Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moulin De Campech

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Site Reviews

Moulin De Campech
Villefranche Du Queyran
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
47160   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 00 33 5 53 88 72 43

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  10m   10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
              7/10 from 11 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for an overnight as it was convenient for the motorway. I was rather overwhelmed by the list of dos and don'ts! The toilets were clean but the showers needed modernisation as the step up into the showers left one feeling you were on a stage! We knew there would be few facilities at the end of September but we did expect that in such a rural location bread would have been available in the morning (we are in France- not the uk).

The dog enjoyed the walk in the wood - a plus. Road noise through the day meant that it was not quiet (ACSI users please note). The site would be better if some of the trees were thinned or removed to allow more sunlight. After rain there were deep tyre tracks at the side of the motor home hard standings and no attempt was being made to fill them in - the site had very much an end of term feel so we were disappointed.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alec Ireland 1 review from this member

We have just come home from nearly three weeks at this site.

Good points

Toilets and showers are kept very clean by People who are on the site.

Helpful staff and owners who seem to work in shifts, so the office is always open during the day.

Very rural setting, good walking and cycling routes provided by the staff, lots of info in the welcome pack about local towns and markets.

Quiz nights on Wednesday with fish and chips are good fun and value, [did not try the barbecue night].

After a caravan leaves the site, the pitch is mowed ready for the next camper.

Pool is nice.

New Toilet and shower for disabled campers

Lots of British campers, and limited internet access.

Locals are pleased to see you as it is not a very touristy area.

Bad points

Lots of British campers, and limited internet access, which is 1 euro for 30 minutes

On a Truck rat run, so there is some road noise, but we did not notice it while sleeping

Poor facilities for young people.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John + Jan 13 reviews from this member

This is our fifth year of staying at Campech - we first stayed for 3 nights and this year it was 4 weeks - and we did not wish to leave. Some reviewers seem negative because they are unsuited - it is a British ambiance and does not cater for adolescent children although multi-national younger children were a delight - it was our first stay in the school holidays so we were nervous.

Having added the handicapped shower room recently, the improvement this year was in a reliable hot water supply and temperature controls on the showers. The toilets were cleaned by volunteer campers as well as ever.

The food is simple but very good - especially the soups and trout cooked to order. Wednesday fish and chips and Bob's Quiz + the Saturday BBQ are very justifiably popular.

If you wish to spend your holiday on the internet go elsewhere but the improved wifi available in the bar was a welcome advance.

The owning family are very welcoming and the pool is immaculate - views to die for.

We intend to stay again next year for a significant period. Tells readers a great deal!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DEB9126 3 reviews from this member

Stayed 7 Nights here, very handy for the A62 as a stopover.

Clean and tidy site, only 6amp electricity which was not very efficient.

Wifi 1 euro for 30 mins which could only be used in the bar area and there is a list of things you could not do on the wifi.

Toilet block is a converted barn with an asbestos roof, however it is kept clean. The lighting to this room is on a timer and I could not manage a whole shower before the lights went out, so for health and safety reasons I only showered in the day light. Swing bar doors keep it well aired but cold.

I would not recommend this site for anyone with children as there is only one seesaw for them to play on and this is situated next to a deep fishing lake so the potential for a disaster is waiting.

We did not sample the food however the menu looked very limited.

Management response: In response to your comments;
Electricity; due to our countryside location we are only able to offer a 6amp electricity supply; this does not usually pose a problem to our guests.
Wi-Fi; also due to our location, we can only have internet access by satellite. We are limited to 30GB per month for the whole campsite. There are no restrictions for normal use i.e. emails & surfing the internet, however if someone downloaded a movie or was playing a live game this would use a large percentage of our quota-so we are very careful to explain this to our guests.
Toilet block; the roof panels are concrete sheets and NOT asbestos. The timer for the lights is 10 minutes; we are waiting for work to be carried out to improve the lighting.
Play area; Our site is surrounded by water, by French law we must have a play area, also by French law the play area can only be used under parental supervision.
Restaurant; our restaurant is open from May to 20th September. There is a choice of 9 starters, 12 main courses served with a choice of Chips or Potatoes and Salad or fresh vegetables (the salad & vegetables are home grown depending on season) and to finish numerous deserts, ice creams and cheese.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NLMS 11 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night on our way down to the Pyrenees.

We were told there were a couple of pitches we could choose from 'as we were only staying one night'. Although we were made welcome I got the feeling they prefer people who want to stay longer.

As others have noted the toilet block (though kept clean) is old. Although there were notices apologising for the water temperature the showers worked OK.

It is the sort of site you either love or hate. Personally I didn't like it (and wouldn't have wanted to stay on); nothing wrong but it had a strange feel (perhaps because most of the units were British). But for others I suspect this quaint Englishness, in a quiet shaded river valley, is what gives it charm.

Management response: We are sorry that you did not like our campsite. We did have an issue with the hot water system; the repair we were waiting for was carried out in September 2013.

We have a mix of guests for both short & long stays, from numerous countries including France, Spain, Netherlands and the United Kingdom. Everyone is welcome.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blackvulcan 1 review from this member

We have been visitors to this site for a number of years.

Very rural and quiet.

Mostly older people who just want to chill out and enjoy the occasional visit to the bar / Restaurant to enjoy the great meals cooked by the site owners daughter Sue.

Someone previously said there was not much of the children's play area, not surprised as this site would not suit young children.

Slight road noise could worry some people, although quiet at night. All in all ticks our boxes and hope to return in July.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aquitaine   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3775 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder