Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Duke Of York

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Duke Of York
Ashbourne Rd
Pomeroy
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9QG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 83345

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 80 Reviews
              8/10 from 80 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (15)

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sandiepants 1 review from this member

First visit to the Duke of York - new site facilities spotless. Owners very friendly and helpful. Great site if you like walking. The pub is great ended up eating there twice and we only had 2 nights ( very dog friendly - more dogs than people one night !) Will be back and will not hesitate to tell our camping friends how great this place is.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taylorn54 2 reviews from this member

Campsite was good, toilet block clean,

We had to book for a minimum stay of three nights as it was a bank holiday and where allocated pitch 24, But there are unknown pitches! On Sunday night we returned from a day out to find a campervan and awning within a meter of our van. When we complained we where told that was pitch 24a and there more unknown pitches on the site.

We will not be returning!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Did you stay at this campsite between Dec 2014 and February 2015?

Raw TV are making a Channel 4 winter weather documentary about people who enjoy the outdoors in the winter time. They have been filming in the Peak District and are looking to get in touch with any caravanners who have stayed at the site at the Duke of York, Pomeroy, near Flagg, Derbyshire this winter. They are looking for any short videos people have shot on their smartphones or cameras during December, January and February at the site, either from inside a caravan or outside.

Please email winter@raw.co.uk to get in touch to find out more.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiznlil 6 reviews from this member

Our 3rd visit, still love it.

Keith, one of the owners stopped cooking during Sunday lunch service and towed us out with his Discovery wearing his chef whites when our snow chains broke on our second visit end of January What a hero.

On our visit last weekend we find they have now put clothes hooks in the shower/loo block.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rutland-Vagrant 4 reviews from this member

I winced when they told me it was 20 a night even in February but now I've been I think it was worth every penny and I can't wait to get back. I was attracted by the photos of the view and I wasn't disappointed: a huge vista over miles of the Peak District, I just loved watching the snow and hail storms as they blew across the countryside. The location is great, only a short drive out of Buxton and yet you really do feel you have got away from it all here. There are nearby footpaths if you like walking and there is a field adjacent if you want to give the dogs 5 mins. The facilities were superb: stylish and spotlessly clean and delightfully warm. The Duke of York has a restaurant that is popular with locals; the bar had a good atmosphere that makes you feel like you are welcome - the real fire added to the effect. My only gripe is that it was a bit pricey. Very pleased with the hardstanding pitch with EHU and water. This site is relatively new and can only improve over time when all the new hedging that has been planted matures and offers some shelter from the biting winds - I just hope they don't obscure the fantastic view. Overall, the site is a credit to the management and I wish I was still there!

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fiznlil 6 reviews from this member

Reluctant to leave a good review as I want to make sure it's not full the next time we want to visit!

Spent 3 nights over the worst weather period, thick snow and biting winds. The managers and the wardens did a fab job to make sure no-one was disapponted over New Year. Even after getting a tractor in to clear the ground of snow, it was still bad, so they went the extra mile! Caravans and Motorhomes were parked on the site roadway and on the pub car park as half the site was not useable, but EHU was avaialble for everyone. Lovely atmosphere was created.

Fabulous views, very close to High Peak Trail for walking. Morrisons supermarket 10 mins away in Buxton for supplies.

Shower block and loos spotless with underfloor heating. Small niggle - somewhere to hang clothes perhaps? Not a big deal, I just threw them over the door top. Tent dwellers may appreciate a hair drier.

Pub has good food - good quality cooked from scratch 'pub fayre' and priced appropriately. Real ales well kept and good price, wine a bit expensive at 16 for bottle of house.

Keith and Chris the managers are so much fun and the wardens, Phil and not sure of the lady's name are so helpful. A really hardworking team. We will be back!

Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7671 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0508