Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Les Gorges Du Chambon

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Site Reviews

Castel Les Gorges Du Chambon
Le Chambon
Eymouthiers
Montbron
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
16220   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 05 45 70 71 70

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby:
5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 20/04 To 15/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
              9/10 from 14 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barsar 14 reviews from this member

We chose to stay here because it was in an area we have never visited before and it was a Castels site.

Location

The site is well located for visiting Limoges, Brantome, Oradour sur Glane and Piegut. Lovely area with rolling hills.

Reception

There was a warm welcome from the owner upon arrival. Check in was easy and we were allowed to select our own pitch. Staff speak very good English and are very helpful. In addition to information about walks in the area you can also borrow a very thick ring binder with lots of information, in English, about the area, nature, shopping etc. A great idea.

Pitches

The pitches are marked and most quite large. We stayed at the back of the site in the ‘calm area’. Pitches here are huge. Some families erected several tents. The grounds are extremely well maintained, eg cut grass and pruned hedges. Wherever you go you will not feel hemmed in. It feels a bit like a caravan club site.

Sanitary Facilities

There are two blocks. We were located near the older block which to be honest needs to be completely refurbished but… it was reasonably clean and serviceable.

Shop

There is a small shop selling the basics including fresh baguettes and pastries every morning.

Pool

There is a medium swimming pool which has plenty of sun beds and was kept very clean and tidy.

Eating

The on-site restaurant has a good menu and the quality of the food is good.

WiFi

Free wifi access around the patio area near reception.

Animations

There were activities for children most days, but these were low key. During the high season there are evening events including a small market and a barbecue with a live group.

Other Stuff

There’s a large children’s playground plus a games field.

Summary

We loved this site. I understand that the present owner took over the site quite recently. From reading other reviews the previous owners were quite popular. Well the new owners seem to be maintaining the quality. Not perhaps as outgoing as the previous owners but they seem to be making improvements.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ascsbe 6 reviews from this member

Stayed at the site for about the fifth time for 14 nights during Sept. This site is one of our favourites in France and for those wanting a quiet low season holiday I can't think of many better places. No dogs either was a bonus. The site changed hands in April this year and although the new owners have had little time to make any changes it will be very interesting to see what happens. The former site owner and Henk were great at making you feel welcome and although Henk is still there we noticed a different feel about the site. Time will tell and I will watch their website with interest.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daz69 1 review from this member

We had great weather during our 10 days at Les Gorges Du Chambon, arriving in 38 degrees and never seeing less than 25. Jacques was maybe the happiest owner I've come across in all the French sites I've stayed at and although there had been a mistake with our initial pitch allocation he went out of his way to put it right.

The pitch we were on backed onto the woods leading down to the river and as a result gave us loads of room, although my 20m electric cable only just reached the outlet (no 2 pin converter needed). I've seen newer / better toilet blocks at other Castels sites but they were very clean and perfectly adequate with toilet roll and seats although I frequently had to wait for a toilet to be free. It may well be the quietest french site I've stayed at with nothing but owls after 10pm.

Onsite takeaway was ok and the one time we walked down to the entertainment the atmosphere was great. The english speaking reception had loads of information and ideas for activities but the wifi is only available by the reception area and although cheap (1 euro for 1 hour) I found it to be very slow to the point of being unusable.

Tennis etc was free with rackets to borrow in reception, the pool was small and simple but the kids loved it and as mentioned by prevous reviewers the nearby St Estephe lake is great with free kayaks.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1010 9 reviews from this member

We visited Gorges Du Chambon during August 2012, and which was our first trip abroad with our caravan, having bought it last year. We travelled from Dunkirk in one day and took 11 hours with breaks but was “doable” given the superior standard of the French Roads and rest areas. I was a bit bothered as I discovered that we had booked to travel on what was known as a “Black Saturday” which is when all the French take to the road. As a result I took a different route to that suggested by the Via Michelin site and went via Rouen and Le Man which added an hour but apparently can save up to 4 hours getting stuck around Paris. I could hardly believe that there seemed so few cars on the road and we had a smooth journey down. Watch the Sat Nav for the last leg of the journey if coming from the North and it is better to go to Angouleme and out along the N141 rather than cut the corner off.

The site was really well laid out with decent size pitches. We had a 7 metre caravan, full awning and still had plenty of room for the car and a good seating area. Most pitches had shade but a few were fairly exposed, although they are the minority. The site is surrounded by trees. We found that the majority of people were actually in tents, either their own or very robust ones supplied by the site. The main nationalities were British and Dutch. It was extremely peaceful but with plenty for the children to do. Swimming pool, table tennis, trampoline in the play area, tennis, beach volleyball (for the adults as well).

There is a small shop on site which sells the essentials. You can order bread and croissants for the following day. There were some evening activities, all very tasteful. The evening BBQ was preceded by a market selling local produce which set up alongside the main buildings which sold all sorts including Veg and condiments etc. The BBQ itself we thought was somewhat poor serving chicken legs and chips. There was a local group singing afterwards (reminiscent of a 1960’s band on Heartbeat) The restaurant was OK but the food was somewhat limited. Vegetables were rarely served and any dish usually was accompanied by lettuce. They did do takeaway pizza which was popular but had to be ordered in advance.

Plenty of showers available although the hot water was hit and miss at times. They were spotlessly clean which seemed an on-going task during the day. There is the main river which passes through the bottom of the site and which they have created a small sandy area. Very popular with the kids to cycle down and have a dip. Another reason for picking the area was the temperate climate. Most of the time the temp was around 28-34 degrees and which cooled off really nicely on an evening. We did experience a few days whereby it hit 40 degrees but this was apparently completely exceptional.

Outside of the site there is a local Intermarche (supermarket) in Montbron which was fairly well stocked and was open 7 days a week. Beware of supermarkets elsewhere which closed on Saturday lunch for the weekend! There are a number of lakes nearby which have got beaches created with lakeside cafes. Lake Lavoud was excellent where you can sunbathe and swim, as well as get shade in a wooded area. There was a water sports and riding centre on the other side of the lake. A smaller version can be found at Saint-Mathieu.

The Chocolaterie Letuffe located at Trois Palis was worth a visit. An old world shop and mini production facility at the rear where the chocolates are handmade. They do a free visit and you are taken around and given the long history of the place with tasters by the staff who have all been there for 20 plus years There was a fantastic local street market at Pigout on a Wednesday morning. It was only on for the morning but the size of it defied belief stretching the whole length of the town with full size fridges in the street stocked with fish and meat.

A lot of people we chatted to had been visiting Les Castel sites for years and tended to stick with them. There seemed to be a consensus that Gorges Du Chambon was one of the best. All of the staff were really helpful and couldn’t do enough. Well worth a visit

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Odyssean 3 reviews from this member

Like other reviewers I almost don't want to share this place with you. In short after many years of camping I am tempted to say that this is the benchmark of what a great campsite should aim for.

The owner simply could not have been any more welcoming or helpful and obviously really loves what he does. He gave us a great pitch and came up to check on us once we were setup to ensure we were happy.

There are a large choice of pitch sizes and locations depending on what you like. The toilets and wash areas were exemplary and seemed to be cleaned many times per day.

The kids loved the pool and we made good use of the tennis courts. There are some great walks and cycles nearby and even decent river if you like canoeing (as we do).

Fresh bread is delivered to the shop each morning and can be booked. The staff were excellent to the extent that our 11 year old wanted to cycle down each morning on her own to practice her French.

The site was extremely popular with Dutch and French campers with only a few others from the UK. Personally we prefer this.

There were activities organised for the kids each day plus a few for adults, such as a trek to look for wild mushrooms.

Despite all these opportunities the whole set was quiet and friendly and there was no noise after about 10pm.

All in all an absolutely brilliant site and a real testament to a wonderful owner.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: J.okane 7 reviews from this member

Reception make you feel welcome and provide adequate information about site. We were given a print-out of available pitches & asked to let them know which we selected. Site itself picturesque with nice restaurant & small shop along with reception office forming courtyard with seated area as well as bar. Toilet blocks were ample and clean. The herb-garden with 'Help yourself' sign was a nice touch. Restaurant served up very nice meal, but not inexpensive. Daresay you can't really expect both. One minus point for us was sloping pitches made levelling difficult. Otherwise, would not hesitate to return if in area.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Poitou-Charentes   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4738 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469