Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Duke Of York

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Duke Of York
Ashbourne Rd
Pomeroy
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9QG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 83345

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 82 Reviews
              8/10 from 82 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (15)

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reddymic 4 reviews from this member

At £25 a night this is not value for money which is a shame. I can see why it's so expensive, they are trying so hard & doing so much work to make this site better. The views are amazing (if other caravans do not block your view) but the road noise out ways this. The A515 is a very busy road. The toilet & shower block were very clean. I think £25 is expensive for a shower block. All seems newly built. New trees planted & looks like a new gated entrance. We stayed here for the convenience of the pub being on site but you MUST make sure you book a table in advance as there were no bookable tables on the Saturday night. I spoke to Chris the manager & stated how disappointed I was & he managed to fit us in at the very beginning of the sitting & we were so pleased. The food is AMAZING & recommend a visit for this very reason. We would stay on a different site due to the road noise & price but we would definitely eat here again. We think you they need someone to walk the grounds every so often as this would cut down the noise from neighbours music & dogs to be kept on leads. They are trying so hard to make this a better campsite but I don't think I would stay here until the road noise was blocked out by the trees once they have grown.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marknine8475 1 review from this member

Site was good and the views were fantastic. Facilities were sufficient for the size of site but no shop as stated on the facilities. Price was my biggest issue. Was quoted 25 a night when I booked in April but actually paid 30 a night over the bank holiday weekend. Prices had been increased at the end of April, they should have made people more aware of the fact.

One of the first sites I have been on that has charged extra just because it is a bank holiday. It is a good site but not worth the pricetag

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sandiepants 1 review from this member

First visit to the Duke of York - new site facilities spotless. Owners very friendly and helpful. Great site if you like walking. The pub is great ended up eating there twice and we only had 2 nights ( very dog friendly - more dogs than people one night !) Will be back and will not hesitate to tell our camping friends how great this place is.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taylorn54 2 reviews from this member

Campsite was good, toilet block clean,

We had to book for a minimum stay of three nights as it was a bank holiday and where allocated pitch 24, But there are unknown pitches! On Sunday night we returned from a day out to find a campervan and awning within a meter of our van. When we complained we where told that was pitch 24a and there more unknown pitches on the site.

We will not be returning!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Did you stay at this campsite between Dec 2014 and February 2015?

Raw TV are making a Channel 4 winter weather documentary about people who enjoy the outdoors in the winter time. They have been filming in the Peak District and are looking to get in touch with any caravanners who have stayed at the site at the Duke of York, Pomeroy, near Flagg, Derbyshire this winter. They are looking for any short videos people have shot on their smartphones or cameras during December, January and February at the site, either from inside a caravan or outside.

Please email winter@raw.co.uk to get in touch to find out more.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiznlil 8 reviews from this member

Our 3rd visit, still love it.

Keith, one of the owners stopped cooking during Sunday lunch service and towed us out with his Discovery wearing his chef whites when our snow chains broke on our second visit end of January What a hero.

On our visit last weekend we find they have now put clothes hooks in the shower/loo block.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0547