Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Trailer Tent Sale

Visitor Reviews - Duke Of York

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Duke Of York
Ashbourne Rd
Pomeroy
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9QG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 83345

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 87 Reviews
              8/10 from 87 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (15)

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badgolfert 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from celebrating the new year. We were a party of 6 and had a table booked in the pub for us and our 2 dogs. This was one of the best nights we have had when camping, the food was amazing and the warm welcome made our stay a fantastic experience cannot wait to return.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dave2300 5 reviews from this member

We were looking for a site to get away from the local firework display in town as our dog is frightened by them. The moment we arrived we felt like regulars with the warm reception we received. A good hard standing pitch we were soon up and running with brilliant views across the peak district. Time for dinner. Our dog was allowed in the pub and sat quietly while we eat a lovely meal. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and with very full stomachs we retired for a peaceful evening. Facilities on site are second to none and cater for the disabled as well. Thank you and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bossian 3 reviews from this member

Was looking for a site near or next to a pub in the lower peak district area and found this little gem!

Booked for a 3 night stay over the August bank holiday weekend. Arrived on the Friday afternoon and found that we were warmly welcomed by Keith the proprietor and Tilly the site warden. They helped us find our pitch, No:14, and guided us in.

What a great site. Best pitch of the site me and the wife recon, the view was amazing and as promised, a nice level hard standing pitch. Whole site is well laid out and the facilities are top notch, immaculate and very modern.

Decided to stay on site the first night and eat in the pub. The food was exceptional and the service second to none! I have to praise the fact they peel and slice their own chips! Great to have a perfect steak with proper home cooked chips! none of this frozen crap you usually get.

Nice that the warden, Tilly, comes around and checks you alright and everything is Ok.

Deffo would recommend this site to others and will deffo go there and stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: OldTuggo 4 reviews from this member

Excellent modern shower block (but no hooks by the sinks for some reason and nowhere to put your soap, etc. In the shower cubicles). Why don't campsite owners try using their own facilities? Good choice of grass or hard standing pitches. Great views and close to the end of the High Peak/Tissington trails. Its main attraction is the restaurant in the pub. The food we had was first class. However there are no specific facilities for kids.

One major complaint. Because you can book only on-line you cannot avoid a mandatory charge, even for debit cards. Ryanair used to do this and even they have now dropped it. This site should do the same.

Would I return? Possibly, but only because of the restaurant.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Speedway 2 reviews from this member

We stopped at the Duke of York on our way home to Norfolk from Wales at the end of July 2015. This is an easy to find site, which is accessed by driving through the pub car park. We had reserved a pitch, and booked in at the bar on arrival, and at the same time reserved a table in the highly recommended restaurant for our evening meal. We were shown to our pitch, number seven, which was a hard stand with fabulous views over the surrounding countryside. There was plenty of room on site, and we were surprised it was not more busy.

The facilities are excellent with what appears to be a fairly new toilet and shower block. Taps and electric hookup were close to hand, and we didn't really notice any traffic noise unlike another review I read. There is an adjoining tent field, which is large, but has quite a severe slope. It was totally empty when we visited at the end of July 2015. There were no children's play facilities when we visited, so not ideal if you have kids.

I would agree with other reviewers that its an expensive site, but it was convenient for us as an overnight stop. They were happy to accept a booking for just the one night, which is unusual for a site in July.

The meal in the pub was excellent! It was worth the visit for the food alone. The service was top class, and not badly priced either. To summarise, they appear to be developing this site to make it really nice. The facilities were good, the food and friendly staff very nice, but I do think if they lowered the price slightly, it would make it better value for money. Some people won't pay that sort of price for a pub site. We would certainly stay there again, but not for more than a few days because of the cost.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reddymic 4 reviews from this member

At 25 a night this is not value for money which is a shame. I can see why it's so expensive, they are trying so hard & doing so much work to make this site better. The views are amazing (if other caravans do not block your view) but the road noise out ways this. The A515 is a very busy road. The toilet & shower block were very clean. I think 25 is expensive for a shower block. All seems newly built. New trees planted & looks like a new gated entrance. We stayed here for the convenience of the pub being on site but you MUST make sure you book a table in advance as there were no bookable tables on the Saturday night. I spoke to Chris the manager & stated how disappointed I was & he managed to fit us in at the very beginning of the sitting & we were so pleased. The food is AMAZING & recommend a visit for this very reason. We would stay on a different site due to the road noise & price but we would definitely eat here again. We think you they need someone to walk the grounds every so often as this would cut down the noise from neighbours music & dogs to be kept on leads. They are trying so hard to make this a better campsite but I don't think I would stay here until the road noise was blocked out by the trees once they have grown.

Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Week Camping Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a pair of Outwell Chairs and Table

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 4-5th June
The summer spectacular takes place at the Kent Event Centre. Buy discounted weekend tickets, or enter our competition to win some!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6735 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1406