Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moulin De Campech

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Site Reviews

Moulin De Campech
47160
Villefranche Du Queyran
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
47160   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 00 33 5 53 88 72 43

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  10m   10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
              7/10 from 9 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  9 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John + Jan 12 reviews from this member

This is our fifth year of staying at Campech - we first stayed for 3 nights and this year it was 4 weeks - and we did not wish to leave. Some reviewers seem negative because they are unsuited - it is a British ambiance and does not cater for adolescent children although multi-national younger children were a delight - it was our first stay in the school holidays so we were nervous.

Having added the handicapped shower room recently, the improvement this year was in a reliable hot water supply and temperature controls on the showers. The toilets were cleaned by volunteer campers as well as ever.

The food is simple but very good - especially the soups and trout cooked to order. Wednesday fish and chips and Bob's Quiz + the Saturday BBQ are very justifiably popular.

If you wish to spend your holiday on the internet go elsewhere but the improved wifi available in the bar was a welcome advance.

The owning family are very welcoming and the pool is immaculate - views to die for.

We intend to stay again next year for a significant period. Tells readers a great deal!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DEB9126 3 reviews from this member

Stayed 7 Nights here, very handy for the A62 as a stopover.

Clean and tidy site, only 6amp electricity which was not very efficient.

Wifi 1 euro for 30 mins which could only be used in the bar area and there is a list of things you could not do on the wifi.

Toilet block is a converted barn with an asbestos roof, however it is kept clean. The lighting to this room is on a timer and I could not manage a whole shower before the lights went out, so for health and safety reasons I only showered in the day light. Swing bar doors keep it well aired but cold.

I would not recommend this site for anyone with children as there is only one seesaw for them to play on and this is situated next to a deep fishing lake so the potential for a disaster is waiting.

We did not sample the food however the menu looked very limited.

Management response: In response to your comments;
Electricity; due to our countryside location we are only able to offer a 6amp electricity supply; this does not usually pose a problem to our guests.
Wi-Fi; also due to our location, we can only have internet access by satellite. We are limited to 30GB per month for the whole campsite. There are no restrictions for normal use i.e. emails & surfing the internet, however if someone downloaded a movie or was playing a live game this would use a large percentage of our quota-so we are very careful to explain this to our guests.
Toilet block; the roof panels are concrete sheets and NOT asbestos. The timer for the lights is 10 minutes; we are waiting for work to be carried out to improve the lighting.
Play area; Our site is surrounded by water, by French law we must have a play area, also by French law the play area can only be used under parental supervision.
Restaurant; our restaurant is open from May to 20th September. There is a choice of 9 starters, 12 main courses served with a choice of Chips or Potatoes and Salad or fresh vegetables (the salad & vegetables are home grown depending on season) and to finish numerous deserts, ice creams and cheese.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NLMS 11 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night on our way down to the Pyrenees.

We were told there were a couple of pitches we could choose from 'as we were only staying one night'. Although we were made welcome I got the feeling they prefer people who want to stay longer.

As others have noted the toilet block (though kept clean) is old. Although there were notices apologising for the water temperature the showers worked OK.

It is the sort of site you either love or hate. Personally I didn't like it (and wouldn't have wanted to stay on); nothing wrong but it had a strange feel (perhaps because most of the units were British). But for others I suspect this quaint Englishness, in a quiet shaded river valley, is what gives it charm.

Management response: We are sorry that you did not like our campsite. We did have an issue with the hot water system; the repair we were waiting for was carried out in September 2013.

We have a mix of guests for both short & long stays, from numerous countries including France, Spain, Netherlands and the United Kingdom. Everyone is welcome.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blackvulcan 1 review from this member

We have been visitors to this site for a number of years.

Very rural and quiet.

Mostly older people who just want to chill out and enjoy the occasional visit to the bar / Restaurant to enjoy the great meals cooked by the site owners daughter Sue.

Someone previously said there was not much of the children's play area, not surprised as this site would not suit young children.

Slight road noise could worry some people, although quiet at night. All in all ticks our boxes and hope to return in July.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Devon Tourers 5 reviews from this member

First impression was that the site looked tired and reqd a lot of investment to bring it up to the standard of most 3 star French sites.

Of the nine days we stayed the toilet and shower block was closed on 5 consecutive days for more than 4 hours each [excluding normal cleaning time closure] this was due to sewage blockages to the old inadequate drainage system, tankers were used on two occasions to empty the septic tank, sewage and gray water was seen to discharge from around the toilet pans, speaking with other campers this was not a one off problem.

WiFi is charged by the hour [1 euro per half hour] and if you did not use the bar area then you sat in a wooden shed interesting when its 35+ degrees!

Site was also suffering from very large horse flies of the serious biting type, also children's play area consisted of a seesaw and nothing else. The road outside of the site is now used by heavy lorry traffic with the ensuing noise from around 0600 in the mornings! However the swimming pool was very good and well maintained, overall we will not be returning.

Management response: We are upset that you departed our campsite with such a bad impression. There is no escaping or denying the fact that we had a major blockage in the toilet block during your stay, it was an extremely stressful & horrific time. I must assure you that in our 16 years as owners we have experienced nothing like it before or since, it is not a common occurrence.

Horse flies & a lot of traffic noise are also not common issues.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John + Jan 12 reviews from this member

This is our third year of staying at this idyllic site - first year 3 days, 2nd 1 week and this year two weeks.

We welcome the addition of a toilet for the disabled. The showers are still rather 'quaint' but it adds to the charm!

The toilets are excellent. All the cleaning and waiting at table work is performed by 'volunteers' and this works very well.

There is still no mobile signal but an agreeable hut has been established with wi-fi.

Next year it might be longer which tells you our opinion of the site and its management.

Roll on June 2013!

Previous     9 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aquitaine   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1817 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0469