Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Merkins Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Merkins Farm
Bradford Leigh
Bradford On Avon
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA15 2RW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01225 865249

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   1m  1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
              9/10 from 32 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (12)

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept five caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting.

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter236uk 11 reviews from this member

Great little site the situation is great and the site very clean. We stayed for 2 nights on our way down to Cornwall. On arrival the wife went and paid at the cafe, it was not until we discussed the site when we left that we realised that we had been over charged by £2 which was a little bit of surprise. I think we were charged for a dog which we did not have. There are a couple of other little gripes, the breakfast following some of reviews, that said how good it was. I have to say I was disappointed. At a charge of £7. 50 the breakfast did not include tea or bread and butter and was made up mostly with baked beans and hash browns. I just felt it was very mediocre for the price.

There was a large group who arrived on the Friday evening, I think they were a club. They sang (not very well) until the early hours. This is not great on a small site. I do not wish to seem to negative about the site and its a great location for walking and cycling.

Management response: Dear Peter236uk

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you thought we run a ‘great little site’.

As far as you’re being overcharged, I wish you had noticed earlier, so that we could have refunded you. We do not know why that would have happened.

We are obviously very proud of the Camp Site and the Café. The Merkins Full English Breakfast at £7. 45 is indeed very popular with Campers and Locals. Freshly Cut Toast and Butter IS included in the price. I seem to remember you requested bread and butter instead, which we happily provided you with. The breakfast is certainly not mostly made up of hash browns and Heinz baked beans. Everything is cooked fresh, to order.

The large group you mentioned were a group of Morris Men, who asked if they could sing. We mistakenly thought the campers would enjoy this, it did not go on until the ‘early hours’ at all.

We will continue to work hard, and provide a pleasant relaxed camping experience for all that stay with us.

Hayley and Jon

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Niknrich 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for a weekend at the beginning of September with a group of 15. It's a lovely friendly site and very reasonably priced. The pitches are dead flat and the views are lovely.

We enjoyed breakfast at the cafe both Saturday and Sunday mornings - it's obviously popular with locals as well as campers! The staff are nice and friendly.

The only negative is the lack of hot water in the loo basins and washing up sink, and the 50p showers. I always panic that I'll run out of hot water in the middle of washing my hair! The single loo per sex could have been an issue if the site was full, but it was quiet when we visited.

Overall though, a good value, friendly site.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: VWAdventure 3 reviews from this member

Just had 3 days at Merkins site and can highly approve. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the crew in the cafe gave great service with a smile. The site is a basic level but very tidy, quiet and well run. There are only 2 toilets and 1 shower but I never had to wait. The only thing I would have liked was hot water in the toilets and for washing up. Great area to exercise our dogs and everyone I spoke to one the site were very happy. The cafe food was very good and the coffee hot and tasty and not too expensive. Would definitely stay at this site again and if you want a quiet, clean tidy site then this is one I would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Loverton 4 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights in this peaceful location with wonderful views. The weather was fantastic and the site was pretty full over the week-end. However, the facilities (1 male toilet, 1 female toilet & 1 very large shower room (50p)) were kept really clean and we never had to queue.

Visited the local pub about 10 minutes walk away and had a nice meal, pretty average prices. We also had a lovely walk to Great Chalfield Manor, but unfortunately as it was Monday, it was closed! We walked from there into Holt to the Courts Gardens (NT) which were fantastic and then walked back to the site (about 2 miles).

We also walked into the pretty town of Bradford on Avon, but be warned - the walk back is uphill and quite strenuous!

We didn't use the on-site cafe, but it was very popular, as we noticed lots of people were coming on the site to use it.

I have to agree with the comments about the washing up area - we only used it once, because there was no hot water. No problem for us, but if you're camping it wouldn't be very good.

We nearly always use Caravan Club sites, but this proved to us that small commercial sites can be just as good and much cheaper!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pentlandsl 3 reviews from this member

Fabulous site set in a lovely part of the country and run by very welcoming owners.

We stayed here for just one night but we loved the site and will be coming back again in the future.

The basics: Level field, very quiet and clean and good showers and toilets.

There is also a fabulous cafe on the site that is run by the owners. Lovely decor and good value cooked breakfast!

Couldn't fault it in any way at all.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Worrywort 11 reviews from this member

Stayed for just one night. Owners seemed friendly, and we were allowed to stay on the hard standing though we hadn't booked EHU; the grass area for tents was still a bit wet. Lovely view across the valley from the site towards the White Horse at Westbury; this does make it a bit exposed when the weather is very windy. Cosy vintage-themed cafe on site, opens from 9am to 4pm 6 days a week. We had a lovely breakfast, not cheap, but good quality. About 5 mins to walk up to the Plough, we had a pretty good meal there, price was about mid-range for a good pub meal.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3941 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0430