Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Cormier

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Camping Le Cormier
Le Cormier
Route De Saint Flovier
Obterre
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
36290   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 2 54 39 27 95  or  0033 6 66 53 07 90

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  10m  10m  5m  10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
              9/10 from 53 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (20)

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gower Rambler 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second visit to this very peaceful site, we were welcomed my Mike and Kath like old friends. Because my wife and myself are into our 80s'Mike offered to help with our awning which was very gratefully accepted, The site is immaculately kept and the loos and showers though in portable enclosures were also very clean and tidy. There is plenty to see and do in the area with the market at Loche a must. The highlight of the day was when Bess ( Mikes mum) stopped to chat while on her daily walk around the. We will certainly visit this site again though it might be in one of the quite lovely studios which are also on the site

Clive Williams

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigwordsmith 1 review from this member

Blissful site - 10/10/10

Found this site through UKCampsite.co.uk and sent an email to the owners, Mike & Cath, who left the Uk to give this a go 9 years ago. From the outset their service and attention to detail was brilliant.

The site is five acres around a typical French farmhouse courtyard, which houses a barn, and three gates/ studios as well as two owners' residences. The pitches are huge, served with electricity and satellite feeds, plus they encourage you to drain your grey waste tot he hedge - so much less faff than using a Wastemaster and very green.

The site is extremely peaceful, and set in very pleasant countryside with a mass of small villages and hamlets nearby. Nearest town is Loche, which is delightful and supports multiple visits, as it is rich in history as well as offering commanding views of the countryside.

Tours is about an hour away by car, and offers all the big city stuff, as well as some delightful churches, monuments and restaurants, but perhaps the most enjoyable aspect of the site is how relaxed it all is.

We met several couples that return each year, Sangria was shared around the table, and it is easy to understand why so many people go back year after year after year.

As Mike told us when we arrived, they wanted to create the kind of site that themselves enjoyed staying on, and despite the worst efforts of French bureaucracy to stop them are doing a great job.

Only downside at the moment is the washing facilities - due to French red tape they are still fighting to put up a purpose built shower block, but hopefully this will be in before Easter 2018. We were't bothered as we use the facilities son board the van, and fresh drinking water is just a few yards from the pitches.

Will definitely return - there are only 12 pitches, so booking is a good idea!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacjones 6 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site. Ideal size for us as it was very peacful and relaxing. Everyone very friendly. Facilities spotless. Plenty of villages and towns to explore nearby. One tabac in the village 5 mins walk for a drink or goods from the shop. Van delivers bread etc a few times a week. Loches within 15 minute drive.

Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 73 reviews from this member

As predicted, we did return, but for a three-week stay this time since we had found it so relaxing, as do many of their returning 'guests'. We even reserved the same pitch as last year! This period also coincided with the Tour de France which my OH could view in the barn with other campers.

Mike and Cath continue to work hard updating facilities as well as running the 'ship' on a day-to-day basis. The plunge pool was open and in use during the hot spell. The 'garden-setting' grounds are maintained to a high standard, even down to removing the falling leaves when they littered the pitch. We were again able to use the shower room of an unoccupied studio ahead of work starting shortly on a dedicated amenities facility, though towards the end of our stay portable loo and shower cubicles were installed since the rental studios would be in use during the coming weeks.

We revisited some of our favourite haunts as well as seeking out some new ones. Having never visited a chateau during many holidays in France (some say when you have seen one, you have seen them all), Mike and Cath recommended Chenonceau as their local favourite and we were not disappointed. We did Vouvray the same day and bought a few bottles of the 'tiny bubbles' from a wine cooperative.

Montresor made another pleasant excursion, though we didn't visits it's chateau. There's a pretty stroll beside the river though, and a small art exhibition (unusual 3-D stained glass technique) installed in an old timbered building. Good lunch in one of several restaurants.

Our visit to picturesque Angles-sur-l'Anglin coincided with a medieval weekend and craft fair. Tasty lunch at British-owned No. 15 tea room.

Again we had lunch at L'Auberge de la Source in Saint Flovier, ten minutes away. Same price at 12. 30 for four courses and house wine - a no-brainer, don't know how they do it for the money. Their take-away pizza (chips available as a side order) on Friday and Saturday evenings is excellent too. Friendly ambience, clean, frequented by locals as well as tourists.

Excellent markets at Loches and La Roche Posay (another pretty town for strolling) with smaller one for fruit, veg, fish and meat at Chatillon on Fridays. Bread van continues to call on site several days a week, plus there is a small grocery store for basics in the village which is about a 10/15 minutes stroll. For a 'big shop' we used Intermarche at Chatillon.

In conclusion, one of my all-time favourite French sites.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ASoliver 3 reviews from this member

On arrival we were surprised to find porta loos and showers at the entrance of the site, we were shown around a lovely well kept site by the owner, we were told that there were showers and toilets available in at least one of the studios, so while unhappy about the prospect of using porta loos and showers we set up for our 2 week stay.

The site itself was was immaculate, however the reason for this soon became apparent, the owner was constantly either on his ride on mower or was using his leaf blower, this would not have been a problem but it was from around 10am till about 3pm and it was every day except Sunday. The hope of peace and quiet was shattered. Because of the constant maintenance our tent was being covered inside and out with dust, excluding our cooking area. There really is no need for the pitches to be mowed every day or for every single leaf to be collected.

I understand and except rules, however I was completely astounded by the approach of one of the owners, she was aggressive in the way she spoke to my husband because he did not close the shower curtain so it could dry! I mean really, this was on day 3 of our stay.

This was the first but not the last time she would approach us in this manner.

A few days later when showing new guests around, my husband was in the pool and the owner shouted out to him 'I hope you have had a shower' (meaning the rule is no sun cream to be on in the pool), to do this in this manner is rude, embarrassing, my husband felt compleatly humiliated, there is completely no customer service skills at all.

One evening (9. 30pm) a few of the campers got together, a few drinks and good game of uno and a laugh, after all we are on holiday and relaxing, the owner marched over put her finger to her lips and used a hand movement for us to be quite (this is how the group interpreted what was meant) it completely spoiled the evening for us all. The following morning we were told it was because the children were playing ball, but some clarification at the time would have been very helpful to us all.

To be honest we were looking forward to a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing holiday but ended up with stress, headaches and a desperately wanted to go home, I have never been on holiday and counted the days so I could go home, instead of wanting to stay.

2 weeks of our lives completely lost, our only summer holiday completely spoilt by bad service and obsessive behaviour, so very very angry and utterly disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 73 reviews from this member

It felt strange to have all British fellow campers, but it made a change. Mike, Cath and Bessie were perfect hosts during our 11-night stay. Our pitch was perfect being large, flat and with shade. The loo and showers in the portable buildings would have been adequate but it was a bonus being allowed access to the bathrooms in the unoccupied studios with their excellent facilities. They are offering these facilities until new ones are built now that they have been granted planning permission. My OH very much appreciated the televised coverage of Le Tour onto a large screen in the barn. Enjoyed days out and about, particularly Loches on Saturdays for its market, fine architecture and restaurants - went twice. The 12. 60 lunch in Saint Flovier at Auberge de la Source was excellent value for four courses and wine. Would definitely use again particularly as it is just over four hours from the ferry terminal at Ouistreham. Bit of a pain having to go off site for bread on the days when mobile tradesmen do not call. Definitely one to use again.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7471 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0898