the pools. There was a wave pool and a baby pool. The indoor pool was great too, strictly trunks for men, it cost us 7 euros to use it, families allowed in the mornings only at 10. 30.

There is a lake where you can swim, hire pedaloes and canoes. The far side of the lake is for fishing. The shop was open at 8am til midday then from 4pm til 7pm. Bread and croissants etc available in the mornings, we did go early to ensure we could get them each day. Very limited stock in the shop as it was near the end of season. The bar was a bit pricey, didn't have my first two choices of drinks, again maybe as it was near the end of the season. The food at the restaurant was fantastic, although a little expensive. Steak 14 euros, burger and chips 11 euros. We did have food from teh take away which was fine, chips, pizzas etc.

Cant comment on the showers or loos I'm afraid. Playground was lovely for younger children. The lake did have a nice sandy beach which wasn't that busy. The golf course was always quiet, my hubby said it was fine. Not that much to visit in the nearby area to be honest but we knew that from our last visit. Super you in Salbris was 20 minutes, diesel was 1. 29euros.

We had a fantastic stay here, the sunshine helped, the only slightly negative is the location as I said not much to visit nearby but would go back as the sites facilities made up for this.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lord Sc**thorpe 1 review from this member

Just returned from 8 night break at Les Alicourts in a tent.

Excellent site with large pitches. As others have stated toilets, showers etc are exceptionally clean. Huge lake with area sectioned off for fishing. Extremely picturesque with lovely walks around lake etc. When we were there the site was mainly occupied by Dutch families who were all charming and great fun. Shop is a little expensive but not excessively so and ideal for basics like milk and bread. The on site restaurant and takeaway did appear a little pricey though, although quality looked to be good.

Nearest supermarkets are 20 mins away at Salbris (Super U) and Lammotte Beuvon (Intermarche)

Local area is mainly forest and towns are few and far between. Pierrefitte and Brinon are lovely little villages with flowers everywhere. As with most French towns though they were virtually deserted.

Loads of things to do on site such as golf - nice course but artificial greens, football, climbing frames (very clean and excellent condition), basketball, pedalo's, kayaks etc (approx 10 Euros per hour)Pool complex tended to get busy but was very good. Yes water was not hot but neither was it freezing like I have read in other reviews.

Childrens clubs etc were excellent as was the evening entertainment which was mainly geared towards children.

Altogether a fantastic, clean and modern site set in a lovely region, yes a little isolated but the on site facilities more than made up for this.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cleveley 7 reviews from this member

Perfect stopover site, exceptional cleanliness, kids facilities and on site provision.

This site is great if you want to spend most of your holiday on site by the pool/lake or enjoying the vast activities on offer rather than sight seeing. It is quite a drive to explore the main tourist areas of the Loire however.

Pitches were large and felt nicely spaced out. We stayed here for a couple of days enroute to the south of France. Perfect for what we wanted- to relax and stay on site whilst the kids (3 years & 10 months) had fun before driving further south. The play area was fantastic, and the pool complex probably our favourite out of the 7 sites we visited during this holiday.

We would highly recommend this site for a relaxing break, but if you want to see more of France we would recommend you try Chateau des Marais near Chambord or for a more basic site, Hortus at Sully Sur Loire.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbies 3 reviews from this member

This site is wonderful. The pitches were large and spacious. It is well worth booking a 'super' pitch with mains water and drainage. A lake side pitch is highly recommended.

The toilet blocks were immaculate with an excellent toilet block for children (mini toilets, showers and baths for babies and toddlers).
The on-site shop was adequate but slightly more expensive than a supermarket. The 2 lakes were good for children, one for swimming and one for fishing. Take your own frizbee as there is a really good 'frizbee - golf' site next door to the campsite - good fun for all ages.

The on-site entertainment was ok for children. The pools are brilliant - great for all ages and the children loved the wave machine. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The grounds are maintained to a high order. The spa facilities are excellent.
We had a few very hot days (early July) so this year will be travelling further south in the hope of better weather - but I doubt we will find a site as good as this one! The only downside is that the site is pretty remote. It is expensive but well worth the money.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1219 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1152