Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rcn Val De Cantobre

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Site Reviews

Rcn Val De Cantobre
Nant
Aveyron
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
12230   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +33 0565 584 300

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
5m   10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 210
Open: 5 April - 27 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
              8/10 from 6 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 65 reviews from this member

We last stayed here 18 years ago and we are pleased it hasn't really changed a lot! The pool is now a 'pool complex' I suppose and very pleasant. The loos in the area by the pool are very clean. It is quite a walk to them from some areas of the site! The views are fantastic! We didn't go on any of the walks as it was very hot when we were there but we heard how good they were from some people who did go. We explored the source of the river ourselves which was one of the walks, on our way to our next site. A lovely site for couples and families.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Argente4 9 reviews from this member

We (couple with 2 boys aged 6 and 8) spent 7 nights here at the end of August 2010 after having 7 nights on the Mediterranean coast. On arrival the reception was closed for lunch so we parked in the arrivals area, explored the site, and located our pitch and the best route to it.

As has previously been noted, the site is very steep in places but we didn't find it a problem towing.

When we returned to reception it was open and check-in was relatively speedy and straight forward. They gave us a very useful information booklet with details of local attractions such as caves, the velo-rail, and local markets. Unfortunately they did not give us the site events and entertainment leaflet so we missed a couple of things.

Our pitch was at the end of a dead-end terrace and it did take a bit of negotiating to get the van into the correct position. This was partly due to the fact that it was a slightly irregular shape and I think the layout of pitches had been designed for continental vans (naturally). We had 4 water taps on our pitch(!) and the electric hook-up was on the adjacent pitch. For most of our stay the surrounding pitches were empty, which combined with the spectacular views, gave us a real feeling of tranquility. This may not be the case in high season.

There are two toilet blocks, a main one near the pool, and a second a bit further up on the left of the site. Both were reasonably modern, in a good state of repair, and kept clean. The showers were always hot, and we never had to queue.

The pool complex was a big hit with the kids who loved the water slides even though the water was a little cold at times. The first few days we were there it was very hot, so a cold pool was very welcome.

The site shop is quite basic with limited opening hours. However, there is a small supermarket in Nant, only 3 miles away which is even open at lunchtime! We used the take away once but it was very expensive. We had a bar meal on the last night which was reasonably priced and a nice end to our week. We did not use the restaurant. There were some children's activities organised during the day but we were usually off site until later in the afternoon. There were organised canoeing trips and guided walks as well as low key evening events such as talks and wine tasting.

The views from most parts of the site are amazing but are only possible because of it's location, which being very rural, means that it's about 30 minutes to the nearest large town, Millau; and any large supermarkets. This area of France is beautiful, but also quite remote and not typically touristy. There was, however, plenty to keep us occupied for a week, and we could have done more. We visited a Templar village, the Caves of Dargilan (take warm jumper it's freezing), the Millau viaduct, Millau market, the velo-rail (strange bicycle based vehicles on disused railway, great fun!), and spent an afternoon walking to Nant.

We definitely enjoyed our week at Val de Cantobre and might go back in the future, but we want to explore other parts of France first.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Atko 8 reviews from this member

Arrived at site after a 12 hour journey from Calais in late August for 1 week with tent and family of 5. My initial impressions of this award winning site (last award was 2007) was good, but I can see why they have not won any awards since. The site is in a lovely area of the Ardeche, but some 30 minutes drive from Millau. If you like to get away from it all this is a lovely area, but not touristy so don't expect crafty type shops etc, but nice walks. Anyway, back to site. The pool was great but could have been heated a little more. Site well laid out, but not for the unfit as very hilly. The electrics are shared between up to 4 pitches at distance so we needed to borrow an extention to run some 30+ metres (yes that's right). Pitches were average in terms of being well kept and size. Toilets are now dated and we had no hot water on at least 3 occasions. Reception was good and the Manager was very helpful. The restaurant is to be avoided as food takeaway and very expensive. Enjoyed our stay, but won't return.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bs assorted 10 reviews from this member

We recently stayed at this campsite for a two week holiday that was booked through Eurocamp Independant. The situation of the site really is beautiful, it is sited on a steeply sloping hill in the Dourbie Valley and the views from most of the pitches are lovely - our pitch had uninterrupted views of the picturesque village of Cantobre.

The pitches seemed to vary in size but mostly large and flat, being situated on terraces and most shaded by a good variety of different trees. Each pitch is supplied with electricity and although they do not have their own water supply there are enough water points to ensure campers do not have far to walk to collect water.

There are no facilities for the individual drainage of waste water and unfortunately the only only place to dispose of waste water and chemical toilets is at the sanitary blocks, a difficult task to drag 45 litres of waste water up a steep slope!

The sanitary blocks are basic and cleaned daily but are showing signs of wear and tear. (I havee seen a lot worse) There are an adequate number of showers and toilets and good provision is made for the washing of dishes etc.

This site it run by a Dutch company and unfortunately it has more of a Dutch than French feel. The majority of staff speak Dutch and English with few of them speaking French.

The shop was well stocked if a little pricey but ideal as the nearest supermarket is some distance away. Millau being a drive of about 30 minutes away.

The takeaway served the usual pizza etc but also supplied the meal of the day (that was being served in the restaurant) as a takeaway.

The restaurant is housed in a converted barn and serves a good varied menu and on some nights dishes of the region are served.

The campsite organises nature walks and talks including evening walks to the river Dourbie to see the Beavers and bats.

The site has a lovely swimming pool complex but it is best to arrive early to secure a lounger by the pool. An alternative to the pool is to spend a lazy time paddling and swimming in the river Dourbie, the water is crystal clear with abundant fish, the most beautiful butterflies and dragonflies and buzzards and even Vultures fly above in the canyon.

This campsite although quite a distance from many attractions, is set in an area of rugged natural beauty with a wide variety of activities to suit all tastes and ages.

I would strongly recommend this campsite and will certainly visit again

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cassied 3 reviews from this member

Booked this site independently through the RCN website and were placed in a spacious pitch with tremendous views of the valley and the village of Cantobre. The staff were friendly and helpful, with activities organised for all ages. Site is on a steep incline, the pitches are terraced and therefore flat. The site is well laid out, the only climbing required is if you walked down to reception area. We noticed that less able campers used their car.

The toilet/shower facilities were kept clean, bright, spacious and well organised. Onsite shop was well stocked with daily essentials. There was a tremendous range of delicious fresh bread every morning. We never used the restaurant but the pizzas were a favourite with the family from the pizzeria.

The area is in the hills and a good 25 minute drive from Millau. The roads surrounding are very quiet and ideal for cycling, however, as this is in the mountains it really only suits enthusiasts (Dad). For the less energetic (Mum) it is a great area for exploring in the car. The surrounding scenery is beautiful with fields of wild flowers and ancient, picturesque villages.

This site is a firm favourite with our family (mum, dad and 3 children aged between 9 and 13). We loved the swimming pool, exploring the wildlife including lizards and grasshoppers, canoeing down the River Dourbie and the children’s club. This is a campsite we recommend and look forward to returning soon.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan.wilson 1 review from this member

Arrived at this site having booked through the camping and caravan club being the first season under new owners, the RCN Dutch group. The site is fantastic, excellent for either couples or families. Excellent facilities, very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. English is spoken.

The surrounding area is breathtaking. Some of the pitches can be haed to get on with narrow roads, but the ones booked with the club are excellent.
Pool is good, weather very hot this time of year. Stunning views. Follow the river in the gorge to Millau, appox 11 miles, nice town, great market and large supermarket approx 2 miles out of town. Plenty of stopping places on the way there, try a dip and if you have a canoe/kayak great river for a paddle. It's 62 miles to Montpellier if the ladies like shopping. Fabulous city, very friendly, well worth the drive. Park on the outskirts of town at the park and ride and get the tram in. Nant is only a small town but has good eating places. Small supermarket(one on site aswell).


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Midi - Pyrenees   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6207 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0410